RDFL Thread - 2012

Harrison Hyundai Seniors - Round 8

Lancefield (12th, 1-6) Vs Broadford (9th, 2-5)
The Tigers host Broadford with a view to picking up their 2nd win of the season. Last week they pushed Wallan right to the final siren before just falling short, a real positive for the Tigers is the growth to the list in recent weeks which has enabled them to become far more competitive.
The Roos picked up a big win at home against Kilmore last week to keep them right in the hunt for finals in 2012 despite only having 2 wins on the board. They currently sit only 2 wins outside the top 6 and a win here will have them closing the gap even further. It's a real positive for the league to see the improvement to the Roos over the past two seasons.
Tip: This should be a fantastic contest at Lancefield, the open spaces will provide an advantage to the young Tiger running players like Rebbecchi and the Burkett brothers and provide space for John Baker and Ben Richmond up forward. The Roos should gain the edge in the contested ball, they have the bigger bodies around the ball and should be able to use that to their advantage.
Broadford by 15 points

Diggers Rest (1st, 7-0) Vs Melton Centrals (8th, 2-4-1)
The Burra continue to roll onward after last week's win over the Kangaroos and host a Centrals side coming off a strong performance in last weeks draw with the Cats. The Burra have a great defensive work ethic that they have been able to couple with several forward options giving them a game style that is tough to compete with. The spread of the Burra is the most impressive part of the game, but the Roos proved last week that it can be halted and taken apart, but opposition sides need to work out a way to do that for 4 quarters.
Centrals bounced back last week after several disappointing weeks and narrowly missed the chance to upset a finals fancy, coming away with a draw. There is no doubt they will be looking to continue to prove to the rest of the league that they are capable of matching it with the best sides.
Tip: Hard to go past the Burra in their current form, but the Melton Shire rivals always have tough competitive match ups. Centrals work rate must be at a premium for the entire contest, any drop off will spell disaster.
Diggers Rest by 30 points

Macedon (5th, 4-2-1) Vs Riddell (4th, 5-2)
The Cats host the Bombers coming off a rough couple of weeks. A loss to Kilmore and a draw with Centrals leave the Cats in a precarious position with a chasing pack led by Wallan and Rockbank right on their tail. With a massive 2 months ahead, the Cats need to find some form and find it quickly.
The Bombers are doing what Riddell are very good at, travelling along nice and quietly and picking up wins, but are they as good this year to be a serious contender, they have faced their fair share of injuries over the course of the season so far and will be eager to get a full list back on the part sooner rather than later. We will find out soon enough if they are just flying under the radar, or simply can't compete with the top 3.
Tip: The Cats simply aren't performing well enough to beat Riddell, whilst the Bombers have had their injury issues, they are still doing enough to pick up their wins and will do so again here. Both sides have their worries approaching the half way mark of the year, but the Cats look to have more.
Riddell by 30 points.

Woodend/Hesket (11th, 1-6) Vs Romsey (2nd, 6-1)
The Hawks pushed the Bombers last week and would be heartened with the performance of the youngsters in the line up, dropping the game against Lancefield 2 weeks ago would still sting despite the guys that came back in for the Tigers and the Hawks will still be looking to respond.
The Redbacks hit top gear last week with the belting they handed the Rams. They have also faced their injury concerns in recent weeks, but have showed so far that they more than have the depth to cover those losses. The trip to Woodend is never easy though, especially with a bit of wet weather around and the Hawks certainly wont let the Redbacks have everything their own way.
Tip: The Hawks have plenty of young talent, but this will be too much of an ask. The Redbacks are finding top gear and are going to be very hard to stop if they break this game open.
Romsey by 65 points

Sunbury Kangaroos (3rd, 5-2) Vs Kilmore (10th, 1-6)
The Roos are coming off what has to be a disappointing loss, they had their chances last week against the Burra but didn't use the ball well enough at times to advantage the score board. The Roos have a couple of small issues they face at the moment, they need to get some stability on the sidelines and they need to work the ball into more dangerous positions going forward.
The Blues failed last week, they needed to win to back up the big effort against the Cats the week before, and they failed. They are just not putting in enough effort both ways at the moment, they again failed against a side that they "should" have beaten. The positive for the Blues though, they have played their best football against the best sides this year and they will certainly need to reproduce that effort this week. Another positive for the Blues is that Boardman Reserve is the only ground in the RDFL that their coach holds a 100% winning record.
I am really looking forward to seeing this game, interested in seeing the turn around and response from the Roos and getting a first look at the Blues for this season. Just hope they can live up to expectation rather than reputation.
Tip: Kilmore just haven't done enough to warrant being selected in a game like this, if they refuse to transition in this game, then the Roos will torch them.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 36 points

