Review Round 15, 2021 - Brisbane Lions vs. Geelong

Who were your five best players against Geelong?

Never saw a game last year. First, and only, game this year. Wow. Stunned at 1/4 time, and we kept the foot down. The second, when the umps helped them to 3 goals in a row - but we rallied and won the 1/4. That broke them.

I have been critical of Adams, but he was supreme last night. Having Payne in the goal square set our defence up perfectly. The rest could play their game knowing the Rock was backing them up.

Watched the Selwood/Robertson matchup closely. Dev pantsed him. His work out of the centre, and disposal under pressure to put a team mate to advantage was sublime.

That said, Geelong were flat and ripe for the picking. September is a whole new ballgame.

Big O superb. Best game of the year but if he couldn't dominate against Geelong's rucks he never would. But I loved Oscar's work rate around the ground. Adams pantsed Hawkins again. In fact if Hawkins had been on the list to vote for I would have him in our best 5 he was so bad :).

Our pressure was immense all night. I half expected us to drop the level of intensity as the game wore on but we maintained for the entire 120 mins so that was outstanding. We didn't give them a second to think or a metre to move all night.

Loved Zork's game. With him up and about zipping around we look so much better and quicker. Dev Robertson is a ripper.

Loved the aggressive kicking. Rich is such a damaging kick when he backs himself. I don't think the football world appreciates him as much as they should but we all know how good he is.

Didn't like Daniher's dive. Bad look and now umps will be onto him for rest of the season. He also needs to stop trying to take unrealistic pack marks and giving away free kicks. Also he was awful again in the ruck. That said he kicked 4 goals and did some good things. Just needs to get the rubbish out of his game and continue to kick straight like last night. If Charlie and Hippy had kicked straighter we win by 10 or more goals.

Immensely enjoyable beating Geelong after all the years of them beating us and also after what happened earlier in the year and with their posters all saying we are overrated and they have us covered...I have to say they on a wide ground they look more vulnerable especially with their lack of leg speed.

After seeing what Adams produced last night, "clear upgrade" is not a statement I'd agree with.
Adams was one of the best out there and matched up better with someone like Hawkins.

Problem is, Adam’s gets caught out by a lot of matchups. He did look good on Hawkins who doesn’t work hard with leads anymore.

Wonder if it’s planned that kids like Dev, Prior and Kiddy will be on the bench quite a lot in the first half and can give us some run late when the sting is out of the game.
Think Dev is playing that well, he should be on as much as possible. Form likely to dip at some point being only his 2nd year, but really impressed with his performance thus far

Yes they looked good last night but two things. Geelong's forward entries were overall horrible because we applied the most pressure up the field that I've ever seen from this current Lions team. And secondly Birchall's had a really good year and consistently been one of our better players.

I'm happy enough to play him or not, we just need to get the mix right. He was crucial in that cut throat final against the Tigers last year, really lifted himself to a level I didn't know he had left in the second half.
I don't think his role is critical to our team and whilst his form has been reasonably good against the bottom teams, IMO his lack of speed is a liability against the top teams, and his kicking is not as elite or penetrating as it might have once been. I agree with you about picking the right team structure depending on opposition. Fages seems to stick and therefore I have no doubt Fages plays him this year, but I really hope he does not go around again next year, at the expense of one of the young players. Not unless he is prepared to stay on the Rookie list and plays VFL to assist.

Fwiiw I haven't minded Adams at all since he came in and I believe he'll clean up the hand and foot errors of judgement that occur from time to time as he gets more game time.

What I do like about him is that he's a big unit but has enough pace to run down smaller forwards. And his spoiling and shut down efforts have been improving every week.

I don't see that the criticism of him given the number of games he's played for us and the long rehab that he's had is warranted.

Fwiiw I haven't minded Adams at all since he came in and I believe he'll clean up the hand and foot errors of judgement that occur from time to time as he gets more game time.

What I do like about him is that he's a big unit but has enough pace to run down smaller forwards. And his spoiling and shut down efforts have been improving every week.

I don't see that the criticism of him given the number of games he's played for us and the long rehab that he's had is warranted.
Might just have been me but Adam's kicking seemed to have more penetration on it last night, not saying he's a gun but much less up and under than previous games.

Birch can come in and Ah Chee/Coleman out. I'd move coleman out probably, but I've overall liked his year but he's just a bit too in and out of games to hold his spot.

The real test will be what we do when Froggy and Dizzy are fit. Dizzy obviously comes straight back in, but the rest is a question mark. Payne's speed and athleticism offers more than Froggy but he doesn't have the experience or runs on the board.
Ah Chee appears to me to be a better option in the forward line, which is what you are indicating, and I too have liked Coleman but probably Ah Chee just the better option at this stage.

Dizzy does come straight back in. Whilst Payne has only played 8 or 9 games, he showed promise last year in the Prelim and performed his role really well on a number of different opposition players last night after not playing for about 11 weeks, so would think he gets better. One way to get 'runs on the board' is to play him as much as possible for the rest of the year.

IF J.Berry is available for selection in the next few weeks, where does that leave Dev? I have been really impressed with his efforts he was very strong last night on Selwood, and IMO keeps his spot

I am in no way seeing Birchall handle Dangerfield (or Ratugolea for that matter) like Payne did last night. Covering those guys just allowed the others to take natural match ups and helped the whole unit.

Where Birchall may have an edge is going forward where he gets involved in many more plays and takes the pressure off Rich. This is a valid argument but against Geelong I thought we actually moved the ball out of our backline better than we have all year.

