• Pickett

Votes: 32 11.6%
  • Ross

Votes: 1 0.4%

Balta is a definite worry. I love him but he plays each game as if it's his first. I'd consider putting him on the wing, a la Richo in 2008, or just let him do whatever the hell he wants just for the lols. It might work 60 per cent of the time.
I think Balta is one of those exceptionally athletically gifted souls who lose their edge when they start thinking about following instructions rather than simply playing. If I were Dimma, I'd just tell Noah to play to his strengths and give him the space to use his speed, height and leap. See ball - get ball - don't complicate things and have fun. The wing or high half forward sounds fine.

Balta had the hardest job in footy. He won’t play on a better KPF for the rest of the year. Also first game of the year, let him be.

Anyone else think Cotchin looked faster? He was zipping around and cracking in.

Personally thought he looked closer to his 2020 level than 2021/22, was very happy with what I saw and if he keeps that up, we’re in good shape.

If Pendlebury and Selwood can do it why not Cotchin?

Maybe he’s a man who knows he’s now really playing for his spot. He’s leaner and fitter that’s for sure.

He’s absolutely still best 22.

Balta had the hardest job in footy. He won’t play on a better KPF for the rest of the year. Also first game of the year, let him be.

Personally thought he looked closer to his 2020 level than 2021/22, was very happy with what I saw and if he keeps that up, we’re in good shape.

Maybe he’s a man who knows he’s now really playing for his spot. He’s leaner and fitter that’s for sure.

I liked Trents role. Was trying to be a bit too creative at times. But he is clean and a calm mind

Agreeing with you right up to the playing for his spot.
What a crock of shit.
Did you see Pendlebury or selwood playing for their spots?
Show ability of respect too a champion of the Rfc.
Quiet frankly some of you on here dancing on cotchs grave should be ashamed of yourselves or have very short selective memories.

Im still worried about Balta. I want him in the side - just not sure where.

He's not a great backman - he gets caught out of position too often. He's great when he runs at the ball and jumps - not so good when he has to match up on an opponent who is leading him to the ball.

I still reckon he would make a great follower - even for a 5-minute burst. Jump at the ruck contests and then be in every contested mark situation arounfd the ground. Opposition ruckman can't go with him.

Other than that - a high half-forward leading up to the ball. Jack's doing it at the moment , but it's not quite his thing.
Yeah Balta needs to get out from being a key back, it's a tough one because his intercept marking is great. We have Vlastuin and Rioli playing that role really well and much better with the ball at half back. Balta's set shots aren't great either. I'd be tempted to play him as a wing opposite Pickett.

Pushing back to cut off passes, room to run and carry and booming kick into the forward line.

Yeah Balta needs to get out from being a key back, it's a tough one because his intercept marking is great. We have Vlastuin and Rioli playing that role really well and much better with the ball at half back. Balta's set shots aren't great either. I'd be tempted to play him as a wing opposite Pickett.

Pushing back to cut off passes, room to run and carry and booming kick into the forward line.
Anywhere north of our last line.

I think we have a lot of improvement to come.

Prestia, Short, Lynch and Graham were underdone.
Hopper, Taranto and Martin missed a lot of footy last year.
Balta and Miller are both young talls who are just learning their roles.

Rioli Jnr is getting better each game he plays.
All this

Our defence and Midfield was very good
Our foward line structure was terrible and entries were just not effective

Every time we entered our foward 50 there was 15 defenders inside the 50 and when Carlton went into their 50 there was so much more space
Why ? Was it Carlton flooding ? Why couldnt we spread them more ?
sick of bombing the ball and Lync/Jack getting double/triple teamed

All this

Our defence and Midfield was very good
Our foward line structure was terrible and entries were just not effective

Every time we entered our foward 50 there was 15 defenders inside the 50 and when Carlton went into their 50 there was so much more space
Why ? Was it Carlton flooding ? Why couldnt we spread them more ?
sick of bombing the ball and Lync/Jack getting double/triple teamed
The ball was forward centre more, so when the Blues won the ball they had more space. If we are dominating position and don't capitalise then it hurts us the other way.

It's why last night's game, though it was fast pace and scoring wouldn't happen against us. We push hard forward and try to limit losing possession.

That’s your rating out of 10 , you’d have to be kidding prestia 3/10 , that’s an entirely warped view , anyways ea to their own . Ty cya

I dont highly rate performances of players who are wasteful with their disposal, particularly by foot. Quality over quantity always, without doubt.

Quantity over quality has been the story of Taranto for most of his career, and a bit for Prestia tonight. Prestia had 2 positive quarters (1st and 3rd, he was great in the 3rd) and 2 negative quarters (2nd and 4th, no influence at all). Balances out to a middling game, even though he looked good he only had bursts of being an actual positive player.

The ball was forward centre more, so when the Blues won the ball they had more space. If we are dominating position and don't capitalise then it hurts us the other way.

It's why last night's game, though it was fast pace and scoring wouldn't happen against us. We push hard forward and try to limit losing possession.
Thats why i was and still am an advocate to have Samson Ryan playing and we go 3 talls

Not many people can out mark a player thats 207cm and a massive reach

The extra spot on the bench alongside the 4th umpire focus on defenders infringing just makes it alot more sense

I dont highly rate performances of players who are wasteful with their disposal, particularly by foot. Quality over quantity always, without doubt.

