Autopsy Round 14, 2022: St.Kilda v Essendon *SPUD'S GAME*

If there’s a joy at all in these sorts of losses (and I can assure you there is not) it’s seeing even the most rose glass wearing supporters turn into me and gringo2011 for a night.

Y’all should come live here guys.

I think we've seen enough from Clark to know he has a high ceiling. Just hasn't coped with his constant interruptions. Hopefully no one else decides to break his jaw for a good while and he can build up some form again.

Am I the only one that thinks Hunter Clark is far from the finished product?

His body shape doesn't seem to have changed at all since he came to the club. He shows sporadic flashes of brilliance then seems to go periods without influencing the contest at all. He's also a passenger when it comes to the defensive side of the game. I reckon I can count on one hand the amount of games where he's been consistent throughout 4 quarters.

We need to get creative with our list. He's terribly slow and can't chase. He almost has to develop into a Sam Mitchell mid or bust. Howard goes ruck / forward or out of the side. Hill is a liability off HB, get him on a wing.
Snags or Membrey, not both. Coops or a KPF who has presence. King is getting ahead of himself. We need to draft speed. Jones looks cooked. Hobbs would have been handy.

Thing is, if he is playing injured then that is simply more stupidity from the coaches. Has had a very ordinary year, has he been injured the whole way through?
Not whole way through I reckon when he copped that bad corky - since then - but they’re hoping he can play through - like that foul mouthed undisciplined Brisbane captain Zorko did with his Achilles a few weeks ago

No you’re spot on. His body shape is inexcusable for his years in the system. Look at Daicos’ rig in his first season.
View attachment 1426576
I got blasted at the start of the year when I said I just don’t see the drive from Clark to want to be a star player. You can tell when a player puts the effort in

Bottom 4 in the league for transitioning from D50 in to scores.

Today we moved the ball like a VAFA C Section Reserves side for 90% of the game.

Sinclair and Hill with costly turnovers at critical times hurt us too. The ball is meant to be in their hands for a reason.
Both comfortably in our best five, Sinclair made one bad mistake kicking to Clark who was screaming for the ball other than that he was clean all night. Hill made a couple of mistakes but again his run and carry helped bring us back into the game. Smashed in the midfield, Jones absolutely hopeless fumbles hangs on to the ball too long and misses targets, Clark underdone, patten badly out of form, Higgins very poor, Howard was terrible, burns isn’t afl standard and so on.

Essendon wanted it more, ran harder and outworked us for most of the night delivering a much needed reality check for those thinking this is a top four team. We need a quality key defender and mids, mids and more mids, we have Steele and daylight. If we have the temerity to overpay for de goey then we must be bloody delusional.

I got blasted at the start of the year when I said I just don’t see the drive from Clark to want to be a star player. You can tell when a player puts the effort in
Stevie Wonder (or Brad Hill) can see he puts no effort into his fitness. He certainly isn’t alone in lacking the “c*nt” needed to win a cup. We’re the 76ers in the NBA - another one of my god forsaken teams.

Gresham was the only thing that got us back into the game. He was a one man midfield and scored most of our goals. Scored as much as Snags and King combined.
I'm going to have to watch the replay because I saw a lot of what Gresh did that fitted into the selfish category, especially in the first half, standing off packs in a 2 V 2 waiting for a teammate to extract the ball for cheapie and trying to bite too much off in an attempt for the flashy play...like I say maybe need to watch the game again

I came. I saw. I regretted it.
Had a few beers with some friends I had not seen for a long time but that should not have been the highlight of the night.
I'm really disappointed with that effort. It was very ordinary
Hopefully we bounce back next week because I'm going to Sydney to visit my son and planned to go to the game.
The rollercoaster ride that is a StKilda supporters reality continues!

We got smashed on the wings as well.

I think we missed McKenzie and Wood. From the support they provide structurally as they run forward and drop back, but also as another target - we didn't look confident moving the ball forward at all.

I came. I saw. I regretted it.
Had a few beers with some friends I had not seen for a long time but that should not have been the highlight of the night.
I'm really disappointed with that effort. It was very ordinary
Hopefully we bounce back next week because I'm going to Sydney to visit my son and planned to go to the game.
The rollercoaster ride that is a StKilda supporters reality continues!
Good luck mate hope they put in a blinder at the scg 👍

Autopsy Round 14, 2022: St.Kilda v Essendon *SPUD'S GAME*