List Mgmt. Recycled Players for 2016

I get the feeling we will just go to the draft, won't be a live pick beyond 60 this year.

Given we only have 34 on the list (including Luxford) and Wells has said we are only planning on 4 picks then that means either 2 delisted FA or we are choosing to run with a senior list of only 38 and 2 extra rookies (who may or may not be mature age).

Can a club offer a delisted free agent a rookie list spot or if you want them on the rookie list do they have to go through the rookie draft?

Harper (rebound defender), Gorringe (ruckman), Duffy (fwd/mid), Holman (mid) def worth a shot IMO.
Holman also has a bit of c*nt about him too if I remember correctly. Something our side lacks.

Given we only have 34 on the list (including Luxford) and Wells has said we are only planning on 4 picks then that means either 2 delisted FA or we are choosing to run with a senior list of only 38 and 2 extra rookies (who may or may not be mature age).
The more I think about it, the more I hope we make a pitch to Harper. He got through the backend of the VFL season so that is hopefully a sign that his body is OK.

I'm also warming to Holman who I think is worth trying out.

If we simply adopt the "Blease Principle" with both these guys I'm not too sure what the concern would be. They are both young and add some depth and if they don't work out, at the end of the year they'd get moved on. Neither would be any worse than whoever we might be looking at in the draft but they have the bonus of already going through a few pre-seasons and being at an AFL club perviously.

Hell, considering the spots available and the perceived weakness of the draft, I also wouldn't be adverse to getting Giles down for a medical and seeing if he is open to the idea of becoming a rookie.

The more I think about it, the more I hope we make a pitch to Harper. He got through the backend of the VFL season so that is hopefully a sign that his body is OK.

I'm also warming to Holman who I think is worth trying out.

If we simply adopt the "Blease Principle" with both these guys I'm not too sure what the concern would be. They are both young and add some depth and if they don't work out, at the end of the year they'd get moved on. Neither would be any worse than whoever we might be looking at in the draft but they have the bonus of already going through a few pre-seasons and being at an AFL club perviously.

Hell, considering the spots available and the perceived weakness of the draft, I also wouldn't be adverse to getting Giles down for a medical and seeing if he is open to the idea of becoming a rookie.

Agreed, although I am not sure why we would get Giles when we are keeping Delaney as a rookie for the same position, but other than that I agree with you. Harper fills a need and is very talented and I think Holman is worth looking at.

In other news today:

St Kilda have delisted Ray, Saunders (former Falcon) and Saad (rookie) with Saunders to be re-rookied as he is contracted (they needed to open up spots for the min 3 picks). I wonder if we would look at Saunders as a medium outside player although we have a few of these. Ideally Saad would be younger but wouldn't be the worst small/med fwd backup for Menzel.

Swans have delisted Marsh and Perris and McLaren (rookies). They are victims of the need that you can only use picks to match academy bids if you have enough list spots open for each pick so because they have 7 picks between 30 and 80 they have had to open those spots for Mills/Dunkley bids even though they won't take that many players. I suspect they will either re-list Marsh with a late pick or rookie him but I would try and get in first and get him as a DFA if he doesn't want to wait. We have shown form on poaching with Delaney so why not. Perris is very talented but I am not sure I would punt off three knee recos. Was it Turbocat that was interested in McLaren last year?

Not saying this is a motivation but if we run a few less on the list what are the thoughts that we might bank some SC… maybe not 95% but maybe not 100% either… saving 2 x 100k contracts is still 200k….

Go Catters

Not saying this is a motivation but if we run a few less on the list what are the thoughts that we might bank some SC… maybe not 95% but maybe not 100% either… saving 2 x 100k contracts is still 200k….

Go Catters

I doubt we are that hard up for cap with all our retirements but yes it could be a consideration.

I think the bigger consideration would be that by having 38 + 6 instead of 40 + 4 the last 2 picks go on 1 year deals instead of 2, which means if we don't rate the draft a lot we have more flexibility to delist those guys next year if they don't work out. And you get 2 nominated rookies with 38 so you don't run short.

