RDFNL 2019 Season discussion

Was there any footage of Corey Wright whacking Swallow in the head at the bottom of every pack? I’d be surprised if there wasn’t, who’d snipe a Bowen medalist like that? Cheap trick, but certainly not tuff.

I didnt see the game mate only the footage of grigg. If i saw similar footage of any other player i would say the same thing. It was appalling.
justifying or shifting the focus onto some one else is an interesting way to look at it but each to their own.

I didn’t see it but heard someone put the video up on Facebook but took it down for obvious reasons. diggers film every game so if it was bad you would think they would have taken it to the league.

Do you think it deserved weeks wadds?

if it went to the tribunal he would have a got a couple

I didnt see the game mate only the footage of grigg. If i saw similar footage of any other player i would say the same thing. It was appalling.
justifying or shifting the focus onto some one else is an interesting way to look at it but each to their own.
Just asked if u watched the whole game Mate, wasn’t justification for any actions , however I watched the whole game bro, not just a nanosecond of video footage. Nothing came of it, end of story, jog on.

Whose got the best run in and who has the toughest?

Riddell
Diggers
Rupo
Romsey
Macedon
Wallan
That’s without looking at everyone’s run home.

With you on this top 6 Humphrey, you could flip rupo and romsey depending who has a better draw and wallan and Macedon making up the numbers.
Macedon’s depth would be a massive concern for them if they get a few injuries to key players at the wrong time.

With you on this top 6 Humphrey, you could flip rupo and romsey depending who has a better draw and wallan and Macedon making up the numbers.
Macedon’s depth would be a massive concern for them if they get a few injuries to key players at the wrong time.
Rupo have Melton, Riddell n Rockbank.
Romsey have B’Fd, Woodend, Macedon n Riddell.

Riddell have Rupo, Romsey n Wallan so I guess they win those 3 they end up top and should be faves bar any implosions by players on any given days of course.

Riddell
Rupo
Romsey
Diggers
Macedon
Wallan.

Wallan's biggest issue is the loss of their fire power. Too difficult to cover the outs and Saladino just compounds things. Perri struggles when a quality back is on him.

who wins the Bowen? Can Jenson win the Bowen with 9 games averaging 5 a game? Didn’t Cooke from Macedon win it after kicking late 60’s a couple of years back?

I imagine Paul Sahlberg could vote well also, imagine if him and Jensen Run 1 and 2, be an interesting quinella on the night, fly in the wall material.

What qtr was the Grigg incident mate? I’m having a look at the footage now

Riddell
Rupo
Romsey
Diggers
Macedon
Wallan.

Wallan's biggest issue is the loss of their fire power. Too difficult to cover the outs and Saladino just compounds things. Perri struggles when a quality back is on him.
Riddell
Diggers
Rupo
Macedon
Wallan
Romsey

Probably riddells to lose again this year. Rupo will push if they can get all players on the park. And you just can’t wrote off diggers. It’s out of those 3.
Not sure that call is right about Perri. Has performed on the big stage in grand finals on quality opponents. This year results show he hasn’t done as well against quality opposition but still time to show his worth this season.

I think Jensen can genuinely still win the Bowen medal. Watched him play twice this year and those 2 games he stood out like no tomorrow ! 15 votes might be enough....

Not sure that call is right about Perri. Has performed on the big stage in grand finals on quality opponents. This year results show he hasn’t done as well against quality opposition but still time to show his worth this season.

I rate him and he really works hard using his body well. Could do with a bit better delivery though. What he has done against those sides is, open up other avenues to goals by constantly drawing two defenders leaving space for the others. For all his 69 goals, which is still likely to win the goal kicking, he can be inaccurate too.

My son reckons Wallan will finish 3rd.

I rate him and he really works hard using his body well. Could do with a bit better delivery though. What he has done against those sides is, open up other avenues to goals by constantly drawing two defenders leaving space for the others. For all his 69 goals, which is still likely to win the goal kicking, he can be inaccurate too.

My son reckons Wallan will finish 3rd.
I don’t think he is any different to all other fwds in our Comp Auk, they all kick mega bags against the bottom sides and struggle against the top sides, the stats say it. Jensen was the exception to be honest, he kicked nearly 45 in 9 games.