Match of the Round
Wallan (6th, 4-3) Vs Rockbank (7th, 3-4)
The Magpies have an opportunity this year, so far, there are several teams that haven't grasped their opportunities, so the question will remain whether the Magpies will be in the same boat. With the Cats faltering and hit by injury and the Bombers facing their own injury and fitness issues, the Magpies have an opportunity to push their way into the hunt for a top 4 finish. So far this season, the younger Magpies have stood up and played a big role in the clubs fortunes, this week they face a side that is very capable of winning contested football, so that will put some pressure on the young guys, this is where Matt Robertson needs to step up, he can really have an impact on where this side finishes this year as the pressure through the midfield has been released thanks to the emergence of the younger Magpies midfielders.
The Rams got thumped last week, but we have seen so far, that their best football has come against the sides around them on the ladder, it is almost as if they are conceding against the best sides, winning the games they have to, so that they have their best opportunity at finals. Another side that has an opportunity thanks to the faltering Cats, the Rams need a massive performance this week as this is a game that marks those opportunities.
Tip: This game really could go either way based on which Wallan and which Rockbank show up to do battle. If the Magpies midfield is up and about, it will provide Poorter with plenty of opportunity to impact the scoreboard. If the Rams show up with that competitive fierceness at the contest, then they will get on top at the all important stoppages and have the ball headed their way. Given the home ground advantage, I lean toward the Magpies.
Wallan by 5 points.

GooooooooooD Morning RDFL !
Guess who's back ?...... Omni's back !...... Tell a friend !
Omni's back, Omni's back, Omni's back, Omni's back Omni's back da da da da da !

OMNI"S Tips for Round 8 -

I see since I've been away the Tigers have discovered that you dont have to beat the shit out of your opposition to get a win on the board. Good for them ! So tomorrows game against Broadford, who have hit a little bit of form themselves of late promises to be quite the contest indeed. Things have really tightened up for our second tier teams in the competition, in the race for what I believe will be 5th & 6th position on the ladder come finals time. So a win here in this clash will be ever so important for the victor. I'm tippping there will be NO happy ending here for Finchies boys & Lancefield should just get up at home & get the chocolates in a hard fought encounter by 15pts.

Well, just like a Thai ladyboy the Kilmore faithful will be hoping Chrissy Nolan has a huge surprise in store for the Kangaroos in their clash tomorrow down at Sunbury's Boredom Reserve. The Blues who started the season much like a digital clock......(No Ticker !) are at least now starting to show a little fight & pride for their coach, supporters & Kilmore jumper. Having said that, they will find this assignment against 3rd placed Sunbury at home will be a little beyond their capabilities, & I expect them to go down to the Roos to the tune of 67pts.

Ok,........ Now there are "2" things that I just cant believe -
1. That the Australian Customs Service let me back into the country with so much of my "Crack" visible !........................................&
2. That Diggers Rest are still playing brilliant footy & are still sitting atop our ladder undefeated !
Who woulda thought it ???
Jamie Elliott, you are a GOD ! To re-invent that playing group with the minimum of fuss that has taken place & have them playing the type of footy that has them where they are today, is an absolute miracle !If you can pull off, what is beginning to look like a mere formality, even at this early stage & grab the 2012 Premiership. Then they should be erecting a Buddha to your likeness down at the "Rest" so that all the Burra faithful can pay homage to your insight & greatness !
Melton are poo !.......... I repeat POO !! And will pose no threat to Diggers tomorrow. Although Diggers will NOT win by shit loads, because now they are smart as well as a very very good side. They are just doing what they have to do to get the job done. They should win by 100+ pts, but they wont ! I'm tipping a coasting comfortable win of 60pts at home for them.

One would think that Macedons "Love You Long Time" love affair with senior coach Al Meldrum would be becoming a little strained in recent weeks given their sudden form slump ??? Well the way I see it if it isnt now it may well be after the Cats go 9 weeks without recording a win to their name ! Yes NINE weeks ! Because looking at the draw thats exactly just the type of scenario that is likely to occur, unless Macedon are able to cause a massive upset in that time. Tomorrow at home against the Bombers ??? I dont think so ! Riddell will be ruthless, to atone for that 1/2 game 2 point loss they suffered last season when the game was stopped prematurely after Matty Sammut snapped his leg horrifically two minutes into the second half. The Bombers are ticking along just ok & are looking to be building for a big run towards the pointy end of the season. They will probably go through the motions here for a pretty bruise free win with a margin of 36pts.

Anyone seen that show on TV called Embarrassing Bodies ?
You know the one, semi-trailor full of doctors & equipment, touring around with a film crew doing stories about freaks & their ailments ? .....Yes ?....... Well apparently they are gunna be up at Wallan tomorrow for the big Pies v Rockbank clash in the "Hope" that they may find some suitable candidates up that way at the game to appear on the show. Anyway lets just hope there is no unexpected intermingling of genes tomorrow or god forbid, any unnoticed breeding between the two communities. Wallan to prevail over the Rams by 20pts & retain the Simian Cup !

Fitzy, Fitzy, Fitzy what have you done ? You've gone & left Diggers after all those years, after all that hard work, after all those Grand Final appearances. For what ???
To coach a side of kids that dont know how to win, for a club that dont seem to care, on a oval of muck, in a jumper that looks.......well...... yuck !!! What were you thinking ? What were you smoking ? Did they give you some of those famous macedon magic mushies in a shake at your interview ???
Geez Peddo wouldn't have done it, he's way to smart for that. Theres not nearly enough sun in Woodend for him to work on his tan over there !
Water the ground mate & water it good. Remember when you beat the undefeated Riddell over there kicking ALL of 4 goals ? Thats what you gotta do if Woodend are to stand a snowflakes chance in hell of putting up a challenge against the attacking Redbacks. Christ ! Davo' will kick 20 goals if you let him run on top of the ground up there. So let the waters run free & the Gilbert Gordon below Franklin work its magic & the Hawks may just make a contest of this one. But ultimately I think not Romsey by 72pts.

Premiership Market after Round 7 -

Diggers Rest - $1.30
Romsey - $2.00
Sunbury - $2.50
Riddell - $4.00
Wallan, - $12.50
Melton, Rockbank, Lancefield, Kilmore, Macedon & Broadford - $25.00
Woodend . $55.00

Premiership Market after Round 8 -

Diggers Rest - $1.30
Romsey, Sunbury - $2.00
Wallan, Riddell - $12.50
Melton, Rockbank, Lancefield, Kilmore, Macedon & Broadford - $25.00
Kilmore - $55.00
Woodend - $99.00

GooooooooooD Morning RDFL !
Guess who's back ?...... Omni's back !...... Tell a friend !
Omni's back, Omni's back, Omni's back, Omni's back Omni's back da da da da da !

OMNI"S Tips for Round 8 -

I see since I've been away the Tigers have discovered that you dont have to beat the shit out of your opposition to get a win on the board. Good for them ! So tomorrows game against Broadford, who have hit a little bit of form themselves of late promises to be quite the contest indeed. Things have really tightened up for our second tier teams in the competition, in the race for what I believe will be 5th & 6th position on the ladder come finals time. So a win here in this clash will be ever so important for the victor. I'm tippping there will be NO happy ending here for Finchies boys & Lancefield should just get up at home & get the chocolates in a hard fought encounter by 15pts.

Well, just like a Thai ladyboy the Kilmore faithful will be hoping Chrissy Nolan has a huge surprise in store for the Kangaroos in their clash tomorrow down at Sunbury's Boredom Reserve. The Blues who started the season much like a digital clock......(No Ticker !) are at least now starting to show a little fight & pride for their coach, supporters & Kilmore jumper. Having said that, they will find this assignment against 3rd placed Sunbury at home will be a little beyond their capabilities, & I expect them to go down to the Roos to the tune of 67pts.

Ok,........ Now there are "2" things that I just cant believe -
1. That the Australian Customs Service let me back into the country with so much of my "Crack" visible !........................................&
2. That Diggers Rest are still playing brilliant footy & are still sitting atop our ladder undefeated !
Who woulda thought it ???
Jamie Elliott, you are a GOD ! To re-invent that playing group with the minimum of fuss that has taken place & have them playing the type of footy that has them where they are today, is an absolute miracle !If you can pull off, what is beginning to look like a mere formality, even at this early stage & grab the 2012 Premiership. Then they should be erecting a Buddha to your likeness down at the "Rest" so that all the Burra faithful can pay homage to your insight & greatness !
Melton are poo !.......... I repeat POO !! And will pose no threat to Diggers tomorrow. Although Diggers will NOT win by shit loads, because now they are smart as well as a very very good side. They are just doing what they have to do to get the job done. They should win by 100+ pts, but they wont ! I'm tipping a coasting comfortable win of 60pts at home for them.

