RDFL Thread - 2013

Hey OMNIPOTENT_1 I see that there is a clearance in for James Petran to return to the Bombers.. Pretty handy addition at this late stage of the season?

Christ Gisborne will be spewing, guy comes into work from Gizzy and was of the impression Petran was set to resume ..... musta got outbidded :D

Overheard some chatter amongst some of the broadford supporters whilst getting a hotdog that they are looking at geeting Alan Ezard to play a game against Kilmore. surely that cant be right? he would nearly be 50 now wouldnt he?
One suspects the creek dwellers have a chip on their shoulders with the arrival of the young Rupo team.

On another note Broadford trotting out Alan Ezard - surely you are taking the P155....

Was told twice at work last week, was asked via SMS twice had I heard anything, had a text from a Wallan player asking had I heard of a guy of that name Friday night and then Saturday night I get bombarded with similar themed text messages as it musta been the topic of the day up home.

Bout time if you ask me, people have been saying for years how good would it be if Alan returned to the club where he was once a premiership hero (1981) before heading to Coburg and then onto the Bombers for their golden era thru the mid 80's.

Christ Gisborne will be spewing, guy comes into work from Gizzy and was of the impression Petran was set to resume ..... musta got outbidded :D

Mate our Riddell lads are only EVER on loan to these other clubs........They always find their way back home !!! :)
I think the kicker was he wanted to play in a better league.......One that wasn't in decline !!! :eek:
Oh & thanks for the tip today pal.....Delicious ! :thumbsu:

His a bit lame at the moment, should be back in work in about six weeks![/quote

my apologies to the two moderators for my comments saturday. Ive just realised that slyone is to blame for the threads drop off in footy conversations. Hes back for a day and the footy talk and banter has returned in abundance.

I have a question for all the rdfl folk on here, I personally beleive the standard of the rdfl is improving rapidly and I agree with omni that the direction and improvement of this comp far outways that of the bfl.

however lately ive been really disappointed with the standard of the 18s and reserves. Its very very ordinary. Is the t.a.c the reason the 18s are so poor? What is the reason that the reserves are woefull besides about 3 sides? Gimme ya thoughts please boyz

How many kids do you see having a kick to kick out on the streets or parks these days? Are you aware that some Primary Schools have band playing football in school yards? How many Aus kids to a family these days? How many kids to a migrant family? You know why there are no kids on the streets playing footy? they are on the internet or playing computer games, Foxtel, DVD's or just too plain lazy to get off their Asssss! when you were a kid,did you think about going to University or just worried about getting a trade? (You can see by my spelling University was out of the Question) How much $$$$ does the AFL give to our clubs? You would be amazed at some of the programs the AFL give $$$$ tooooo! They are also throwing an insane amount of money into junior programs in NSW & GWS,There is also a huge problem that if the AFL cant get it right, what hope have the local leagues! And you hear the discussion in the media about umpires & rule changers, what hope has the local umpire got if the AFL cant get that right either!! Too many grey area's, not the same game, Not the same world today! But we will continue to enjoy our little game in the Macedon Rangers, because thats what we have been doing all our lives, & if you want your club to be successfull, you better have a business plan & plenty of volunteers who are willing to work their buts off for nothing else but a Premiership!

Mongrel isn't that the case in the senior competition? Only about 4 sides that can win it and the rest don't even get close. Last weeks results proved its down to 4 sides. I would say the reserves are generally just an extension of the senior comp.

Would also argue that what I have seen of this years U/18 Rupo side is comparable with anything from the last 5 years despite their loss on the weekend.

Mongrel isn't that the case in the senior competition? Only about 4 sides that can win it and the rest don't even

get close. Last weeks results proved its down to 4 sides. I would say the reserves are generally just an extension of the senior comp.

Would also argue that what I have seen of this years U/18 Rupo side is comparable with anything from the last 5 years despite their loss on the weekend.

Yeah I saw the rupo 18s a few weeks ago and they were very impressive. Riddell are very strong in all 3 grades once again. I still beleive overall the level of the 18s and reserves has dropped off. Thats not to say that they arent good players in both those grades, its just an overall drop in standard imo.thats why I wanted other peoples opinions to see whether it was just me that thought that?????

There is a sprinkling of good players in each side, its just the depth due to injuries, unavailabilities is impacting alot of sides.

Mongrel isn't that the case in the senior competition? Only about 4 sides that can win it and the rest don't even get close. Last weeks results proved its down to 4 sides. I would say the reserves are generally just an extension of the senior comp.

I agree, only four sides can win it, but that's not unique to the RDFL, most people are saying EDFL Premier is a two horse race in a ten team comp, and EDFL Div 1 is out of four teams in an eight team comp.

RDFL definitely out of Riddell, Diggers, Sunbury and Romsey, which ever teams finishes fourth at end of home and away will find it hard from there. The next month with some big games coming up might well sort out the ladder positions. I'd have money on it's not a Sunbury Romsey GF like the last two years, but I reckon one of them will be in the GF. Injuries and player management will be the key come September, whichever team has the healthiest list will be best placed.

My Bowen winner. B. Tuckey if he plays enough games.
Goal kicker. Also B. Tuckey.
Rising Gun. S. Fogerty.

Congratulations to the Cuffe family from the Sunbury Kangaroos on having another family member/son playing in the 1's in young up and coming Dylan Cuffe from the our under 18s. Well deserved as he has been very consistent this year.
Just another milestone to add for this great family with another one of their sons playing in the top grade with their old man Jamie. Well done guys.

Jamie
Congratulations to the Cuffe family from the Sunbury Kangaroos on having another family member/son playing in the 1's in young up and coming Dylan Cuffe from the our under 18s. Well deserved as he has been very consistent this year.
Just another milestone to add for this great family with another one of their sons playing in the top grade with their old man Jamie. Well done guys.

Cuffe doesn't have grandkids yet does he? The way he is going he could easily play another 15 or so years (and at least 2 more Bowen's). Could be a guinness world record on the cards, playing a senior match with a grandson!! Good luck to the next generation cuffe. Be half the quality of your old man and you will be a superstar.

Jamie

Cuffe doesn't have grandkids yet does he? The way he is going he could easily play another 15 or so years (and at least 2 more Bowen's). Could be a guinness world record on the cards, playing a senior match with a grandson!! Good luck to the next generation cuffe. Be half the quality of your old man and you will be a superstar.

serious.JPG

Petran won't be playing at Riddell. If his broken arm is up to playing football at all it will be at Gisborne.

So is it not true that a clearence has been lodged for petran to head to riddell? Hard to imagine why youd seek a clearence to a club with no intention of playing there??????

Or sign one !!! :confused:

Gee he looked very happy at Riddell Training last Thursday night too pal..........So much did he feel apart of things he even read the side out after selection !!!
I am lead to believe Gisborne are that desperate at present they knocked back his clearance in record time !!!
Cant wait to find out on WHAT grounds they used ??? :confused:

Or sign one !!! :confused:

Gee he looked very happy at Riddell Training last Thursday night too pal..........So much did he feel apart of things he even read the side out after selection !!!
I am lead to believe Gisborne are that desperate at present they knocked back his clearance in record time !!!
Cant wait to find out on WHAT grounds they used ??? :confused:

Funny that!!!!!! He might still have a 40 dollar jumper???? Its actually weird to see the shoe on the other foot for a change. I bet theres a lot of clubs in the rdfl namingly lancefield and riddell that have put a lot of work in to get their players to a high standard only to lose them to gissy or scumbry.

He has been to every gis game since coming back. Went to a riddell do and somehow ended up on stage being presented as a new recruit. Riddell lodeged the paper work on Monday - nothing was signed. He was always playing for gissy - if he gets his arm right.

He was over my place last Friday night having a few drinks playing darts. His arm worked OK then !!!
He still didn't take a game off the champ though mate !!! :eek:
And he has been to ALL of ONE Gissy game since he has been back from OS !

The "choice" is, IF there is one is pretty clear I would think.
Play for $$$ in a team that is struggling to play finals in a comp' that is falling to bits ?....or
Play for a side you love, that is undefeated in a comp' that is flying ???
Pretty simple decision I would think for the young bloke ! :rolleyes:

Maybe he forgot pay his three quarter time Orange money 2 years ago when he last played for Gisborne & they want it before giving him his clearance !!! :confused: