RDFL Thread - 2013

Final Scores -
Macedon 6. 7. 43. Def' by Diggers Rest 14. 7. 91.
Riddell 16. 15. 111. Def' Lancefield 8. 2. 50.

Second week running Umpires did a reasonable job. :thumbsu::rainbow:

You seem surprised OMNI? Must say both Laurie and Paul did a great job at Romsey today too :thumbsu:
Not that anyone cares about what's happening over my way, but Romsey kicked 22.13 not 27.13 as appeared on the SMS service and Facebook page tonight.

Also it's something that's not a norm at senior level, but to Peddo and also the new prez Mark who went out of their way to come up the top end and address my young group before we left the ground this afternoon .... a big thanks. Both guys have been where we are during their time in football, so for them to come do that speaks volumes in my opinion.

Certainly a day of history at Romsey today. I believe it was the last time those dog$hit changerooms will be used, and as a last hurrah they pulled the generator before the final siren meaning cold showers - talk about kicking us whilst we're down haha!!!

Hey Omni, if u were at the Riddell game today, can u elaborate on the U18's blew at 3/4 time? Apparently the game was called off due to the Lancefield people blewing amongst themselves?

We had heard the same thing before the two's game started at Romsey but I'm hoping like buggery it was incorrect mail.

Hey Omni, if u were at the Riddell game today, can u elaborate on the U18's blew at 3/4 time? Apparently the game was called off due to the Lancefield people blewing amongst themselves?

Yes Norman, my wife and I were there today as we support Riddell and our grandson plays for Riddell. What she saw with our other grand children was an utter disgrace and outrageous. It was disgusting behavior by the Lancefield umpires escort, coaches box, supporters and the players. The people of Riddell and the Riddell players should be commended on their actions and their behavior. They were dumbfounded by the acts of the Lancefield Football Club. There was punches thrown, threatening language, threats, players punching other players from the same team, People have never seen this happened before. Coaches arguing, yelling, swearing at people from their own club, The umpire did a marvelous job and stopped it at 3/4 quarter time as it was getting out of hand. They should be applauded as much as the Riddell club should be. Me as a grandparent and a football lover, will never go and watch a game of football with Lancefield Football Club involved in it, ever again. I ASK ALL YOU PEOPLE OUT THERE, IF THE RDFL IE: BALLARAT FOOTBALL LEAGUE, WANT TO CRACK DOWN ON VIOLENCE IN THIS SO CALLED LEAGUE, ARE THEY GOING TO TREAT LANCEFIELD IN THE SAME WAY THAT THEY INVESTIGATED THE GOINGS ON AT THE GRAND FINAL OF LAST YEAR FIASCO.
1. ARE LANCEFIELD GOING TO BE FINED $5000???
2. DO LANCEFIELD HAVE TO APOLOGISE TO THE RDFL AND OLLIE MATTHEWS IN THE LOCAL PAPERS???
3. ARE LANCEFIELD SPECTATORS AND COACHES AND MEMBERS GOING TO BE BANNED FROM RDFL GAMES???
4. ARE LANCEFIELD SPONSORS GOING TO BE BANNED FROM RDFL GAMES???
5. ARE LANCEFIELD PLAYERS AND SUPPORTERS GOING TO HAVE TO SIGN A CODE OF CONDUCT TO BE INVOLVED IN THEIR CLUB???
6. DID LANCEFIELD BRING THE LEAGUE INTO DISREPUTE???

OR

ROD WARD AND OLLIE MATTHEWS 1200 GAMES, WILL YOU JUST GIVE THIS CLUB LANCEFIELD A SLAP ON THE BACK AND SAY COME SEPTEMBER "YOU CAN HAVE THE GRAND FINAL AGAIN AND GET $15K IN FRONT OF EVERYBODY ELSE FOR THE START OF 2014" AND OHHH YEAH DON'T WORRY ABOUT OTHER CLUBS........YOUSE DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT AN INVESTIGATION.. WE'LL LOOK AFTER YOU WE LIKE YOU TIGERS!!!