One would think that Macedons "Love You Long Time" love affair with senior coach Al Meldrum would be becoming a little strained in recent weeks given their sudden form slump ??? Well the way I see it if it isnt now it may well be after the Cats go 9 weeks without recording a win to their name ! Yes NINE weeks ! Because looking at the draw thats exactly just the type of scenario that is likely to occur, unless Macedon are able to cause a massive upset in that time. Tomorrow at home against the Bombers ??? I dont think so ! Riddell will be ruthless, to atone for that 1/2 game 2 point loss they suffered last season when the game was stopped prematurely after Matty Sammut snapped his leg horrifically two minutes into the second half. The Bombers are ticking along just ok & are looking to be building for a big run towards the pointy end of the season. They will probably go through the motions here for a pretty bruise free win with a margin of 36pts.

Anyone seen that show on TV called Embarrassing Bodies ?
You know the one, semi-trailor full of doctors & equipment, touring around with a film crew doing stories about freaks & their ailments ? .....Yes ?....... Well apparently they are gunna be up at Wallan tomorrow for the big Pies v Rockbank clash in the "Hope" that they may find some suitable candidates up that way at the game to appear on the show. Anyway lets just hope there is no unexpected intermingling of genes tomorrow or god forbid, any unnoticed breeding between the two communities. Wallan to prevail over the Rams by 20pts & retain the Simian Cup !

Fitzy, Fitzy, Fitzy what have you done ? You've gone & left Diggers after all those years, after all that hard work, after all those Grand Final appearances. For what ???
To coach a side of kids that dont know how to win, for a club that dont seem to care, on a oval of muck, in a jumper that looks.......well...... yuck !!! What were you thinking ? What were you smoking ? Did they give you some of those famous macedon magic mushies in a shake at your interview ???
Geez Peddo wouldn't have done it, he's way to smart for that. Theres not nearly enough sun in Woodend for him to work on his tan over there !
Water the ground mate & water it good. Remember when you beat the undefeated Riddell over there kicking ALL of 4 goals ? Thats what you gotta do if Woodend are to stand a snowflakes chance in hell of putting up a challenge against the attacking Redbacks. Christ ! Davo' will kick 20 goals if you let him run on top of the ground up there. So let the waters run free & the Gilbert Gordon below Franklin work its magic & the Hawks may just make a contest of this one. But ultimately I think not Romsey by 72pts.

Was the Macedon v Riddell a bruise free affair, and what are Riddell's chances of going deep into the finals, when the are likely to be coming from fourth or fifth ? How far off the top three teams are they ? Looks like there is a gap starting to occur !

Well apart from young Benny Sonogan who was accidently crunched by team mate Micky Allen going back with the flight of the ball in a courageous marking attempt I dont think there was any injuries to speak of in the game. Benny copped a pretty bad cork in the first quarter "Friendly fire incident" to the thigh & had the wind knocked out of his sails & took no further part in the game. This hurt the Bombers forward structure, which hasn't been functioning that well of late anyhow & they took some time to adjust down there. Fortunately for Riddell young Matt Darby came on & stepped up to the plate almost imediately, presenting well, takes a fine grab & kicked 5 goals I think.
Deep into finals ???
Its going to be tough, no doubt ! Especially the way they are playing at present. But on the plus side they have quite a few premiership players to come back into that side & that should make a considerable difference come the pointy end of the season, I think.
To my mind, July will decide where the Bombers finish on the ladder. I said on Friday that the Cats could go 9 weeks without a win, unless they caused an upset. Which they NOW have.(Although it only makes up for the Kilmore loss !) Well Riddell could go the whole of July unless they are able to do the same & beat a team above them on the ladder. A daunting task indeed ! Perhaps ???
Its hard to say at this stage how far off the top three the Bombers are. Romsey & Sunbury are flying at the moment & Diggers are methodically just doing what it takes.
I dont know where you are ruling your line for the form gap in the comp' FSOTS but I still think its (or will be) something like -

Diggers Rest. (Clearly !)

Romsey, Sunbury & Riddell.

Macedon & Wallan.

