Reports that Dees' debt gone with $400K left over

I wouldn't think so going by what's been written on here in the past week.

By everyone I'm referring to the fans of other clubs who are apathetic rather than the one-eyed supporters. A lot of these people view the Bulldogs as the easy beats, a club that won't threaten their club....I'm not saying you are the easy beats so don't go all hysterical on me.

North used to be everyones second club, then they got successful.....now everyone views them as a competitor and supporters of less successful are still bitter, that's why you get tossers on the main board and Bay13 who actually want us to die.....and like elephants, some of them are just jerks.

205.jpg

I'm thrilled for them, and coming from a family largely made up of Dees supporters I can see the pride they take in their contributions.

I find this talk of our club being wary of tin rattling as complete crap. We're worried about a tin rattling perception but we don't care about the perception of selling games interstate again? I call bull dust.

And why all this talk that you have to contribute millions or thousands, once again I call bull dust. If you can get 10 bucks out of someone, take it, put it away, put it to good use. But FFS don't turn your nose up at it like it's not worth the effort. The one sure way to guarantee that you won't succeed is to not try at all.

Exactly. As I said earlier the club should just ask. Really not that hard. Don't get what they're waiting for. There are many. many generous people out there and 100% it does not have to be millions at a time because every little dollar counts. But I am 100% certain that if the club asks the question many, many people will contribute. And before anyone asks - of course I would be one of them...and my family have done so before. Oh and the reason that I started this thread is because I think that Melbourne has done an amazing thing and it would be nice if our supporter base could do the same for our club that has provided us with so much joy.

Got to say I’m a bit puzzled by these debt demolition efforts. Quite mysterious how all the coin got raised. Seems the bulk was from invitational black tie dinners involving large sections of the top end of town. As an example the function the other night raised a clean $500k and you aren’t going to get that from tin rattling/carrying blankets around at half time.

They have raised over $5 mill in two years. This is equivalent to selling around 30,000 extra memberships to your existing supporters! I’m a bit confused why did they not chuck in earlier/buy extra memberships during the Gardiner/Szondy eras etc? I’d assume the opportunity has always been there to donate. This is still the same Melbourne FC that was around 5 years ago correct?

I have a couple of long standing Dees fans/members in my family and they are sure the current wave of support/emotion around the place at present is driven by Jim Stynes. His ill health undoubtedly fuels these emotions further. This is a ripe time for them to be running fundraisers. Not a pot shot at his health but a fact.

Cool Kangas - we have knocked on our member's doors many, many times in the past. Other than the usual imploring of members to recruit others/buy extra memberships, pavers for the new facilities etc anyone remember the Ron Casey foundation to build new facilities which barely got off the ground? Also as Limerick said we have effectively had our wealthy shareholder supporters donate effectively $3.8 mill in recent times.

I'd love to be one of those white knights let me tell you...it would be awesome to be in that position...but how's starting with anywhere from $10-$100 per every North family? At least we'd reduce the debt a bit. It's better than nothing. Come off it...do you really disagree? You seem so cynical.

The best bet is to get $10,000 each from our wealthiest 500 supporters.

I reckon that could be done.

Cool Kangas - we have knocked on our member's doors many, many times in the past. Other than the usual imploring of members to recruit others/buy extra memberships, pavers for the new facilities etc anyone remember the Ron Casey foundation to build new facilities which barely got off the ground? Also as Limerick said we have effectively had our wealthy shareholder supporters donate effectively $3.8 mill in recent times.

Pres I understand what you're saying but I still don't know when we've really implored to our members to stand up and help out (not including the wealthy shareholders but the regular members whether wealthy or not) other than when we were on the verge of relocating and surprise surprise we got a spike in our membership numbers that year. If the club just says "help us out we need your support", people will. Hold an event, have a series of family days and collect money, stick a 'make a donation to help eradicate our debt' link on the website for goodness sake...something! What the heck is wrong with doing that. If people don't want to donate they won't, but if they do, they will. The supporters are just as responsible for the club as the administration is as the reality is that if there are no supporters at all there is no club. I'm sick and tired of pathetic crowds and getting canned for it. The club needs to REALLY make it known that if we don't help out...well...who knows what will happen...

