Riverina FL - Off Season News Part 2

Yeah sorry it will all be my fault that clubs cant recruit into this americanised premier league.:rolleyes:

Anyway welcome to the campaignerry Division Bomber boy:thumbsu:

NSWelshman tell me whats americanised about the concept, plus what I said was my opinion, yes there are going to be teething problems and Iam sure I said that.

also my opinion, clubs wouldn't like to fold or merge so please you must have the right answers. Please do tell.

The original "West & East Conferences" sounds alittle Septic Tank ish to me, and if you want my 2 bobs worth on what they should have done just go back a few pages. Keep it simple stupid

And do you really think that this new "original and exciting" structure will stop clubs from merging or folding or even wanting to go to other leagues to suit their standard or geographical position. Rather the opposite I believe, this new concept has a limited life and will only speed up the demise of some clubs. Maybe this is one of the NSWAFL's undelying motives.

As I said before the Union boys structured their competition along the same lines a few years back, have a look at their comp and tell me if its winner ???

We are the Guinea pigs in this brave new experiment so look out Hume league your next,

By the way footydoc what position do you hold in the Australian Rules football world to be attending the unveiling on Friday ????

The original "West & East Conferences" sounds alittle Septic Tank ish to me, and if you want my 2 bobs worth on what they should have done just go back a few pages. Keep it simple stupid

And do you really think that this new "original and exciting" structure will stop clubs from merging or folding or even wanting to go to other leagues to suit their standard or geographical position. Rather the opposite I believe, this new concept has a limited life and will only speed up the demise of some clubs. Maybe this is one of the NSWAFL's undelying motives.

As I said before the Union boys structured their competition along the same lines a few years back, have a look at their comp and tell me if its winner ???

We are the Guinea pigs in this brave new experiment so look out Hume league your next,

By the way footydoc what position do you hold in the Australian Rules football world to be attending the unveiling on Friday ????

I have done my share of hard knocks on and of the paddock for a lot of years. To keep it simple as you put it, to my understanding its coming in next year whether the clubs like it or not so no use complaining just need to deal with it and move on.

NSW Welshman - your from Leeton, why are you so against it? You play 6 games in the country league 3 of those teams being Ganmain, Narrandera and Griffith of which you already play against. The other 3 being Jets, Temora and Marrar. it Surely cant be that much different then playing against North Wagga and East Wagga who you already play against. However in this case you dont have to travel as far, you only have to play Jets temora marrar once compared to as it is now you play North Wagga & East Wagga twice. Play your 6 games and then head off back to the way you like it to play 11 more games.

I'm interested to know if any club in the RFL is happy with this? I have heard that GGM are furious aswell hearing bad things from Leeton, East Wagga and Turvey. Can anyone from other clubs give any info??

Surely if every club disagreed with this their would have to be something done? I'm expecting to see lots more players leave to go to other Leagues. Can players get cleared from a Farrer Cup side to Riverina Cup side after round 7?

Interesting article in today's Daily Agoniser. Good luck to Lakepa. Can anyone comment on him for those that might of seen him playing Carrol Cup? Also i thought Sheedy had left the bombers, that the days of his wild experiments were over...