Keep in mind also as per the cpntracts thread that unlike this year we don' have many players out of contract next year, so they probably still want to retain some flexibility with regards to list changes next year.

Agreed, although I am not sure why we would get Giles when we are keeping Delaney as a rookie for the same position
I have a soft spot for Giles so that would be one reason.

The other reasons behind my thinking are;

- Rivers retired this year, Lonergan finishes up next year and Taylor is 30 in June next year (and, I think, Taylor is starting to show signs of inconsistency). Henderson obviously fills a hole and I think we all agree defence is his long term position but in the short term, with questions over Clark and Vardy (who also still has to display consistency) and Walker being traded out, Henderson might spend time forward in 2016 & 2017.
- Delaney himself is an unknown because of his injuries. He might shake them off next year, he might not.
- Giles is a good rebounding tall defender. If he can get over his foot problem (the reason I'd only consider him as a rookie rather than on the senior list) he provides more options for us.

At 20, Giles also has age on his side. He was taken in the same draft as Kolodjashnij and, if he gets right, helps in a part of the ground we still look a bit thin in. I'd be looking for a tall defender in the draft this year anyway so I have to figure if I'm looking in the draft then a 20 year old DFA who is a tall defender also has to be considered.

Giles is risky though, that is the big issue for me.

But I think he can play.

Go Catters

It wouldn't be that much of a saving, in 2016 the wage of a player drafted after the 3rd round is $64,395 plus match payments. While an promoted rookie gets paid $57,940, only have of which only half falls in the cap. It saves just over 70k in total in salary cap space if we two less players on the senior list.

Agreed, although I am not sure why we would get Giles when we are keeping Delaney as a rookie for the same position, but other than that I agree with you. Harper fills a need and is very talented and I think Holman is worth looking at.

In other news today:

St Kilda have delisted Ray, Saunders (former Falcon) and Saad (rookie) with Saunders to be re-rookied as he is contracted (they needed to open up spots for the min 3 picks). I wonder if we would look at Saunders as a medium outside player although we have a few of these. Ideally Saad would be younger but wouldn't be the worst small/med fwd backup for Menzel.

Swans have delisted Marsh and Perris and McLaren (rookies). They are victims of the need that you can only use picks to match academy bids if you have enough list spots open for each pick so because they have 7 picks between 30 and 80 they have had to open those spots for Mills/Dunkley bids even though they won't take that many players. I suspect they will either re-list Marsh with a late pick or rookie him but I would try and get in first and get him as a DFA if he doesn't want to wait. We have shown form on poaching with Delaney so why not. Perris is very talented but I am not sure I would punt off three knee recos. Was it Turbocat that was interested in McLaren last year?

You have good memory... I mentioned his name a few times... seemed to me a chance to develop into a Lonergan type ... we took Toohey instead thou. How he has gone with the Swans , I have no idea....but again young. Turns 20 in Jan , he may not really be at his bet for 2-3 years.

Swans rookie picks:
Selection No.17 – Sean McLaren (Sandringham Dragons)

Football manager Tom Harley says: "Sean is a key defender at 198cm and is a really competitive player. He's been part of the AIS-AFL Academy … the really top-end part of the program. He's spent a bit of time in the ruck also, so has some versatility and is really servicing a need in both our key defensive stocks and in our ruck stocks."
http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/video/2014-12-03/swanstv-sean-mclaren-highlights

Joffa Simpkin delisted by the Hawks after 33 games and a flag. For those playing the trivia game both Simpkin brothers are now available as DFA's.

Seriously though Joffa with the VFL team was as good as any we've had along with Bunnings (Troy Selwood). If he doesn't find another club and wants to come back to Colac he is a bit old for the afl team but I would definitely have him for the vfl squad which was far too weak for my liking this year.

Joffa Simpkin delisted by the Hawks after 33 games and a flag. For those playing the trivia game both Simpkin brothers are now available as DFA's.

Seriously though Joffa with the VFL team was as good as any we've had along with Bunnings (Troy Selwood). If he doesn't find another club and wants to come back to Colac he is a bit old for the afl team but I would definitely have him for the vfl squad which was far too weak for my liking this year.
#ComeHomeJoffa

Giants just delisted Golds and Schulz, not that I've ever even heard of the latter.