We had heard the same thing before the two's game started at Romsey but I'm hoping like buggery it was incorrect mail.

Yes an "Incident" did take place during the Riddell v Lancefield under 18 game today. Although I did not witness the bizarre & ugly spectacle first hand, I am told by a very reliable source that did. That it involved Lancefield v Lancefield supporters/officials. No Riddell people or players were involved. Police were called & the game was called off at three quarter time.
Lets just say that we should chalk another one up too "The Ugly Parent Syndrome" ! :thumbsdown:

I guess it will all play out through official chanells in the fullness of time..................... &.............No animals were harmed in the perpetration of this unfortunate circumstance. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Yes Norman, my wife and I were there today as we support Riddell and our grandson plays for Riddell. What she saw with our other grand children was an utter disgrace and outrageous. It was disgusting behavior by the Lancefield umpires escort, coaches box, supporters and the players. The people of Riddell and the Riddell players should be commended on their actions and their behavior. They were dumbfounded by the acts of the Lancefield Football Club. There was punches thrown, threatening language, threats, players punching other players from the same team, People have never seen this happened before. Coaches arguing, yelling, swearing at people from their own club, The umpire did a marvelous job and stopped it at 3/4 quarter time as it was getting out of hand. They should be applauded as much as the Riddell club should be. Me as a grandparent and a football lover, will never go and watch a game of football with Lancefield Football Club involved in it, ever again. I ASK ALL YOU PEOPLE OUT THERE, IF THE RDFL IE: BALLARAT FOOTBALL LEAGUE, WANT TO CRACK DOWN ON VIOLENCE IN THIS SO CALLED LEAGUE, ARE THEY GOING TO TREAT LANCEFIELD IN THE SAME WAY THAT THEY INVESTIGATED THE GOINGS ON AT THE GRAND FINAL OF LAST YEAR FIASCO.
2. DO LANCEFIELD HAVE TO APOLOGISE TO THE RDFL AND OLLIE MATTHEWS IN THE LOCAL PAPERS???
3. ARE LANCEFIELD SPECTATORS AND COACHES AND MEMBERS GOING TO BE BANNED FROM RDFL GAMES???
5. ARE LANCEFIELD PLAYERS AND SUPPORTERS GOING TO HAVE TO SIGN A CODE OF CONDUCT TO BE INVOLVED IN THEIR CLUB???

OR

ROD WARD AND OLLIE MATTHEWS 1200 GAMES, WILL YOU JUST GIVE THIS CLUB LANCEFIELD A SLAP ON THE BACK AND SAY COME SEPTEMBER "YOU CAN HAVE THE GRAND FINAL AGAIN AND GET $15K IN FRONT OF EVERYBODY ELSE FOR THE START OF 2014" AND OHHH YEAH DON'T WORRY ABOUT OTHER CLUBS........YOUSE DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT AN INVESTIGATION.. WE'LL LOOK AFTER YOU WE LIKE YOU TIGERS!!!

Your first post was what I'd call an airy teepee, but your 2nd suggests that for a grandparent you are extremely up to speed with forums like this ...... welcome aboard.

Yes an "Incident" did take place during the Riddell v Lancefield under 18 game today. Although I did not witness the bizarre & ugly spectacle first hand, I am told by a very reliable source that did. That it involved Lancefield v Lancefield supporters/officials. No Riddell people or players were involved. Police were called & the game was called off at three quarter time.
Lets just say that we should chalk another one up too "The Ugly Parent Syndrome" ! :thumbsdown:

I guess it will all play out through official chanells in the fullness of time..................... &.............No animals were harmed in perpetration of this unfortunate circumstance. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Thanks for that teepeesmoker and Omni....and your closing one liner Omni, another classic. So it seems the 'family' club up the road are eating their own, whilst the 'ferals' down at Romsey are having their coach and president talk to the opposition team in good sporting gesture! Go figure

You seem surprised OMNI? Must say both Laurie and Paul did a great job at Romsey today too :thumbsu:
Not that anyone cares about what's happening over my way, but Romsey kicked 22.13 not 27.13 as appeared on the SMS service and Facebook page tonight.

