Round 17 Trades

I think the whole playing Gold Coast thing is a little overrated, Sheils scored 114 against them last time, good but not extraordinary. You would have expected a huge score from him against an ordinary Brisbane side but he produced one of his worst of the year, his better scores have been against Geelong and Collingwood.

I'm having a similar dilemma myself, grab Daisy Thomas this week or wait a week and grab Sheils, or even another 2 weeks and get Redden?

daisy man DEF, shiels/redden i would still be worried for some reason even though they have been fantastic!

Daisy Thomas is looking more and more tempting the longer the week goes on, his form over the past 8 weeks has been amazing, was well on his way to a 150+ on the weekend if it wasn't for being subbed.

same position as u man, daisy or like a nicky dal or thomo...

read on twitter that daisy trained well (Dale Thomas trained well today at Gosch's Paddock)....he is looking more and more likely to be the man this week :)

Narrowed it down to....

Option 1

This Week
Trade Isaac Smith to Sylvia.

Means Sylvia plays this week and Mzungu would be my F8

Option 2

Next week trade Mzungu to Sylvia.

Means I have to play Prestia/Lynch/Richardson this week and leaves I. Smith as F8

Only 5 k short of Mzungu to Sylvia this week and Mzungu has BE of 3 and Sylvia 106 (Fanfooty) so should make up that 5 k easily for trade next week.

Thoughts appreciated :thumbsu:

Heres my positives for each.

Keeping I. Smith = much better run home, however, has Carlton in round 22 when I would need to cover Chappy. Prefer his scoring potential over Mzungu.

Keeping Mzungu = North Melbourne in the round where I need to cover Chappy. Means I can play Sylvia this week instead of Prestia.

Thinking of trading Duigan to Shaw. Won't leave me with much cash left, but I don't want 3 Carlton players in my backs during finals anyway. Also he has only 3 scores above 90.

Only 3 trades left but I think my midfield will rack up some big scores Swan, Pendlebury, Boyd, Ablett, Mitchell and J Selwood.

3 trades and $35, 100 in the bank.

Thinking of trading out Ablett as he might play sore against the Tigers which will affect his scoring potential. Should I hold on to these precious trades or just get in someone such as Hodge (after his bye) or Redden?

My backline is: Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Broughton, Heppell, Adcock, Stanley (Lower, Hibberd, Golby....and Ben Jacobs in mids)

Have 300K in the bank and was looking to bring in Fisher this week followed by Suckling (or Birchall) the week after for Hibberd and Lower/Stanley...but now both of those guys have pretty high BEs so might sit tight on those trades.

Are there any other trade up targets I'm missing? (since this 300K is burning a hole in my pocket!) ...Obviously Enright and Scotland but I'm trying to avoid finals byes

Ahh yes my old mate Heath Shaw. I just don't know if I can trust him in a final though...He's been slightly more consistent this year but he doesn't mind throwing in a few sub-65 games in with his decent scores.
Hmmm it's either Heath this week or hold out a week or two for Fisher and Suckling I reckon...tough call

Well, Shaw doesn't have any more byes, and you know that although he puts in a few 60 scores, he also is capable of double that.

Given your current backline and your hesitancy with Enright and Scotland, I can't think of any other premium defenders you can pounce on.

Thinking of trading Duigan to Shaw. Won't leave me with much cash left, but I don't want 3 Carlton players in my backs during finals anyway. Also he has only 3 scores above 90.

Only 3 trades left but I think my midfield will rack up some big scores Swan, Pendlebury, Boyd, Ablett, Mitchell and J Selwood.

Duigan has pretty much peaked. Has a BE of 85 this week. Shaw is about the lowest he's gonna be, and a BE of 63. I'd say you should translate that thought into action.

3 trades and $35, 100 in the bank.

Thinking of trading out Ablett as he might play sore against the Tigers which will affect his scoring potential. Should I hold on to these precious trades or just get in someone such as Hodge (after his bye) or Redden?

