Preview Rnd 1- Carlton v Richmond Thursday 16th March 7.20M @ MCG - Team - Post #898

gbatman

Carlton wont be beating Richmond with Fisher and Motlop on a HFF

it means that all Richmond have to do is concentrate on Harry/Charlie/DeKoning - all bunched up in the back - knowing that Fisher and Motlop cant kick a goal from 40 meters out.

HF Fisher Curnow Motlop
F: Durdin McKay DeKoning

SUB: Martin

We need goal kickers on the flanks so that opposition cant double team teh obvious bomb it long strategy.

Which is why I am NOT surprised to see Honey played in both trials and Cuningham training as a leading mark.

IIf your 'forward' cant kcik a goal from 40+meters out - he isn't a forward he is something else. No need to cover for Lob/Cottrell on flanks anymore, Acres and whoever can handle a wing - Voss will be better off keeping a forward structure rather than always trying to hold the ball in close to goal - or count on harry/Charlie taking a contested mark against 2-3 opponents.

Martin/Cunningham/Honey are MORE important to solving for Carlton's forward issues than Fisher/Owies/Durdin types.

Martin(Cuningham) TDK Charlie
Motlop Harry Durdin( Honey)

IC: Jack
EM: Fisher

is how I would set up.
Good points, marking and long goal kicking is a bonus. Martin ticks that box. Not sure about Motlop, is he only a short kick?

The only thing I could say about that forward line is who can rotate on the ball or wing if need be? Martin used to but seems that's been put away. Motlop has not got the tank but has all the other abilities to do it. Durdin? Honey will need to develop this. In the past it's been Fisher.

Would love Honey to become this, his athletic profile is excellent for an impact mid/forward.

JoeyPBLUES on a lol rampage.........
Mate the closer we get to Thursday…. I’m chomping at the bit here mate 😂😂😂
Also had a bit of emotion watching the young fellas get the call through from their dads for the first games whilst watching it with my young fella. Must be an amazing feeling.

Motlop can quite easily kick 50+ Has done many times in the VFL. However, I still prefer him playing pocket to someone like Honey who imo is much better playing further afield purely due to his pace on the fast break.
Definitely, though they will rotate.

Motlop can play both, really good footy IQ up the ground and in the midfield, just finds space and finds it.

But yeah, he and Durdin are better at playing forward pocket than anyone else we have.

Honey is definitely a forward flank. But I reckon he could be turned into a pretty good back or mid. Even if it's a part time mid.

One part of my brain:

• there are probably 13 games this year where we will win 10.
  • there are probably 10 games this year we will win 5. This is one of the 5.
  • if you were offered 15/23 wins you’d take it

Other part of my brain:
  • they’re shit. Old. Slow and not that good.
  • if we can’t beat them we won’t beat the Cats.
  • if we don’t win this game the season is shot to bits.

🤦‍♂️

The team i recon we will go with
B. Newman Young McGovern
HB. Saad Weitering Docherty
C. Acres Cripps OBrien
HF. Fisher Curnow Martin
FF. Motlop McKay Jsos
Followers. Tdk, Hewett, Cerra
Int. Cowan, Hollands, Kennedy, Plowman
Sub . Honey

Pittonet, Owies, Durdin and a few other need games under there belt before I would select

"I reckon you're other dad will be proud too."

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

😂

evil laugh laughing GIF by HULU

With Walsh out, Dow gets his chance alternating between the bench and midfield.
Did you happen to watch last week's practise game..... Yes I know it wasn't a proper match however he was matched up against the guy who got 38 Disposals and was easily best on the ground..... The blind faith in Paddy Dow at this stage is astonishing

No gibcus no Tarrant a rookie defender and an old grimes…. That smells like one of our keys kick a bag

No doubt in my mind that’s what Dimma is worried about most

For us Taranto dusty Shai. Need us to minimise their input. If they Kick less than 6 between the 3 of em I see us winning easy

Really enjoying where we are as a list and club

Pick players/team based on output, forgetting age, reputation or perception
Agree with you, I really like the current administrators and coaching team. Our team has a great spine, let's just hope the wins start to flow this year and some of players in top 15-25 bracket improve a little more too, we need them to.

No gibcus no Tarrant a rookie defender and an old grimes…. That smells like one of our keys kick a bag

No doubt in my mind that’s what Dimma is worried about most

For us Taranto dusty Shai. Need us to minimise their input. If they Kick less than 6 between the 3 of em I see us winning easy

Sounds like the perfect recipe for us to bomb it to H and Charlie and for Richmond to be setup for it....

I do agree about their medium/small fwds as being the worry

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app