Review Round 12 = Collingwood 82-100 Western Bulldogs

Ok, so Fly was wrong and you were right?

Firstly you replied to someone else.

Secondly we lost.

Thirdly there were clearly things that could of been tried but no way of knowing the impact of those.

Given our Coaching groups record and the gallant effort of tonight, no I don't think they were wrong but maybe could of explored some changes.
Can't fault them for backing the group and plan in given last 2 years close results.

On review I'm sure you will see tweaks made next time we are in that position.

Exactly what happened against Freo. Went completely defensive and got overrun in the last quarter and squibbed a 25 pt lead.
Tonight, went completely defensive in the last quarter, and got overrun and couldn't score!!!
Do you factor in our missing players?

The good

• No new injuries!!!
  • Harrison developing very nicely. Pressured the whole game. He’s not losing his spot no matter who is coming back.
  • Yet another incredible game by Nick.
  • Herculean effort by Moore. And Maynard.
  • We did very well in the first and third quarters despite the outs.
  • New HTB interpretation. I like it.

The bad

• Prefer not to lose.
  • Too many players went MIA late in the game.
  • Quiet games by Johnson (a shadow of himself) and Bytel.
  • What was going on with Cameron being continually whacked over the head?
  • Our height.

The Ugly

• Darcy hit on Maynard
  • Our kicking for goal. We should have put the game away in the first.

Threw that game away in the coaches’ box and selection table. Every single poster on this board could see that Frampton should have played back and Howe forward. Kreuger would have given a lot more than AJ for that matter.

Just a waste of a game. Clown college stuff. We can’t afford to be giving games away by putting our players in impossible positions. What happened to setting our players up to succeed? So poor.
Hard to disagree with any of that.
Sigh.

Exactly what happened against Freo. Went completely defensive and got overrun in the last quarter and squibbed a 25 pt lead.
Tonight, went completely defensive in the last quarter, and got overrun and couldn't score!!!

Not sure how you come to that conclusion about our last quarter. They dominated midfield and locked the footy into their F50. We had no option other than to defend. Even when we did break through we failed to take our chances or coughed it up on transition.

Firstly you replied to someone else.

Secondly we lost.

Thirdly there were clearly things that could of been tried but no way of knowing the impact of those.

Given our Coaching groups record and the gallant effort of tonight, no I don't think they were wrong but maybe could of explored some changes.
Can't fault them for backing the group and plan in given last 2 years close results.

On review I'm sure you will see tweaks made next time we are in that position.
Good reply.
I would suggest that no amount of tweaks would help tonight.
We had to take every chance tonight, we got the chances but didn’t take enough of them.

Yep, considering the injury toll, it's amazing really that we're only just now suffering a loss, against a team that ran Sydney close in their last game by the way. Plus, the AFL gave us an absolutely punishing draw to begin the season, with so many games stacked closely together.
I reckon the biggest challenge now is for the coaches and player leaders to maintain belief throughout the team. If that can still be there when we get our best side back together, I have a feeling we can still give the finals one almighty shake.
Just gotta get to the byes unscathed, we’ll likely get most of the troops back post bye and we’ll be mostly full strength again

Frustrating as hell game. You could see how bad we missed Mason today. Our game plan doesn’t work when he’s not an option out on the wing.

Unfortunately Nick couldn’t do it all, he needed more help and no one really stood up with him in the last. Bont dragged them over the line, he’s a champion.

Need these next couple of weeks to hurry up and get some players back 😅

Treloar is the one who dragged them back into it with his 2nd and 3rd quarters.

Good reply.
I would suggest that no amount of tweaks would help tonight.
We had to take every chance tonight, we got the chances but didn’t take enough of them.
Be proud jmac, this was a huge effort by the boys. No matter how anyone looks at it

Another thing that doesn’t get mentioned is how thin our midfield was tonight without DegoeyPendlebury and Mitchell.Too much responsibility falls onto the shoulders of Nick Daicos while these players are out.I think he had 16 clearances out of the team’s total of 41 clearances,almost half.You can’t win games when you rely so much on one player to win the ball for you.
Yea too much experience out of the middle. Felt like it was a game that should've seen Sidebottom back on the wing to provide more experience in our midfield. Bytel is hopeless in that role.

Also rather than potting the inexperienced kids like Macrae/McCreery trying to fill that role in the midfield, it was disappointing that Lipinski didn't really step up as he's normally the extra midfielder that gets squeezed out into the HFF role when we have a full midfield.

Do you factor in our missing players?

I'm not talking about the quality of players out there bud, l'm talking about the move to have players back and flood into the opposition D50 to try and prevent them from scoring and in turn prevent us from taking the game on, and try to score ourselves. We were more then competitive when we were attacking with our transition from HB....

The Bont and Treloar had a field day. Who was on them?????????

No one in particular, Nick and Treloar had some 1v1 time throughout the game.

Bont after Q1 played defensively to impede Nick at the stoppages, and worked off him after he would move him out of the contest.

Very little time was put into thier mids it was just backing our in to win and team defending both the stoppage and wider field.

I keep hearing this but it’s not a big deal. Neither would have made a difference & neither should be on the list next year.
When Reef didn’t get over the concussion I knew we would have no full forward with any chance of kicking goals.
Johnson & Krueger aren’t up to it. But there are a few more on our list that aren’t up to it either.

Krueger will at least provide structure and a contest, whether he last past quarter time doing it is another matter.

Not sure how you come to that conclusion about our last quarter. They dominated midfield and locked the footy into their F50. We had no option other than to defend. Even when we did break through we failed to take our chances or coughed it up on transition.
Agreed. They had the total run of things in the last Q. We never ever even looked like getting any momentum

I'm not talking about the quality of players out there bud, l'm talking about the move to have players back and flood into the opposition D50 to try and prevent them from scoring and in turn prevent us from taking the game on, and try to score ourselves. We were more than competitive when we were attacking with our transition from HB....
Ok, but you are talking about a coaching strategy that has won us a flag.

So now it is wrong?

Pendles is a huge out. He coaches the team on field. Some of the younger guys are running around like headless chooks once the intensity lifted....

Sidebottom a great career, but he's just about done. If the coaches can only put him at HB, and there's no other spot for him then l wouldn't be playing him, and let him make the decision to call time.

Macrae looks to not have the fitness or decision making at senior level. He looks like he struggles to run games out.

No offence to Bytel, but why did we take him as a SSP? We should have just taken Long or Teakle...

Fin lacks weapons.

Review Round 12 = Collingwood 82-100 Western Bulldogs