A WAGGA teenager has been plucked from obscurity and given the chance of a lifetime by AFL powerhouse Essendon.
Mount Austin High School student Lakepa Buadromo has been officially invited to travel to Melbourne to train with Essendon for four days.
Making the story even more remarkable, the 17-year-old athlete does not play Australian football and has extremely limited experience in the sport.
While not overly familiar with Australian football, Buadromo is a talented sportsman and he plays first grade in the Southern Inland Rugby Union competition.
The young Fijian played Australian football for Mount Austin High School in the Carroll Cup, and, despite his inexperience, was one of the team's best players.
Mount Austin High School teacher Pat Edmunds yesterday admitted he was shocked to learn of the interest from Essendon but said Buadromo was a natural athlete.
"He doesn't play AFL," Edmunds said.
"He plays rugby union with the Kapooka team (RARC) I think but he hasn't played much footy (Australian football) at all.
"He is a very good athlete and we played him at centre half-back and swapped him in the ruck in the Carroll Cup.
"I don't know how Essendon got a hold of him or anything like that but they sent him a letter and want him to go down there for training and some tests from July 14 to 18."
Essendon has identified Buadromo as a possible recruit and the Bombers appear to have a lofty opinion of the talented teenager's athletic capabilities.
Edmunds yesterday claimed whatever Buadromo lacked in football experience could be made up for by sheer talent and athleticism.
"He has a great vertical leap and he is very quick," Edmunds said.
"I am pretty sure he was a state 400-metre runner and he should measure up well in any of the fitness and speed tests they (Essendon) want him to do."
There have been dramatic changes made to the way AFL clubs recruit young players and there is now a greater emphasis on athletic ability rather than football experience or skill.
Since moving to Mount Austin High School at the start of the year, Buadromo has been involved in several sporting events and he also represented the school in the Hardy Shield rugby league competition.

NSW Welshman - your from Leeton, why are you so against it? You play 6 games in the country league 3 of those teams being Ganmain, Narrandera and Griffith of which you already play against. The other 3 being Jets, Temora and Marrar. it Surely cant be that much different then playing against North Wagga and East Wagga who you already play against. However in this case you dont have to travel as far, you only have to play Jets temora marrar once compared to as it is now you play North Wagga & East Wagga twice. Play your 6 games and then head off back to the way you like it to play 11 more games.

Travel isnt my issue, because it is part and parcel of country footy. My issue is that it is a disfunctional system that has ten times more problems than the current system. And for the NSWAFL to say that it has to be a unanomous decision to change their idea is blatant arrogant.
I believe this setup will only further isolate us even further from the rest of the Aussie Rules mainstream.
Riverina Cup / Farrar cup / City Division / Country Division its got a real rugby union schoolboy ring to it.

Imagine talking to someone from outside the Riverina about it. Question : what league are you in, Answer : City Division and then we progress to the Farrar Cup Question : what the F*** Oh I thought you played AFL

Getting back to best players in the comp discussion, Scoular played very well on the weekend for the Crows but I thought the efforts of Munson for TPFC were unbelievable. He has an exceptionally good leap and marks anything that goes near him. Dane Campbell had a quiet one by his standards but those are the 3 I am tipping to take home the League B&F at seasons end.

I also find it hard to believe no discussion of the netball, it is an integral part of the RFL. Who has the best all round team? While the Ressies are playing an atrocious brand of football I would much rather go watch the girls on the court. So tell me, who is worth going to watch?

Getting back to best players in the comp discussion, Scoular played very well on the weekend for the Crows but I thought the efforts of Munson for TPFC were unbelievable. He has an exceptionally good leap and marks anything that goes near him. Dane Campbell had a quiet one by his standards but those are the 3 I am tipping to take home the League B&F at seasons end.
If you were watching closely carltonblue you would have realised Dane went down early with injury and bravely fought on for the rest of the game. I'm still open to any wagers for the Jim Quinn Medal.

Travel isnt my issue, because it is part and parcel of country footy. My issue is that it is a disfunctional system that has ten times more problems than the current system. And for the NSWAFL to say that it has to be a unanomous decision to change their idea is blatant arrogant.
I believe this setup will only further isolate us even further from the rest of the Aussie Rules mainstream.
Riverina Cup / Farrar cup / City Division / Country Division its got a real rugby union schoolboy ring to it.

Imagine talking to someone from outside the Riverina about it. Question : what league are you in, Answer : City Division and then we progress to the Farrar Cup Question : what the F*** Oh I thought you played AFL

Vaild point. i would agree with you that recruiting players from outside the area would take some extra explaining and possibly lose some people, on the flipside though you would have other peoples opinions being different of yours and you might pick up players through the idea of this new format where as otherwise you might not have got them at all. Plus another big possitive is it should stop players form moving from club to club in this area and get some loyalty back into football.

If the proposed league came in last year leeton wouldnt have played in the riverina cup. And would have won the Farrer cup comfortably.. Surely you want the best sides available to play???

