RFC have been terrible at Recruiting:

delricho12

Sep 19, 2007
mildura
Going back and looking at our draft picks over the years and who we have missed and we have been very bad at it. Im confidant we have got it right at long last.

1991 Draft for those that remember

No1 pick-Brisbane John Hutton played 36 games.
Best of top 10 was Marcus Seecamp taken at 2 for Melb 140 games.
The worst Sydney pick 6 Paul Burton 0 games.
Biggest success out of that draft Hawthorn pick 13 Crawford.enough said there.
Best of lower picks 50 + A Dunkerly sydney pick 56 217 games or Brad Sholl North Melb pick 69 played 171 games.

As for our Tigers our first pick was at No 49-Todd Hawes,51-Shaun Brooker,55-Glenn Hoffman,66-Nick Roney, 77-Jay Burton, 85-John Kennedy who i think they treid to talk out of retirement,89 Paul Dimmattina who went on and played 131 games for the Bulldogs.

The sad part of all that is only Jay Burton played senior footy for the tiges and that was 2 games the rest O.

Pre Season Draft we took No3pick-Mark McQueen 28 games,David Honybun,Brad Gwilliam and Simon Dennis.

We missed Ben Graham from Geelong, Matt Clarke and Justin Peckett.

They had a Mid season draft back then and with pick 3 we took Ian Herman played 13 games,Andrew Tarpey and Tim Livingston 8 games.

We Missed out on Matt Febey and Daryn Cresswell.

Dont know who was incharge that year with recruiting.

We would have got a Big F on our report card that year.

I will reveiw other years if you all are interested.:thumbsu::thumbsu::footy::footy:I Luv :footy:

Thanks for the detective work delricho12. Interesting,did it take you long?? Some of these names I don't recall at all!! Look forward to the next installment.

Cheers

1908 Youth cup Carnival for those that remember it
Richmond decided to pick up a young spritely lad, whose name I have forgotten but overlooked a young star in James Penrey-Jones who would later go on after his footy career (Geelong 32 games) to own a small boutique IT consultancy firm.
Which would later lead to bankrupcy do to the fact the computer, the internet and such had not been invented yet. He also introduced the onion to South Australia and was the first Victorian to be charged with being a slaveowner and was given a suspended sentence after winning an appeal in a poker game with the Shah of Marakesh. He would later join the RAAF in WW2 where he stole a Beaufort bomber while in England and flew to Columbia, where he lived the rest of his live as a small time drug lord along with his 7 wives.

Okay though seriously. What's the point of bringing up something that happened in 1991?

Yes....bad shit happened....but at the same time it happened in 1991...a long long long time ago. Wasn't like these kids from 1991 were in our leadership group in the last 3-4 years.

Just a bit of history mate you read it and replied and who knows you might be at ya mates party and there talking footy and they might want to know when Crawf was drafted and you will have the answer stay tuned for 1992.......

Thanks for the detective work delricho12. Interesting,did it take you long?? Some of these names I don't recall at all!! Look forward to the next installment.

Cheers

No not really as i go through the years you will see a pattern.

Anyway what else have i got to do on a Sat arvo........:rolleyes:

Richmond decided to pick up a young spritely lad, whose name I have forgotten but overlooked a young star in James Penrey-Jones who would later go on after his footy career (Geelong 32 games) to own a small boutique IT consultancy firm.
Which would later lead to bankrupcy do to the fact the computer, the internet and such had not been invented yet. He also introduced the onion to South Australia and was the first Victorian to be charged with being a slaveowner and was given a suspended sentence after winning an appeal in a poker game with the Shah of Marakesh. He would later join the RAAF in WW2 where he stole a Beaufort bomber while in England and flew to Columbia, where he lived the rest of his live as a small time drug lord along with his 7 wives.

Okay though seriously. What's the point of bringing up something that happened in 1991?

Yes....bad shit happened....but at the same time it happened in 1991...a long long long time ago. Wasn't like these kids from 1991 were in our leadership group in the last 3-4 years.