Vaguely remember Golds med defender type? One can see with these delisting that that the hope of fresh faces and youth can go off like yesterdays fish. For every young kid that makes it several are tossed away.

Giants just delisted Golds and Schulz, not that I've ever even heard of the latter.

just had a look for highlights package for Golds. For a 193 guys he is not slow...2nd to Danger in the GF sprint. Perhaps lack a bit of game...but if he could play a role in a talented side one would think he could be a contributor. GWS just have too much youth talent .

I have a soft spot for Giles so that would be one reason.

The other reasons behind my thinking are;

- Rivers retired this year, Lonergan finishes up next year and Taylor is 30 in June next year (and, I think, Taylor is starting to show signs of inconsistency). Henderson obviously fills a hole and I think we all agree defence is his long term position but in the short term, with questions over Clark and Vardy (who also still has to display consistency) and Walker being traded out, Henderson might spend time forward in 2016 & 2017.
- Delaney himself is an unknown because of his injuries. He might shake them off next year, he might not.
- Giles is a good rebounding tall defender. If he can get over his foot problem (the reason I'd only consider him as a rookie rather than on the senior list) he provides more options for us.

At 20, Giles also has age on his side. He was taken in the same draft as Kolodjashnij and, if he gets right, helps in a part of the ground we still look a bit thin in. I'd be looking for a tall defender in the draft this year anyway so I have to figure if I'm looking in the draft then a 20 year old DFA who is a tall defender also has to be considered.

Giles is risky though, that is the big issue for me.

But I think he can play.

I'm a big (well I use to be) Giles fan as well.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/cameron-giles

For me if the ankle is right, then rookie him up.

We definitely have some really good kicks, and yes most of the time our kicking efficiency was best in the league which was a great sign. Also one thing i really commend Selwood for is how much his own kicking has improved since he debuted in '07. I think going forward sometimes we can panic though, its not often we can hit Tomahawk up on the lead or with an accurate high lob, suppose he does have half the oppositions backline hanging off him though haha. Anyway i reckon just put a bit more time into some kicking, we tend to handball ourselves into trouble, would love to see the ball move a bit faster.

His tenure at the Roos was a rebounding half back or winger. some may argue we REALLY need one of these types since the like of Wojo and Varcoe, we probably do. But to be honest watching him from 2012 his defensive game wasn't his finest asset. Thats why i think Bews has the advantage, he has the pace, ability to lockdown and well balanced defensively. Other than that Mots, Duncs, Lang, Cocky, Bartel already occupy our wings so there's no real spot there either. As for a small/medium forward, i reckon there will be a few sliders in the draft we should take before Harps. But agree I've seen him when hes on breaking the lines and hes VERY exciting to watch and if we do pick him up i wont be disappointed, just think there's better out there mate :)

16, he won the BNF and also the club BNF as a under-ager. He's got a plaque down at the club rooms. He still played at Lilydale throughout the TAC when he could as most did, also had another mate Max Warren (rookie-list) NM who did the same. Wasn't Mullet a Mooroolbark boy? Seem to recall him playing for the 'stangs.
Good points.
Agree with all that.
NM have 3 similar players, Mullett, Atley, Harper, all capable HBF, but Harper in the firsts, which was yonks ago now, was earmarked as the next SJ.
Sorry to doubt your knowledge- just haven't seen him in defence myself and I had kept a close watch on his progress until 2015.

Good points.
Agree with all that.
NM have 3 similar players, Mullett, Atley, Harper, all capable HBF, but Harper in the firsts, which was yonks ago now, was earmarked as the next SJ.
Sorry to doubt your knowledge- just haven't seen him in defence myself and I had kept a close watch on his progress until 2015.

I seem to remember him playIng as a rebounding HB not a HF. Not doubting you mate perhaps we noticed different facets of his game. Maybe worth a shot, who knows how Menzal will go given his past.

List Mgmt. Recycled Players for 2016