:eek:

I'm looking at a donut in my backline unless i trade. I can afford to do Puops to anyone up to 365k (i already have Shaw, Lids, Goddard). Fisher, Broughton, Stefan Martin are probably the best options? If anyone can help me split em, that'd be great.

what is the news on callinan, is he likely to come straight back in after the hammy?

i want to do one last upgrade and need a bit of coin to do it:

want to do i smith to callinan then bewick or hibberd to dale thomas...

i have a backline with lids, gibbs, goddard as the dual position

i have jacobs and hibberd in the mids.

is it worth having two DPP in each line or will one suffice?

Harris to callinan
Krack to Pendles or Redden

I am going for my league and desperately need a win this weekend - leaning towards Redden

Hmmm Hibberd out leaves me in a bit of a quandry. I would have no emergency in the backs this week

Enright, Gibbs, Deledio, Adcock, Fisher, Otten, Lower (Puopolo, Hibbberd, O'Keefe)

Only problem is I have Goddard in the mids covering for Mitchell who I would DPP back to defence with Hibberd next week.

Considerg generating some cash to upgrade one of Otten, Lower or Adcock to a Hawk back next week but its not looking like its worth it, especially considering Otten and Lower have no byes left. 6 trades left I think i'll leave it this week and chance it with no back or forward emergency

Just went Howard -> Talia to save a zero but to net 50k and create Talia/L.Thompson double as backs 9 & 10, 1 of which should be guaranteed to play for rest of year.

What I like most about the trade is not the 0 coverage but the 50k I gain which leaves me over 80k in the bank which I can use to get Ablett if (And only if) one of my mids gets injured or for other injuries. I was considering going all out and doing Smith -> Rookie and Howard to Shaw leaving me with still some coin the bank but a very deep backline of:

Gibbs, Scotland, Suckling, Shaw, Goddard, Deledio, Duffield
(Heppell, Puopolo, Thompson)

Decided against that mainly due to Heppell's recent form and because of the few trades I have left.

Hibberd not playing throws a small spanner into the works. Ideally, I'd trade him this week (upgrade or downgrade), as he's quickly plateauing, but nothing is really viable at the moment:

Downgrade options:
Callinan in the mids. However, this destroys my MID-DEF link, which in turn destroys my Heppell to Ablett trade plan. However, is Heppell to Ablett, dare I say it, too sideways? Given the salary predictions on TooSerious, doing this trade would require less than 100K pre-Round 19 =D. But would I be better off trading Bartel to Ablett when Ablett bottoms out?

Upgrade options:
Shaw or Suckling in DEF. I prefer Suckling, as he's playing GC in Round 24. I shouldn't overrate the significance of this, but when you compare it to Shaw playing Geelong in Round 24, it's a decent factor. The trouble is, Suckling has the bye this week, which destroys the point of trading Hibberd for Suckling this week. No other premium defenders I don't have (got Gibbs, Enright, Deledio, Goddard, Fisher, Adcock and Heppell) really give me confidence at the moment. Broughton's two tons were against the two Queensland teams, which aren't the best at the moment...

I have gone aggresive again this week, leaving me with one for the year. I have traded Brent Harvey for Scott Thompson (Adel). Two main reasons were that Brent Harvey was in doubt and his scores were pretty crap for a premium. Thompson has been in great form for the year and against Essendon in the past.

My 2nd trade was Yarran to Pavlich. Yarran was my unique pick and has scored okay. Pavlich has been scoring super recently and has no byes left.

Only focussed on improving my Overall Ranking.

My last trade be used on an a injury.

what is the news on callinan, is he likely to come straight back in after the hammy?

i want to do one last upgrade and need a bit of coin to do it:

want to do i smith to callinan then bewick or hibberd to dale thomas...

i have a backline with lids, gibbs, goddard as the dual position

i have jacobs and hibberd in the mids.

is it worth having two DPP in each line or will one suffice?
Callinan will be back next week.

My last trade be used on an a injury.

One trade to cover another 7 rounds of footy??

