Review Round 1, 2022 vs Brisbane

Still amazes me how now all of Ken Ollie and 7 Commentators say that we played “3 good quarters” and been repeating the mantra “if we play like that, we’ll win more than we’ll lose.”

No. Just no.

Our skills in the first were horrendous. I wanted to use the fork i had been eating my roast with and claw out my eyes. We were stuck on one behind for a while and i said in the gameday thread it literally was the equivalent of Auskick and imagine if that first quarter was the first time you ever watched AFL footy. It was an absolute farce. Brisbane were equally as bad in the first which made our levels look the same.

We played a good second quarter and a half of the third quarter. Bombed the last so in totality, we really only played a quarter and a half well. That doesnt get you a flag even on your worst days.

That undersized defence breaks my heart every time. McKenzie punches above his weight but he looked overwhelmed out there before his injury.

Mead trying to spoil Big O was the icing on the salty tears cake.

Skinner has to come in and if Pasini can string together some good sanfl games following up from his game against North today, he will be in line too.

Aliir dropping the mark, falling over and somehow rolling backward 20m away from the ball like a Cirque de Soleil acrobat will haunt me to my end of days.
I hear you, Im sure it was Bassett that spruiked early in his time at Alberton "Size doesn't really matter when it comes to backlines" or something similar to that. Every year though we get torn apart in multiple matches by tall forwards...one poster mid week tipped Daniher to kick 7 when he found out Hipwood wasn't playing, it was only Daniher himself that prevented that from happening through handing off and not kicking straight.

Ports forward structure is 'hard work' to watch, there doesn't appear to be any spread in leading patterns to isolate space and forward contests. We seem to structure with a negative mindset for which we're too scared to kick to a isolated match up in a dangerous position in case we lose the contest and get done on the counter attack.
We instead kick to pack contests where although we likely won't mark the ball, we likely won't lose the contest either, we rely on our small forwards or midfielders roving goals to hit the scoreboard. If the opposition gets it then we plan for the ball to leave our 50 in a scrap for which we're set up with our press to repeat the process again...it is the most frustrating part of our game.

I haven't seen Skinner or Pasini, our they big bodied or tall and rangy?

I'd like to try Marshall down back because he's not going to thrive in our forward structure, no forwards really do but he's a lead and mark forward if I've ever seen one, Port don't structure that way so he'll never progress under Hinkley.

I think Marshall could go with a Daniher, they have similar body shapes, tall and rangy and they are both mobile. Marshall doesn't even have to mark the ball, just bring it to ground.

Franklin's a freak and Hawkins is a Gorilla so I'm resigned to the fact that we don't have a match up for those type of forwards, have to pressure the midfield entry and or play lose man which is where Allir Allir is at his best.

Definitely the latter. None of them lead or work to get off their man, so can’t blame the ball coming in. They were out marked and out hunted at ground level.

It's the game plan.

None of our forwards lead, almost ever, because it isn't part of the game plan.

I'm sounding like a broken record.

I have no beef with Tony Armstrong. I'm sure he's a nice guy. But seeing him getting a gig at Fox has me thinking i might send in my resume.
Unfair. Tony Armstrong is much better in the media than he was at AFL football, one of the few with some actual intelligence about him, and who's happy to call out the boy's club. I'd like to see more of him.

Was it just me or did anyone feel Aliir took forever to get up after the dropped mark. Like I was feeling the whole time that he still had ample time to pick up the ball and still save the contest but he never got up.
Nah I thought the same, his reaction time seemed off.
Maybe his lack of agility was a combination of fatigue and numbness of his ankle if he got a jab at half time.

From the very start of the final quarter it looked like our entire approach to the last was to just try and hang on. Hoping the lead we had was enough.

This. It's typical Hinkleyball.

Ken isn't brave, he's soft, and the players catch it.

Injuries, lack of rotations, and pathetic forward system notwithstanding, Ken's playing to save the game rather than going for it plays with the players' heads. How can they take the game on, to win the game, a natural mindset for most players at any level, with his enfeebling directions!

I can't see any improvement in Ken's game style at all. Hate it.

Re Butters, it's a big positive that he's able to rack up and win the ball. It's what separates good mids to average ones.

I have full confidence that he'll figure out the ball usage part with more games there.

Houston has always had question marks about his midfield prowess, less to do with ability but more to do if he can genuinely be a midfielder or are we wasting him by not playing him at half back. For me today was the first time for me where I thought 'yep we need Houston in the midfield'.

We need to figure out the forward and ruck situation out. But we should be in good stead if the midfield can play like this for the rest of the season.

Was it just me or did anyone feel Aliir took forever to get up after the dropped mark. Like I was feeling the whole time that he still had ample time to pick up the ball and still save the contest but he never got up.
I think he fell over because his bad leg gave out tbh

Like in a vacuum this isn't a bad loss, if we finish top 4 then I won't really care about this game.

But for once I just want to see like a character building win that premiership clubs have. This could have been one of them. IMO a premiership club still finds a way to win tonight.

We do have them. The problem is it never builds our character. We have them one week then we reset for next week. They exist but they are anomalies. It never means anything.

If we won tonight, it wouldn’t steel us for the season. We’d be the same chance as ever to what happen power it the following game.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

It was a hard loss to swallow but I have a lot to look forward to this year. We are definately a better side than last year. And Mitch Robinson better get weeks. Duursma had his head over the ball, he chose to bump, the player was injured. The bump was illegal and awared a free kick. Just becaue it was a collar bone shouldn't negate the fact that he had a duty of care for a person who had his head over the ball. No less than 2 weeks and up to 3.
Careless, High Impact, High Contact = 2 Match’s

I have been so completely destroyed by ken Hinkley and Nathan Bassett that I felt nothing watching that game. No excitement when we were 4 goals up. No tension when Brisbane came back. No anger when we shit the bed in classic Hinkley style. I just didn't care. The only highlight of the entire game was dan Houston.

Even if we won, I'd seen enough to know that this was another year of the same hinkleyball trash and we're no chance of winning the flag.

You can analyse the game to within an inch of its life but you just can't get away from the fact that we're a loser club with a loser culture. We haven't done anything of note for close to two decades and there's a good reason why.

We endlessly wank off about how good we are, how good certain players are going to be, how many premierships we're going to win. It's all a mirage.

We aren't good enough to win a premiership because we have a sh*t coach and an even shitter culture.

We talk endlessly about how great players like Rozee and Butters are going to be and yet neither has improved from game one (in fact, the former has gone backwards significantly).

It's all talk, talk, talk. An endless cycle of delusion and entitlement. The club has an unearned stench of arrogance about it and it's disgusting.

We won't even make finals this year. Bookmark it.

I’m sorry but Butters has definitely improved on his first game.

Rozee is a real concern though.

Brisbane won the hit outs 52 to 26 as Lycett battled against 2 ruckman. One of those ruckmen had played just 9 AFL games yet won 26 hit outs and booted 2 goals. Last week someone was trying to convince me that Sam Hayes should not be in the side due to 'team balance' and that same poster was trying to tell me that Jeremy Finlayson was a direct replacement for Peter Ladhams. That person should look to last night's game and note that two ruckmen did not upset Brisbane's team balance and that Jeremy Finlayson did exactly what he was recruited to do - pinch hit in the ruck.

I am not hanging that loss on Lycett's shoulders but it is obvious that we are not going to get through this season with one bona fide ruckman going against sides that have two genuine ruckmen. Scott Lycett is not yet 30 so he still has some footy left in him but he is simply not capable of doing the job against two opponents. Sam Hayes isn't going to fire instantly but he has to start his AFL career sometime and now should be that time.

Still amazes me how now all of Ken Ollie and 7 Commentators say that we played “3 good quarters” and been repeating the mantra “if we play like that, we’ll win more than we’ll lose.”

No. Just no.

Our skills in the first were horrendous. I wanted to use the fork i had been eating my roast with and claw out my eyes. We were stuck on one behind for a while and i said in the gameday thread it literally was the equivalent of Auskick and imagine if that first quarter was the first time you ever watched AFL footy. It was an absolute farce. Brisbane were equally as bad in the first which made our levels look the same.

We played a good second quarter and a half of the third quarter. Bombed the last so in totality, we really only played a quarter and a half well. That doesnt get you a flag even on your worst days.
Our midfield was the highlight of the game. If anything is Brisbane that has the cracks applied over the wallpaper. They had too many breaks. Think about this. Aliir's exit for the last 15 minutes the second gassed the team. Did anybody not see Wines hunching over on the interchange when he finally got off?

Robbie Gray off +
Duursma off but subbed +
Aliir off 15 minutes which meant midfield starting to wilt from that point +
Slippery humid conditions +
Home town advantage with their rotations in tact +
Allir not being able to close in and intercept when he went back on =
Give the guys a break it's round 1, it's too early to make judgement. The forward line is a mess but defence is Brisbane's strength.

I know the tall FWDs didn't do a great deal last night but to be fair to them, I rate Brisbanes tall backs as league best, it was slippery as hell and our FWD game plan is still swill.

I'm not too disappointed with our effort. Brisbane were pretty dirty last night going the man at every opportunity. We need to be tougher but it's easier said than done. I'm disappointed with game plan and 1 or 2 players but effort from most was there. We were all expecting to get pumped by 40+

Lycett is a problem. Not sure where we go from here with the ruck position.

Lycett did not offer enough around the ground last night. I think we can battle on with a serviceable ruck if they can get back and plug holes in the forward line.

Lycett didn’t really do either. If we’re going to have a ruck that doesn’t offer heaps around the ground I’d rather play Hayes and have him learn.

I know the tall FWDs didn't do a great deal last night but to be fair to them, I rate Brisbanes tall backs as league best, it was slippery as hell and our FWD game plan is still swill.

I'm not too disappointed with our effort. Brisbane were pretty dirty last night going the man at every opportunity. We need to be tougher but it's easier said than done. I'm disappointed with game plan and 1 or 2 players but effort from most was there. We were all expecting to get pumped by 40+

I agree in part, Brisbane are a top 4 side imo, the conditions were not great, and Brisbane have a real chance at a flag within the next few years but I reckon it is dangerous to accept defeat on the basis of it could have been worse. The reality is we were in a position to win that game at 3/4 time but once again we fell in a hole with a one goal to five last quarter. It is not the first time that Brisbane has run over us in the last quarter at the Gabba. I watched that last quarter in a atmosphere of deja vu and kept thinking, 'here we go again'.

Review Round 1, 2022 vs Brisbane