I have a couple of long standing Dees fans/members in my family and they are sure the current wave of support/emotion around the place at present is driven by Jim Stynes. His ill health undoubtedly fuels these emotions further. This is a ripe time for them to be running fundraisers. Not a pot shot at his health but a fact.

You haven't read all of the posts on this thread, have you ?

Before Stynes was diagnosed with his illness half the debt had been wiped. The first debt demolition dinner back in 08 raised $2mil. Over $3mil had been raised prior to his illness. I strongly doubt there'd be any difference to our results if he hadn't been diagnosed with cancer.

Stynes has galvanised a club that had had divisive factions for 30 years. The unification, plus having the right people throughout the organisation, is the reason behind this off field success. Momentum breeds momentum.

I'm thrilled for them, and coming from a family largely made up of Dees supporters I can see the pride they take in their contributions.

I find this talk of our club being wary of tin rattling as complete crap. We're worried about a tin rattling perception but we don't care about the perception of selling games interstate again? I call bull dust.

Spot on.

I also call "bull dust", and raise you a "purrrleeez".

And why all this talk that you have to contribute millions or thousands, once again I call bull dust. If you can get 10 bucks out of someone, take it, put it away, put it to good use. But FFS don't turn your nose up at it like it's not worth the effort. The one sure way to guarantee that you won't succeed is to not try at all.

Well said.

From what I can see there are a whole lot of good reasons to attempt this kind of initiative. On the flipside, I'm hearing some condescending claptrap from a few posters and a bit of skewed talk of Stynes' illness having a dramatic influence on Melbourne's efforts, but I'm yet to hear any truly compelling reasons not to follow their lead on this. Perhaps I missed something.

Excellent effort by the Dees, will be a great feeling around the club to finally have that burden lifted, the Issue now is keeping themselved debt free, financial consultants Kgo.

Interesting reading the Sun today that the Tigers have a debt equal to ours... Dont hear much about that in footy circles.

Regarding requesting donations from members/supporters, a similar type of fund raiser, asking members for donations was done re the Arden St Building Fund, last season/this season - a request was put on membership forms- anyone have any idea how much was donated?

Perhaps the club are hesitant to ask for more funds because the abovementioned Arden St Building fund request was a dud.
I may be incorrect on this and am ready to be corrected.

Regarding requesting donations from members/supporters, a similar type of fund raiser, asking members for donations was done re the Arden St Building Fund, last season/this season - a request was put on membership forms- anyone have any idea how much was donated?

Perhaps the club are hesitant to ask for more funds because the abovementioned Arden St Building fund request was a dud.
I may be incorrect on this and am ready to be corrected.

It might seem silly to some, but a lot of people would have a very different perception vis a vis 'Donating to eradicate debt' & 'Donating so well paid players can have a nicer place to work'.

There is a fundamental difference between surviving and making life easier.

We raised our first 3 million before stynes became ill.

Yep, rightio stickman, we know that mate (many did prior to today too). The fact is Jim Stynes led this initiative from the start and has triumphed. It's a stellar effort by him and those who've contributed. Well done to all. :thumbsu:

Jim Stynes health has had little to do with his amazing work with the debt demolition, if anything falling ill has hindered the great work he's been doing at the club, for those that arent aware he has been doing fundraising for Reach which is a charity to help troubled youth since he retired from football, before he took over the presidencey of the MFC, its just part of his skill set. (think he got 4million from Gillard just last week for Reach)

I'm praying for the man, he has saved the club i love and beyond that does terrific work in the community, hes a genuine bloke and someone that does not deserve the illness he currently has, as is true with many cancer sufferrers.

As for North following suit, wheres theres a will theres a way. Your supporter base does still seem fractured from an outsiders view, perhaps Glenn Archer is the man to unite you guys, i dont have the answers but i hope you pull through too.

Best of luck

Combine all our past champions and premiership players and have an all open function for members and have auctions and such. We could clean out the debt too.

It could be held at Arden Street, at our own base, doesn't have to be at some fancy crown palladium room.

Just an idea...