Quantity over quality has been the story of Taranto for most of his career, and a bit for Prestia tonight. Prestia had 2 positive quarters (1st and 3rd, he was great in the 3rd) and 2 negative quarters (2nd and 4th, no influence at all). Balances out to a middling game, even though he looked good he only had bursts of being an actual positive player.
You are correct mostly but in Richmonds case quantity is not always a bad thing

• I would rather have Taranto winning the ball and hacking it 50mtrs giving our fwds a chance to win and kick goals
  • The alternative is without Taranto there was a good chance an opposition player would have won the ball and kicked it 50 into their foward line
  • Dirty ball is a Richmond game style and the players will get used to eachother and account for their team mates abilities and adjust

The most pleasing thing for me - apart from the defensive pressure back at a level we expect and more midfield clearances - was the return of the great Dylan Grimes.

I'm almost positive I didn't see him at all last year.

I am wondering though, who's going to miss out when Sonsie, Clarke, Tarrant and Gibcus come into the side. Oh and Sampson Ryan.

Some massive headaches for the match committee coming up.

• I would rather have Taranto winning the ball and hacking it 50mtrs giving our fwds a chance to win and kick goals
  • The alternative is without Taranto there was a good chance an opposition player would have won the ball and kicked it 50 into their foward line
  • Dirty ball is a Richmond game style and the players will get used to eachother and account for their team mates abilities and adjust

This is very true which is why of all the teams in the league my personal ratings have never favoured Richmond highly even though it wins you games (and flags).

That’s exactly right without TT and prestias impact we lose by 6G

I think we have a lot of improvement to come.

Prestia, Short, Lynch and Graham were underdone.
Hopper, Taranto and Martin missed a lot of footy last year.
Balta and Miller are both young talls who are just learning their roles.

Rioli Jnr is getting better each game he plays.
Forwards were rusty early , longer it went more threatening lynch dusty and shai looked , our supply is bang on , clearer head on squaring that last kick and shots at G and the scoreboard takes care of itself , much more difficult prospect if supply languished at like 35 i50s

We won three grand finals based on Chaos! Haven't Sydney lost their last couple of gf's?
This is very true which is why of all the teams in the league my personal ratings have never favoured Richmond highly even though it wins you games (and flags).
How did you rate the Swans grand final performance last year?

Even that chase down in the final qtr, he didn’t get the tackle but he put 110% into the chase even with an empty tank against an oppo with fresh legs

No stat gained and didn’t affect the play but that is the type of efforts that makes the team stronger and everyone else work a little bit harder
21 team members saw it. I will get an inhouse mention before next game.

Agreeing with you right up to the playing for his spot.
What a crock of s**t.
Did you see Pendlebury or selwood playing for their spots?
Show ability of respect too a champion of the Rfc.
Quiet frankly some of you on here dancing on cotchs grave should be ashamed of yourselves or have very short selective memories.
Whoa, harsh mate!

I never said I wasn't all for Cotchin being in the team, and I'm very much in the camp of letting our champions go when they want to, my comment was just a flow-on from what has, generally, been the reluctant but also understandable view on him for many people. And that is, right or wrong, that in 2021 and 2022 he has looked slow and past his best and, with young mids coming up and two new big recruits, his spot might no longer have been fully guaranteed.

I don't think it's a stretch to say that he (likely) knows his spot is slightly under threat...

And, in referencing the general view, I was saying that I was stoked to see Cotchin showed he was still easily best 22.

I was optimistic about us and still am, but geez Collingwood look fit and good. Even their "small" forwards are fairly solid and move well. Their midfield is deep now with a fit De Goey and adding the extractor Mitchell.

Changes vs. Adelaide

OUT: Mansell
IN: Clarke

Grimes, Miller, Broad
Vlastuin, Balta, Rioli
McIntosh, Hopper, Pickett
Martin, Riewoldt, Clarke
Bolton, Lynch, Rioli jr
Nankervis, Prestia, Taranto
Cotchin, Graham, Short, Baker
Sub: Ross

Upon a second viewing & watching the Friday night game, i feel like both these teams are a long way off. Carlton lost that game more than we won it, thats for sure. The lack of urgency and belief in the ability to score in the last 10 minutes was my biggest take away, you are not elite when you look that lost in the clutch, against one of the worst clutch teams in the league - Carlton. Carlton looked crap in the clutch too.

We draw because they made 2-3 inexplicable errors. The drop mark, the extra bounce by Obrien, various fumbles. We do not draw if only 1 of those unforced errors from Carlton doesn't occur. What worried me was how slow we were moving the ball forward when the game needed to be won. if its not DRioli, then the team needs to be trialing a new face down forward as the mix looks wrong.

Re-watching the game, i actually feel like moving Bolton up onto the wing & then finding an additional, fast running pressure forward to fit into our 6.. I think Bolton is his own worst enemy - the more time he spends as a pure forward, the more his bad traits come back. For all his brilliance, he still clearly has to be managed to save him from himself. His 50 wad s terrible, stupid play we have seen 1000 times before & his dumb decision making around set shots cost us dearly. Boltons leap, speed, marking and flair could be a game changer . I think a wing of Bolton + Pickett looks much closer to being elite & i think Bolton needs to constantly be moved out of his comfort zone to stop himself from bad traits and lazy football. Put him on a wing and make him more accountable defensively again.

My biggest concern is i no longer am sure if we can have Dusty & Jack in the same forwardline together, They both have moments of brilliance,, but paired with long moments of looking older. The forwardline to me feels better with only 1 of them deep, with Lynch, Cumberland & MRJ rotating.