Also it's something that's not a norm at senior level, but to Peddo and also the new prez Mark who went out of their way to come up the top end and address my young group before we left the ground this afternoon .... a big thanks. Both guys have been where we are during their time in football, so for them to come do that speaks volumes in my opinion.

Certainly a day of history at Romsey today. I believe it was the last time those dog$hit changerooms will be used, and as a last hurrah they pulled the generator before the final siren meaning cold showers - talk about kicking us whilst we're down haha!!!

VERY, Doon' !!!
You do know who we had today dont you pal ?

Thanks for that teepeesmoker and Omni....and your closing one liner Omni, another classic. So it seems the 'family' club up the road are eating their own, whilst the 'ferals' down at Romsey are having their coach and president talk to the opposition team in good sporting gesture! Go figure

Touche` pal ! ;)

Perhaps it was because they didn't have to change direction too often mate ??? :eek:

Sorry pal couldn't help myself. :mad:

Perhaps it was because they didn't have to change direction too often mate ??? :eek:

Sorry pal couldn't help myself. :mad:

No need to be sorry, we all know what we're in for and to these young blokes credit they coulda easily ran and jumped ship and played elsewhere too but haven't. The fact we got 7-8 kids who opted against 3rds footy to stay with us and ensure the club fields two sides a week is a credit to them.

We'll continue to roll up, try our best and find other ways to guage things as opposed to wins/losses. As I said to them tonight I don't think they realise that we were a week away from pulling the pin in January as a result of the high loss of personnel and poor training numbers. We coulda taken the soft option of going into recess for a year but chose to just dig deep and keep fighting.

Ive always said "footy dont build character it reveals it" as these kids will benefit greatly from doing it tough when they see better times as they've been through the difficult times. How about all these blokes that roll from club to club wherever the going is good, if things ever got tough they'd probably find reason to just keep moving on instead of testing themselves in trying circumstances.

It aint gunna be about the amount of times we get laughed at, knocked down and/or treated with a lack of respect ..... just as long as we keep getting then up I'll be happy.

VERY, Doon' !!!
You do know who we had today dont you pal ?

Yeh, you had me, LOL!! Barely heard any talk about the u/18's. Almost went the whole afternoon without hearing about it.

I would like to congratulate Ollie on reaching the 1200 games milestone. Rare feat that must be respected. I'm glad that I have had the pleasure of sharing the 1200th game as well his 1000th a few years ago. Massive thinks to Nick and everyone at Riddell and Phil and the lancefield guys for showing their respect by lining up in a guard of honour and signing the ball after the match. The presentation after match was also a nice touch. So yet again, thanks to everyone for making it a great day for Ollie.

Yeh, you had me, LOL!! Barely heard any talk about the u/18's. Almost went the whole afternoon without hearing about it.

I would like to congratulate Ollie on reaching the 1200 games milestone. Rare feat that must be respected. I'm glad that I have had the pleasure of sharing the 1200th game as well his 1000th a few years ago. Massive thinks to Nick and everyone at Riddell and Phil and the lancefield guys for showing their respect by lining up in a guard of honour and signing the ball after the match. The presentation after match was also a nice touch. So yet again, thanks to everyone for making it a great day for Ollie.

You were not the field umpire I was referring to in my earlier post. o_O

No need to be sorry, we all know what we're in for and to these young blokes credit they coulda easily ran and jumped ship and played elsewhere too but haven't. The fact we got 7-8 kids who opted against 3rds footy to stay with us and ensure the club fields two sides a week is a credit to them.

We'll continue to roll up, try our best and find other ways to guage things as opposed to wins/losses. As I said to them tonight I don't think they realise that we were a week away from pulling the pin in January as a result of the high loss of personnel and poor training numbers. We coulda taken the soft option of going into recess for a year but chose to just dig deep and keep fighting.

Ive always said "footy dont build character it reveals it" as these kids will benefit greatly from doing it tough when they see better times as they've been through the difficult times. How about all these blokes that roll from club to club wherever the going is good, if things ever got tough they'd probably find reason to just keep moving on instead of testing themselves in trying circumstances.

