RDFL Thread - 2013

E

Please excuse my ignorance but can you tell me the player in question you are referring too? I'm being a %100 honest I have no idea who you are talking about? I hope it's not a bloke who wore number 1 but wanted my old number 4 for this year?
Wasn't having a shot at you, my mail is the situation has been rectified since and all are happy.

And who says we dont discuss the BIG issues on here ??? o_O

Ha ha, my thoughts exactly, the question did sound like a "big issue" to someone.

On another big issue, I had a meeting with the inter league coach Matt Power and a few other assistant coaches this morning and I can personally tell you that the feedback being received by some of the leagues best players putting their hands up to be part of this game is great. A very impressive squad has been put together and selection is going to be very tough. I have no doubt that the RDFL will be represented very well this time around.

Ha ha, my thoughts exactly, the question did sound like a "big issue" to someone.

On another big issue, I had a meeting with the inter league coach Matt Power and a few other assistant coaches this morning and I can personally tell you that the feedback being received by some of the leagues best players putting their hands up to be part of this game is great. A very impressive squad has been put together and selection is going to be very tough. I have no doubt that the RDFL will be represented very well this time around.

Ahhh yeah, can JUST remember when getting a single digit number to wear on your back was all so very important !!! :)

Did he wear his NEW RDFL jacket for the occasion pal ? Looks very "Official" he does in his new attire ! :thumbsu:
Good to hear blokes are putting their hand up for the big game. Should be quite an honor to represent the RDFL in this up coming contest. & I'm sure "Demon" will be a great fit in his role as senior coach of the team.

Did they give the "Old Bloke" a game pal ???

Ahhh yeah, can JUST remember when getting a single digit number to wear on your back was all so very important !!! :)

Did he wear his NEW RDFL jacket for the occasion pal ? Looks very "Official" he does in his new attire ! :thumbsu:
Good to hear blokes are putting their hand up for the big game. Should be quite an honor to represent the RDFL in this up coming contest. & I'm sure "Demon" will be a great fit in his role as senior coach of the team.

Did they give the "Old Bloke" a game pal ???

full squad now on rdfl website

How is it that Jarod Sylvester didn't get named in the interleague squad? I would have thought he was a walk up start.

It may have been an overlook or he may be unavailable. Or was he considered the 64th best player in the comp? Lol. Just stirring!!!!! It's actually great to see that there seems to be some real interest in this years interleague and Matty power has done a fantastic job getting meach and all the other coaches to join the team. There was a few players on the list tho that could have been spared the embarrassment IMO.

I can only see that 2 Bowen Medalists have made themselves available too pal !
I wonder why the other 4 currently running around in the RDFL have not put their hands up, or been selected ??? :cool:

The Interleague is going to be huge!!! We're super excited that Highlands FM is the only radio crew up there broadcasting it and Red Onion will be there too.. massive!! lets hope the weather is brilliant and the stars come out to shine :)

Will Big Bustling make the journey?

The most impressive thing about the interleague squad is some of the players that were left out. That isn't a criticism as it is a huge squad already. Some very good players from the top 5 or 6 sides not playing in particular. Thought Centrals had some unlucky players with the start they have had.

No doubt many of the named squad will be unavailable which is why such a large squad was named. Any word on training dates or times?

It's 3 weeks out and maybe some players had booked weekends away or made plans ..... or maybe just ain't interested. Even though I haven't seen the KDFL's squad, based on my following of that comp for years, I still stand by previous comment that if the better players from our initial squad play then we win easily. Expect some mystery niggles to bob up between now and then though as clubs err on the side of caution (or reluctance)

The most impressive thing about the interleague squad is some of the players that were left out. That isn't a criticism as it is a huge squad already. Some very good players from the top 5 or 6 sides not playing in particular. Thought Centrals had some unlucky players with the start they have had.

No doubt many of the named squad will be unavailable which is why such a large squad was named. Any word on training dates or times?

Should be able to pick a red hot side if most of that squad is avaiable !

Heat will be on for spots in the midfield I reckon.

is barry hall pulling on the boots this weekend against the kangas? also why has kingy put in a clearance back to his old club
My mail is no Barry is not playing.

Kingy has requested a clearance back to his old club due to lack of game time and with the pressing issue of 5 or 6 quality young blokes due to come back in the side over the next few weeks. I wish him all the best.

Spot on just got sick of starting on bench every game since Round 3 last year it ended up doing my head in. It didnt matter how i played i was the "super sub" No hard feelings as im happy to try help west get back to where they should be.

I was confident of keeping my spot and im happy i havn't left the roos while there down they defiantly have players tt replace me. In hindsight i proberly shouldnt have played saturday as my decision was already made. I did want to tell the team after the game but the boys were pretty shattered.

I hope the fellas lift and make a good tilt at back 2 back i know ill be there supporting like Crazy.

Should be able to pick a red hot side if most of that squad is avaiable !

Heat will be on for spots in the midfield I reckon.
With it being the first break of the year I am backing lots of guys have booked holidays so don't expect full strength. Will still be a very good side.

You are right the midfield will be interesting. Farmer, Mitchell, Powell, Sammutt, Climas, Sahlberg, Welsh, Brewer, Marshall, Wright, Richardson, Wilson, Burkett and Gaunt should be in the mix just to name a few. Nathan Richardson, Mitch Gaunt and Shaun Wilson will be good additions to the league this season. All should find a spot in the side I reckon.

The last time we had an interleague game a couple of the top clubs didn't make players available which may have been legit. Lets hope we get 2 or 3 from every side this year.

Geez I'm screaming out for grown men or guys with senior experience who cant seem to get big minutes where they are and just want to play senior footy. Any other lads in a similar predicament to Jason give me a call ;)

Oh and I'm pretty sure next weekend against Rupo at home will be Baz's next appearance for Broadford

With it being the first break of the year I am backing lots of guys have booked holidays so don't expect full strength. Will still be a very good side.

You are right the midfield will be interesting. Farmer, Mitchell, Powell, Sammutt, Climas, Sahlberg, Welsh, Brewer, Marshall, Wright, Richardson, Wilson, Burkett and Gaunt should be in the mix just to name a few. Nathan Richardson, Mitch Gaunt and Shaun Wilson will be good additions to the league this season. All should find a spot in the side I reckon.

The last time we had an interleague game a couple of the top clubs didn't make players available which may have been legit. Lets hope we get 2 or 3 from every side this year.

how long sgo and did you play against the same comp last time?

I know in 2009 when I was at Broadford the RDFL played a mixed squad from all the Southern FL divisions. Whether or not they played in 2010/2011 I couldn't tell ya but we certainly didn't participate last year.

Last interleague match was 2010, against the Southern League at Springvale !

Personally I hope there's not 2 or 3 from every side, that being the case I don't think the side will be as strong as it could be !

Have to agree Bomba. 2,3 or 4 per club is fine when whipping up a squad but you gotta go with the best players with their hands up to play regardless of where they're from.

Spot on just got sick of starting on bench every game since Round 3 last year it ended up doing my head in. It didnt matter how i played i was the "super sub" No hard feelings as im happy to try help west get back to where they should be.

I was confident of keeping my spot and im happy i havn't left the roos while there down they defiantly have players tt replace me. In hindsight i proberly shouldnt have played saturday as my decision was already made. I did want to tell the team after the game but the boys were pretty shattered.

I hope the fellas lift and make a good tilt at back 2 back i know ill be there supporting like Crazy.
All the best Kingy! You're a terrific guy around the competition mate.. wishing you all the best at your new club :)