Autopsy Round 15, 2023 : Hawks get burned by Suns

I actually wouldn't be against giving Meek a couple of games by himself and give Reeves a couple of weeks rest.

Tell him it's time for him to step up and show he can make it as a primary ruck in the AFL.

He's had enough time in the system and is old enough now to show he has what it takes.

He is a massive unit and at least stuck his knee into Blitz that day.

Meek will be fine. Has only played about 20 games. Needs time to develop. We got forced to take him off for a runner because the mids and hff were offering so little (Amon aside).
The question I think we all have though is whether both Reeves and Meek can play in the same side.

Both of them have essentially zero forward craft and if they are plonked in the forward pocket it's actually comical at times watching the opposition run off them.

Could be we would be better off with either Meek/Reeves as the primary ruck (Reeves superior in the ruck, Meek better around the ground) with Ramsden as a mobile second ruck/forward?

Yeh that Reeves/Meek combo has never really looked like working.

Neither are athletic enough to play that second ruck/forward role.

Problem is Reeves doesn't have the fitness (yet) to ruck solo but we could just use Kossy as a makeshift s cond ruck (might help him get more involved in the game as well).
What I don’t understand is we had Reeves and Meek playing but at the restart after Lewis second goal in the first we had Lewis at the centre bounce.

If we’re playing two rucks then surely that’s not needed?

I feel for those who paid to go to that game.
Hard to judge anything from these games other than our obvious lack of A grade stars in their prime (other than Lewis early).

WTF was that! We just weren't in the contest after the 1st qtr. Will Day was brilliant in preventing us getting flogged by even more, sadly this was my only highlight.

A very hard game to watch live. I took someone for their first afl game experience and it was hard game to sell! The game was played with little spirit and low skill level with little noise 🥴

• Take W.Day out of our midfield and it become fairly average. Worps,Nuke,Nash, Moore, are all solid players but not that star factor / footy I.Q that is W.Day.
  • Meek, Kosi are clueless at times to find the space and time to lead or present down the line. They often struggle to have impact on the contest or break even in it!
  • We Lacked leadership across the ground!
  • The Sicily factor, Day Covers the back, Moore plays in the middle.Which sounds great but in the end our Mids / Forward line both played like rubbish and got comprised!

Tough watch.

Post bye, no Sicily, away... not really shocked if honest.

Need to find a way for Mackenzie to kick the ball more. Everything is by hand right now. A bit like CMAC outside of last week.

One definitive comment I'm happy to make... Scrimshaw is not built for finals... his efforts, often one hand, are everything that accepts mediocrity

there really wasn’t any positives to take out of this loss. Horrible skills and no semblance of game plan

the bye seems to have taken most teams a week to adjust but that didnt seem to be an issue half way through the first.

and then having to listen Underwood growl, repeatedly, well you know you are up shit creek when she gets that going.

When Kosi kicked for our 4th goal I thought we were in with a sniff today.

Then GCS seemed to make an adjustment in the middle and we barely laid hands on it for the rest of the game. At one point the GCS ruck didn't even contest (possibly Casboult) and simply roved Reeves' tap unchallenged and shanked a kick forward. I think they goaled.

It's not possible to tell from the TV, but teams who successfully lock up the corridor to stop our transition seem to stifle all our run and creativity in the process. I'm guessing that Tassie and the MCG offer us a little more width which creates more opportunity to move the ball through the square.

We don't have the experience or the smarts to adjust on the fly yet, and I'm yet to see a coaching 'Plan B' as we're still learning 'Plan A'.

No real positives from any of that, except to reaffirm that Will Day looks as comfortable across half back as he does on the ball.

Without Sicily, we were no chance it turns out. Exactly as the AFL wishes. Meek a chance to be rubbed out for his bump, which would go unnoticed were he playing for a blue team or an AFL franchise.

This is the product the AFL has willed into being. A dull one-sided contest in front of a small crowd, won by the team with more and higher draft picks. Suspending players arbitrarily and capriciously fits nicely into such a contrived outcome.

What predictably short-sighted and ill-equipped managers the insular, PR-driven private school doucheboy fraternity the AFL have become. The AFL does not give one single faecal pellet about the state of the game, or the health and wellbeing of players suffering from concussion and its after-effects. It cares only to preserve their image in the short-term long enough for the lawyers to circle the wagons.

No, I did not enjoy today's game.

A very hard game to watch live. ..
The game was played with little spirit and low skill level with little noise

It was quiet as a church a lot of the time...albeit regularly punctuated by the PA system blaring out some shite whenever they scored a goal

Sent from my CPH1803 using Tapatalk

I reckon Meek gets harshly treated. A few times this year Reeves has been absolutely horrible yet Meek gets subbed. I really thought Ned would announce himself this year but still has a long long way to go

It was quiet as a church a lot of the time...albeit regularly punctuated by the PA system blaring out some shite whenever they scored a goal

Sent from my CPH1803 using Tapatalk
So a fair amount of shite in the last half

At least you get to enjoy some warmer weather mate

Just looking for positives. 😜

Autopsy Round 15, 2023 : Hawks get burned by Suns