RDFL Thread - 2013

Have to agree Bomba. 2,3 or 4 per club is fine when whipping up a squad but you gotta go with the best players with their hands up to play regardless of where they're from.
In an ideal world of course we would want to have our absolute best 22. Fact is the last time we played in 2010 the top side and third side on the ladder at that stage didn't supply 1 player between them. For all I know this was for good reason but it just illustrates that neither league will go close to filling a full strength side. Does not stop us from trying though.

From memory Dawson, Smith-Whiting, Jimmy Turner, Sims and Tommy Waters were the stand outs the last time. Think Smith-Whiting kicked half our score.

What are everyone's thoughts on the RDFNL President; Ollie Matthews on umpiring his 1200th game next week?

Romsey by 120 over Woodend, i think Davo got 11. Sam Wood unfortunately broke his collarbone in the first qtr, all the best Woody.

I hope Brewer, Farmer & Dawson are ok, bad day for romsey and the interleague team, expecially seing it was so one sided!!!!
Farmer sprained his ankle and will be ok in 2, Dawsons shoulder is ok and Brewer copped one in the belly but will be ok. Wasn't worth putting Brewer and dawson back on once it became a one sided game. Gave a few of the younger lads a chance to have a run, and they showed they will be up to the challenge if/when given the chance. Davo 9

saw the first half at Wallan and the last half at Kilmore. from general play I didn't think the scoreboard was honest because both young teams tried really hard against two teasm who will be in the finals. most animated the kimore coach has been the times Ive watched them. Last huddle he asked for a real crack and said something like Macedon arnt known for being physical they will never push around a Romsey, Riddell Sunbury or diggers so don't let them think they can bully you kids.Must say for 15minutes they had a real go after that problem is the same as at wallan games of footy are four quarters

Busted!!! I'm glad we don't have to meet Al's boys again after reading this but admit I was a bit $hitty at half time. What was the wash-up elsewhere? Was told at a 40th last night there was a little bit of a melee in the clash of the Kangaroo's .... was there much in it?

Didn't hear much about a melee but heard from a mate of mine at Sunbury that his opponent told him that one of the Broadford players "just didn't show up" (fletcher) for the game on Saturday, surely this wouldnt be the case?

I hope Brewer, Farmer & Dawson are ok, bad day for romsey and the interleague team, expecially seing it was so one sided!!!!

All 3 would be in the team for sure, so hopefully it's only a one week injury and their hands are up for the KDFL clash. I hear a few (non Romsey guys) have niggling injuries and may be going fishing and what not next weekend, or is it their clubs applying pressure???

Farmer sprained his ankle and will be ok in 2, Dawsons shoulder is ok and Brewer copped one in the belly but will be ok. Wasn't worth putting Brewer and dawson back on once it became a one sided game. Gave a few of the younger lads a chance to have a run, and they showed they will be up to the challenge if/when given the chance. Davo 9

You reckon they'd be mad to take in anyone with a sceric of doubt into a game this week, especially with a weekend off following .... for those not in the rep squad.

Didn't hear much about a melee but heard from a mate of mine at Sunbury that his opponent told him that one of the Broadford players "just didn't show up" (fletcher) for the game on Saturday, surely this wouldnt be the case?

Not 100% Ghotto on the circumstances, I was told Satdy night Fletchie was a withdrawl but as for not rocking up without telling anyone, maybe EBF (wherever he is) can confirm/deny. I know both him and Dunney were named Thursday night but looking at the results obviously they never played. On a brighter note good to see Sean Duggan back on the field after a pretty serious injury in the pre-season. Sean won the B&F my last year up home (2009) and word outa the local is a few were unhappy he slotted straight onball. Seeing he was named best afield for Broadford backs up the selectors need to rush him straight back in I reckon :thumbsu:

speaking with a couple of mates from Sunbury again last night they siad there was a bit in the melees in both the twos and the ones and that the Broadford crowd and player behaviour was pretty poor. wouldnt have thought with the positive stuff happening with Barry they would be to happy with that.

Let's be honest, a mellee these days is a bit of push n shove and the odd jumper punch. Geez how the times have changed!!!!

And ghetto ghost your assuming that broadford was the cause of it????? I don't know whether they were or not but you'd think if they wanted to fight that they would do it when Barry hall is playing :D

Your
Let's be honest, a mellee these days is a bit of push n shove and the odd jumper punch. Geez how the times have changed!!!!

And ghetto ghost your assuming that broadford was the cause of it????? I don't know whether they were or not but you'd think if they wanted to fight that they would do it when Barry hall is playing :D

Your a %100 right Mongrel, nothing in it, umps handled it perfectly sent players straight off (both sides had several send offs) no 50s given they just let the game play. Pushing and shoving all day but nothing serious.

You make a good point as always Mongrel in that these days most blues in country footy mirror that of AFL in that they are mostly push and shove and rarely are proper punches thrown. The issues has become that most of us still playing realize this and go in pushing and basically trying to separate but there are the odd dickhead that feel they can go In and smack some bloke and not be punished....probably a different topic altogether but thought it was worth a mention

Yeh the blokes your talking about are Mongrels!

This is where I get confused with the yellow card thing. I thought it was for guys on the verge of losing their $hit to go and sit for 15 and cool their jets. I thought a red was for a reportable offence with the offender off for the remainder and his side punished for 15 minutes.

On Saturday I had a guy yellow carded for "rough conduct" which totally baffled me. No punches thrown and all I thought he did was go in for the old push and shove/show of strength after a Fleming goal.

This is where I get confused with the yellow card thing. I thought it was for guys on the verge of losing their $hit to go and sit for 15 and cool their jets. I thought a red was for a reportable offence with the offender off for the remainder and his side punished for 15 minutes.

On Saturday I had a guy yellow carded for "rough conduct" which totally baffled me. No punches thrown and all I thought he did was go in for the old push and shove/show of strength after a Fleming goal.
MATT Gibson was sent off & received 2 weeks for saying relax,he was the captain & had never been reported in his decorated career. See ya satdy Big Fella

I so hope that tsunami warning for Romsey that was on tonight's news is accurate :D

Hey doona, you are somewhat right with the yellow/red card rule. In the RDFL, the yellow card can be used in all grades as a send off for a cooling down period of 15 min where the team is left one player short. I myself do not like to use this as i think if a player warrants being sent off then they should also be reported. The yellow card is also used for a minor report (something you would probably offer a set penalty). Same penalty as above, player off for 15, team plays 1 short and after 15, he or a team mate can come back on. The red is used for a serious report that will be sent straight to the tribunal. The player is off for the game however the team can replace the player after 15 minutes. Hope this helps.

OMNI"S 2013 RDFL LADDER PREDICTIONS.
(mark 2)

Romsey................60
Riddell...................60
Diggers Rest.........56
Sunbury..................44
Macedon.................36
Broadford...............32

Melton.....................28
Rupertswood...........24
Lancefield................24
Rockbank.................24
Wallan.....................20
Woodend...................4
Kilmore.....................0

Biggest Improver..........Broadford.
Biggest Slidder...............Woodend.

Grand Finalists..............Romsey v Riddell.
Premiership..................Romsey.

Lee James Medal.........Matt Davo' (Rom')
Rising Star...................Grant Puxley (Ridd')
Bowen Medal..............Darren Goodwin (Mac')

OMNI"S 2013 RDFL LADDER PREDICTIONS.
(mark 2)

Romsey................60
Riddell...................60
Diggers Rest.........56
Sunbury..................44
Macedon.................36
Broadford...............32

Melton.....................28
Rupertswood...........24
Lancefield................24
Rockbank.................24
Wallan.....................20
Woodend...................4
Kilmore.....................0

Biggest Improver..........Broadford.
Biggest Slidder...............Woodend.

Grand Finalists..............Romsey v Riddell.
Premiership..................Romsey.

Lee James Medal.........Matt Davo' (Rom')
Rising Star...................Grant Puxley (Ridd')
Bowen Medal..............Darren Goodwin (Mac')
I can't believe these predictions have been up for over a day without comment. C'mon Sunbury supporters, do you really believe you are this far off the mark? For my two bobs worth, Rupo will take 6th position over Broadford. As for the biggest slider prediction, where did Woodend finish last year, 3rd from the bottom? Unfortunately for the RDFL over the last few seasons, it has become a bit like the English Premier League, not much change at the top or bottom of the ladder, just a few minor re-shuffles at either end.

My predicted 2013 ladder finish, no points.

Romsey
Riddell
Diggers
Sunbury
Melton
Rupo
Macedon
Broadford
Rockbank
Lancefield
Wallan
Woodend
Kilmore

Final Scores -
Macedon 6. 7. 43. Def' by Diggers Rest 14. 7. 91.
Riddell 16. 15. 111. Def' Lancefield 8. 2. 50.

Second week running Umpires did a reasonable job. :thumbsu::rainbow:

Final Scores -
Macedon 6. 7. 43. Def' by Diggers Rest 14. 7. 91.
Riddell 16. 15. 111. Def' Lancefield 8. 2. 50.

Second week running Umpires did a reasonable job. :thumbsu::rainbow:
Hey Omni, if u were at the Riddell game today, can u elaborate on the U18's blew at 3/4 time? Apparently the game was called off due to the Lancefield people blewing amongst themselves?