Melton, Rockbank, Lancefield.

Woodend, Broadford & Kilmore

Well apart from young Benny Sonogan who was accidently crunched by team mate Micky Allen going back with the flight of the ball in a courageous marking attempt I dont think there was any injuries to speak of in the game. Benny copped a pretty bad cork in the first quarter "Friendly fire incident" to the thigh & had the wind knocked out of his sails & took no further part in the game. This hurt the Bombers forward structure, which hasn't been functioning that well of late anyhow & they took some time to adjust down there. Fortunately for Riddell young Matt Darby came on & stepped up to the plate almost imediately, presenting well, takes a fine grab & kicked 5 goals I think.
Deep into finals ???
Its going to be tough, no doubt ! Especially the way they are playing at present. But on the plus side they have quite a few premiership players to come back into that side & that should make a considerable difference come the pointy end of the season, I think.
To my mind, July will decide where the Bombers finish on the ladder. I said on Friday that the Cats could go 9 weeks without a win, unless they caused an upset. Which they NOW have.(Although it only makes up for the Kilmore loss !) Well Riddell could go the whole of July unless they are able to do the same & beat a team above them on the ladder. A daunting task indeed ! Perhaps ???
Its hard to say at this stage how far off the top three the Bombers are. Romsey & Sunbury are flying at the moment & Diggers are methodically just doing what it takes.
I dont know where you are ruling your line for the form gap in the comp' FSOTS but I still think its (or will be) something like -

Diggers Rest. (Clearly !)

Romsey, Sunbury & Riddell.

Macedon & Wallan.

Melton, Rockbank, Lancefield.

Woodend, Broadford & Kilmore

Thanks for the very comprehensive response Omni.

Think you're right July might sort things out one way or another, with matches against Romsey, Sunbury and Diggers. Riddell at this stage are effectively four points and 100% out of the top three, so will need to win at least two of these big matches.

Good to see young Darby doing well. His Dad was a handy player in his day !

We have been spoilt yet again at the Tony Clarke Reserve with the Cats putting on a brilliant display.. it was a great game to watch and there was a lot of courage shown by both sides.. Macedon did the hard things more so than the Bombers and deserved the win.. I thought the umpiring was sensational.. the Iceman and Steady were stars.. the free kick for a punch through the points on the full from a ball up that resulted in a free kick to Macedon was a good technical one to pay.. Presto kicked it through the big sticks and it ultimately made the difference.. neither side left a stone unturned and to see Darbs in full flight was exciting.. lets hope he keeps it up.. everything he touched turned to GOAL. It'll be sad not having any footy on this weekend :(

This is normally where I would do a round up from the weekend's game that I attended.. But there is nothing to say!!! Kilmore were little more than witches hats outside of the opening 10 minutes of the contest.

From what I saw.

Jared Pretty is the Kangaroos wildcard, excellent balance and outstanding finishing skills.
Shane Bishop used the ball far better this week, might be getting the hang of how the Kangaroos want to play.
Mitch Streiff is the one player at the Kangaroos that opposition sides will need to pay attention to.

What I learned from Round 8

• The Tigers are in the finals mix, only a month ago they were being accused as being the worst side in RDFL history.
  • Centrals are really responding to the message being passed on by Wheels, but at the 3qtr time huddle the message was loud and clear, respectable losses are unacceptable when in the position they were in. But watch out for them in the 2nd half of the year.
  • Sunbury have the best balanced list, Diggers have the best "team" and Romsey have the most talented list.
  • Riddell are coming from a long way back!!
Performance Ladder - Round 8

Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Macedon
Lancefield
Wallan
Diggers Rest
--------------------------
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Riddell
Broadford
Woodend/Hesket
Kilmore

Hope everyone enjoys the week off!!!

Hey blokes, can anyone give me an update on how Shaun Neeson has been travelling at Macedon ? played juniors with him and he was a jet, nearly 30 now but im guessing he stills goes ok ? cheers

Shauny is playing really well the Cats.. wins plenty of the ball through the middle and gets a few goals on the scoreboard from time to time.. hasn;t lost any of his touch :)

Thanks for the very comprehensive response Omni.

Think you're right July might sort things out one way or another, with matches against Romsey, Sunbury and Diggers. Riddell at this stage are effectively four points and 100% out of the top three, so will need to win at least two of these big matches.

Good to see young Darby doing well. His Dad was a handy player in his day !

