Recruitment and Preseason 2011

Seriously mate, i dont know why you think the finger is from warby... ive been called the finger, even though ive never posted on here before.. now scotty.. he doesnt even know how to use a computer let alone talk the amount of crap 'the finger' does.. So if you dont have any facts i suggest you start lookin somewhere else cos your goin cold if your looking at one of us boys... and robbies goin well thanks mate..

How are the old blokes looking this weekend guess the Warby young blokes will be carrying Walker, Bumble and Humper in the GF again. Bet you all can't wait till they give it away for good.

Ahh the finger, gee your causing some grief champ, Ive even been accused of being the finger up at the club and I can assure Im not that smart with my comebacks. Does it really matter who the finger is I personnally get a bit of enjoyment out of the reactions he gets around here if we all just lighten up a little we'll be right.

There seems to be a lot o finger pointing and sh!t being spoken yet something worth talking about has slipped under the radar. Is Stolly playing for Healesville this year? If not what does woori think about him playing a praccy match for them? Can Woori Tiger fill us in or did he go with Stolly as a package deal after being looked over at selection last year?

His manager Gibo has refused to make any comment at this stage.

Does this mean that Alex will be much stronger or are players going elsewhere?
I checked out the clearances and for some reason a few have been knocked back by Thornton??

Good question about Alex, gone under the radar so far havent heard anything on here... Although apparently the local stores only just started selling Ataris so you will struggle to get a local player or supporter with a computer and the internet.

Just worked out how to hook my internet up to the atari, and can tell you Alex would be lucky to get three open age players from Thornton. The rivalry is just too strong.

I'd reckon my friends at Yea would be more than happy to accomodate any Thornton boys keen to still have a kick for 2011 on the terms of an open transfer back for 2012 if things pick up :thumbsu:

Euroa defeated Healesville on Saturday by 7 goals - good hit out.
Seville beat Wandin on Sunday. I know Seville had several key players out with cricket finals and Wandin appeared to have a different outfit to last year. Did all their recruits play? They had two new ruckman, bayliss played and several players I didnt know but whether they were all playing I do not know. Any one from wandin add to this?

Wandin are no good.

looks like the ladder in shaping something like this

Upwey.. fell short is prelim had few key players out, hayes gone this year but 3 handy ins, looks like team to beat

Gembrook. All their talent came together last year and was a well coached outfit, now they know what they can achieve their confidents should be still up and more hungry than last year.

Worri. looks to lose a few but dont count them out for the whole year ( VFL permits pending) a team who knows how to win and who always seems o attract players from left feild to replace players leaving.. ( watch this space)

Mt Eve.. Always there abouts finals but never really gets deep, will improve slighty from last year.

Olinda... Havent heard much, After one year up will it show that last year was a fluke or are they the real deal

Warburton.. Big hipe from a few down there but word is only a couple of recruits have shown their face. A handful that have "signed" havent even been on the track yet, b & F from last year gone! will improve sighty no practice matches booked which is intresting.

Healesville.. Also been quite, looked to have picked up a couple but always seems to have good kids coming through. Cant see them improving a great deal from last year.

Monbulk.. Seem to get worse over the last few years and another down year this year.. Their older better players seemed to be getting slower.

Yarra Glen.. In house they believe top 4 they should finish going from the mould of Olinda last year. Olinda seemed to played out of their skins some games eg Upwey @ upwey and stolen a few games they should not have won. might find it harder than they think if they get a couple of injuries

Wandin.. Alot of older boys made them look not so bad last year. Big tommy who battled hard is a big loss. New coach can play but seems to be looking after his mates coming along for more money than they are worth.

Nice post 'The Wall'. Good to see some real footy chat on here for a change. We might even see a few old time posters return... Monniehawk U there? What's going on down at Monnie?