It aint gunna be about the amount of times we get laughed at, knocked down and/or treated with a lack of respect ..... just as long as we keep getting then up I'll be happy.

Good on you Doon', keep punching ! :thumbsu:
See you next round pal. :)

Focus now goes onto rep footy for a week, and whilst no doubt some clubs will not want players involved I've always thought of rep footy as a way of guaging why blokes play footy - is it money, is it success or is it to play the best standard they can?

Tatura is an amazing surface (well it was last year) and the facilities up there will assure those who represent us at 18's and senior level have an amazing interleague experience. Anyone who's had the priviledge of being involved with rep footy will back me up (I hope) in saying you create great relationships will people you normally would not, and it's something that in years down the track you'll still have a bond as a result.

Anyway good luck to all involved, here is the KDFL's Interleague squad..

Ardmona: Ash Hockey, Brayden Hockey, Daniel Orr, Brent Ralph, Luke Trevena.
Avenel: Paul Arandt, Cael McCarthy.
Girgarre: Tom Roberts, Dylan Smith, Ryan Patten, Dwayne Ditzpatrick, Paul Parsons.
Lancaster: Michael Hill, Nick Bertoli, Kadeem May, Tyson Dipetta, Adrian Meka
Merrigum: Josh Pell, Shane Sali, Geoff Connally, Daniel Dryden, Logan Church.
Murchison: John Shiels, Anthony Mellington, Jake Ewart, James Milne.
Nagambie: Tyrone Muir, Mitch Sanderson, Grant Connors, Danny Haysom.
Rushworth: Jake Perry, Sean Gledhill, Lachie Armstrong, Scott Hamilton.
Stanhope: Jarrad Mason, Michael Coad, Jye Ledin, Tom Hepburn
Tallygaroopna: Kane Handley, Ben Pedretti, Tyler Pedretti, Sean Arnold.
Undera: Sam O'Brien, Jack Hajro, Dan Breen, Danni Heazlewood, Spiro Vourgaslis.
Violet Town: Pat Horsburgh, Chris McKay, Brent Bailey, Ben Ballinger, Rob Rutley, Rob Osborne

OMNI"S 2013 RDFL LADDER PREDICTIONS.
(mark 2)

Romsey................60
Riddell...................60
Diggers Rest.........56
Sunbury..................44
Macedon.................36
Broadford...............32

Melton.....................28
Rupertswood...........24
Lancefield................24
Rockbank.................24
Wallan.....................20
Woodend...................4
Kilmore.....................0

Biggest Improver..........Broadford.
Biggest Slidder...............Woodend.

Grand Finalists..............Romsey v Riddell.
Premiership..................Romsey.

Lee James Medal.........Matt Davo' (Rom')
Rising Star...................Grant Puxley (Ridd')
Bowen Medal..............Darren Goodwin (Mac')

I reckon Sunbury will finish on more than 44 points by the end of the home and away. Not much between the top four teams.

No way will Broadford make the finals.

Fifth and sixth spots will be fought out between Macedon, Melton Centrals and Rupertswood.

Melton Centrals will probably finish sixth, where they finished last year, but their football has improved leaps and bounds.

Focus now goes onto rep footy for a week, and whilst no doubt some clubs will not want players involved I've always thought of rep footy as a way of guaging why blokes play footy - is it money, is it success or is it to play the best standard they can?

Tatura is an amazing surface (well it was last year) and the facilities up there will assure those who represent us at 18's and senior level have an amazing interleague experience. Anyone who's had the priviledge of being involved with rep footy will back me up (I hope) in saying you create great relationships will people you normally would not, and it's something that in years down the track you'll still have a bond as a result.

Anyway good luck to all involved, here is the KDFL's Interleague squad..