Grats to Melbourne and their supporters, thats something to proud of. As for us North people, we too can be proud, we've achieved so much too in roughly the same time. Coming back to Melbourne 100%, new admin, so much damage control and of course who could forget the new facilities :thumbsu:

Rome wasnt built in a day, both clubs have done brilliantly. Hopefully with more to come.

You're believing what you want to believe. You're making excuses for your own club's plight. It's an understandable mentality, but it doesn't get your club anywhere.

Our club has been in debt since it split with the MCC in 1981, so while some talk about our wealthy supporter base clearly it hasn't meant jack shit for 3 decades.

The crux of the matter and single biggest contributing factor has been the unification of the club. This club has had divisive factions for 30 years. They no longer exist. Collingwood were stuffed before Maguire came on board because they too had fractures within their group. The debt would still be there without Stynes ability to unify the club.

The debt hasn't been eradicated because of sympathy towards Stynes health. The first Debt Demolition dinner was held in August 2008 and raised $2mil. This was well before Stynes illness. The steps that were put in place then have continued. Thankfully, Stynes illness hasn't inhibited the clubs well laid out plans. Cam Schwab discusses his business model every Wednesday in a series of taped interviews. I've watched them all and all I can say is the club is in good hands.

As for footy dept spending ? We have a host of assistant and development coaches and are spending 100% of the salary cap, where in past years we spent the minimum required.

Record membership, record sponsorship, and substantially increased home ground attendances while coming off 2 wooden spoons. And it's all come down to one man unifying the club and putting the right people in place.

I don't understand why North wouldn't hold a Debt Demolition function too. I'd give a one-off donation.

Why are you doing that?

The whole "tick a box" on your membership renewal is a tried and failed formula. Most people want some slight recognition when giving money.

The club can hold something to coincide with family day. There are a thousand+ of us that turned up this year that would give something.

The club can also host a function pre rd 1 to welcome the coming season.

Raise enough and we get good publicity heading into rd 1 which might encourage the lapsed to unlapse.

I'm f*#$%@ if I'll donate a cent to help charter a comfy plane to Hobart though.

How much do we owe btw? Maybe Gillard will give it to us!

The whole "tick a box" on your membership renewal is a tried and failed formula. Most people want some slight recognition when giving money.

But how was it managed ? I'd suggest that there are a number of elements that need to be put in place for a campaign of this nature to be successful, other than providing a box to tick on a form. If managed well, and perhaps run in conjunction with some of the ideas you suggested, then I think it's a valid suggestion.

Regardless, I continue to believe that a debt demolition campaign is something the club should consider.

Why are you doing that?

As has been mentioned, by paying the young players they believe will be "Absolute guns" in 2-3 years alot in their first year, it opens up their salary cap for a big signing or 2 when theyre working into their premiership window.

Say scully was signed on for 5 yrs at a million and a half total (random number),
The first year he is paid 700k, second year 400k, 3rd year 200k and for the last 2 yrs 100k.

The first year, the dees are likely to be paying 100% of their cap while they dont have any players that are considered elite or A grade. May seem weird a weird thing to do but in 2 or 3 yrs theres a few players who would be expected to be hitting the peak of their ability and demanding more money. By signing contracts to certain players and paying them the majority of it up front while they under less financial stress contractual wise, this means theyll be paying alot less in future years when they most need cap room to keep players.

where is our revenue generating machine? wot is happening, why r we cashing in on our kangaroo symbols. Where is our polie machie. We should have like 500 pokies to bleed peopel of their money. We should be sell kangaroo toys to the stupid tourist from asia. Or better we should sell the club to cashed up overseas buyer like people from india and china. Money money money, we need money. Greed is good, greed is god.

where is our revenue generating machine?

It would help if we had a Bruce Mathieson (aka The Pokies King) supporting us. I read today that he'd signed over three of his many venues (with one more to come) to Carlton, so they earn the profits henceforth. 300 machines which generated $22M approx last year. Two of the venues were earning cash for Richmond and the Bulldogs, who've now lost them obviously. That's a fair boost to the Blues' future bottom lines.

Reports that Dees' debt gone with $400K left over