Probably don't know much more than you, I'm afraid. I'm too far away and yet to catch up with all that's going on at the 'G'. Boronia rolled them on the weekend in a fairly close one, but it was not the Monnie of old, from all reports.
I think The Wall summed it up very well though, for both Monnie and the rest of the sides.
Good, impartial and penetrating post from the old 4th Estater! :thumbsu::thumbsu: :D

Players that had not already been cleared from thornton before we went into recession will play on a permit so when it comes around to try and form a team again we have the same mount of players we had now.

wandin were missing 5 or 6. had alot of new players play together for the first time yesterday and was thier first hitout after a long pre season from all reports. coach was happy with the hit out and more than comfortable with where they are at from what im told.

I agree first praccy it always hard with new players etc especially against a side who has already played one or two however I get annoyed when one says but we had 5 or 6 out. Often during a season this will be the case so those 5 or 6 fringe will be playing regardless. The 5 or 6 out were they 2010 Wandin players all new recruits?

The finger sleeps alone...

Good to see people wanting to know more about the Dog's 5 or 6 out were
B&F from 2010 (one of those old blokes)
Full forward - recruit
Forward pocket / onballer - recruit
HBF - recruit

The coach believes another 7 to come in from the side which includes the list above.

If you take the time to look and the transfer list, it would appear that the team should be better than last year, and by a margin. The recruitment of players this year has been far more sucessful than previous years and all paid players will be worth it.

The finger sleeps alone...

Good to see people wanting to know more about the Dog's 5 or 6 out were
B&F from 2010 (one of those old blokes)
Full forward - recruit
Forward pocket / onballer - recruit
HBF - recruit

The coach believes another 7 to come in from the side which includes the list above.

If you take the time to look and the transfer list, it would appear that the team should be better than last year, and by a margin. The recruitment of players this year has been far more sucessful than previous years and all paid players will be worth it.

good stuff old timer - that was a quick response. I dont think Wandin will be the easy beats as others have suggested. I will think it will be a very even comp. The bottom two last yr - Wandin will be much better and Silvan are gone so every game will count like no other recent year. I reckon any team is capable of snaring a finals spot - possibly 4th or 5th. I would expect Woori, Gembrook and Upwey taking the top 3 but the other spots are up for grabs!

looks like the ladder in shaping something like this

Upwey.. fell short is prelim had few key players out, hayes gone this year but 3 handy ins, looks like team to beat

Gembrook. All their talent came together last year and was a well coached outfit, now they know what they can achieve their confidents should be still up and more hungry than last year.

Worri. looks to lose a few but dont count them out for the whole year ( VFL permits pending) a team who knows how to win and who always seems o attract players from left feild to replace players leaving.. ( watch this space)

Mt Eve.. Always there abouts finals but never really gets deep, will improve slighty from last year.

Olinda... Havent heard much, After one year up will it show that last year was a fluke or are they the real deal

Warburton.. Big hipe from a few down there but word is only a couple of recruits have shown their face. A handful that have "signed" havent even been on the track yet, b & F from last year gone! will improve sighty no practice matches booked which is intresting.

Healesville.. Also been quite, looked to have picked up a couple but always seems to have good kids coming through. Cant see them improving a great deal from last year.

Monbulk.. Seem to get worse over the last few years and another down year this year.. Their older better players seemed to be getting slower.

Yarra Glen.. In house they believe top 4 they should finish going from the mould of Olinda last year. Olinda seemed to played out of their skins some games eg Upwey @ upwey and stolen a few games they should not have won. might find it harder than they think if they get a couple of injuries

Wandin.. Alot of older boys made them look not so bad last year. Big tommy who battled hard is a big loss. New coach can play but seems to be looking after his mates coming along for more money than they are worth.

Not that its a big deal as we havnt played a game yet but all of Warburton recruits have been training bar Ahmat who was at the training camp and is still playing in the NT. Probably the most exciting recruit has been training for a couple of months has now committed.

Recruitment and Preseason 2011