Preview RND 2 - Carlton v Gold Coast - 1:45PM Saturday 31st March @ Etihad - Team - post #871

Fast track.....Garlett,Fish,Cunners,Sps,Byrne.
Big backline....Jones,Weitrrs,Plowman
Balanced forwards McKay Curnow Wright plus the runners.Dosent look to shabby.Marchbank could become a wingman Richo type.Has those attributes.

He racked up the numbers but turned the ball over by foot on numerous occasions- both under, and without, pressure

Thanks mate, unless they play first team footy I am blind to the NB. Goes against BB's mantra of good disposal? Just pisses me off we are one match into a season and our depth is being sorely tested already :( Lose one ruckman, one midfielder and one HB player and seems the have to reshuffle the deck chairs to cover ..... *sigh*

Patience crusher .. patience ... breathe.

Terry Wallace thinking a good spot for Weitering would be on the wing rather than forward. Brings him into the game earlier. Thoughts?

Dunno think speed might be an issue when we lose possession. Would be good if we got first use from centre bouncers and as a link up player, just think he might get exposed on turnovers.

Thanks mate, unless they play first team footy I am blind to the NB. Goes against BB's mantra of good disposal? Just pisses me off we are one match into a season and our depth is being sorely tested already :( Lose one ruckman, one midfielder and one HB player and seems the have to reshuffle the deck chairs to cover ..... *sigh*

Patience crusher .. patience ... breathe.

We'll be alright in the long run, MC. I agree about the frustration of picking up/playing players with poor disposal, and it really is a question of depth. We were dealt a sh*t hand to lose our second backline general before the season started, and I don't think Bolts anticipated Weits' poor form from last year to continue. Couple that with ASOS still injured, our backline stocks are stretched.
Lobbe and Phillips underdone forces Cas to play first ruck. I don't know what the internal thoughts are on Harry, but third year in should mean he starts forcing his way into the team and can provide some needed respite for Kreuz.
Gibbs' absence from the midfield will be felt for 2 years IMO, or just this year if we manage to acquire an A-grader through FA.
Tomorrow is a danger game and while we are on the up, we are playing against a team that is coming off an opening win, inspired under a new coach, and with a new focus without the Gazza distraction.

I’m not an expert ex coach or premiership player like Terry but that is the stupidest suggestion yet.
IMO - The guys leg speed is his biggest issue and we want to give him the job that has become nowadays crucial to run both ways hard and fast to cover? ,,,,.... hmmm

is there something going on with McKay ?

i think he needs a run at AFL level to see how good he is and determine which areas he needs to work on. sticking him in the VFL for long period of time is not going to help him and i think it disrupts his development.

forward line is all over the place and Casboult who is our main target provides ruck relief and also goes up the ground leaving the forward 50 empty. Why not bring in McKay and stick him in the pocket providing that target.

is there something going on with McKay ?

i think he needs a run at AFL level to see how good he is and determine which areas he needs to work on. sticking him in the VFL for long period of time is not going to help him and i think it disrupts his development.

forward line is all over the place and Casboult who is our main target provides ruck relief and also goes up the ground leaving the forward 50 empty. Why not bring in McKay and stick him in the pocket providing that target.

:clapping: I agree with Mac playing AFL. Need to stick by the bigger guys for longer periods. Plenty of examples previously by other clubs on how to do it and it’s not like we have someone doing this role well now....

Wallace is an idiot.

I’m not an expert ex coach or premiership player like Terry but that is the stupidest suggestion yet.
IMO - The guys leg speed is his biggest issue and we want to give him the job that has become nowadays crucial to run both ways hard and fast to cover? ,,,,.... hmmm
In the traditional wingman role I think you're right. If Wallace means telling Weitering to basically play between the arcs, then it could have some merit. As an option when we are trying to move the ball from defence, it would be ideal if he was leading up towards the ball. We ran into trouble a fair bit against Richmond trying to handball our way through congestion when it just wasn't on. First we have to know when that's the case which is a thing to work on, but then if we slow it down just a fraction and hit up guys like Weitering with a 30m pass to a wing, we then have the ball in the hands of a good kick and decision maker, more time to spread and find gaps, and less chance of turning it directly over and being immediately scored on. It's a similar story if we're locking the ball in our F50 and Weitering is outside the arc. Use his intercept marking to then send it back in with precision.

I reckon he would have the talent and skill to do that job. A lot would depend on how the opposition play and who they put on him, because those factors will determine if his lack of leg speed is exposed.

It's an interesting thought anyway.

I haven't seen any NB games as I live in WA, so I can't comment at all. Just on NB match reports and stats he seemed to feature heavily. Obviously Bolts sees something in him. What about the NB watchers?? Any input?
Think Simon White pre-knee problems, but sacrificing some aerial ability for some closing speed.

Still has the same limited footskills and agility, and is probably a touch weaker 1v1.

We stuffed up with Weits last year should have just kept playing him at FB.

Young players need to play just one position for the first 3 years.
The problem is him adjusting to his natural game while weighing 98+ kgs. Could probably afford to lose some weight, really.

He kicked them from everywhere. Was unstoppable.
Our defensive structure was a mess, so he had a lot of space to operate in.

Think Simon White pre-knee problems, but sacrificing some aerial ability for some closing speed.

Still has the same limited footskills and agility, and is probably a touch weaker 1v1.

Okay ... so apart from a stellar 2017 in the NB .... what differing trait does he value add to the first team? Surely your Mullets/Byrne type offer more? Is he the direct replacement or flexibility to throw Weiters up forward??

Just a little lost as to the logic?