Robert Harvey: Most overrated player ever?

My mistake- he's got 52 goals for 78 games or 0.666, but is still well above Harvey in terms of goals and class.
when mackie finishes his 20+ seasons tell me then how much goals he averages. im sure it will go down.

Wait since u think like that rhys palmer in his rookie season averaged 4 more disposals then what buckley did in his rookie season so im sure u think palmer is a better player then what buckley was???

My mistake- he's got 52 goals for 78 games or 0.666, but is still well above Harvey in terms of goals and class.
thank you for checking those facts, this is still a ridiculous statement, game plans are very differnt dylan, maybe geelong game plan allows there back man to have a goal rate of .65, but harvey is not a reknowned goal kicker, im not even taking this argument seriously due to the fact i dont want to be getting worked up over someone that has the mental capacity of an 8y/o, which, you may actually be...
so if goals is whats its all about dylan, what was polly farmers goal average, what is harleys, what was sergio silvanis and steph silvani, who would you rate as the greatest player you have seen live! in the flesh...??

I have to admit I never really rated Robert Harvey... even when he won his brownlows it was a shock to everyone. Solid player... hardly spectacular.... I'd almost call him boring with no personality. I reckon he would struggle to make the top 50 players to ever play the game.

his 1 of those players that gets his job done every week without complaining or making something big out of nothing. he just does it without making a fuss.

No you didn't, you said it was a soft display, you never said anything about his ability, you just gave your opinion about his hardness. Anyway, your basing it on one performance, how about you look at his entire career. simple minded.;)

You suffering from the bends there scubaboy???

Why cant i base his career on the most important game he has ever played in. People seem to feel sorry for this guy like he deserves a premiership or something. He had his chance and blew it. boo hoo

thank you for checking those facts, this is still a ridiculous statement, game plans are very differnt dylan, maybe geelong game plan allows there back man to have a goal rate of .65, but harvey is not a reknowned goal kicker, im not even taking this argument seriously due to the fact i dont want to be getting worked up over someone that has the mental capacity of an 8y/o, which, you may actually be...
so if goals is whats its all about dylan, what was polly farmers goal average, what is harleys, what was sergio silvanis and steph silvani, who would you rate as the greatest player you have seen live! in the flesh...??

The greatest player I have seen in the flesh is either Cam Mooney or Bill Brownless.

I believe back in the days of Polly Farmer and Newman, it was a different time. Goals were not nearly as important as the players were out there for prestige, to showcase their skills to the public. Hence, how they played the game is what mattered, not the result at the end of the day. so clearly I don't take into account how many goals they scored when rating them.

However, when the game unified in 91 and became the AFL, winning started to become more imporant due to commercialism and the need for sponsorship. In Harveys era to today, winning is more important than ever. And how do you win? By kicking goals.

To anyone who understands AFL and its history, it's perfectly clear that Mackie, Stokes and Lonergan are far superior to a lackluster Harvey. Grow a brain.

The greatest player I have seen in the flesh is either Cam Mooney or Bill Brownless.

I believe back in the days of Polly Farmer and Newman, it was a different time. Goals were not nearly as important as the players were out there for prestige, to showcase their skills to the public. Hence, how they played the game is what mattered, not the result at the end of the day. so clearly I don't take into account how many goals they scored when rating them.

However, when the game unified in 91 and become the AFL winning started to become more imporant due to commerialism and the need for sponsorship. In Harveys era to today, winning is more important than ever. And how do you win? By kicking goals.

To anyone who understands AFL and its history, it's perfectly clear that Mackie, Stokes and Lonergan are far superior to a lackluster Harvey.
it unified in 90, and ask your greats like newman, farmer and bobby davis if they wanted to win and didnt give it everything they had. and also ask them if they still wanted to kick goals, you sir are a moron.

I will next time I'm on Street Talk.

For now... open an AFL history book, get educated, grow a brain and then we'll talk.

However, when the game unified in 91 and become the AFL winning started to become more imporant due to commerialism and the need for sponsorship. In Harveys era to today, winning is more important than ever. And how do you win? By kicking goals.

To anyone who understands AFL and its history, it's perfectly clear that Mackie, Stokes and Lonergan are far superior to a lackluster Harvey. Grow a brain.
well u must be the only 1 to understand afl and its history if u think mackie,stokes and longergan r better then harvey. maybe u should be picking the all australian team because they must be getting it wrong because they have put harvey in it many times before. im sure those 3 u have named r far better then harvey and deserve to be in the all australian team much more then harvey :rolleyes:

what points in my argument are incorrect please enlighten me little one..how is canberra this time of year? poli's, pr0n and fireworks what a mature lot of ppl they must be up there..

Why cant i base his career on the most important game he has ever played in. He had his chance and blew it.

Well if your basing his ability (well you weren't even talking about his ability) on a single game how can anyone be called a good or bad player if its based on one game? take mark mcgough for example, he won the anzac medal on debut for collingwood, and did nothing after! That was the most important game of his career, so i can say that he was one of the greats of the game basing it on that performance, and in accordance with your narrow minded theory. see how stupid it is?

haha Owned!

This thread degrades just about everything, ever.

VFA, VFL, AFL, Sport, Me, You... but I guess, most pertinently, for the purposes of this post - BIG FOOTY.

BACTERIA like this thread should be stricken, fast.

Brings the whole place down, big-time.

:thumbsdown:

agreed

Mark McGough is a better player.

He stood up and won the next biggest match to the GF. I have never seen Harvey win a big match. Seen him lose quite a few though!

Mark McGough is a better player.

He stood up and won the next biggest match to the GF. I have never seen Harvey win a big match. Seen him lose quite a few though!
you havent seen shit mate, you cant even see past the end of your noes your so ignorant. Bill Brownless and Cam Mooney... Scoff! Ridiculous, such humour would only ome from someone mooching money from the government up in canberra, public servent by any chance..hit the books kiddo..its past your bedtime

Hey gramps I've seen more AFL with these two eyes than you've seen hot spicy boners.

I think you should put down the whisky, go to bed, then go back over this thread. Maybe once you've sobered up you'll realise my logic is flawless. I'll be waiting for your apology.

Hey gramps I've seen more AFL with these two eyes than you've seen hot spicy boners.

I think you should put down the whisky, go to bed, then go back over this thread. Maybe once you've sobered up you'll realise my logic is flawless. I'll be waiting for your apology.
youll get my apology when mackie, lonergen and stokes win one brownlow between them. you flog, just started following afl have you, get a bit bored at university and think of ways to piss ppl off. your wasting your time mate, youll battle through life not understanding afl. ppl like you wouldnt dream of being this arrogant in person, just behing your little desk with a photo of mum next to your comp reminding you tht you have to make your own bed in the morning and put ur own bread in the toaster. put the great rob harvey in front of your pimply face and your jaw would hit the ground and youd be speechless. you may be able to work your mates into a tiz over silly things and win arguments with being stubborn, but heres something you cant read in text book pal, its called experience and mate, we could go alnight but your probably miss your mum and ill let you sleep, night night..

Robert Harvey: Most overrated player ever?