Makes me laugh how people think they can get by with a few trades so far out from the finals.

Injuries, restings, general soreness and the finals byes will rip the heart out of so many teams this year

One trade to cover another 7 rounds of footy??

Makes me laugh how people think they can get by with a few trades so far out from the finals.

Injuries, restings, general soreness and the finals byes will rip the heart out of so many teams this year

Its an interesting one to see how it will play out for the remainder of the season. Im not sure there will be as many restings as expected. This is due to a few things. Strong competition for ladder spots, improved list management and rest with byes already.

However i say its interesting because people could go all out and use all the trades and have players for example such as Heppell B8, Montagna M7, Higgins F8 with dual position into the midfield from defense and the forwards. The argument for going all out like this is that these players on the bench usually play each week (so they arnt wasted this year compared to other years) with the bye instead of a player such as Mzungu, I.Smith, Jacobs ect who might not give you the scores of the players mentioned above.

So you actually continually gain on the competition by trading all out. Also i think people very well consider Montagna, Higgins and Heppell in their respective positions as premiums (for case sake, i dare say most have kept Heppell as a B7). So even if you are to have a LTI injury and one of your prime midfielder misses for 3-4 weeks or whatever, than Montagna can take over for this time and you can use the others through DP to cover for byes or than use the Mzungu, Jacob types for bye cover which is what others would be doing anyway.

I certainly see a reason for it, however as i said will be good to see how it plays out and it really depends on how many players are rested ect at different times throughout the season. But i also ask, even if a premium is rested your not going to trade them out anyway. Your going to look at bringing in maybe a premium as a B8,M7,F8 to maximize points which is what others would have already done by using their trades earlier on.

I still see it fairly important to keep a few trades 2-3 for the rest of the season. If a ruckman like Cox goes down than you need to be able to cover them, or you could lose a substantial amount of points.

I think the number of trades you require is a very open thing this year.

How many players do you have from Geelong/Carlton and Essendon will play a large part.
I have tried to discard any cash cows or borderline keepers for keepers from other sides as I am already entrenched in my leagues 2nd spot. As a result I have Gibbs/Enright/ Hibberd (Trade to Birchall/Suckling next week) in backs. Selwood/Bartel(Picked up this week as M7 anyway) in mids and Johnson in my Forwards.

A team with more players may need a trade to avoid either a donut or avoid playing a player who may not score well enough to clinch the game. I think the current system has made this year more difficult but it has also made a clear segregation between a league and overall team. Overall teams will likely have less trades as they covered suspensions / byes where a league team will be more likely to hold a player through suspension/injury or take a lower score/donut through the byes.

I agree with Decipher, the number of trades is very open. I've got six left at the moment, and I'm unlikely to use to them immediately. Planning on having one or two left for Round 24, but might use the other four or five before then:
Didak to Callinan
Smith to Curnow (pure cash)
Heppell/Bartel to Ablett
Heppell/Hibberd to Suckling
Howe to Fyfe/ROK

If I can keep, say, two or three trades for finals (bringing in Suckling and/or Fyfe/ROK, and my one undefined trade), I think that's pretty balanced. One trade to cover for a LTI should be enough, unless I get terrible luck. However, I'd rather take a risk (not more than one LTI to a keeper) and it pay off, than not take a risk at all. You can't do well in DT, IMO, unless you take a calculated risk or two here or there.

Who should I trade out? Hibberd, Puopolo, Duigan or Jacobs?

Hibberd or Duigan IMO. Hibberd's only set to rise another 20K tops in the next four or five rounds (see TooSerious.com). Duigan has already plateaued. Puopolo doesn't have any more byes for the rest of the year, so he's a good D8/D9, and Jacobs IIRC still has a little way to rise.

Callinan will be back next week.

Thanks, fellow Adelaide supporter :D. Probably going to hold off trading this week. The only reason I'd trade Didak to Callinan would be to free up cash for an upgrade, and no upgrades look any good at the moment. Might do Hibberd to Suckling next week, perhaps.

Round 17 Trades