Game Day Round 14, 2023: Richmond v St.Kilda

We beat Sydney in Sydney but they've been ordinary and had key outs.

If we play like we did in the first half against the swans we'll get pumped tonight.

Really want to see a turnaround in form.

Truth is I just don't know what we're going to dish up. Could be really good... could be awful.

Hoping it's the former, but skills worry me.

If we play like we did in the first half against the swans we'll get pumped tonight.

Truth is I just don't know what we're going to dish up. Could be really good... could be awful.

We never know what will be dished up.
The lousy weather may take the skills component out of it though.

Reckon we get a touch up today and will lose by 4 goal plus

(I’m going the reverse jinx excuse and claiming it if we get up)

I'm a bit more confident than that. It's a real coin flip IMO. I reckon the club is setting up for a big Spuds game and might get ahead of themselves looking a week ahead. Heaps of signage and ads around for next week so I imagine they are drumming that into the players as a big time performance. We haven't always been great at being able to manage too much at once.

Whats the best option with parking for the MCG for ease in and out? Apparently no trains from Caulfield and there's a Buble concert on tonight? Traffic could be nasty getting in and out. Bringing my dad and kids up from the peninsula so happy for a walk within a reasonable distance.

My experience from the last 2 months is that you can't see it all so why bother trying - relax and just enjoy what ever is in front of you.

Honestly I'd be happier sitting in a villa in Bali drinking in the pool and going out to dinner or trips to the beach than looking at old shit half way round the world. I've done enough of that. I either want off the beaten track or relaxation.

Whats the best option with parking for the MCG for ease in and out? Apparently no trains from Caulfield and there's a Buble concert on tonight? Traffic could be nasty getting in and out. Bringing my dad and kids up from the peninsula so happy for a walk within a reasonable distance.

Parking around the G is shit. It might be easier to park near southern cross or the city and catch a train up to Richmond. They have closed a lot of the car parks at the G.

Marshall v Nankervis feels pretty important.

In that Gold Coast game which was probably our best performance of the year, we came up against a better midfield on paper but managed to run numbers through there and get on top. I imagine the idea here is to do something similar with guys like Sincs, Byrnes, Phillipou running through there alongside the regulars.

Everyone in the middle needs to step up, if we can match them at the coal face I think we will win comfortably.

What's the go with Membrey? Surely he's still in our best side.

Hope we can all come together and celebrate the great man Trent Cotchin tonight.

Sydney were also playing for their season and to get a win for Buddy in his 350th, and were playing at the SCG, where we hadn’t beaten them for 14 years.

Brisbane beat Sydney by 16 points at the Gabba last night. Only 2 points more than we beat them by at the SCG.

We might not be setting the world on fire, but we’re still very highly competitive and generally hard to score against.

What's the go with Membrey? Surely he's still in our best side.

Hope we can all come together and celebrate the great man Trent Cotchin tonight.

I think his knee issues are more problematic than the club are letting on. He has played with that knee strapped for sometime, so it may been an ongoing issue. I wouldnt be surprised if he has no cartlidge left in the knee and he is running around bone one bone. There is no medical fix for that, so he might end up in the Hamill category of having to retire early? Hopefully not...

Sydney were also playing for their season and to get a win for Buddy in his 350th, and were playing at the SCG, where we hadn’t beaten them for 14 years.

Brisbane beat Sydney by 16 points at the Gabba last night. Only 2 points more than we beat them by at the SCG.

We might not be setting the world on fire, but we’re still very highly competitive and generally hard to score against.
Thought we played extremely well last week. Doesn't need to look slick and fancy to be playing well.

Our only really shit performances were against Adelaide in Adelaide and the Hawks where we were on holiday a week early. Adelaide played high risk high reward fast footy and scored way over average for where they took shots from. Hawks had a real plan to undo us and we were happy to play clocked out lazy footy and still nearly won.

I think our footy stacks up this year. We are off the peloton and look a side that sits outside the top 4. If we can beat those around and below us most weeks and occasionally knock off a contender we might even knock one out of the top 4. This match is exactly the type of game we need to go all out to win to stay where we are.

I'm still nervous every week because we aren't playing pretty or dominant footy but we shouldn't be expecting losses any more.

Very informative thread. I have just learned that Granada and Grenada are different places.
So here’s another tidbit for you…
Granada is named for the pomegranate, which were originally brought to Spain by the migrants from Morocco.

Interesting though that although the town has motifs of pomegranates everywhere, they don’t grow them there and you can’t find any - except for the pomegranate gelato which is great, and very necessary in the heat.

I am soooo over hearing about Cotchin for an entire week.
Hope we not only crash the party but smash them as well - unlikely as that will be. I’ll take a one point win if need be.
I know! Will be turning on the game at exactly 7.25, not a second earlier. No half time and probably no volume