Roos ripe for AFL takeover - Caro

I absolutely agree that Aylett is a non-event, snrub. But isn't it interesting how all those who were advocating the death of the NMFC so loudly in public (Aylett, Kekovich, Barassi etc.) have been strangely quiet of late. I guess the newspaper journos are no longer contacting them for rent-a-quote type headlines. Mind you, I think I read that Barassi has bought a paver. I guess that's something. It will be interesting to see the pavers when they have all been put down to see which 'big names' have bought one.

Yeah he did say we could take the 'r' word from our vocabulary, and all the while he was negotiating a 'c' word, or perhaps being a 'c' word.

As for Aylett, I don't really give a stuff whether he comments or not. He is a non-event as far as I'm concerned.

They are non-events, as is Caro and Fatprick. Despite their bile we have continue to go down the right path.

I agree that Rick was there to follow the direction of the board, but if he had any balls, he could have simply resigned. His life and career would not have suffered too much - his job would have been gone with the GC move anyway. But if he disagreed with the direction of the board, resigning would have been the only right thing to do.

I wonder if he knew that there was no future for him on the Gold Coast. I reckon the ********* on the board were pretty clueless to the fact that they would have been deep-sixed by the white shoe brigade the instant relocation took effect.

My word they would've. The de-Northing of the place wouldn't have taken long once that occured either. GC Roos would've ended up with a surly (pun intended) Michael Searle in charge and Aylett et al would've become a distant fading memory quick smart.

I wonder when Aylett Senior is going to break his silence.
He should make a public acknowledgement about the completion of the new facility.
He has been known to be quick to open his mouth about how we should have relocated and missed a "golden opportunity" because there was no future for the club in Melbourne.

Since his comments, the club, thanks to our brilliant CEO Eugene Arocca,has completed a brand spanking new state of the art facility, has enjoyed membership figures never before achieved in the history of the NMFC.

Aylett Snr. must be burning with jealousy- should put it all behind him, acknowledge that he was wrong and put his support behind the club moving forward.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

gees KL that's some harsh words right there. Alyett Snr was probably the best pres in the VFL back in the 70's. That's the key right there, the 2nd time around his power base was either retired or in the cemetary.You/we could hardly expect a 70+ yr old man to take on the AFL who clearly wanted us gone.Am not sure he wanted the job, but also am not sure anyone of note (at the time ) wanted it either.Is it his fault the AFl signed us to a deal that was all about killing us off? Geez its almost funny after they(AFL) realised no club will go that they decided to re-visit the stadium deals.All of a sudden we're 1 mil a season better off- where's the 8 mil back pay + bloody interest?

He has a heck of a lot of runs on the board (also made a few for Vic (sheff shield) I think.Will always be a great North man and am sure when we're 100% safe he'll say a word or two.We're very lucky to have the perfect pres J.B. I recall Sam Newman got us a sponsor or some such, why did he cause he's a well known footy identity and J.B.'s mate- Alyett wasn't going to get much happening for North shuffling around the bloody retirement home.That he kept the club going was a fair effort-me thinks.

I think we're the ones that 'need to put it all behind us' and move on. Same with Caro, heck her boss wouldn't care what is said about her just as long as its being said. Whats that song by Fallout Boy? The day no one comments on one of her 'opinion pieces' is the day she's in trouble.IMO

So long as we have JB and make the finals in the last two seasons, we should be OK.

The difference between us and Fitzroy and South Melbourne has always been that we have been reasonably successful on the field at the time the 'r' word has been raised..

The other two teams had been under-performing on the field for decades before relocation, which then-in-turn put them into financial trouble long term..

I would think that if every team made the top 4 once every 10 years, they would all probably make enough money to survive long term (unless they took investment 'advice' from collingwood perhaps..) ..

Cow-ro's on 3AW (AM 693) most Tuesdays from about 6.35pm till 7pm if anyone wants to phone in and discuss the brilliant new redevelopment with her.

She's on with Geraldo and Drain. They don't mind taking the 'p' out of her at times, so I'm going to email her original article to them and see if they take it up with her.

Cow-ro's on 3AW (AM 693) most Tuesdays from about 6.35pm till 7pm if anyone wants to phone in and discuss the brilliant new redevelopment with her.

She's on with Geraldo and Drain. They don't mind taking the 'p' out of her at times, so I'm going to email her original article to them and see if they take it up with her.

She is and they usually put her segment on the website... http://www.3aw.com.au/sportstoday

Of course she had nothing but praise for our redevelopment last week.

There's also a link on there to Brad Scott interview last week about the redevelopment. Includes Derbrain making comment that many people thought it would never happen...

Rereading that article made my blood boil (yet again!) :mad:. We should never forget what we went through back then.

And rereading NimChief's comment made me laugh. Knowing what we know now, I don't think Rick Aylett was ever going to tell anyone where to go (except maybe the club to the GC). Does anyone know the real story about R. Aylett? Did he genuinely deserve the CEO's job or was he just put in as a puppet to implement his daddy's evil plans?

BTW, how about if we call the new facilities 'The Pipedream Palace'? :)

To be fair to NimChief, there wa alot of confusion in those early days about whoich side of the relocation debate NMFC offcials stood on.

I remember Ron Joseph and James Braysahw being publicy lambasted on these baords for being pro-relocastionists. I also remeber a certain Dingster that's used to try and alay relocation fears by posting "In Duff we trust". Peter De Rauch being attacked as a nuisance. And Bob Ansett being labelled as over-controlling, for using his votes to veto the first egm. In the end it was his shares (and support) that gave the anti-relcotionists majority control over any relocation decison. And helped to keep us in Melb.

gees KL that's some harsh words right there. Alyett Snr was probably the best pres in the VFL back in the 70's. That's the key right there, the 2nd time around his power base was either retired or in the cemetary.You/we could hardly expect a 70+ yr old man to take on the AFL who clearly wanted us gone.Am not sure he wanted the job, but also am not sure anyone of note (at the time ) wanted it either.Is it his fault the AFl signed us to a deal that was all about killing us off? Geez its almost funny after they(AFL) realised no club will go that they decided to re-visit the stadium deals.All of a sudden we're 1 mil a season better off- where's the 8 mil back pay + bloody interest?

I'd never thought about it that way before. Perhaps that has some merit.

To be fair to NimChief, there wa alot of confusion in those early days about whoich side of the relocation debate NMFC offcials stood on.

I remember Ron Joseph and James Braysahw being publicy lambasted on these baords for being pro-relocastionists. I also remeber a certain Dingster that's used to try and alay relocation fears by posting "In Duff we trust". Peter De Rauch being attacked as a nuisance. And Bob Ansett being labelled as over-controlling, for using his votes to veto the first egm. In the end it was his shares (and support) that gave the anti-relcotionists majority control over any relocation decison. And helped to keep us in Melb.

We only got access to dribs and drabs then you have supporters of various groups spreading mistruth on the forums to suit whatever their agenda was.

De Rauch was open on his stance and he became a target and despite the extent of his share holding at the time got cast out by the pro-relocationists. The only way anti-relocationists would get in and stay would be not to expose their hand until they had the support to stay around.

The hold the anti-relocationists had was that marginal that had any of them crossed to the other side at any point we would have been fubar. Mark was seen as the most likely pro-relocationist because of them all he was the most pragmatic.

I'm more concerned that our "expert" Gemba report was as factually sound as a Caroline Wilson article. Not sure who forked out $100k for that but I'd be going back looking for a refund. That report didn't last 12 months before it was just expensive toilet paper and that is not just because of JB stepping up, they didn't even allow for the economy falling over this year and a half but had projected doom and gloom and an AFL that would throw us to the wolves.

They are meant to be experts in this field and the club was making decisions based on that expert opinion.

I wasn't having a go at NimChief in any way.

Weren't there three positions:

pro relocation - Cowro and Foghorn, Wallsy, Aylett, Barassi, etc

anti-relocation - PDR, most of us

Some sort of compromise position where we would have two bases - it had a name but I can't remember what it was. IIRC, this was the position favoured by many of the board members but when the AFL failed to deliver a stadium up there, they couldn't get a majority to vote for it.

Someone with a better memory will hopefully correct the errors.

Weren't there three positions:

pro relocation - Cowro and Foghorn, Wallsy, Aylett, Barassi, etc

anti-relocation - PDR, most of us

Some sort of compromise position where we would have two bases - it had a name but I can't remember what it was. IIRC, this was the position favoured by many of the board members but when the AFL failed to deliver a stadium up there, they couldn't get a majority to vote for it.

Someone with a better memory will hopefully correct the errors.

I believe the word your looking for is "co-location".

