Rolling All Australian Team 2020

Oh I'm not saying he shouldn't be in the conversation. He 100% should. I guess I don't understand the seemingly huge favoritism that he should be the one selected out of the 4 in question.

Oh I guess I just misunderstood what you were saying...

Nic Nat is obviously great at centre clearances, but he's butchering the ball when he has it, which isn't often enough anyway. Has 4(!) marks for the year and really I don't see him having a significant impact on the forward or defensive side of the game. I know that Fantasy Points are rather meaningless but he's averaging 67 per game - if I'm not picking him for my damn Supercoach why would anyone for the AA team?

My bad...

A quote from Geelong's coach from a few weeks ago pretty much sums it up

“No one can compete with Nic Nat when he’s completely up and going and he’s got everything on his terms,” Scott said.

“The problem with kicking goals against West Coast is the ball goes back to the middle.

“It’s hard not to be mesmerised with some of the stuff he can do. I’m a fan, I’m sure you guys are as well.”
NicNat is THE most influential ruckman in the comp. He may not put it together for 4Q but its what he does and when he does it

He literally just gets easy chip marks in defence. and goes lateral with most of his posessions. Especially with geelongs seagull game plan and chipping it around for half a quarter each week
Haha. How does he get easy chip marks?

Nic Nat is mesmerising with the way he goes about it - but I'm not asking really if he's a highlight reel. I'm asking is he really as effective as the others. I will say I obviously will have bias with Gawn and I believe his the best ruck in the comp. But I don't think questioning how a player who plays 66% of the match, gets 10 touches, get's 1 mark every three games, and disposes of the ball at a below-average effectiveness rate can be as considered as elite as the others.

Coaches disagree obviously

NicNat is THE most influential ruckman in the comp. He may not put it together for 4Q but its what he does and when he does it
Maybe I'm simply too bias to see it. But I don't think questioning how a player who plays 66% of the match, gets 10 touches, get's 1 mark every three games, and disposes of the ball at a below-average effectiveness rate can be the obvious front runner that this thread is suggesting, irrespective of the 1%ers.

Coaches disagree obviously
Yep, they obviously do. Doesn't mean I can't question why this is the case. If you check the replies to my questions, no one has really provided me much as to what specifically he's doing that so incredible (apart from tap work to his mids which I noted he's less effective than Gawn at hitouts to advantage). I've said, I'm biased with this for very obvious reasons. I'm wondering what I'm missing though that I'm not seeing and people keep saying "impact" and "mesmerising".

To be fair this is an 89 page thread. Approximately 80 pages of this thread deal with the ruck and Nic Nat v Gawn v Grundy v Goldy.

please excuse us if we don’t want to get into it again just because you’re too lazy to read the preexisting thread.

To be fair this is an 89 page thread. Approximately 80 pages of this thread deal with the ruck and Nic Nat v Gawn v Grundy v Goldy.

please excuse us if we don’t want to get into it again just because you’re too lazy to read the preexisting thread.
See the word "rolling" in the thread title made me (obviously incorrectly) assume that this is an ongoing discussion. 40 pages ago it was Kennedy for FF though more recently it's being talked about as Hawkins. You know ... rolling.

Maybe I'm simply too bias to see it. But I don't think questioning how a player who plays 66% of the match, gets 10 touches, get's 1 mark every three games, and disposes of the ball at a below-average effectiveness rate can be the obvious front runner that this thread is suggesting, irrespective of the 1%ers.
Genuinely painful reading such stupid clueless comments. Very apparent that you don't watch many west coast games, if any. Maybe stick to picking fantasy sides champ, you're probably a bit better at that.

On current form [otherwise anonymous player from my team who just played one good game] is pushing for a spot in the 40.

Watch this space.

I reckon Sparrow doesn't quite make it yet mate.

No defender locked in but reckon its been whittled down to;

2-3 of:
Andrews
Jonas
Weitering
Moore
Rampe - was an original oversight

2-3 of
Ryan
Shephard
Maynard
Haynes
Ridley

1 of:
Daniel
Saad

1 off week in the last 6 rounds could see you miss out

I like it. Don't think there's a chance in hell that Ridley will make it. He's a classy, very good player but I feel that he's been so overhyped. He's almost already become Bruce's new "Cyril". Plus, we all know that AA selection generally requires a greater body of work than one season of good footy.

Yeah I agree, he's very good but the others in that group I'd have ahead with the greater body of work also keeping them ahead of him.

Genuinely painful reading such stupid clueless comments. Very apparent that you don't watch many west coast games, if any. Maybe stick to picking fantasy sides champ, you're probably a bit better at that.
Very great insights you've provided here as to why he is the clear AA choice. Sorry some simple questions riled you up so much :thumbsu:

A bit like Jeremy Howe marks are a lot like Josh Jenkins marks

NN completely changes the setup for both sets of midfielders - ours are on the attack, everyone else defending.

Clearly one of the coaches thought he did a decent job in the battle against Gawn.

Stats are a guide - they aren't the answer. Your eyes can tell you that

You come in with a crazy post about him being sh*t at SuperCoach and you wonder why people don’t engage with you in good faith...

But but but he lost me money in Supercoach lol

what are neutrals view of bolton? probably not on the team but would be a fair inclusion in the 40 imho, been our best this year and i know he is high up in some key afl stats 9inside 50s, assists, score involvements etc) though the afl stats website is a nightmare so im not sure exactly how high.

along wiht grimes and dusty probably our only players close to the 40.

what are neutrals view of bolton? probably not on the team but would be a fair inclusion in the 40 imho, been our best this year and i know he is high up in some key afl stats 9inside 50s, assists, score involvements etc) though the afl stats website is a nightmare so im not sure exactly how high.

Miles off. If there was a squad of 100 he would still miss

Squad but would be in that 35-45 range right now.

Rolling All Australian Team 2020