Rumour Rory Lobb

Nick suban, 182cm had a total of 16 contested marks to his 9 year afl career. Lobb, 207cm has taken 153 over 5 years.

Don't you think he'd be handy?
Handy? Yes. Worth the price? No.

If contested marks were all it took to make a gun forward Casboult would be leaving for pick 1 this year and Tabs would be worth similar. There is way more to it than that and I have never seen any of it of note from Lobb.
Mate, a ruck/forward isn't just about contested marks. How do Suban and Lobb's taps to advantage compare?
This.
It's okay Joao, I understand. You have a lot of pride and have gone too far to admit the L on this one now. :D
It's not pride, nobody here knows me. It is sheer frustration.

Handy? Yes. Worth the price? No.

If contested marks were all it took to make a gun forward Casboult would be leaving for pick 1 this year and Tabs would be worth similar. There is way more to it than that and I have never seen any of it of note from Lobb.

This.

It's not pride, nobody here knows me. It is sheer frustration.
Do we know the price yet?

It isn't going to be a 3rd rounder and he is reportedly on 600k+. It's too much.
2nd rounder and 450k, sure lets do it. At the very least he is great depth.
So we draft Cox, give him the Beacon award and t

This. I am so frustrated at the moment.

And this is before we give up a pick .
I think where your first line is what annoys me the most.

We finally start to develop promising KPFs with lower picks and then seemingly abandon them for blokes who, at least to my eye, aren't noticeably better if at all.

Given he sees himself as and most recognise he is better at being a key fwd - that is really what we've got to look at him as. At which I think he's OK, but not top shelf. He's tall has good hands which is great of course, but he's not explosively quick. He's mobile for his size, but he'd be worse than cox when the ball goes to ground and probably equal to Tabs (i.e. not very good).

He has the frame and physical attributes to be a modern ruckman and GWS' needs meant he landed there more often, but he's not proven himself to be a particularly great ruck/contested play big man. So he's a bit of an in between player - OK at both (better fwd) but not top shelf at either.

I (like Joao and others) see him as a slight upgrade on Tabs and Cox, but not a massive one quite frankly. On that, happy to get - we do need more fire-power in the fwd 50 for sure, but just think we should play it cool and keep the price low. My feeling is if we lose a first round over this I'll consider it overs, and given he's contracted ...

No good in the Ruck and doesn’t kick goals. We will be lucky to get him.

To be clear, Lobb carried the ruck of a top four club this year. As a forward he is a contested marking beast with a great tank for a guy >200cm - he has played plenty of games on a wing! The one mark on him - that he doesn’t get the footy enough - is at least partly explained by the fact that he has never been a target in the forward line ... behind Cameron, Patton and Greene.

If we were to use him as a target and not a workhorse, good things might happen.

You're wrong. Tabs, Cox both have promise at the very least.
Taberner is 25. At some point a player ceases having promise and just is. Taberner is close to being who he will always be as a player.

Cox is a decent grab but lacks forward nous. I think he would make an excellent key position defender in the mould of McGovern.

To be clear, Lobb carried the ruck of a top four club this year. As a forward he is a contested marking beast with a great tank for a guy >200cm - he has played plenty of games on a wing! The one mark on him - that he doesn’t get the footy enough - is at least partly explained by the fact that he has never been a target in the forward line ... behind Cameron, Patton and Greene.

If we were to use him as a target and not a workhorse, good things might happen.

I'm not so bullish (see post above), but you make a good case. Certainly would be interesting to see how he'd fair in a team where he'd be more utilised to his strengths but, on the other hand, fed by a team with a fraction of the talent that GWS have.

It’s the feeding point I was trying to make. He never gets anything easy at GWS but I reckon he might enjoy being the first or second inside 50 target and not have to be on the end of every bail out kick down the wing.

Oh sorry he is a wingman. Ok here is our tallest team

B: Logue, Hamling, Kersten
HB: Cerra, Pearce, Cox
C: Lobb, Mundy, McCarthy
HF: Dixon, Tabs, Strnadica
F: Apeness, Hogan, Darcy
R: Sandi, Fyfe, Blakely
Inte: Meek, Jones, Duman, Banfield

Taberner is 25. At some point a player ceases having promise and just is. Taberner is close to being who he will always be as a player.

Cox is a decent grab but lacks forward nous. I think he would make an excellent key position defender in the mould of McGovern.
Taberner can still improve a bit but wont be much better than serviceable. Cox can't ****in kick straight when confronted by a couple of goal posts which is massive worry, I'd look at moving him back as well.

They weren’t top 4. Dawson Simpson player 9 games, Lobb was the ruckman once he went down.

He’s a good prospect - perfect for us IF we nail Hogan but if we don’t i don’t think he can carry our forward line. He helps more in the ruck than Tabs & Cox which is an underrated benefit.

I’ll just point out.

They weren’t top 4
Dawson Simpson and Patton did a lot of ruck work this year
He doesn’t kick goals.
McCarthy looked good at the Giants.
Don’t let facts get in the way mate.

Rumour Rory Lobb