If I may, I have to give a wrap to a bloke I've come to have the utmost respect for both as a player and a person.

Andrew Saladino arrived at Wallan the same year my son decided to join the club and I've got no doubt he's become one of the most popular blokes there. Despite injury setbacks he seldom never had a smile on his face. He's gentleman and just an all round super bloke respected by all. I actually thought he was playing better this year than Jess Davies was in 2018.

Sport can be a cruel thing and unfortunately "Sal" will be giving it away after yet another knee injury. I'm sure everyone who has played with and against you wishes you well mate. Kia kaha brother.

A good read in the local over this way, highlight's the key area of concern ..... transition from juniors to seniors.

View attachment 714371
All makes complete sense, seems that Bonnie is doing a good job and has a measured approach to seeing where Broadford is best placed to be for them.
Seems will be another club lost to the RDFL.

All makes complete sense, seems that Bonnie is doing a good job and has a measured approach to seeing where Broadford is best placed to be for them.
Seems will be another club lost to the RDFL.

She raises some good points about junior retention or lack there of at Broadford. Having a strong junior program and then retaining those juniors into the senior club is a real key to a strong senior club, just look at rupo, wallan and even throw riddell in as examples.
Good on Broadford for getting on the front foot and doing what’s best for their footy/netball club.
As you say Humphrey could possibly be another club leaving the rdfl, surely alarm bells are going off at league hq???

If I may, I have to give a wrap to a bloke I've come to have the utmost respect for both as a player and a person.

Andrew Saladino arrived at Wallan the same year my son decided to join the club and I've got no doubt he's become one of the most popular blokes there. Despite injury setbacks he seldom never had a smile on his face. He's gentleman and just an all round super bloke respected by all. I actually thought he was playing better this year than Jess Davies was in 2018.

Sport can be a cruel thing and unfortunately "Sal" will be giving it away after yet another knee injury. I'm sure everyone who has played with and against you wishes you well mate. Kia kaha brother.

Mel, how did he do his knee? Was it due in anyway to the ground surface. I reckon players prone to injuries should be looking to move to comps with good grounds.

As you say Humphrey could possibly be another club leaving the rdfl, surely alarm bells are going off at league hq???

Unfortunately this has gone far beyond league level now, I'd be guessing that even AFL Goldfields are either sitting on news or waiting on some genuine clarity and direction from AFL Vic as to what the actual plan is beyond 2020 across this entire state.

Mel, how did he do his knee? Was it due in anyway to the ground surface. I reckon players prone to injuries should be looking to move to comps with good grounds.
It would be hard to imagine a ground with a better surface than Wallan right now.

With the exception of the grounds in the Melton council the grounds in this league generally have great surfaces. Some of them are susceptible to bad weather but most are.

Whose got the best run in and who has the toughest?

Riddell
Diggers
Rupo
Romsey
Macedon
Wallan
That’s without looking at everyone’s run home.

riddell
diggers
romsey
wallan
rupo
macedon

Macedon are interesting this year.. full strength you would think they have one of the most dangerous forward lines with cooke markworth knox nipper and some kids but that hasnt transformed into scores.. the other thing is they prob have the most unheralded backline but they have one of the best against.. I havent seen a lot of them this year but they must be doing something to keep scores down.. waters always helps but interesting none the less.

wallan have prob had the best draw and have really smashed some sides but not sure where they sit in the grand scheme of things come the end of the year.. losing those couple of guys really hurts. i hope fowler can get up for finals... think they have a really good bracket of 10 guys who are good players... prob lack the real top players apart from perri

rupo just need to get all their players back and then we will see how good they are

Diggers seem to be cruising but havent been full strength or at their best this year. you would think experience will help them come the end of the year

Riddell look the goods but is their list better than last year? i dont think so..

Can romsey cover jensen ? i think thats the player they need in a final

on the bowen it would need to be a low count for jensen or paul to win it you would think

It would be hard to imagine a ground with a better surface than Wallan right now.

With the exception of the grounds in the Melton council the grounds in this league generally have great surfaces. Some of them are susceptible to bad weather but most are.

Very much this. :thumbsu: