Rebuilding Our Recruiting Department

You have got to be kidding... Mathieson putting his hand in his pocket to pay for new staff... come on.

He wouldnt even put his hand in his pocket to help payout Ratts and all the other assistants that him and his monied up cronies forced out the door when they chased after Malthouse.
How has he not put his hand in his pocket.? He gave the club a bunch of pokies that are bankrolling the club. I don't understand why people rip into them about putting hands in pockets. Our wealthy supporters do it in droves, they just need to let the club run itself - that's the issue. The alternative is being st Kilda whose board don't give a dime and there wealthiest supporter Lindsay fox doesn't give them a cent or even buy his corporate packages off them

who cares if they can kick so long as they can run fast!
On that note, i've stated elsewhere that unless a player has elite skills in a particular area (i.e. Cripps with his size, great awareness and hands), a player needs a real standout attribute that is either kicking or speed. The majority of the mids we have selected recently have neither of these attributes, nor a real standout feature of their game that makes them stand apart from the rest. Holman, Graham, Temay for example are all good 'footballers', but give us none of that x factor that great kicking or athletic capabilities can.

Take Sam Mitchell for example, i could probably move faster than him, but how often do you see him miss a target on either foot? Also his ability to make space in close is just ridiculous, makes people around him look stupid.

Josh Kennedy from Syd is slow and just an average kick. That said he's elite in close with his hands and does so much bullocking work. Exactly what i believe Cripps will develop into. Has the same standout attributes.

And finally, take Armfield for example. Do you think he would get a game anywhere if he wasn't one of the fastest guys in the game? No chance imo. His pace allows him to do things that so many other players simply can't. Chasing down people (Hello Dangerfield!), getting over the back to run into an open goal etc. Sure his kicking sometimes leaves a bit to be desired, but those are all things that 'plodders' just can't do.

A few weeks ago I actually looked at every clubs drafts from 2004 - 2010 and (subjectively) rated each pick. NOTE - draft only, NOT trades. I estimate the average success rate across all teams to be 26.71%. That is, only 1 in 4 players drafted go on to be at least a regular, average player. No surprises that Hawthorn topped the list with a success rate of 34.33%. We came in just a bit below average at 25.76%.

Our problem moreso seems to be development. You would have expected at least one player that we have drafted in the last 10 years to be in the elite category, but clearly none are. Looking at the Hawks, Swans Cats and Pies, it seems that their kids come into the team and get going straight away.

Whilst I agree that our recruiting hasn't been the best, we need to look at development, culture and leadership more urgently in my opinion.

Another interesting thing is that a Premiership team can be built around only one or two exceptiomal drafts. Check out Colloingwood '05-06 and definitely Freo in 2008. They just killed the draft that year.

Tell me about it. :(

He hasn't improved in any of the areas that he has needed said improvement - decision making, kicking and tackling. They're some pretty serious areas that need to be addressed but I can't see it happening.

Was at the Saints game today and although Roo beat him, he's still a solid defender and would fit in beautifully in our defense.

At least with Kane there is certainly something there to work with. He does find the ball enough but he just lacks that finishing touch.
I'd play him for the rest of the year anyway just to get his confidence back up. We saw in his first year that he does have enough skill to make it at the highest level.

At least with Kane there is certainly something there to work with. He does find the ball enough but he just lacks that finishing touch.
I'd play him for the rest of the year anyway just to get his confidence back up. We saw in his first year that he does have enough skill to make it at the highest level.
One of the few guys who at least makes an effort on the lead. Mightn't be the toughest guy around but appears to at least have a good crack.

We could be innovative and come up with our own model.

Some people are tough to please. I can honestly say that nobody else plays like us and our game plan right now is far removed from what Collingwood used to play. Pioneers.

One of the few guys who at least makes an effort on the lead. Mightn't be the toughest guy around but appears to at least have a good crack.

Yep, exactly.

Has glaring deficiencies to his game but he does provide something that so many others in Navy Blue just aren't willing to. Easily the best player at the club currently on the spread.

Also like him up forward as a lead up target. Has the pace to get away from a direct opponent, and isn't a bad grab on the lead. Excelled in that role vs Brisbane last year and I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest he can back that up again if given an opportunity to do so.

Needs to work on strength and disposal in particular, but he's willing to run, carry and create an option for his team mates. It'll be a bumpy ride with him but he's worth persisting with at senior level.

Chicken or the Egg? I seriously dont know if it is our recruiting or development. Even bonafide no.1's like Murphy & Gibbs have not come on as much as hoped (harsh on Murphy as last few years injury have been a problem). But i just dont see the development. Surely you cant stuff so many first round draft picks up.

One of our biggest problems this year and past seasons has been our inability to maintain possession. We just give up the ball too easily. Our No. 1 priority must be to draft young players who have elite kicking or handpassing skills under pressure. If you can't kick by the time you are drafted, its near impossible to iron out a fundamental kicking flaw when you are 18 years old.

You only have to look why Hawthorn is the best team in the AFL ... their precision kicking under pressure is 2nd to none.

Its probably stating the obvious ... but if our present players could kick like the Hawks, I am sure we wouldn't be 0 - 4 !!!

Go and watch them train, they work bloody hard on their kicking. They do nice drills with 3 players keeping the ball of 2 others and do it ALOT. They have to hit each other up from about 15-20 meters away. I reckon if Lucas played at hawthorn he would be a great kick by now.

Kane spending the best part of 2 seasons recovering from injuries that were mismanaged have definitely put him behind the 8 ball in terms of development. If he hadnt been injured so much and his original injuries had been better managed and we had better assistant coaches to develop the young players, would we even be having these discussions about him?

I think that's why there is still a sense of hope thathe will still become a quality player but it's not going to be an easy path for him.

He still has time on his side, a bit of continuity in the team wouldn't hurt, would it!

That's just it, he looked good by foot in his first season especially over short distances. He's a great runner, is a decent mark and as you said he can definitely find the footy and hit the scoreboard.

And he appears to play better when his confidence is up. Just needs to keep playing for the rest of the year.
Certainly wasn't our worse out there on Saturday.

two years ago I was at a 21st the night we went down to West Coast by 4pts at Subi in an elimination final...we were one kick away from a prelim against Geelong which wouldn't have been beyond the realms of possibility to win..you could argue our list has improved since then...docherty.everitt,thomas....not bad ins....we have had a clean out and moved players on......our problem is not so much capability but understanding the importance of protecting the ball carrier, spreading, backing up your man, running hard to make sure there is always an outnumbered situation in your favour, kicking straight!..all pretty basic stuff I would think and things our boys know well enough..I watched Geelong and the West Coast on Saturday night Geelong are a precision unit they do all the aformentioned for 4 quarters...that's all it is...dare I say it PASSION.....

can someone explain what happened with that recruiter we brought in from Geelong(I think?) Lasted less than 6 months. Why?

Few will know for sure, and certainly no one that posts here will be able to help you out.

Plenty of rumours though that he just didn't see eye to eye with those around him on various issues.

Weird thread based on weird and uninformed/unresearched media crap.
We did our recruiting overhaul starting over 2 years ago and it's probably still ongoing.
Shane Rogers is head recruiter, Hughes is gone.

A lot of the blunders were when Hughes was overseeing things. Rogers has had 2 years and (although it's early days) appears to have got it pretty damn right so far.

Of all the possible areas of the club which need attention, right now I'd place this well, well down the list.

Player development, Board and Executives, Gameplan, Player leadership/ownership, Assistant coaching, Carlton/NB Synchronization please.

Rebuilding Our Recruiting Department