A couple of years back Our 18's won the flag And our reserves made finals while our first grade was rubbish this bieng the case the rest of the Club suffers for good competition cause the first grade didn't make the top 4.
It would also be a nightmare to organise Club functions and the like.. You wouldn't know if you were Arthur or Marthur....

If you were watching closely carltonblue you would have realised Dane went down early with injury and bravely fought on for the rest of the game. I'm still open to any wagers for the Jim Quinn Medal.
yes i've noticed how well Dane + Corey have been playing but i would say comparing them to the diamond in the rough + rapidly rising club cult figure Michael Wheatley would be like comparing young Ryan Blundell's fighting style to the courageous inside-fighting + iron chin of teammate Brad Burkinshaw.
Bottom Line:Michael Wheatley's heroic deeds such as keeping fat, over the hill players such as Matt Smith in their place are the reason the Jim Quinn Medal was invented in the first place

Vaild point. i would agree with you that recruiting players from outside the area would take some extra explaining and possibly lose some people, on the flipside though you would have other peoples opinions being different of yours and you might pick up players through the idea of this new format where as otherwise you might not have got them at all. Plus another big possitive is it should stop players form moving from club to club in this area and get some loyalty back into football.

I know alittle bit about recruiting and its one of the toughest jobs to do with in a club and only getting harder, so trust me from experience you wont be getting quality players lining up to play in that structured comp unless they play Rugby Union of course;) The only club that wont have any trouble recruiting will be the TRYC so the NSWAFL proposal have got one yes vote, Collingullie 2 yes votes

Just wait till they try to sort out player transferr eligibility and enforcing it etc, the shit will really hit the fan then. :confused:

Also associated Clubs having to play in the NSWAFL organised pre season comp ???. What if the Crows want to play in the Barooga Night Series or the O&M pre season comp instead, are we allowed ???? :eek:

Les Muir article from the DA. May be the only half decent thing he has written in years but he certainly didnt hide his Rugby League allegiance!

Rugby league the only winner in AFL overhaul
LES MUIR
23/06/2009 12:00:00 AM

THERE are so many things not right about the format for Australian football in the Riverina next year it just isn't funny.

For starters, the AFL is saying its "overhaul" of the current system will lead to something completely new and "radical".

Well, I don't know about that.

The concept of running two parallel competitions for the first part of the football season before switching everything around for the second part is definitely not a revelation.

Southern Inland Rugby Union used a crossover system for years, but dumped it because it wasn't working.

SIRU found the idea complicated and unwieldy and eventually went back to one straight premiership that runs the full term.

And from what I can gather, the SIRU clubs are happy enough with the new, old system and don't want to go back again.

Anyway, let's not get too far ahead of ourselves.

Back to Friday's "monumental" episode. No matter what I, or anyone else says, scrapping both the Farrer League and Riverina Football League is certainly a first-time event and fits into the radical or revolutionary category.

When the Australian football landscape for 2010, and beyond, was outlined at AFL House on Friday morning, there was some polite applause but, I'm sure, also healthy groans of discontent.

Although pulling apart the old Farrer League and Riverina Football League system was well overdue, what has evolved will not make everyone happy.

But that really doesn't matter as it will stay in place, no matter what.

That last bit is not quite true because the AFL has given RFL and Farrer League clubs an escape clause, albeit a rather unlikely one.

In the remote context that every club in both leagues actually opposes the new structure it can be overturned and, presumably, the status quo returned.

As much as some clubs are bitterly against the changes, there are enough in support to keep it in place.

Remember, there actually only needs to be one club waving the flag for everyone else to be stuck with it.

Aside from the obvious drawback, by which I mean, the new structure won't work, there are simple reasons why it shouldn't be there.

First and foremost, what in the name of good sense was the AFL thinking by putting Rivcoll in the same competition as Wagga Tigers and Turvey Park.

I know its only for the first seven rounds, but Rivcoll will get lapped week in and week out.

I'd imagine even Eastern Hawks and, God forbid, North Wagga will beat Rivcoll by 100 points or more.