Yep, the board was in favour of co-location and put the offer up to the AFL, but in all Gillion and Dimwits greed they wanted full relocation and nothing else and rejected the co-location offer outright and gave us 30 days to decide wether we would accept full relocation or not.

The biggest bludner they ever made, and the svaing grace for the Keep North South group:thumbsu:

He has a heck of a lot of runs on the board (also made a few for Vic (sheff shield) I think.Will always be a great North man and am sure when we're 100% safe he'll say a word or two.We're very lucky to have the perfect pres J.B. I recall Sam Newman got us a sponsor or some such, why did he cause he's a well known footy identity and J.B.'s mate- Alyett wasn't going to get much happening for North shuffling around the bloody retirement home.That he kept the club going was a fair effort-me thinks.

I think we're the ones that 'need to put it all behind us' and move on. Same with Caro, heck her boss wouldn't care what is said about her just as long as its being said. Whats that song by Fallout Boy? The day no one comments on one of her 'opinion pieces' is the day she's in trouble.IMO

He issued a press release outlining why North had no choice but to go to the Gold Coast and his final sentence read "nobody is as qualified as me." He knew exactly what he was doing.

I believe the word your looking for is "co-location".

Yep, the board was in favour of co-location and put the offer up to the AFL, but in all Gillion and Dimwits greed they wanted full relocation and nothing else and rejected the co-location offer outright and gave us 30 days to decide wether we would accept full relocation or not.

The biggest bludner they ever made, and the svaing grace for the Keep North South group:thumbsu:

Yes this is all true, however the co-location offer and the stadium excuse both have to be analysed in the context of strategy. I also have a conspiracy theory that Dimwit and Gilligan are not as stupid as they seem, and that they never actually wanted relocation, but figured it would be an easier sell to the other 15 clubs than ****ing up the draft with GC17. Once it was clear North would not roll over, they were able to push ahead with Plan A - a brand new club. One day the full story will be told. ;)

Yeah nah, the Doc gets no reprieve. He returned to the club with the explicit agenda to bookend his administrative career - having forced South to Sydney, his every move had all the hallmrks of wanting to reclaim his mantle as architect of the national game. And what better way to do that than to sacrifice his own club to relocation. This man apparently once bailed up Glenn Archer at a club function, demanding that Arch stop making noises about saving the club. This man, so the story goes, had the nerve to tell Arch that he, Aylett, was THE legend of the club, not Arch.:mad:

Yes this is all true, however the co-location offer and the stadium excuse both have to be analysed in the context of strategy. I also have a conspiracy theory that Dimwit and Gilligan are not as stupid as they seem, and that they never actually wanted relocation, but figured it would be an easier sell to the other 15 clubs than ****ing up the draft with GC17. Once it was clear North would not roll over, they were able to push ahead with Plan A - a brand new club. One day the full story will be told. ;)

Interesting theory if true. It would mean that the AFL were selling Caro,Smith et al up the river. Beautiful.

The hold the anti-relocationists had was that marginal that had any of them crossed to the other side at any point we would have been fubar. Mark was seen as the most likely pro-relocationist because of them all he was the most pragmatic.

Just a point of order, the anti-relocationists never really had a marginal hold. They were actually in the minority, the reloationists simply didn't pull the trigger while they held the ascendancy. It was a 9 man board with 5 men definitely wanting to relocate, and the other 4 concealing their hand. It was only when Duff experienced problems at his paying gig and had to resign from the board that it became apparent that the vote was split. So in effect, there was NEVER a majority vote to stay in Melbourne. Just a hung jury, and given that the motion was to relocate, the split vote meant the motion failed. After that, the 4 relocationists agreed to **** off.

It is pretty much that simple. We were oh so close to having our board sell us off. I remember so well trying to tell as many people as I could what was really happening and that the board was conspiring to sell us off (many others too at the time were a wake up). It was very close. The relocationists had their chance as you describe and hesitated - that was the chance we needed. The stories around about how Vlad the Relocator tried to get this deal over the line are great listening.

I am waiting for a book by JB, his brother or RJ to tell the "full story". Interesting to know, if in deed the 4 pro Melbourne board members were simply concealing their hand, did they have a plan or was it just a coincidence that it happened the way it did? Were they aware that Duff was about to go or even pushed him?

Whether it was a masterstroke or a fluke, thank God it happened the way it did. Every time I look at our draw and see 11 home games and the name North Melbourne there, I think back to late 2007...

Roos ripe for AFL takeover - Caro