Not yet but i will get there:):)
Hey if ya not interested dont read it...:D:D

really? naaaa, no way what gave you that impression? Could it have anything to do with the million posts over the stretch saying the same thing? FFS this has to be a candidate for the lamest thread in this forum. Next thing you know you will be creating another "new" thread telling us that Spud is a dud and he needs to be sacked. ;)

Does that mean you dont want anymore summaries there is a couple of good stories like Richo its not just about doom. History dont forget the past as it makes you appreciate the future.:D

ok so we have a muppet who is "trying hard" to sound like a philosopher. Now how about telling us how you can appreciate something that hasnt happened einstein? ;)

Ok because of the great response and plenty people reading 91. I will continue with 92.

92 we actually did ok and build towards our finals apperance in 95.

So 1992

No1 pick-Drew banfield West Coast.265 games and played in the 06 premiership.2 premierships.

Of the top10 others worth note were
No4 pick -Justin Leppitsch now Richmond Assistant Coach.3 premierships
No 9- Martin Pike Melbourne.247 games and 4 premierships.

Our 1st pick was No7-Wayne Hernamen 20 games
No22-Mark Jones 0 games
No28-Jamie Tape 91 games good defender.
No37-Matt Rogers 197 Games was a very good player.Those 2 had a big part of our 95 finals campaign.
No52-Paul Bullus 97 games.
No67-Brody Leckie 0 games
No82-Rob Schaffear 11 games
No97-John Howat 45 games
No112-Ben Cordess 0 games.
There were some good names we missed after pick 52.

Pick 66 A. Lord,Pick 87 D.HARDWICK now a tiger Head Coach,90-S.Burns and pick 103 B Harrison who found his way to Tigerland.

Other players to note from this draft N.Holland,Leigh Colbert,Andrew Mckay and Shane Wakelin.

In the pre season draft we recruited with pick7-Stuart Steele,23-Chris Bond who was a good player for the tigers.No37-Simon Verbeek,51-Simon Eishold and 63 Tim Livingston.

So it was a ok draft for the tigers. I think that was J.northeys first year but not sure on that.

Stay tuned for more.

Also interesting to note1989 when our no 1 pick was Anthony Banik who was a fail. At pick 29 Wayne Campbell.And middraft Scotty Turner.

So there you go peoples now you can EAT ME ALIVE.

You just cut and paste this off Andy Collins profile on the Richmond website Tucker.:thumbsu:

What can I say....you got me:D:p

Seriously though that profile has some awesome Andy Collins bits of info. Like for example did you know that Andy Collins was the first player to ever score a supergoal, with a handball? And some people say he knows 2 facts about ducks and they're both wrong.

The Draft wasn't taken anywhere near as seriously back then as it is now. I reckon you'd find most clubs are in the same boat.
It was serious but the under 18 comp was only just starting so all clubs made bad choices at some stage.

This maybe a pointless thread but still interesting to see who failed and who succeded.
And im sure as i get closer to more current times people will get more interested.:rolleyes:

Nah. Every man and their Tiger supporting dog has posted something about drafts most recent.

I think your best bet would be to review up to '99, then stop. Maybe in 10 years you can come back and do the next 10 years. But to go any further will be to rehash material that's been plastered here there and everywhere for many a year. And then it really WILL become a pointless thread.

But hey, it's your game.

They had a Mid season draft back then and with pick 3 we took Ian Herman played 13 games,Andrew Tarpey and Tim Livingston 8 games.

I used to work with this bloke... can honestly say that l've never met a bigger wanka. Good businessman, but **** smoker of a bloke.

Wouldnt trust him as far as l could throw him.

:thumbsdown:

Oh yes.

Consider:

Unbeaten for 13 weeks now.

No players caught falling out of nightclubs at 4am.

New coach speaks english.

Just had the draft where we had to pick 'players' - we resisted the temptation to pick bananas, roses, or even our noses - we actually picked players.

So far, all our 2009 draftees are still on our list.

For Richmond, this represents sustained success.

RFC have been terrible at Recruiting: