Review Round 1, 2022 vs Brisbane

I'll get crucified for this, but I reckon there were way more positives than negatives from last night.

Houston has stepped up big time in to that midfield role, and perfectly compliments Wines. Has a chance of being our best player this year, which is a ridiculous call when you have the reigning Brownlow medalist.
Mead was shaky at times but overall showed he has a lot to work with. Just needs to get that composure which he will with game time.
DBJ wasn't back at his best, but had a 2020 DBJ game rather than a 2021 DBJ game. Same can be said for Pep, not his best game but better than his output last season.
Bonner carried straight on from his prelim form, and what's awesome about this is he has taken that old Houston role. Aggressive, hard at it and did everything with speed and urgency.
Jones was a revelation down back against some of the best small/mid size forwards in the AFL. Scary to think what he might do against weaker teams.
Karlos, Wines, Boak, Drew, Burton all just did their standard good stuff all game.

The biggest negative? Our forward line. What the **** were they doing? Practically no impact from Todd, Finlayson, MG, Mots and Connor combined. In fact all 5 would probably have been in our 7 worst on ground.

Our forwards as a group kicked 4.3
Our midfielders as a group kicked 6.6

Two goals came as a result of Houston just saying **** it and kicking it over the forwards altogether. No Dixon isn't an excuse. Bassett should be sacked today if we are at all serious about this season.

The only other negative is we got killed in the ruck. Lycett offered so little that Hayes must play next week. Needs game time now and couldn't offer less than what our tall forwards offered last night up forward.

Houston and Burton were exceptional. Specifically with regards to Burton, to keep Cameron to one goal when he usually destroys us is a fantastic effort. Special mention to the Jones' as well. Lachie in particular was great and I like the fact he is beginning to look more assured at AFL level.

Lycett - Calling Lycett a B Grader is disrespectful to actual B Graders in the comp. Guys like O'Brien, McInerny, Fort. These blokes are genuine B Graders (probably kind to Fort) and they have given Lycett a bath two weeks in a row. Lycett is a D Grader, he is one of the worst first ruckman in the league and the longer we play him the longer he will hinder our ability to win games against clubs who have even half decent ruckman. Must be dropped for Hayes and is finished as a footballer.

Rozee - Yep his performance suffered because he was playing through injury. And yes, that can be said for most of his games over the past two years. At the end of the day, regardless of talent, a player who is constantly playing through injury has no value unless they can perform. And every time Rozee gets even the slightest knock he is completely useless and gives the team nothing. He has to the end of this contract to show something that resembles consistent form or otherwise should go. Arguably three years is generous for what he has shown so far.

Finlayson
- Has no real rucking ability at all so if he is in the team as a "second ruckman" he needs to be kicking goals because every time he is in the ruck we are at a disadvantage. And in this game he offered nothing offensively. Giving away Ladhams for what we did was a massive cockup. At least with Ladhams you know he will be somewhat of a presence in the ruck compared to Finlayson.

Marshall - Was he the worst of our forwards? Probably not, they were all garbage. But that doesn't take away from the fact that he is shown nothing in his career to suggest he is anything above a C Grader. Once again was completely invisible for most of the game. Once again got hands to the ball multiple times only to drop the mark. Tried to body up Andrews and of course got mauled because he is built like a twig. Has had an abysmal start to the year in both preseason games and this one. Very lucky Dixon is still a week or two away.

Georgiades - Playing in perfect, Marvel Stadium like conditions he looks fantastic. Great mark, neat kick and generally offers decent leads. Anything other than perfect conditions he is average because his game is limited to this kick-mark-goal game style. Consistently makes poor decisions with ball in hand. If we had other forwards who complimented he game style better it might be fine but with our current forward line having a player that is this limited doesn't work.

McKenzie - Really unfortunate to get injured. However clearly has dropped several levels down from his good form last year and was getting well beaten before getting injured. The rest of the season should be dedicated to finding out what Skinner is like because he is the future of our backline.

Gray - Got injured which seemed to hinder him but still think this is probably one year too many. If we had anything resembling small forward talent in the squad I would much rather get some time into a young player.

We have very little top end talent and are carrying duds like Marshall and Lycett who have no future at AFL level in a team that wants to win the premiership. It’s almost like we need a rebuild on the rebuild.

Carlton will be the next club to win a flag before us.

Impressed with burton, maybe his best game for the club.
Houston a class above
Boak, good again…
Mead showed enough
Amon was ok
Spp played his role
Drew not bad
Wines solid
Bonnar ok

Quite a few absolute shockers, better check the depth chart because a few shouldn’t be back in a while

Oh that’s right we have no depth…

Piss them off anyway.. don’t care how high you were drafted

AA couldn't have picked a worse time to make the biggest footy error of his career. Why couldn't he have done it when we were 10 goals up against a side in the final quarter. I luv him as a player but geez

He choked in last years prelim - made a few seriously poor errors.

Rozee. So much talent, can rip a game to shreds…
No more excuses…
I believe he either needs a rocket up him and send him to the maggies for a month, or play him off the half back flank and let him seagull his way with a bunch of cheap touches and let him run off there…
The insipid floppy flimsy flukey bs has to stop, always goes to the ground, in every contest, flops for non existent frees, panics in physical contests…. No more bs excuses, it has to stop. Last night was embarrassing, if it wasn’t for the lucky free when he dropped it and panicked in the contest he wouldn’t have got near it all night..

Again, I rate him as an exceptional talent, but something has to give, can not let him float on with the gold pass he has had since being drafted.. he has done nothing, it’s time..

I hear you, Im sure it was Bassett that spruiked early in his time at Alberton "Size doesn't really matter when it comes to backlines" or something similar to that. Every year though we get torn apart in multiple matches by tall forwards...one poster mid week tipped Daniher to kick 7 when he found out Hipwood wasn't playing, it was only Daniher himself that prevented that from happening through handing off and not kicking straight.

Ports forward structure is 'hard work' to watch, there doesn't appear to be any spread in leading patterns to isolate space and forward contests. We seem to structure with a negative mindset for which we're too scared to kick to a isolated match up in a dangerous position in case we lose the contest and get done on the counter attack.
We instead kick to pack contests where although we likely won't mark the ball, we likely won't lose the contest either, we rely on our small forwards or midfielders roving goals to hit the scoreboard. If the opposition gets it then we plan for the ball to leave our 50 in a scrap for which we're set up with our press to repeat the process again...it is the most frustrating part of our game.

I haven't seen Skinner or Pasini, our they big bodied or tall and rangy?

I'd like to try Marshall down back because he's not going to thrive in our forward structure, no forwards really do but he's a lead and mark forward if I've ever seen one, Port don't structure that way so he'll never progress under Hinkley.

I think Marshall could go with a Daniher, they have similar body shapes, tall and rangy and they are both mobile. Marshall doesn't even have to mark the ball, just bring it to ground.

Franklin's a freak and Hawkins is a Gorilla so I'm resigned to the fact that we don't have a match up for those type of forwards, have to pressure the midfield entry and or play lose man which is where Allir Allir is at his best.

Skinner is 198cm and 98kg, 24 years old and has a big mature body. Big strong intercept marker.

Pasini is 192cm and 21 years old. More a rangy type but has put on some size the past couple of years. He was a defensive general in his junior footy.

This has been mentioned but the three tall forwards last night are all second and third types, none of them has ever been the go to guy. They all played like it, no one seemed to want to take the moment.

They weren't helped by a game plan that was designed to slow the match down and restrict Brisbane's scoring. It was typical finals football and we applied ourselves to it from the opening bounce.

But eventually the injuries, conditions and some appalling errors opened us up and Brisbane streamed through the cracks.

Still, week one, regroup hopefully make some positive changes and on we go.

I have been so completely destroyed by ken Hinkley and Nathan Bassett that I felt nothing watching that game. No excitement when we were 4 goals up. No tension when Brisbane came back. No anger when we sh*t the bed in classic Hinkley style. I just didn't care. The only highlight of the entire game was dan Houston.

Even if we won, I'd seen enough to know that this was another year of the same hinkleyball trash and we're no chance of winning the flag.
futurama agree GIF

When I look at us in comparison to other teams, what I see is that every team has players who are not at their best every week. When our players have a quiet one it is putrid.
eg Charlie Cameron tonight was comprehensively beaten by Burton but still gets 11 possessions and kicks a goal.
We have 6 out of the top 7 possession winners tonight and 5 of the bottom 7
Not that possessions are the be all but it illustrates the point of our good being right up there but our bad is shocking
Because our game plan relies entirely on hard work and luck.

I'd like to be positive but so many of our players do not play to their potential and because it seems to be wide spread it can only be coaching.
No we weren't blown away but the effort from some of our players won't cut it to win a flag.
I fear it's going to be a long season.
It's the heat, it's the humidity, injuries, skill errors. I am sick of dam excuses for inept coaches and players, grow up Port Adelaide if you ever want to win a flag.
So far it's rinse and repeat.
Such an amateur club sometimes, we are still waiting for an explanation about our Prelim disaster.

Like in a vacuum this isn't a bad loss, if we finish top 4 then I won't really care about this game.

But for once I just want to see like a character building win that premiership clubs have. This could have been one of them. IMO a premiership club still finds a way to win tonight.
The thing is to win a GF you need to win several games against top 4 sides, fighting through adversity, in a row.

Tonight was a chance to show we have changed.... We haven't.

Skinner is 198cm and 98kg, 24 years old and has a big mature body. Big strong intercept marker.

Pasini is 192cm and 21 years old. More a rangy type but has put on some size the past couple of years. He was a defensive general in his junior footy.

This has been mentioned but the three tall forwards last night are all second and third types, none of them has ever been the go to guy. They all played like it, no one seemed to want to take the moment.

They weren't helped by a game plan that was designed to slow the match down and restrict Brisbane's scoring. It was typical finals football and we applied ourselves to it from the opening bounce.

