Review Round 2, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. West Coast

Who were your five best players against West Coast?

• [3] Jaspa Fletcher

• [4] Callum Ah Chee

• [5] Josh Dunkley

• [6] Hugh McCluggage

• [7] Jarrod Berry

• [8] Will Ashcroft

• [9] Lachie Neale

• [10] Levi Ashcroft

• [13] Logan Morris

• [14] Sam Day

• [15] Dayne Zorko

• [16] Cam Rayner

• [26] Conor McKenna (sub)

• [28] Will McLachlan

• [30] Eric Hipwood

• [31] Harris Andrews

• [33] Zac Bailey

• [35] Ryan Lester

• [38] Bruce Reville

• [40] Jack Payne

• [43] Noah Answerth

• [44] Darcy Wilmot

• [46] Oscar McInerney

Results are only viewable after voting.

Worth noting Rayner had a game high 8 tackles. Our next best forward was Day with 3

Would’ve been a solid game if he didn’t turn the ball over so much
His tackling and pressure was reasonable. Just struggled with both getting and doing anything with the ball

Frog and Harris saved us numerous times. I thought Hipwoods game was important. Some truly awful umpiring and Eagles were playing with the intent to stop us moving the ball quickly. All sorts of holds and from on contact. We didn’t adjust well to them using the wings often.

How that call was not made on the high on Ashcroft defies any explanation. Literally everyone knew it was high and stopped playing. Every player, every spectator knew it but, apparently, not the umpires. I hope they are embarrassed when they are forced to watch that, because they should be.

Harley Reid is a grubby unit.

Hipwood went to Allen at full time for a chat. Was trying to lip read…. Something like “hey mate any chance you can sign with us I’m not good at the number one forward role”
Allen giggled and said “yeah no worries but you’re not the number one forward anyway… Morris is… so don’t stress”

I know Harley is immature but I'd love to get him at a club like ours. The guy has strength and breakaway pace and just needs the appropriate mentoring alongside good players to be an absolute gun.

Harley giving the finger to the crowd is one of the least important things ever.

Him flopping and laying about 3-4 late hits on Zorko is very lame. Just focus on your footy Harley and make sure to drive up the trade price for hawthorn please.
I think Zorks loves to get in the head of young players like Harley and he obviously succeeded in throwing him off his game.

I agree with others that the umpiring is reaching new lows but it didn't bother me today because we might have gotten the best of it.

Oscar's obviously not right. Ah Chee's not quite right either but we mightn't have won it today without him.

I know Harley is immature but I'd love to get him at a club like ours. The guy has strength and breakaway pace and just needs the appropriate mentoring alongside good players to be an absolute gun.

Shockingly there was a great conversation between Adam Simpson and Kane on crunch time a few weeks ago regarding Harley - Simmo basically admitting that his professionalism away from the footy club just isn’t there right now.

He’ll be an amazing player but at the moment isn’t fit enough to dominate and is getting sucked in to doing a lot of dumb stuff on the field. Honestly kind of refreshing given how NDaicos and Will are pretty much football playing robots.

Daniher leaves a gaping hole but we're talking the best player ,unique in his role in the AFL so we now have what we have and need to make the best of it. Day moves like a glacier but he got in the way and did some good things today so hopefully he gets better with more game time. Don't see much difference between he and Fort , just depends on what we're after on the day.

Still a bit rusty, but that will tighten up. Skill errors, that will improve. Was a bit lazy in the first half, maybe worked in our favour in the end to be able to finish stronger in the heat n humidity. I'll take 2 scrappy wins to start the season over our previous starts.

Neale spoke about that laziness after the game. I think they'll go to work on it. That being said it's been an issue quite often

Wonder if Reville didn't cover for it on the wing as well as Fletcher usually would

Shockingly there was a great conversation between Adam Simpson and Kane on crunch time a few weeks ago regarding Harley - Simmo basically admitting that his professionalism away from the footy club just isn’t there right now.

He’ll be an amazing player but at the moment isn’t fit enough to dominate and is getting sucked in to doing a lot of dumb stuff on the field. Honestly kind of refreshing given how NDaicos and Will are pretty much football playing robots.

Hasn't achieved anything and the bloke's being showered with $2M+ contracts. At the moment it seems everything is being served up to him in a silver platter without him needing to do anything major in terms of delivering in the big stage.

Hope Bombers don't fall for this, he'll be like an albatross around their necks for the next 10 years.

You don’t want to be peaking at the start of the year, however, you still need to bank wins. Despite not being anywhere near our usual standard we are 2-0. That’s all that matters. Seen a few posts worrying about our forward structure without Daniher. By round 5/6 when we have a month of footy under our belt and our ball movement begins to click again I don’t think it will matter with the amount of quality we have up the field. Hipwood and Day will likely build into the season as well and Charlie & Lohmann will return.

We also have Doedee and Coleman to integrate into this side and their elite skills will only improve our ball movement. Worth remembering we had 4 weeks less to prepare compared with majority of teams. Can’t wait to see how we look in a month or so. The quality is still there as we have seen the first 2 weeks grinding out wins when it mattered most.

Massive shoutout to Fletcher, Dunkley and Berry. The only three who contributed from start to finish imo. Neale, Ah Chee, Zorko, Lester and Andrews class showed as the game went on. Payne had an underrated game and McLachlan a nice debut with the 2 goals.

TLDR Depsite a scratchy start we have got the 2x wins. As reigning premiers the last two years, Geelong started 0-5 and the Pies 0-3 so we are on track to buck the recent trend at this early stage of reigning premiers falling in a heap.

Just watched the highlights and the Eagles' players kicked a lot of goals really highly skilled and perhaps a bit lucky. It came back to mean and we improved. Quite a few Eagles had good games, but many dropped away. Also, McGovern just ignores the stand rule LOL.

I’m going to wait until Charlie and Lohmann are back before making any conclusions on the forward line. Day didn’t have a great day but I’d like to see more.

Hasn't achieved anything and the bloke's being showered with $2M+ contracts. At the moment it seems everything is being served up to him in a silver platter without him needing to do anything major in terms of delivering in the big stage.

Hope Bombers don't fall for this, he'll be like an albatross around their necks for the next 10 years.

I hope they agree with you, leave him to other clubs and remain irrelevant for another 10+ years!

Frankly he’s an idiot if he takes the bombers money over hawthorn.

Review Round 2, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. West Coast

Write your reply...