Autopsy Round 2, 2025 vs North @ Marvel Stadium

Can't believe the bar has been lowered to a ten goal loss to Norf
Cant believe its only 3 years after a flag. This speed run will never be beaten.

Been to both games so far.
  • Salem looks completely shot, games too fast for him, teams are exposing him in transition
  • Lever does a lot of yelling and organising but without May gets lost and in no man's land
  • I thought Bowey was a decent kick, I was wrong.
  • Viney is too slow and fumbly
  • Max needs to stay out of the forward line, let them just suck on their own.
  • Fritsch would be dropped from every other teams forward line
  • Howes does the occasional nice thing but then completely buggers something up, there is no middle.
  • Too many VFL level plodderz
  • We have the lowest combined footy IQ in the league, stupid predictable handballs, no flair, no fun.
  • Chandler was great, Lindsay good, Henderson decent
  • Oliver's left foot snap from 45 was ludicrous
  • Marvel can go get ****ed for closing half the top level and forcing me to sit halfway up a sweaty North supporters armpit

I feel terrible for the players. Running around like headless chooks under instruction from a coach who has no idea what he's doing. Goodwin is so bad, I just about absolve most players from any blame at all.
I agree, but what I will say is they are the ones who have decided not to speak up and get him moved on, they could have for sure. If youre going to put in a lack of effort like they did today it comes with the territory im afraid. They are very well paid public figures. Not saying id do this myself but if people want to go feral after a game like that so be it.

I don’t think the players deserve that, but I do believe it was in part a protest game from them. They don’t seem to enjoy the gameplan and there’s been signs of serious discontent for a while.

I don't get the vitriol at the players. Yeah they didn't play well but everyone can see the issues stem from coaching, not lack of effort.
Dont know what you were watching but there was plenty of obvious lack of effort today. Just lazy blazing away and piss weak tackling. All got too hard for them in the last quarter. Anyway, best result for the interests of the club, need more of that lack of effort. 🤗

Yet wants to go to Carlton to escape it.
A bit like Brock McLean's courageous move to Lygon St to escape the scourge of tanking.

Exact post I was referencing. Legendary BigFooty moment.

Overview:
Norf looked stronger, faster and better at overhead marks over all the ground.
Norf's delivery to their forwards was excellent (although there was very little pressure on them).
norf had a plan and implemented it.
The demons were a rabble, rudderless. Many many Melbourne players avoided putting their body on the line, instead sticking an arm out and hoping for miracle.

The obvious:
JVR and Fritsch in 2 games have put in halfhearted efforts. Why is this so?
Some goal kicking practice is required (all of the midfield and forwards) - starting with you Max.
The defence gets a free pass, they were under the hammer all day, the rest of the team avoided putting pressure on Norf's ball movers.
Forward line and midfield and clearance coaches need to be replaced.
We're on our way to 0-5 and a big "Told ya".

And:
Not picking on Bowey, but with his current skill set, I reckon he is too short to be in defence. Midfield? Forward?

Now I will read what others say.

Been to both games so far.
  • Salem looks completely shot, games too fast for him, teams are exposing him in transition
  • Lever does a lot of yelling and organising but without May gets lost and in no man's land
  • I thought Bowey was a decent kick, I was wrong.
  • Viney is too slow and fumbly
  • Max needs to stay out of the forward line, let them just suck on their own.
  • Fritsch would be dropped from every other teams forward line
  • Howes does the occasional nice thing but then completely buggers something up, there is no middle.
  • Too many VFL level plodderz
  • We have the lowest combined footy IQ in the league, stupid predictable handballs, no flair, no fun.
  • Chandler was great, Lindsay good, Henderson decent
  • Oliver's left foot snap from 45 was ludicrous
  • Marvel can go get ****ed for closing half the top level and forcing me to sit halfway up a sweaty North supporters armpit
Agree with all that. Highlight the fumbles, which caused lots of laughter at my place.

And why isn't it called "The Good, The Bad & the Fugly" anymore? Those categories were so applicable to MFC post-mortems.
Autopsy feels appropriate at the moment.

But main reason I'm using it is because GBF is Biff's thing. When he's back on board, we'll go back to it.

There was a distinct lack of effort from a number of players. Regardless of how bad the coaching might be, this is not acceptable in any football team.
Do you want me to name them?

Petty was decent until the last Q
Chandler tried his guts out
Lindsay continues to impress

Not only were we unwatchable, so was the standard of footy overall. Most of our goals were from rank North turnovers. We lose that by nearly a 100 against most other decent teams.

There was a distinct lack of effort from a number of players. Regardless of how bad the coaching might be, this is not acceptable in any football team.
Do you want me to name them?
That human meat axe Paul Curtis (all 75 kgs of him) bouncing off and breaking tackles when surrounded by three dees players (Oliver was one of them can't remember the others) in the third quarter summed it all up

Not sure if it's the one I'm thinking of but I recall Oliver doing the one handed attempt to tackle maybe it was all of them. For me the lack of tackling from Viney is concerning considering he doesn't have much going for him. Our biggest contributors to tackling were Lindsay and Henderson both 2 gamers. It's why I like Aidan Johnson he genuinely wants to hurt people out there, unfortunately got rubbed out for it.

When i talk past F/S recruits to mates and mention if they've ever heard of Billy Stretch?

"No"

Funny, because i expect to hear the same thing some day when i ask them about Taj

(At this rate anyway)

Autopsy Round 2, 2025 vs North @ Marvel Stadium

Write your reply...