Robert Harvey: Most overrated player ever?

Back to back Brownlows and he is "average". I can't believe the stupidity of people, even for Bay 13......

He only won the first one because Chris Grant got suspended... Besides, the Brownlow means **** all, it's not about who's the best player, it's about who sucks up to the umpires most, if it was for real talent than we would have seen guys like Wayne Carey, Leigh Matthews, Ted Whitten, etc, have one around their neck. But it's understandable it means so much to St Kilda supporters, all those countless medals are the only thing you can be proud of in you're wonderful history:)

To anyone who understands AFL and its history, it's perfectly clear that Mackie, Stokes and Lonergan are far superior to a lackluster Harvey.

Whatthe! Almost brought up the dinner I was laughing so hard. So, here's a challenge for you 'Sportman'. How about you post a poll and see what other BF people think about your incredible assertion. Even allowing for the BF ignorance factor, my guess is that your view will only be supported by under 12s, and possibly some of your relos - but even that's a longshot.

OK, we'll see.

youll get my apology when mackie, lonergen and stokes win one brownlow between them. you flog, just started following afl have you, get a bit bored at university and think of ways to piss ppl off. your wasting your time mate, youll battle through life not understanding afl. ppl like you wouldnt dream of being this arrogant in person, just behing your little desk with a photo of mum next to your comp reminding you tht you have to make your own bed in the morning and put ur own bread in the toaster. put the great rob harvey in front of your pimply face and your jaw would hit the ground and youd be speechless. you may be able to work your mates into a tiz over silly things and win arguments with being stubborn, but heres something you cant read in text book pal, its called experience and mate, we could go alnight but your probably miss your mum and ill let you sleep, night night..

Mods please redcard this individual for aggressive and derogatory conduct coupled with a complete lack of AFL knowledge. You shouldn't be allowed to post on this site.

Robert Harvey has played 379 games for 215 goals. That's 0.56 goals a game.

Lonergan has played 18 games for 32 goals (1.7 goals a game), Stokes has played 46 games for 70 goals (1.5 goals a game), Mackie averages about 0.8 goals a game.

What is the objective of AFL? Scoring goals. These players are currently far better, on average than Harvey. Harvey is a decent player, but on the whole a mediocre contributor.

soooo your saying forwards are better then backmen and midfielders because they average more goals???? so in theory both lonergan and stokes are better players then judd . good strong argument there:thumbsu:

Robert Harvey has played 379 games for 215 goals. That's 0.56 goals a game.

Lonergan has played 18 games for 32 goals (1.7 goals a game), Stokes has played 46 games for 70 goals (1.5 goals a game), Mackie averages about 0.8 goals a game.

What is the objective of AFL? Scoring goals. These players are currently far better, on average than Harvey. Harvey is a decent player, but on the whole a mediocre contributor.

Oh dear:eek: This could be the dumbest post ever!

Robert Harvey is one of the most overrated players in AFL history. While many will have you believe he is up there with Buckley, Voss, Hird and Carey as legends of the the last 15 years, what games has Robert Harvey ever won off his own boot? While he is a class act off the field, his on-field performances have always been mediocre at best. He is as slow as a Holden Barina in reverse, cant kick for goal and can barely even bend down to get the footy when its on the ground. If it wasnt for Shane Woewodin and Adam Goodes he would be one of the least deserving brownlow medallists ever. While the St Kilda like to think he's one of the greats of the game, the truth is he is just another average St Kilda club player like Stewart Loewe and Nathan Bourke and will be forgotten before the first bounce in 2009.

How many Goals did lockett kick that harvey put onto his chest?

the day of his 250th, back in about 01,02? i was down at my local footy ground and guess who was running laps..thats right...the great man, morons on this thread are disrepectful and down right stupid, if you want a laugh, go back a page and read the banter. an absolute joke what one guy is saying...

Robert Harvey is one of the most overrated players in AFL history. While many will have you believe he is up there with Buckley, Voss, Hird and Carey as legends of the the last 15 years, what games has Robert Harvey ever won off his own boot? While he is a class act off the field, his on-field performances have always been mediocre at best. He is as slow as a Holden Barina in reverse, cant kick for goal and can barely even bend down to get the footy when its on the ground. If it wasnt for Shane Woewodin and Adam Goodes he would be one of the least deserving brownlow medallists ever. While the St Kilda like to think he's one of the greats of the game, the truth is he is just another average St Kilda club player like Stewart Loewe and Nathan Bourke and will be forgotten before the first bounce in 2009.
You seriously don't know what you are talking about. You haven't even done your research on him.
Rob Harvey is a legend.
You sir are a w***er:mad:

a lot of those geelong supporters have their black beanies pulled down to far over eyes so that they can walk around admiring their moggisons

An idiot is an idiot, irrespective of the team he supports. And we all know that BF is rife with them - immature, know nothing about the game, never pulled on a boot, and can barely write a sentence let alone make a cogent argument. This thread is a good example.

this thread IS DISGRACEFUL

you morons that are bagging harvey how many afl games have you played???

how many brownlow medals you won??

thought so....STFU

WOW!;)

Bay 13 never , ever , ceases to amaze me as to how far little people will go to prove their complete footy ignorance to the world!

How old were you in 97 & 98?

Please!!!! seriously... a nappy job? ...shitting dribbly yellow poo poos?:cool: .....You haven't progressed very far have you, still doing same !!!!

The greatest goal kicker in history ranks Harvey No1 "played with or against"! .....and he played with and against some absolute rippers!

Harvey is very selfish for playing on and depriving a youngster of some development. If he had the best interests of the club at heart he would have retired a couple of years ago.

Instead of being fondly remembered he will be remembered as a washed up old hack who didn't know when it was time to go.

Robert Harvey: Most overrated player ever?