Autopsy Round 13, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs North Melbourne

As mentioned above, the ridiculously tight interpretation for "late" bumps has got to go, they've stuffed this up recently with players very much in the contest and unable to slow down being penalised.

The player has to commit and can't slow down when they're that close. You don't know you're going to be milliseconds late when you're running in because you're unsure how long they will take to get boot to ball.

If they backed off from 3m away and the attacking player decided not to kick and tucked it under the arm and ran with it the defending player would be hung out to dry for backing off.

If it's less than rougly half a second it should be fair play.

Some of these free kicks are being paid for guys making contact 0.2 seconds after the kicker has disposed. They're very close to being great bumps that force the kick OOBOTF but are getting penalised with frees against.
Totally agree. Umpires showing a complete lack of understanding for the game. Have any of these blokes ever actually played footy?

And I think Green first made contact with Sicily while the ball was still touching his boot.

What pisses me off most of all though is the AFL backing these decisions in. Morons. With the Yeo one, McBurney himself says he "dived on the ball". This is a blatant lie. He picks it up while on his knees. Not diving on it at all, and certainly not what the rule/interpretation was bought in for.

Are the AFL the most shambolic administrators of an elite sport known to man (probably not, there's such a thing as the NRL after all)

You guys understand footy through an economic lens first and foremost? Maybe some suits in club land do but I’m surprised actual fans would. Gold Coast, GWS and St Kilda are all allocated more money than us. We also have $0 debt while the Saints are 11 million in the hole. Should they all be folded too? Should Melbourne have been folded when they were as shit as we are now and way less secure off field? Do you just wanna play Freo every week or something?
In other countries when national leagues are formed the minnow clubs stay in the lower league, only the clubs that can survive as part of a national league go up.

Comparing a club that’s had a decade to establish itself with a club that’s had over a hundred year is a non starter of an argument.

What an absolute shambles this club is., we are better off losing by playing the kids not has beens. im close to crossing over to the dockers at least they have some young talent coming through. We have nothing just b and c grade players.
We are in for years of pain this rebuild hasn't even started yet

Amazing troll account.

What an absolute shambles this club is., we are better off losing by playing the kids not has beens. im close to crossing over to the dockers at least they have some young talent coming through. We have nothing just b and c grade players.
We are in for years of pain this rebuild hasn't even started yet

Which club are you talking about?

We?

You are a Hawks follower arent you?

They AFL okay'd the Yeo decision, this game is ****ed

Of course VAFL House are ok with it.

They are seeing terrible umpiring affecting games every week. Several times a week.

GWS were shafted twice in the same decision and cost them 4 points.

And the flogs hate admitting it. The fools constantly change the interpretation of rules every off season. And now they need to do it during the season. Every second week they seem to "focus on an area of the game" the umpiring department has slackened off on and coaches and the media start asking why. Then they decide this week we will start calling these decisions differently than previous weeks.

Its a shambles. Id suggest one of the most amateur levels of officiating and management in world sports.

The only comfort ATM is my side isnt contending so at this stage it doesnt hurt us as much. Its annoying but we arent missing finals because of crap umpiring. I do feel for clubs and fans striving to make finals. And players and coaches playing or coaching for their careers

Are the AFL the most shambolic administrators of an elite sport known to man (probably not, there's such a thing as the NRL after all)

Yes, they are. For a multi-million dollar sporting body the administration of the league is very questionnable.

1. Secret herbs and spices free agency compensation.
2. Haven’t yet sorted out F/S and NGA drafting for this season despite season half-way done.
3. Teams having two byes before some teams are even to have a bye.
4. Only now is the league talking ‘fairness’
5. Holding onto ‘traditional clubs’ at the expense of a better more elite competition.
6. Locking onto big is better mentality.
7. Swinging in the breeze and ‘listening too much’ to Vicmedia.
8. Failing to recognise that marquee games make some teams ‘destination clubs’ over others.
9. Reacting rather that strategising decisions across a number of aspects of league operations.

I could go on.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Watching the McBurney video where he tries to justify the Yeo HTB decision; bloke looks and sounds exactly like what I’d expect the Head of Umpiring to be like. Creepy AF
I actually feel a bit sorry for the umpires themselves. They have no time to adjust to a rule change mid-season, and they are scrutinised for every decision.

I blame AFL management for the knee-jerk reaction rule changes that have been plaguing our game for decades. Its ****ed. Get a set of rules and stick to it FFS. The shambles that a mid-season rule change creates is a blight on our game, but the AFL makes them so the game is "more appealing". They seriously only care about the image and how much cash they can make from it.

I mean it would be 100% Eagles for Waterman to go straight out and off for season ending surgery as soon as Oscar returns.

That definitely sounds like something that would happen.
I thought the Waterman remarks in that transcript were the most interesting, if true?
That he supposedly has a banged up shoulder, played under duress (hence slipping in Hutchinson as insurance) and that he might go for season ending surgery -this was pretty big news to me!

I thought the Waterman remarks in that transcript were the most interesting, if true?
That he supposedly has a banged up shoulder, played under duress (hence slipping in Hutchinson as insurance) and that he might go for season ending surgery -this was pretty big news to me!
Except it's all trash. Waterman himself in a interview after the match said his shoulder is fine. was a minor training tangle up and they checked it out as a precaution and taped it as a precaution.

Well if that's true, it's good news. There is still the debate that bringing in a new player, Hutchinson, arguably underdone, at the expense of other players pushing in the Wafl, sends the wrong message to them? Was it a desperate move, a calculated gamble?

I reckon the AFL signing off on that Yeo decision is more a case of their unwillingness to admit that umpires decided three matches in one weekend. Either way they are still a disgrace. Yeo didn't "drag it in" he won a contested footy on the ground and was immediately tackled from behind. The AFLs position that he effectively shouldn't have taken possession in such a sitiuation is unbelievable.

The rule in question, 18.6.5, was brought in to address players at ground level diving on top of the ball and laying on it, or pulling the ball under themselves. Hence the words “underneath their body” in the rule.

In these 2 instances the player wasn’t actually taking possession of the ball so the usual rules around tackles couldn’t be applied. This enabled the player to slow play down. Hence the need to essentially deem them to be in possession and force them to knock the ball clear.

Rule 18.6.5 was not intended for cases where a player at ground level actually takes possession of the ball. It’s not needed in that situation because the other rules suffice.

McBurney says Yeo dragged the ball, conveniently he omits to mention that the rule requires him to drag it “underneath his body”.

If McBurney is right then every player at ground level who grabs the football and is fairly tackled is immediately holding the ball irrespective of whether they had prior opportunity.

Attachments

• IMG_3828.png
    IMG_3828.png
    46.2 KB · Views: 22
If McBurney is right then every player at ground level who grabs the football and is fairly tackled is immediately holding the ball irrespective of whether they had prior opportunity.
Exactly. What the AFL is saying is Yeo shouldn't have taken possession of a loose ball at CHB with a minute remaining while holding a 3 point lead.

Evan our favourite umpire/mate Dean Margetts has turned on us and doubled down on the Yeo decision (5:15 onwards).

I struggle to understand how being on your knees and taking possession to try and (legally) dispose of the ball is considered dragging it in?!

It seems like every muppet and twat out there is on the 'let's put the boots in on the Eagles!'

i have watched the Yeo incident countless times, and any which way you dice it, it is not holding the ball.

Autopsy Round 13, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs North Melbourne