So after the opening seven rounds of the "City" competition, Rivcoll will be 0-7 and in utter and complete disarray.

It won't matter in the slightest that the dear old Bushpigs will be shunted back to the "stragglers" competition for the rest of the season as the damage will have been done.

Rivcoll will be on its knees and will never recover.

Some might say that is a good thing, but I definitely would not be so mean-spirited.

Anyway, North Wagga and Eastern Hawks will not be much better off, except they will have at least one win on the board after touching up the bad-luck Bushpigs.

Across the trenches in the "Country" competition, it will be the same sorry scenario for Marrar and Temora.

These two weaker than weak clubs will be so battered and bruised by playing against Ganmain-Grong Grong-Matong, Leeton-Whitton, Narrandera and Griffith in the first bit of the season they will probably run up the white flag before the second bit starts.

They might just say we've had enough and we're taking our football and going home to the farm.

Honestly, what is this great and presumably expensive "overhaul" really going to achieve.

By the time all the teams have played their regulation seven games in the combined competitions, the cream will rise to the top and the rest will be left languishing near the bottom.

I can only imagine the "cream" will be the teams from the old RFL and the bottom-feeders the stragglers from the fallen Farrer League.

So what will have changed?

Zilch.

I suppose the Mouse That Roared, or Collingullie-Ashmont-Kapooka as the club is sometimes known, will have slipped into main competition, rather than taking a place alongside the Marrars, Temoras and Rivcolls in the second-raters division.

Or else, Collingullie will have been so decimated by players defections over summer that it will be a shadow of the team that won the Farrer League flag in 2009.

Oh yes, the Demons will win the Farrer League premiership in a cakewalk this year, but that doesn't mean the team will stay together for the following season.

Can you imagine what will happen to the big-noters from Collingullie if the team crumbles and the club is left with nobodies to fill the gaps?

They will probably start whining again and want the competitions to go back to what they were.

Talking tough is easy when you are Gulliver in the land of short people, but it is harder when you are brought back to earth with a shuddering thud.

I may be wrong, of course, and Collingullie may keep its great team together – actually even strengthen it to make it competitive with Ganmain, Wagga Tigers, etc.

Rest assured, however, the Demons – and a few other clubs with ambition – will need to buy some players or else they won't get a look in.

That's another dilly of a pickle.

How on earth will all these "quality" players just materialise in time to prop up the clubs that need a boost in class?

Search me. The AFL reckons clubs can recruit players from outside the Riverina, but that is an extremely costly exercise and would send Marrar, Temora, Rivcoll, etc, to the wall. They'd be broke in one year.

The fact that the AFL is toying with a "points system" to rank players and to keep clubs from buying willy-nilly is another sad indictment.

This idea has been around in rugby league for eons and has never worked successfully.

Financially, the new set-up will not help Wagga Tigers, Turvey Park, Marrar, Rivcoll or anyone else.

I reckon gates will be down across the board because games will be so one-sided.

What person in their right mind would pay money to watch Wagga Tigers feasting on bushpig?

At a time when clubs are so cash-strapped, another setback is just what they won't want or need.

One last point about the new set-up.

The draw for the second "half" of the season in both competitions will not be completed until two months into the season.

That will leave clubs with little or no time to plan functions to coincide with home games – another cash-flow disaster.

This is the way the clubs make their money, but they will be robbed of it.

I may be wrong, I may be crazy, but I can't see the "overhaul" doing anyone any good – except rugby league.

The great game will come out of this debacle well and truly in front and reaffirm its place as the premier winter sport in the Riverina.

I'll put a $1000 on it you wanker. For fucks sake you thought Peverill was heading to North Wagga. You have no idea.

Matt Rava will win the Jim Quinn Medal just over Munson. If mitch steele ever played a full season he would win it. He is the biggest x factor in the league and arguebly the best player in the comp.

That's if he doesn't break his leg :eek:

i agree steele is a gun as is rava. rankin and mcpherson taking votes off rava wont help him though. not to mention the 'apparent' best centre half back in the league taylor. then u have macri stealing a few votes.

McPherson never polls well. He would be in the best 5 players for the past 6 years in the comp and rarely gets over 10 votes. the umpires do not realise the work he does at CHB and just take it for granted when he plays well.

Rankin is very conistant and will poll well again surely. Rav has finally got himself fully fit and is firing every game. the umpires would take notice of this becuase hes been in and out for 3 years with injury.

Your right about Macri stealing votesif he bags 6 or over in games he will normally gain a vote. But in saying that Benny Perkins jagged 13 a couple of years ago and only managed 1 vote. What an absolute joke that is.

Swans coach steps down
BY SCOTT HAZLEWOOD

GRIFFITH Swans coach Gerard Toscan has made the shock decision to step down from the position mid-season in a bid to kickstart his side's flagging season.

Speaking to The Area News on Monday, Toscan's decision came only a day after breaking a six-game losing streak by handing North Wagga its biggest loss of the season, a 95-point thrashing at Exies Oval.

Injuries to key midfielders and the losses of close games against Turvey Park and Narrandera have grounded the Swans this season, but Toscan hoped by handing the reigns over the senior players Matt Noonan and Mick Duncan, the side would be able to find the spark it has been missing all year.

Toscan will still be involved with the club for the next month in an assistant role, with Noonan and Duncan to split the next month's coaching duties evenly in the lead-up to the general bye on July 25

After that, the club will look at its future and decide whether the new coaching arrangements will stay in place for the remaining month of the season.

Saying it was hard to step aside, Toscan said he was not pressured into doing so by the club and hoped the team would rally around Noonan and Duncan in a bid to salvage something from its season.

"We have got the toughest game of the year at Ganmain this weekend and it is throwing Matt into the wolves, but his form has been gradually building over the last month and this (coaching) might give him another boost for him to go to another level," Toscan said.

"There is a change, but I was clear on blokes having a crack and the club trying to improve and build towards the future, it does put pressure on those guys?(Duncan, Noonan), but they (Ganmain) need to understand that we're not just going to go away."

Noonan has already taken a hands-on role with the club this season, often running training drills and working with the club's young players, with the change not a drastic leap for the experienced defender.

Toscan also revealed this week Griffith has begun the search for a big-name to possibly replace him full-time next season, saying the club deserved to find a level of success.

"There is no point in the club having a big bank account and miss out on the finals," he said.

"Supporters are there and they continue to work hard and contribute financially towards the club and they do that for one reason, to see on-field success from their first-grade side."

Despite not being able to take the side to the finals since taking over the job from Luke McLean in 2007, Toscan said he had enjoyed seeing the club's young players bloom into first graders.

"Over the last 18 months we tried to build up the player stocks within our own group, because a few years ago there was a fair exodus of players from the club, and that presented an opportunity for a few young guys to stick their hands up," he said.

Head r u shore Crawf isn't your love child, he carried on nearly as much as u on the weekend. wrestling and shaping up to any near him. no wonder he names u as one of his idol's.

what does everyone think of the idea of Mango for the restructure of the league. It would be one league with 3 groups of 5.
gr.1 Ganmain gr.2 Tigers gr.3 Jets
Coolamon Turvey North Wagga
Narrandera Mango Temora
Leeton Gullie Marrar
Griffith Hawks Rivcoll
You would play everyone in your group 2 times and everyone else once.
Playing a final 8.
No stuffing around carring points over, league votes, goal kicking, is all as it is now:thumbsu:.

what does everyone think of the idea of Mango for the restructure of the league. It would be one league with 3 groups of 5.
gr.1 Ganmain gr.2 Tigers gr.3 Jets
Coolamon Turvey North Wagga
Narrandera Mango Temora
Leeton Gullie Marrar
Griffith Hawks Rivcoll
You would play everyone in your group 2 times and everyone else once.
Playing a final 8.
No stuffing around carring points over, league votes, goal kicking, is all as it is now:thumbsu:.
Yeh, alright. Would give a team or 2 in group3 an easy entry into the finals, but top8 should see them out week1.
Surprisingly good actually. 17round season, only 1 game less then it is currently and none of this swapping league shit.