AFL Autopsy RND 2: Loss to the Lions

Also people claiming Brisbane play a tagger because Berry went to Merrett misunderstand how that relates to Dylan Clarke.

Berry is genuinely good enough to be a midfielder in the Brisbane side. He happens to also be a disciplined unit of a player that can switch to a close checking role.

The days of a hard tagger are gone. Having a strong bodied player who can force a guy like Merrett who isn’t an inside brute out of stoppages is very different.

We’ve used Langford and Heppell in that role previously, but what you really need is a genuine defensive midfielder who can block, win clearances, and play an accountable role when needed.

George Hewett basically.

yeah i should've broken up my reply into two quotes, i agree that shiel could be worth offloading.
i was talking about cutler as depth, back up for injuries is exactly what he's there for
Yeah I agree with cutler as depth

I look at yesterday’s team and see so much improvement if we didn’t have absolutely liabilities like hepp, Smith and ham

Pretend sheil isn’t here next year ..we have Martin, Hobbs, Langford, Jones, Waterboy, Wang with brand , Bryan eyre and Reid to develop and Lord and Voss maybes

We have potentially a good list

But others are clogging up the game day selection with mediocre performances

If we are really down the tubes by round 10 and no hope of finals , you’d expect Rutton to start playing these guys to get games into them at league level

Shiel is a very vanilla midfielder who when in of the side it makes no difference he’s there

Might as well get something for him while he’s got value

Cutler ..what’s the point of keeping him

Good back up player for injuries that’s about all
Whoa, Cutler has actually become aware of his height and size and started to crack in, started to make good decisions and is a tall marking player, which we need. He's valuable as depth right now and should be a keeper.

"Very vanilla". He's a top 20 clearance midfielder in the comp at his best.

I mean, that's exactly the point of depth

My point is..why not trade him this year while he has value and pick up a younger player who will part of the team for next 5 or 6 years

Not to mention freeing up a truck load of money

Plenty of clubs would have him to top up their midfield. But in two years time it’ll be too late

Whoa, Cutler has actually become aware of his height and size and started to crack in, started to make good decisions and is a tall marking player, which we need. He's valuable as depth right now and should be a keeper.
Yeah I’m not convinced yet on cutler

He’s got this year to establish himself as a permanent member of the senior squad or just be a permanent depth player to cover injuries

Time will tell

perfect definition

Donald Trump GIF by Election 2016

This is the kind of thinking that has led to us being so shit for so long....
He wouldn't get a game in any other top 8 (12?) side, why on earth would we extend him? I realise he's not been the worst, those performing worse than him (smith, ham etc) should all be shown the door this asap.
Hanging on to blokes like Francis, cutler etc in the vain hopes that they'll finally come good is embarrassing and they should have been shown the door last year (if not beforehand)
In a perfect world, Cutler isn't best 22 but instead our first line of depth. Our side is underperforming right now and Cutler is overperforming as an individual.

What you have to realise is that lists need ready made depth. If we delisted Cutler right now and there was an injury to Redman, Hind etc - who do we have as a replacement? Maybe bring in Ollie Lord? Maybe McDonagh but he's yet to play a game and prove himself. I'm taking Cutler over both, and maybe even over Hind and Redman.

Clubs and lists get better by moving out the bottom 1/6th of the list every year. Tom Cutler is not in that list, especially not in current form. Simple.

Francis, Smith etc are all completely seperate discussions.

Cutler is the perfect definition of list clogger
Nah, you've mistaken him for Ham. I spewed when we recruited Cutler but he has actually improved a lot. He's not best 22, but he has become a reliable gap filler when we've needed him. Last week's stats from him in a losing side are a good read.

Maybe we could do something a bit slippery and nab him like we did Chris Johnsons kid who was also supposedly highly rated.
That worked out really well...!
😞

I hope the kid gets to the lions and has a future, unlike what we'd most likely do to him
I feel bad liking your comment.

There's definately a secret sauce required, and we didn't have it for well over a decade.

I'm starting to think it's nothing to do with coaches, out medical and it's all about those two or three players who can be openly ambitious without being a knob. And can make the role players feel good about not being stars.

Well at least there was effort this round.
We kick straight at goals, land a couple of extra handball chains and we win that. Perkins was wonderful and I really like having Durham back in the side.
Take out the positives.

I'm actually looking forward to seeing Martin and Durham in the side. There's something about the two of them that I want to see more of.

Stewart misses a spoil on the line. Lions goal.
Redman handballs to I think it was Ridley at his feet amoung 4 lions players. Lions goal.
Ump picks out 50m penalty that is rarely paid (it was there, but there are a few more of those a week than the 1 every 10 games we see). Lions goal.
Hep puts an absolute shocking effort to get the ball out. They goal.

Francis misses easy shots.
Parish misses shots he probably should hit.

How many times did we handball it over a team mates head, past him, behind him, at his feet or to his man as we ran into our attacking 60m?

At the end of the day after all that we lost by 22 and the media focus on Neale winning them the game.
No the difference is we aren't good enough yet, we turn it over too often with silly little things.
I think even Rutten touched on it.
It's little things - a basic handball, a basic spoil, sticking a tackle, kicking straight, getting body on their players around a contest.
Get those right, Neale could have had 60, we were still in that game to win.

We can whinge all we want about list construction and drafts and trading but end of the day this team just does basic fundamental football poorly.
They cleaned this up last year, and it meant we stayed in games or were at least competitive but it was still the reason we lost most of our games and couldn't stop a run on when the opposition had momentum.

If nothing else changes but we could suddenly get these little things out of our game by end of the year I'll be happy.

During the 2nd quarter I just knew Brisbane were gonna get a run on it and pull back after they strung a couple goals together and lo and behold, they did. It was like ****ing clockwork.

And that's the thing I reckon, the club hasn't learned the importance of alternate plans that compliment the first, and the recognition (or humility to admit to) an obvious momentum change in a specific area of a game.

During the 2nd quarter I just knew Brisbane were gonna get a run on it and pull back after they strung a couple goals together and lo and behold, they did. It was like ******* clockwork.

And that's the thing I reckon, the club hasn't learned the importance of alternate plans that compliment the first, and the recognition (or humility to admit to) an obvious momentum change in a specific area of a game.

Lack of experienced, on-field leadership would make this challenging.

Who are the guys on-field that will control shape and setup around the field, who's that Luke Hodge presence?

We don't really have anyone up forward, our midfield should be experienced enough to do it, and Ridley / Heppell are our most experienced defenders...

It takes time to learn who needs to be where, and when, in which scenarios. And we could certainly do with more onfield leadership to facilitate that.

Lack of experienced, on-field leadership would make this challenging.

Who are the guys on-field that will control shape and setup around the field, who's that Luke Hodge presence?

We don't really have anyone up forward, our midfield should be experienced enough to do it, and Ridley / Heppell are our most experienced defenders...

It takes time to learn who needs to be where, and when, in which scenarios. And we could certainly do with more onfield leadership to facilitate that.

It starts with us being honest with ourselves and accepting the fact that Heppell is not that kind of a leader and shouldn't be captain. Yeah nah she'll be right m8 doesn't win you premierships. He was instated due to a popularity contest, and either we make peace with ourselves in realising we got it wrong - or admit the fact that the only reason he's a captain (and hence why he continually doesn't get rightly dropped) is because we fail to breed the type we need as a worthy replacement.

Unfair on Heppell IMO.

His body is failing him, but he was one of the very few that would reliably put himself on the line each week for the team, including playing as an inside midfielder when he really shouldn't have been.

It's not his fault there's no real successor right now, and reportedly he does set consistently high standards by example in training, and on gameday often covering the most distance each game despite clearly not being our best runner. There's nothing that says you need to be a prick to be a good leader, that's a misnomer from a time long gone.

His time has come though, when his body isn't capable of letting him play in a way that lets him lead, and makes it questionable that he's even in our best team by the end of the season, then there's a big hole left that <someone> needs to step up and fill.

I feel like Merrett is going to end up Captain by default right now, not because he's a Joel Selwood or Luke Hodge that demands it.

He played like this at Brisbane. Was shocked when he first came along. Think half back is where he plays his best footy

During the 2nd quarter I just knew Brisbane were gonna get a run on it and pull back after they strung a couple goals together and lo and behold, they did. It was like ******* clockwork.

We gave up decent leads last year v Hawthorn, Sydney away, Carlton, Geelong, GWS.

It’s definitely a worrying pattern that the match day team can’t or won’t address.

We gave up decent leads last year v Hawthorn, Sydney away, Carlton, Geelong, GWS.

It’s definitely a worrying pattern that the match day team can’t or won’t address.
we go hot and cold. there were games last year we got into games we were out of too.

certainly need to fix up the periods of concentration lapses.

Stewart misses a spoil on the line. Lions goal.
Redman handballs to I think it was Ridley at his feet amoung 4 lions players. Lions goal.
Ump picks out 50m penalty that is rarely paid (it was there, but there are a few more of those a week than the 1 every 10 games we see). Lions goal.
Hep puts an absolute shocking effort to get the ball out. They goal.

Francis misses easy shots.
Parish misses shots he probably should hit.

How many times did we handball it over a team mates head, past him, behind him, at his feet or to his man as we ran into our attacking 60m?

At the end of the day after all that we lost by 22 and the media focus on Neale winning them the game.
No the difference is we aren't good enough yet, we turn it over too often with silly little things.
I think even Rutten touched on it.
It's little things - a basic handball, a basic spoil, sticking a tackle, kicking straight, getting body on their players around a contest.
Get those right, Neale could have had 60, we were still in that game to win.

We can whinge all we want about list construction and drafts and trading but end of the day this team just does basic fundamental football poorly.
They cleaned this up last year, and it meant we stayed in games or were at least competitive but it was still the reason we lost most of our games and couldn't stop a run on when the opposition had momentum.

If nothing else changes but we could suddenly get these little things out of our game by end of the year I'll be happy.
Absolutely Spot on!

Another thing, Literally the top 4 right now as it stands, is the 4 we hate the most. Eeeewwww!!!

Also people claiming Brisbane play a tagger because Berry went to Merrett misunderstand how that relates to Dylan Clarke.

Berry is genuinely good enough to be a midfielder in the Brisbane side. He happens to also be a disciplined unit of a player that can switch to a close checking role.

The days of a hard tagger are gone. Having a strong bodied player who can force a guy like Merrett who isn’t an inside brute out of stoppages is very different.

We’ve used Langford and Heppell in that role previously, but what you really need is a genuine defensive midfielder who can block, win clearances, and play an accountable role when needed.

George Hewett basically.

Berry is getting way too much credit IMO

Zach ended with 31 Disposals and 1 goal and 500m gained. A very very solid game.

We lost this game due to 1 simple stat. Set Shots.

Lions kicked theirs, we missed ours. at one point Lions were 8-1 for set shots whilst we were something like 3-7.

We had the chance to put the game almost out of reach early in the 2nd qter and just botched it repeatedly by missing regulation set shots.

You will not win many games of footy kicking 20% more points than you do goals.

AFL Autopsy RND 2: Loss to the Lions