But eventually the injuries, conditions and some appalling errors opened us up and Brisbane streamed through the cracks.

Still, week one, regroup hopefully make some positive changes and on we go.
Thought I’ve read somewhere Pasini is closer to 194-95 after he a growth spurt is there truth to that?

AA couldn't have picked a worse time to make the biggest footy error of his career. Why couldn't he have done it when we were 10 goals up against a side in the final quarter. I luv him as a player but geez
I love him too but his kicking has always been his biggest downside. Not one known for kicking it down our player's throat, that kick he made through going back through the corridor, then stumbling over uncontested which resulted in two goals was shocking.

Hopefully, he bounces back next round which I'm sure he will.

Thought I’ve read somewhere Pasini is closer to 194-95 after he a growth spurt is there truth to that?

Could be, he looked taller than the advertised 192cm in the trial game yesterday.

Houston and Burton were exceptional. Specifically with regards to Burton, to keep Cameron to one goal when he usually destroys us is a fantastic effort. Special mention to the Jones' as well. Lachie in particular was great and I like the fact he is beginning to look more assured at AFL level.

Lycett - Calling Lycett a B Grader is disrespectful to actual B Graders in the comp. Guys like O'Brien, McInerny, Fort. These blokes are genuine B Graders (probably kind to Fort) and they have given Lycett a bath two weeks in a row. Lycett is a D Grader, he is one of the worst first ruckman in the league and the longer we play him the longer he will hinder our ability to win games against clubs who have even half decent ruckman. Must be dropped for Hayes and is finished as a footballer.

Rozee - Yep his performance suffered because he was playing through injury. And yes, that can be said for most of his games over the past two years. At the end of the day, regardless of talent, a player who is constantly playing through injury has no value unless they can perform. And every time Rozee gets even the slightest knock he is completely useless and gives the team nothing. He has to the end of this contract to show something that resembles consistent form or otherwise should go. Arguably three years is generous for what he has shown so far.

Finlayson - Has no real rucking ability at all so if he is in the team as a "second ruckman" he needs to be kicking goals because every time he is in the ruck we are at a disadvantage. And in this game he offered nothing offensively. Giving away Ladhams for what we did was a massive cockup. At least with Ladhams you know he will be somewhat of a presence in the ruck compared to Finlayson.

Marshall - Was he the worst of our forwards? Probably not, they were all garbage. But that doesn't take away from the fact that he is shown nothing in his career to suggest he is anything above a C Grader. Once again was completely invisible for most of the game. Once again got hands to the ball multiple times only to drop the mark. Tried to body up Andrews and of course got mauled because he is built like a twig. Has had an abysmal start to the year in both preseason games and this one. Very lucky Dixon is still a week or two away.

Georgiades - Playing in perfect, Marvel Stadium like conditions he looks fantastic. Great mark, neat kick and generally offers decent leads. Anything other than perfect conditions he is average because his game is limited to this kick-mark-goal game style. Consistently makes poor decisions with ball in hand. If we had other forwards who complimented he game style better it might be fine but with our current forward line having a player that is this limited doesn't work.

McKenzie - Really unfortunate to get injured. However clearly has dropped several levels down from his good form last year and was getting well beaten before getting injured. The rest of the season should be dedicated to finding out what Skinner is like because he is the future of our backline.

Gray - Got injured which seemed to hinder him but still think this is probably one year too many. If we had anything resembling small forward talent in the squad I would much rather get some time into a young player.
Great summary

I suspect many would have taken an 11 point loss in brisvegas this time yesterday, but as has been pointed out multiple times by numerous posters for years now the lack of genuine height in our defence is a glaring weakness that still hasn't been addressed and has cost the team time and time again.

McKenzie is a prime example, there is no doubt he tries his guts out but he is flanker or at best 3rd tall size for AFL footy, last night there were times he looked like a 10 yo primary schooler playing against the `big kids' from the high school down the road.

Finlayson who had arguably the worst debut of a `name' recruit I can recall for Port was drafted by his original club as a tall defender.
He was doing less than sweet **** all up forward so why t f wasn't he moved down back in at least an attempt to add some height and stem the tide, particularly when Aliir had to leave the field?

Coaches like Fos Williams and John Cahill regularly made moves that changed or saved games, if plan A stops working the campaigner in charge now just sits there, sips on his lolly water and watches things fall apart, his abysmal record in close games is unfortunately testimony to that.

Mate, I would’ve thought quite a few supporters would’ve got themselves a reality check about the importance of Dixon tonight. All 3 key forwards were very poor tonight and for me the key reason we lost.

I think I’ve finally lost my patience with Marshall. Soft as butter tonight.

Charlie at least has a crack.

When's Marshall even been good?
He's not even really competing now.

Yeah it didn’t look great for him but didn’t cost the game. We were gone by then anyway.
I just think you don’t want to gift goals like that in tight games. We were in big trouble when the mistake happened but I don’t think we were 100% gone

Review Round 1, 2022 vs Brisbane