Yes, the young lad has quite a deal of talent. Will certainly be an asset to Riddell up forward come finals time.
Did you see his father play did you ? Where & what type of player was he ?

Yes, the young lad has quite a deal of talent. Will certainly be an asset to Riddell up forward come finals time.
Did you see his father play did you ? Where & what type of player was he ?

Saw him play at Avondale Heights (best in comp edfl A grade 1986) when they were runner up to a powerful Glenroy side. Saw him play at Coburg in the old VFA (pretty sure he made team of the year one year). Saw him play at Riddell (pretty sure he played in a premiership early 90's).

What type of player, strong marking key position player (early days key back). Booming left foot kick ! When playing in the forward half was capable to putting it through the middle from a long way out !

Saw him play at Avondale Heights (best in comp edfl A grade 1986) when they were runner up to a powerful Glenroy side. Saw him play at Coburg in the old VFA (pretty sure he made team of the year one year). Saw him play at Riddell (pretty sure he played in a premiership early 90's).

What type of player, strong marking key position player (early days key back). Booming left foot kick ! When playing in the forward half was capable to putting it through the middle from a long way out !

Oh ok, sounds like the kid has a pretty good lineage then.
Geez to see that much of him you must have been his manager or something ???
Was that when Glenroy won 4 Premierships in a row ???

You know FSOTS, I lament that these days that senior Coaches dont seem to focus enough training time on forward play or contested high marking. Or accurate goal kicking.Or even set forward play pieces. :(

Its a skill just like any other. But I see key forwards week after week miss timing & dropping marks. Spraying set shots at goal. And forwards not putting in second & third efforts after they didn't get the ball delivered to them laces out or fighting desperately enough to keep the ball in their forward attacking zone.
A very good rounded footballing forward is still worth his weight in gold. Unfortunately there aint many really good ones around............& there doesn't seem to be many coaches willing to devote the time to create one !!! :confused:

Oh ok, sounds like the kid has a pretty good lineage then. \nGeez to see that much of him you must have been his manager or something ???\nWas that when Glenroy won 4 Premierships in a row ???\n \nYou know FSOTS, I lament that these days that senior Coaches dont seem to focus enough training time on forward play or contested high marking. Or accurate goal kicking.Or even set forward play pieces. :(\n \nIts a skill just like any other. But I see key forwards week after week miss timing & dropping marks. Spraying set shots at goal. And forwards not putting in second & third efforts after they didn't get the ball delivered to them laces out or fighting desperately enough to keep the ball in their forward attacking zone.\nA very good rounded footballing forward is still worth his weight in gold. Unfortunately there aint many really good ones around............& there doesn't seem to be many coaches willing to devote the time to create one !!! :confused:
\

Maybe not at Riddell! haha..... I have never noticed you at training omni to comment about what the opposition clubs are or arent working on......What u should have said is, its really disappointing that the Riddell coaching staff dont do enough work with their forwards, therefore they are not getting the most out of their players......Im guessing u also wanted to say, how come other clubs in the R.D.F.L can have functioning fwd lines but we cant????And players such as davidson,tuckey,meacham,dawson,ruane etc can consistantly kick multiple goals yet our star fwds like micky allen,brian ruffell and co. currently arent???? Tell me im wrong?

Thanks for the feed back fella's, it's ok the coach rang me to say what a great job he did and the players, played a very small part in the win! I have also been informed that the best runner in the RDFL also played a big part! well done Snake!

Harrison Hyundai Seniors - Round 9

Footy is back after the long weekend with some interesting games.
Romsey (2nd, 7-1) Vs Broadford (9th, 2-6)The Redbacks host the Roos who are coming off a disappointing loss to the Tigers last week and a missed opportunity to insert themselves into the finals race. Coming into the half way mark of the season, there is no doubt the Rams would have liked at least 3 wins on the board, but are likely to head into the half way mark with only 2. The Redbacks are just hitting their straps and will be looking to make a statement here leading into a massive game with the Burra next week for top spot. They are still missing several key players but will be hoping that after the week off they will start to see the missing players filtering back in.
Tip: The Redbacks are a tough enough ask for the Roos, but the Redbacks at home is near impossible. They will try to clog the game up and keep it close, but the Redbacks have just too much class.
Romsey by 40 points.