Ardmona: Ash Hockey, Brayden Hockey, Daniel Orr, Brent Ralph, Luke Trevena.
Avenel: Paul Arandt, Cael McCarthy.
Girgarre: Tom Roberts, Dylan Smith, Ryan Patten, Dwayne Ditzpatrick, Paul Parsons.
Lancaster: Michael Hill, Nick Bertoli, Kadeem May, Tyson Dipetta, Adrian Meka
Merrigum: Josh Pell, Shane Sali, Geoff Connally, Daniel Dryden, Logan Church.
Murchison: John Shiels, Anthony Mellington, Jake Ewart, James Milne.
Nagambie: Tyrone Muir, Mitch Sanderson, Grant Connors, Danny Haysom.
Rushworth: Jake Perry, Sean Gledhill, Lachie Armstrong, Scott Hamilton.
Stanhope: Jarrad Mason, Michael Coad, Jye Ledin, Tom Hepburn
Tallygaroopna: Kane Handley, Ben Pedretti, Tyler Pedretti, Sean Arnold.
Undera: Sam O'Brien, Jack Hajro, Dan Breen, Danni Heazlewood, Spiro Vourgaslis.
Violet Town: Pat Horsburgh, Chris McKay, Brent Bailey, Ben Ballinger, Rob Rutley, Rob Osborne

Any thoughts or ideas who might be in the RDFL side. Who would you have in Doona, if all in the squad were available ?

OR

I don't know what teepee smoker was smoking but he saw things I didn't see and I am sure I was a lot closer.
1 The Lancefield umpires escort did nothing wrong.
2. I did not see any punches thrown neither did my son how played.
3. Lancefield coach, runner and trainers did nothing wrong.
It was an extremely embarrassing situation that must have consequences for the wrong doers. I am certain the Lancefiled committee will come down hard on those at fault. No doubt the league will investigate as they should

OMNI'S 2013 RDFL LADDER PREDICTION
(Mark 3)

Romsey.....................60
Riddell......................60
Diggers Rest..............56
Sunbury.....................44
Melton.......................36
Macedon....................36

Rupertswood...............32
Lancefield...................24
Broadford....................24
Rockbank....................20
Wallan.......................20
Woodend.....................4
Kilmore........................................................................................................................................................

Biggest Improver..........Lancefield
Biggest Slider...............Wallan

Grand Finalists..............Romsey v Riddell
Premiers......................Romsey

Lee James Medal...........Matt Davidson. (Romsey)
Dome Rising Gun...........Ethan Foreman. (Riddell)
Bowen Medal................Darren Goodwin. (Macedon)

I don't know what teepee smoker was smoking but he saw things I didn't see and I am sure I was a lot closer.
1 The Lancefield umpires escort did nothing wrong.
2. I did not see any punches thrown neither did my son how played.
3. Lancefield coach, runner and trainers did nothing wrong.
It was an extremely embarrassing situation that must have consequences for the wrong doers. I am certain the Lancefiled committee will come down hard on those at fault. No doubt the league will investigate as they should

Call me an old cynic Mr Dismayed but I was kinda wondering WHY Mr teepeesmoker would link this unfortunate incident on Saturday morning with that of the chaotic aftermath which marred last years Grand Final & also the ensuing penalties that were metered out as a result ??? o_O
What does one have ANYTHING to do with the other ??? o_O
And, furthermore - WHY would a "Riddell Supporter" give a toss about EITHER of these incidents ??? :cool:

OMNI'S 2013 RDFL LADDER PREDICTION
(Mark 3)

Romsey.....................60
Riddell......................60
Diggers Rest..............56
Sunbury.....................44
Melton.......................36
Macedon....................36

Rupertswood...............32
Lancefield...................24
Broadford....................24
Rockbank....................20
Wallan.......................20
Woodend.....................4
Kilmore........................................................................................................................................................

Biggest Improver...........Lancefield
Biggest Slider................Wallan

Grand Finalists..............Romsey v Riddell
Premiers......................Romsey

Lee James Medal...........Matt Davidson. (Romsey)
Dome Rising Gun...........Ethan Foreman. (Riddell)
Bowen Medal................Darren Goodwin. (Macedon)
Lancefield ended up wooden spooners last year and you have predicted they will finish above Broadford, but you have selected Broadford as the biggest improvers. How does that work?