Personally I would not be considering replacing Payne. Ah Chee only managed 2 disposals all night and generally was not given the big defensive match ups. I would have the pressure on him for his spot. I have come around to liking the flexibility he provides either forward or back but he has been played pretty much solely in the backline lately where he is not adding too much (at least offensively).
Payne - at this point - is a role player. KPIs are clear. Birch is a play maker - executing the courageous switch kick - as well as a wise head down back. Securing Hodge and Birch really brought composure, skill and culture and righted a floundering ship.

Sounds like you are almost describing Payne who has played 8 OR 9 games opposed to Adams who has played 50. Reckon Payne has significantly more upside. That said, Adams appears to be improving and good to see him consistently on the ground and he played very well last night, and seems to play against Hawkins very well.

I mentioned a few weeks back I believe club should offer Adams a contract, with some game triggers for a 2023 extension. Apparently Dogs made an attempt on Payne last year, would the Dogs try and tempt Adams back or would St Kilda make an offer?

To paraphrase Sir Arthur Conan Doyle- "the dog that didn't bark in the night". Selwood didn't- nor Hawkins. Nor Cameron. Nor Patty. Not Blitzards. Nor Higgins.

And therefore, look to who put them on the leash. Defence isn't always about possessions. I give you Ah Chee. Payne. Adams. Madden. Starcevich. etc.

Payne - at this point - is a role player. KPIs are clear. Birch is a play maker - executing the courageous switch kick - as well as a wise head down back. Securing Hodge and Birch really brought composure, skill and culture and righted a floundering ship.

He has not been executing the courageous switch kick and his lack of pace causes us issues with others needing to cover for him.

He has been better than I expect him to be but time waits for no-one and I think he is in no way a certain selection anymore. He is a role player and I question whether his strengths and weaknesses are net positive in comparison to other options.

Never saw a game last year. First, and only, game this year. Wow. Stunned at 1/4 time, and we kept the foot down. The second, when the umps helped them to 3 goals in a row - but we rallied and won the 1/4. That broke them.

I have been critical of Adams, but he was supreme last night. Having Payne in the goal square set our defence up perfectly. The rest could play their game knowing the Rock was backing them up.

Watched the Selwood/Robertson matchup closely. Dev pantsed him. His work out of the centre, and disposal under pressure to put a team mate to advantage was sublime.

That said, Geelong were flat and ripe for the picking. September is a whole new ballgame.
Fair point, Geelong had played a couple of top sides the past two weeks, and looked a little off, but our mid field pressure was intense and I just loved the performance of Dev.

Bailey is growing in confidence every game, and might get caught occasionally with the ball, but the positives of taking the game on outweigh that. Starc was also super strong and with Dev, club doesn't need to rush him into the mid field next year. Next big test in a few weeks against Richmond at the 'G'

The rule doesn't care where you make contact.
The rule is open to interpretation. As with most umpiring decisions, no one minds terribly as long as it's consistent. The umpiring department specifically issue tape and information on the way rules are going to be interpreted and umpired during a game.

For the Toby Greene rule, or the studs up rule, or for kicking in a marking contest - whatever you'd like to call it - this was a new interpretation, and it was inconsistent with previous umpiring.

That's why you referencing "Lions supporters with no idea about the rules" didn't go down too well.

Didn't like Daniher's dive. Bad look and now umps will be onto him for rest of the season. He also needs to stop trying to take unrealistic pack marks and giving away free kicks. Also he was awful again in the ruck. That said he kicked 4 goals and did some good things. Just needs to get the rubbish out of his game and continue to kick straight like last night. If Charlie and Hippy had kicked straighter we win by 10 or more goals.
Joe's shot after the siren @ 1/2 time. He was FORCED not to deviate off the line .. so no troubling thoughts about Plans B-Z. He nailed it. Basic stuff. When Eric really prepares for a set shot - he now seems to have a routine for shots from distance - he's improved out of sight.

Ah Chee appears to me to be a better option in the forward line, which is what you are indicating, and I too have liked Coleman but probably Ah Chee just the better option at this stage.

Dizzy does come straight back in. Whilst Payne has only played 8 or 9 games, he showed promise last year in the Prelim and performed his role really well on a number of different opposition players last night after not playing for about 11 weeks, so would think he gets better. One way to get 'runs on the board' is to play him as much as possible for the rest of the year.

IF J.Berry is available for selection in the next few weeks, where does that leave Dev? I have been really impressed with his efforts he was very strong last night on Selwood, and IMO keeps his spot

Bez takes Prior's spot who has been impressive at times, but a bit quiet the last 3-4 weeks. It is hard to be a winger for us as we are a very low disposal team but no reason to not bring J Berry back in when fit. Dev stays in for me.

Sounds like you are almost describing Payne who has played 8 OR 9 games opposed to Adams who has played 50. Reckon Payne has significantly more upside. That said, Adams appears to be improving and good to see him consistently on the ground and he played very well last night, and seems to play against Hawkins very well.

I mentioned a few weeks back I believe club should offer Adams a contract, with some game triggers for a 2023 extension. Apparently Dogs made an attempt on Payne last year, would the Dogs try and tempt Adams back or would St Kilda make an offer?

I do not think the dogs would try get Adams given how they felt about him leaving.

Geelong supporters crying foul about McInerney when they spent the whole week defending Selwood punching someone in the head while defenseless is the epitome of one-eyedness.
And the deliberate high tackle by Cameron on Neale that could easily have ended Neale's year.

I wonder if Birchall being a tad slow leaves our backline with more to do in comparison to what they looked yesterday. Payne, Madden, Starcevich (even Adams) have an extra gear to close down mobile forwards. Andrews looked free for aerial intercepts and zone off. It'll be interesting to compare the numbers with Birchall on the side vs Payne/Madden.

While Birchall and Rich kick ins look attractive, from a pure defense + close down pace aspects I'd prefer Payne and Madden on the side. I know its just one game but I really like what I saw last night.

Review Round 15, 2021 - Brisbane Lions vs. Geelong