Riddell (5th, 5-3) Vs Kilmore (12th, 1-7)
With the list that they have, are Kilmore really the worst side in the competition?? I still find that so hard to believe, but the fact is, in Round 8, they were nothing more than witches hats as the Kangaroos tore them apart. If it's not crisis time for the players of Kilmore, then it must be very very close. They need to respond and getting pummeled isn't a response.. It's not structure or set up that is the issue, they proved that in the first 10 minutes of the game, it is effort and effort for an extended period. The problem for the Blues is that they come up against the Bombers who are coming off a disappointing loss of their own. The Bombers preparation came under fire again last week as they were beaten by the Cats who were better prepared and more willing to put in work when it was needed. The Bombers have had a slow start to the year and the last time I saw them still looked underdone, but they are missing quite a few key players that they will be looking forward to seeing return this week.
Tip: Based on the recent performances of Kilmore, they are no chance in this game, but if they are willing to take risks and take the game on and keep the Bombers moving defensively rather than allowing them to get 2 or 3 to the contest, then they might give themselves a shot. But the Bombers have several good players due back this week and it might mark the start of their run.
Riddell by 30 points.

Diggers Rest (1st, 8-0) Vs Lancefield (10th, 2-6)
The Tigers are flying, coming off their 2nd win in 3 weeks against Broadford last round, their first win at home since 2010. The Tigers have grown over the past month and will be looking to test themselves against the current ladder leader.
Surprisingly, the Burra still are not the greatest of attacking sides in the competition, sitting 5th overall for points scored, 300 points behind Romsey and Sunbury, yet once again, defensively, they lead the competition, conceding only 43 points per game.
Tip: Big ask for the Tigers youngsters, the Burra have too much experience and class across the field.
Diggers Rest by 50 points.

Rockbank (7th, 3-5) Vs Sunbury Kangaroos (3rd, 6-2)
The Rams host the Roos in a big game heading into the half way mark, last season, the Rams pushed the Kangaroos to the limit on their home ground, going down by just 5 points, they will need a repeat performance here, the Rams sit 2 games outside the top 6 as it stands and need to pick up a big scalp in order to put themselves in the finals mix. The Rams pride themselves on their performance at home. The Roos hit top gear last round in their demolition of the Blues and will be looking to back that up. They did that without spearhead Chris Meacham who should return for this game, a win here should lock them into a top 4 finish at the end of the year.
Tip: This game could be closer than many think, the Rams have been solid at home and will throw everything at the Roos.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 18 points

Melton Central (8th, 2-5-1) Vs Woodend/Hesket (11th, 1-7)
Big game for both sides this week. Centrals pushed ladder leaders Diggers Rest for 3 quarters last week and early in the season were considered contenders for a finals spot, but they haven't picked up a win since Round 2. At home this week, Centrals have a big opportunity to get back into the winners circle and put themselves back in contention for a finals position.
The Hawks have had a rough year so far, a win in Round 1 has been followed by a drought, they have a good young side the Hawks and will continue to build, but they almost seem to be in the same position of Lancefield in early 2011.
Tip: Centrals should be too strong at home for the young Hawks.
Melton Centrals by 30 points

Match of the Round
Wallan (6th, 5-3) Vs Macedon (4th, 5-2-1)
The Magpies got away with the win at home last round against a fast finishing Rockbank side that has put them in a position coming into the half way mark of the season to have a crack at the Cats at home with a chance to leap frog them on the ladder. The Magpies have had a solid season to date, winning the games they should be winning to ensure a repeat of last years finals appearance, there is no doubt that they have improved in 2012 and much of the improvement generated by the clubs youngster that have stepped up from the Under 18 competition. Of all the games they have played this year, this one could be the most important, a real opportunity for Wallan to not only establish as a finals side, but a contender for a top 4 finish. The Cats picked up a gritty win last week against Riddell that would have more than pleased the faithful at Tony Clarke, but the challenge is in front of them now to back that up and really put a stamp on 4th spot. They are half a game clear of Riddell and half a game behind Sunbury for 3rd spot. Kris Preston has been exceptional so far this season, standing up and taking on the role at Full Forward and providing an excellent target for the Cats to kick to. He will need to be well and truly on top of his game this week. Both of these sides face their biggest challenge to date!!!
Tip: Massive contest for both of these sides, a win here could catapult the Magpies into Top 4 contention, a loss will see the chasing pack close the gap, while the Cats really need to back up their fantastic win from last week, a loss, and that breathing space is gone with games against Sunbury and Romsey to come.
Wallan by 5 points.

Good luck to everyone this weekend. :thumbsu: