Riverina FL - 2010 Season

Well well well, what a interesting two rounds we have encountered, looks like it will be a pretty even competition, most teams going for youth and locals, I got a feeling that this will be a cracker of a competition.

Just sending out my best wishes to the great man Michael Wheatley after he was violently attacked at the Beckham Pub. I'm sure every footballer and supporter in the Riverina is hoping for a swift recovery.

Yes best wishes to Michael, that's a crummy thing to happen. I don't believe the attacker would have been anyone in the footy world. In the DA he said he has no hard feelings for the community, which is a credit to him.

Wagga are running 7th on the ladder after the loss to Mango on the weekend, so they're in the relegation zone. Oh well they used to be in the Farrer years ago, and this year the FFNL is looking a livelier comp. than it has for many years.

so we're 4 rounds in! whats everyone think so far;
any suprises?
any disapointments?
any young guns making a mark in the seniors?
early suggestions for premiership/jim quinn medal?
1st team to be relegated?

so we're 4 rounds in! whats everyone think so far;
any suprises?
any disapointments?
any young guns making a mark in the seniors?
early suggestions for premiership/jim quinn medal?
1st team to be relegated?

Being up north im not sure a lot about young guns and the jim quinn medal favourites. Looking from afar and talking ti friends back home, it looks like a pretty even comp, with a few upsets and ganmain and coolamon the two top teams. The lions look like they will be hard to stop again unfortuntely. At this stage leeton looks like it would be favourites for relegation, but it is still early and im sure they will cause some upsets during the year.

Im still trying to get my head around the whole relegation idea. To me it stinks. I would like to see if Wagga gets the wooden spoon if they will be relegated which is a chance as they seem to be struggling early on. I reckon most clubs when it came through last year would have thought "yeah its not the best format, but we wont finish last so it wont worry us to much".

If a leeton, wagga, griff or Narrandera do finish last (looks like this 4 early on), their will be a huge uproar from these proud clubs that have lived in the rfl for a number of years now. For a club like leeton to be relegated would be a massive shame in my eyes. They have some of the best juniors in the league. Their 18s/17s have been up there for the past 10 years. If they get a season through these boys, get some recruits next year, they will be there abouts again. Griff has improved and will be better next year. Imagine the travel factor if they were relegated. Narrrandera has a pretty young side and is full of locals, with a few recruits they also will be better in 2011. Wagga wont be down for long either.

Sorry 2malone, sort of got a bit off track here but i think that come the end of the season, this relegation idea is going to be a massive topic and I for one would hate to see a side in the current rfl drop down to the farrer, especially if it is a south west team, and no matter where these 3 teams are on the comp later, they improve the league, give it charachter and add something a collingullie or the rock would not.

Jumped sinking ship, but they will be back when they smell success in the Farrar league. :D . Which I really think will not happen, because clubs like Wagga Tigers are capable of winning premierships after wooden spoons, which they have done before. The real question is what has happened to a league that two years ago had established itself as a strong viable league, now thanks to the powers to be we are back to minor league status in outsiders eyes and external recruiting power has been virtually stripped. Don't know how any club that is on the chopping block is going to recruit for next year not knowing which league they are in ????:confused:

Thanks NSWelshman, ive been away for a few years and not really upto date with what has happen to the league down there??
I really can see Tigers getting put back to the Farrar league???
Surely not :eek:

What happen to there players like Steve Priest, Tom Power, Marc Shepperd, Ryan Plant e.g where have they all gone?

Its good to see GGGM and Coolamon strong again!

..this relegation idea is going to be a massive topic and I for one would hate to see a side in the current rfl drop down to the farrer, especially if it is a south west team, and no matter where these 3 teams are on the comp later, they improve the league, give it charachter and add something a collingullie or the rock would not.
For mine givengo11 nailed it right on the head. And what about this from NSWelshman: '...clubs like Wagga Tigers are capable of winning premierships after wooden spoons..' ..Too right mate.

Eastern and western conferences was the way to go, as I said pre-season, with superbowl finals. But no - we won't ever be relegated said the Wagga Tigers - and they weren't Robinson Crusoe around the Riverina either. Now suddenly it's a crisis (see in the DA).

Embrace the change Tigers. It's no crisis, it's just change. And a bit more respect for the Farrer League please.

And another thing...
This article made me very cross: http://www.dailyadvertiser.com.au/n...tralian-rules/rfl-sets-standards/1830935.aspx
Nothing against Greg Carroll, a respected football person, but honestly, who do the AFL Riverina Board think they are?
THIS season's Farrer League premiers will now need to meet special criteria before winning promotion to the Riverina Football League (RFL) next season. The AFL Riverina board yesterday released a set of standards the successful Farrer League club will need to meet before it earns promotion to the RFL.
The document also revealed there will be consideration given to RFL clubs for demographical and geographical purposes, in a big boost for Griffith and Leeton-Whitton's future and its chances of surviving relegation...AFL Riverina chairman Greg Carroll said the new criteria were about maintaining the standard of the RFL.
"We just want to have a benchmark in place and if everyone meets that then there won't be a problem, they can come up," Carroll said yesterday...Carroll stressed the criteria form a live document and will continue to be "tinkered with".
So now we are told that there'll be promotion and relegation, but...'special consideration' to RFL clubs for 'demographical and geographical purposes'. It's called hypocrisy RFL.

The old Farrer clubs, Wagga, EWK, North Wagga, MCUE, The Rock etc could be forgiven for telling the old South West League mafia where they can stick their 'special criteria'. The inter-league match might mean something again. We'll see how your 'standard' goes then Mr Carroll.

For mine givengo11 nailed it right on the head. And what about this from NSWelshman: '...clubs like Wagga Tigers are capable of winning premierships after wooden spoons..' ..Too right mate.

Eastern and western conferences was the way to go, as I said pre-season, with superbowl finals. But no - we won't ever be relegated said the Wagga Tigers - and they weren't Robinson Crusoe around the Riverina either. Now suddenly it's a crisis (see in the DA).

Embrace the change Tigers. It's no crisis, it's just change. And a bit more respect for the Farrer League please.

read the article properly muppet....
at no stage did any one from tigers claim a crises.. IF tigers are in that position at seasons end, we will no doubt except it.. still a long way to go in the season. look for a much improved effort. as for a "crises" meeting tigers are holding their monthly committee meeting (as most clubs should) but no doubt the slow start to the season will be addressed.
great article by les today back page.....

Gee i didnt know that they sacked him?
What happen to all there players?

raided by farrer league clubs throwing terrible amounts of money at footballers tigers didnt see the point in paying.
although we are not "crying foul" as gelnn noyes terrible saturday report stated. this was the worst piece of reporting, waiting until he had left clubrooms and voicing his opionion in a public domain. was taken right out of context this coming from a bloke who coached a team who instead of playing a year knowing they would struggle decided to sit the year out...
and it wont be forgotten

although we are not "crying foul" as gelnn noyes terrible saturday report stated. this was the worst piece of reporting, waiting until he had left clubrooms and voicing his opionion in a public domain. was taken right out of context this coming from a bloke who coached a team who instead of playing a year knowing they would struggle decided to sit the year out...
and it wont be forgotten
How does that idiot Noye get a gig writing for the DA? I know they accept mediocrity but his articles are pure shit. Surely they could find a better football personality in the Riverina to write for them.

Here here. One weekend the dwarfman dedicated most of his article to whinging about the poor advertising of the league that AFL Riverina do. It was a few weeks ago but I dont think he mentioned many answers to the problems, just whinged about it. Went to the footy that day and the Record had an article outlining new initiatives it was undertaking to promote the league, eg putting the results up at half time of the Saturday night game.
Then last week he makes an RFL side and includes Nathan Edyvean. Edyvean is on the verge of being dropped to the 2s! Another thing, it was Ganmain (no prob with that) and Mango dominated. Noye even stated that it was GGGM and MCUE dominated, and then Turvey Park go out and wiped the smirk of Noye and the Mango boys faces.

Who's running the afl? everything was set in stone last year and now they change their mind......again. Shows a lack of direction, leadership and highlights their ignorance about what it takes to run anysort of organisation. No consideration for the volunteers, yes volunteers ( no free tickets to afl games here) who give up their time to make their club the best it can be. Make a bloody decision and stick to it so we all know what is required and make it the same for everyone. :mad:

read the article properly muppet....
at no stage did any one from tigers claim a crises.. IF tigers are in that position at seasons end, we will no doubt except it.. still a long way to go in the season. look for a much improved effort. as for a "crises" meeting tigers are holding their monthly committee meeting (as most clubs should) but no doubt the slow start to the season will be addressed.
great article by les today back page.....

Good to hear backman but i dont think you should accept it.. I know a lot of clubs would have the tigers as their fave to be relegated and a lot of people and clubs would enjoy to see the tigers do bad, but the fact is the tigers make the comp a lot stronger and appealing than any current farrer side. It was only a few years ago that they were in afl canberra, one of the strongest comps in aus. below the afl, vfl and sanfl. They won the comp in 2007, not that long ago. I am one that hated the tigers when i was playing. But gee i would hate to see them go out of the rfl. The rating/standard of the league will decrease even more. Imagine not playing the tigers, it wouldn't feel right. No grudge matches against turvey that has been going for 20 years or more. Collingulie probably desrve a go in the rfl after their dominance and keeness to move up, but i dont think it should be at the expence of a club/s that have had a long and successful time in the rfl such as the tigers, and to a lesser extent griff, leeton and narrandera. The rfl need to go back to the drawing board!! I'm with welshman dont stuff the league you've done enough already!! With the GWS coming in is the perfect time to get the league strong again and promote it as being a potential pathway to the afl

tigers havent been playing bad football. with young teams its patchy and are learning very quickly pappy and gayns are best on most week's and learning the coaching trade very quickly and we know its not far around the corner once we get a side that sticks together it'll show on the score board. one quarter lost the game against leeton. as a side and club we are learning and everyone around the club is while disapointed on a saturday evening it is still up beat and with only 6 games played know its a long way to go. and relegation hasnt been mentioned as a playing group yet. im very confident we will still be in the RFL next year and back up there. over and out

this all started by Gullie wanting to join the Rfl after North Wagga came back from recess into the Rfl and having been near the bottom in the Ffl, and saying they would appeal it they were not successful. So the Afl put up a proposal that they new would not be acceptable to the clubs. Then to satisfy Gullie, East Wagga & North Wagga were put back to even up the Ffl to make a 8 team comp. To help them to agree to this promotion & relegation was put in place, which nearly all clubs were against but were pushed into agreeing to with it or the conference set up which all clubs were against. The Rfl said it would prefer to stay as it was but agreed for the betterment of football in the region mainly the survival of the Ffl to agree to it.
How many Ffl clubs actually want to go up if they were to win promotion? 1.
There is no point in trying to have two even competitions, make the Rfl the main comp as it is if you want to play in the Rfl do so with one of the clubs in the Rfl.
As for the DA no wonder nobody reads it who cares what a rugby league journo thinks as if his comp is so strong how does a comp between three towns beat a comp as big as group 9 with sides in so many towns and Wagga with a population of 60,000 worry about your own game and get some more reporters to actually cover football in the region not the half assed shit you put in the paper at the moment

If I am reading it right, more "tinkering" will be done, hopefully commonsense will prevail and while ever all eight RFL teams fullfill their obligations with the league they should stay.

RFL has already taken some big gut shots for the betterment of our game in the Riverina, FFL is now a viable league despite Gullie being early favourites, and to tinker with the make up of either league in the next few years will fall straight into Less Miserales (Muir) slimy league hands.

And I am confident in saying that Colin isnt as dominant as they like to think they are , and that the finals will cough up a few surprises in FFL,

I was allittle confused with the comment in the Advertiser about 2 teams having to go down to FFL ????