Autopsy Round 2, 2022: Fremantle v St.Kilda

What about it?

We complained when Ben Long copped a suspension for that bullshit excuse, why would we advocate for others to be rubbed out too? It’s a terrible precedent and ultimately it doesn’t make the sport any safer. It was fully accidental in a legal action.

Not every head knock can be legislated out of the game. Not without fundamentally changing the game as we know it - and I don’t want the game to change to the point where it’s fully unrecognizable.
Just pointing out the total BS of the Long ruling …but you can bet your bottom dollar it’ll happen again when Long is involved in an incident. And that’s what pees me off.

Brayshaw knows how to find the footy

Funny that when you use high picks on mids you get good mids. Cerra, Brayshaw and Serong all high production. For some reason our trick of buying half backs to convert hasn't had the same success rate.

It'll be interesting to see what they do with Sinclair once Jones and Clark are back. He looks great in midfield. Obviously he's great at half back too, but I could see him pushing to another level with a season in midfield.

He has to play mids now, he's the clearance mid we've been needing. HBs are cheaper and easier to find. We could train up Connolly even or if Clark does come on in the midfield give him the job full time.

Showed enough.

I like the fact he flies for his marks, that's an aspect of his game I was not aware of.

You can see he's got a good leg on him too.

To me his kicking was the thing that let him down funny enough. He looks lively though. He's very raw but he's not too far off really taking off. He's caught up to the pace quickly. I'd keep playing him until he looks tired.

Snags with 10 scoring shots in the first two rounds if only he could convert he’d be leading the coleman
He's had two bad games and everyone thinks he is a poor converter.

He's kicked 31.22 since he joined the Saints. Close enough to 60% for someone who is mainly taking split second snaps on either foot.

Better than Membrey and King

I know he can be frustrating, but gee what a player Higgo is

Week in week out he gets 5/6/7 goal scoring opportunities. many small forwards barely impact games but he just continues to get into the right positions.

Needs to convert at a higher rate, but I'm so happy we traded for him.

On Pixel 4 XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

He'll have his days when he frustrates but when he's on he's a gun. I was worried that we'd sucked the confidence out off him but he's back.

Gee I really don’t think that was anything to be happy about.

If that was Carlton of the past fortnight. They win that by 8+ goals.

King Higgins Battle. Fantastic

The rest were pretty average.

Play like this again next week. Richmond comfortably beat us.

We needed to win and we won ugly. It showed some resilience that we didn't used to have. They are a very mentally weak side. That will get some confidence up at least. Hopefully that's pushing us towards clicking into gear. If we'd kicked straight it was an easy win and the umpires kept them in it most of the night. That was WCE level of armchair ride. They umpire like it's a 1980s WWF bout over there.

He's had two bad games and everyone thinks he is a poor converter.

He's kicked 31.22 since he joined the Saints. Close enough to 60% for someone who is mainly taking split second snaps on either foot.

Better than Membrey and King
I think the issue with not just snags but the bull of out guys atm is confidence and getting shots in their ideal spots. If we miss one oh dear we miss two please god and three and it’s all over. Not that this ever gets considered but it’s the advantage of someone like Sharman in that he seems to not lose confidence in his set regardless.

We needed to win and we won ugly. It showed some resilience that we didn't used to have. They are a very mentally weak side. That will get some confidence up at least. Hopefully that's pushing us towards clicking into gear. If we'd kicked straight it was an easy win and the umpires kept them in it most of the night. That was WCE level of armchair ride. They umpire like it's a 1980s WWF bout over there.
Well said we just have to stay afloat untill we start to get confidence and some guys back

I’m excited to see how Nasiah develops from here. Thought he’s game was good for his first taste and definitely needs to get a block of games and get a run at it
Yea love he was flying for everything and his disposal will get better. Very few if any debutonts are able to kick the ball perfectly from their first game even the gun kicks. My boy Leo the obvious exclusion. 😂

Gresham's disposal was disappointing again tonight.

Seems to be the one thing holding him back from being a quality mid.

But that inboard kick that set up King's run of goals. My god, it was insane, he's not a pretty footballer but he changes games, if he gets a bit cleaner under pressure and ups his production he's a unique and a pretty special player that would be up the very pointy end of the comp. Even as a slightly frustrating almost player he's a bit of glitter on the beige blanket.

I agree but take the win, hopefully a confidence boost and build on it.

I thought a few maligned players took an important step forward tonight, e.g. Crouch, Hill.

I reckon especially early that Byrnes really stepped up too. He was back playing the wing high half forward hybrid role and really added some pressure and some really good kicks and contest wins. He was abysmal last week but really picked back up.

Fair enough

I doubt we will ever see that back line.

Run from defence is very important in the modern game
With the wingers and mids pushing back there's running options any time after the ball has been in the D50 for 5 seconds or more.
If you've got guys that can intercept then hit a target 40m up the ground it's far better for offensive drive and also forces the oppo to run the ball forward slowing their scoring.
Each philosophy has it's positives and negatives, l just think simple effective defense is a foundation. Get that right and the rest falls in to place much easier.

A "dump tackle"? WTF is that? Sling tackle, dangerous tackle maybe but the umpire took a dump on us with that call.
It was a perfect tackle, he got him rolled him and his shoulder hit the ground not his head
They pay that, but King gets a hip to the head and play on.
The umpiring I thought was ok, but both of those were howlers.
We got the rub of the green in the third. Higgins off the ground goal was fortunate and we would have spewed if it was a Freo goal.

I’m sure Port weren’t too worried about their opponents going into this weeks game

Port lost so many of their best players last week on top of their already significant outs. They were nearly as decimated as West Coast. I think they knew what was coming. They nearly couldn't keep a full side on the field the week before as they dropped like flies. The Hawks took advantage of it and they were piss weak letting it get out to such a huge margin but it wasn't a full strength side.

Ideally Jones back into the midfield & Sinclair backline to add that extra drive.

Would bring in Long for Butler. Billings for Byrnes. Sharman for Wood. Keep the Wang.

How about Jones going back to the HBF and Sincs on ball? I think we need inside ball winners and Jones is more Stuv than Olly Wines. Maybe rotate them off HB.

Big shout out to Hill. Hostile environment, lots of pressure, he just kept going for it, running and kicking with dare despite missing a few. He was massive for us and a big part of why we won the game.
Can I say about Hill. People get frustrated when he turns it over a bit. But he has always done so.
Point is if he is getting 30 possessions and half a dozen marks, he is going to be dangerous.

We are learning to free him up a bit more and he is improving all the time.

We won't look as drab with him and NWM in the team.

Autopsy Round 2, 2022: Fremantle v St.Kilda