Autopsy Round 23, 2022: St.Kilda v Sydney

Agree

Agree -Hanners would have been the perfect fit even at 15 games a year -the problem i see with Clark he doessnt appear to have any physical strengh still got a teenagers body or not even
Who has a decent rig on our list - Battle, Members, Sincs, Tom Campbell. Is there something in it that most of our players have very little muscle definition?

Thought this bloke did all we could ask and more. There have been premiership winning teams with worse rucks imo

View attachment 1487145
Did they even make any kind of fuss that it was his debut game for us?
was lost in all the retirements I suppose.
I’d sign him for another year.

Who has a decent rig on our list - Battle, Members, Sincs, Tom Campbell. Is there something in it that most of our players have very little muscle definition?

Most of our players look like AFL players.

Sometimes people need to stop hyperventilating.

Like this is hardly worth responding to, but we do have a few players who have some muscles: Battle, Coffield, Crouch, Steele, Marshal, Wood, Heck even Windhager and Owens.

Clark isn't ripped. But otherwise how many other players do you look at and think, if only he was more toned? This is really not an issue.

Only need to look at shai bolton to see how much of a non-issue this is.

Did they even make any kind of fuss that it was his debut game for us?
was lost in all the retirements I suppose.
I’d sign him for another year.
No, but then again he had already played his debut game for us back in round 7 (Cairns game) ;)

Most of our players look like AFL players.

Sometimes people need to stop hyperventilating.

Like this is hardly worth responding to, but we do have a few players who have some muscles: Battle, Coffield, Crouch, Steele, Marshal, Wood, Heck even Windhager and Owens.

Clark isn't ripped. But otherwise how many other players do you look at and think, if only he was more toned? This is really not an issue.

Only need to look at shai bolton to see how much of a non-issue this is.
Regarding Shai, you don't need to be strong when you are fast but if you're slow you would want to be strong.

Hunter is neither fast nor strong.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I seriously think we have a problem with not actual development but making players play safety first footy. Guys with flair and excitement get the dullness rubbed into them until their play risk free defensive first footy. Richo started it and it's run through to Ratts.

It's like in the game against Melbourne. We never try to find our own space, we are too busy minding out opponents......then when the game gets broken open and the system stops being adhered to we all of a sudden play our own free running footy and look a different side.

Last night was the opposite. The shackles were off early and we played fast attacking footy and apart from finishing we could have had a lead. We then tried to lock the game down and go slow again and looked s**t before finishing somewhere in between.

We are a bipolar side. We can plumb the depths of dulness or play moments of fast exciting footy but there never seems much middle ground.
Absolutely agree with this. Ratten has been obsessed with playing tempo footy since 2020. The amount of times he mentioned it in his post match press conferences was huge during that year, he lamented the teams ability to do it...and yet we made covid finals because of it. 2021 we had obviously worked on slow play, and f*CK did it show. Regular 30-60 point defeats throughout the season with a slight bounce after the halfway mark.
It's clear that we're not that type of team. We don't need to grind everything down to a halt when we get up by 10-20 points. We're not that good.
Hopefully this off season we work on playing a smarter system based game that works to players advantages...and for God sake concentrate on skills, skills, and more skills.

He throws himself around to look tough when at Freo he was on his bike waiting outside to take the ball and run. We use him in a way he's not suited to. We took a pure outside player and tried to turn him into something he isn't.
The previous teams he played with they never bothered to tag him, Hawks I don't have to explain due to they had prime mover's all over the ground.
At Fremantle with Fyfe , Neale , Mundy , Walters - Hill was there least of there worries - with us if Hill was a danger they would just put defensive pressure on him and the was the end of him.

If we had multiply threats - he would be able to run around unchecked , I wouldn't be getting rid of him because he is a very good player , so whoever wants him will have to give up something worth to let him walk - the money is not a issue.

Regarding Shai, you don't need to be strong when you are fast but if you're slow you would want to be strong.

Hunter is neither fast nor strong.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app
It’s a myth that Clark isn’t strong. He is strong can we please let him be. He’s had two/three severely injury interrupted seasons. Also Pendlebury/mcrae are niether fast or strong. I actually think Clark is strong in the tackle. The injuries this year just cooked his fitness.

Clark, Gresh, Paton, & Coffield get a pass for next year given their past and present injuries. They'd all want to have improved somewhat though. Gresh has had nearly a full season in the guts...should be better for the experience. Clark has been burnt by injuries and needs consistency, same with Coffield. Paton, like Gresh got a good run at it for mixed results, but he improved as the year went on...he should be a lot more composed and confident next year. I'd add Bytel to this, but reckon he's goneski.

Get Clark & Gresh to spend the summer with a running coach

Gresh was actually really good the first half of the season, was top couple in our coaches votes. He dropped off around the bye like all of them, then obviously got injured again.

Yeah, he was going great...he has some things to work on though, but as others have mentioned he at least offers a point of difference in there...and really, it was his first proper spell in the guts too. If he can build his tank, tweak his disposal, and get a bit stronger in the off season he'll be deadly.

Sainters, look on the bright side, you could all be Liverpool fans. There is always somebody worse off than yourself. :cool:

A real shame to miss out on finals after such a good start to the season, but it's a respectable mid-table finish, not a bottom four disaster. We'll be back next year for more hard yakka. It has to come good some time.....

Sainters, look on the bright side, you could all be Liverpool fans. There is always somebody worse off than yourself. :cool:

A real shame to miss out on finals after such a good start to the season, but it's a respectable mid-table finish, not a bottom four disaster. We'll be back next year for more hard yakka. It has to come good some time.....
You mean like Manchester United?

Ouch, sorry

On SM-F711B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I was just looking at stats.
At the game Behind goals so not a great view of midfield.

Owens high CBA count.
High possession count in first half then went missing 2nd half.

Windhager ppl saying he was tagging Warner, but low CBA count.

Can ppl who watched on tv give me a better understanding of their games and midfield in general.

All I know is that I seen Owens running through there a bit and I thought we won a lot of clearance and didn’t give up as many quick break clearance to the oppo as usual.

Might have been the best we looked since the bye with Campbell and Hannebery in there.

I was just looking at stats.
At the game Behind goals so not a great view of midfield.

Owens high CBA count.
High possession count in first half then went missing 2nd half.

Windhager ppl saying he was tagging Warner, but low CBA count.

Can ppl who watched on tv give me a better understanding of their games and midfield in general.

All I know is that I seen Owens running through there a bit and I thought we won a lot of clearance and didn’t give up as many quick break clearance to the oppo as usual.

Might have been the best we looked since the bye with Campbell and Hannebery in there.
The stats for centre clearances was the best I’ve seen for a long time. Not sure if it was due to one factor or a combination. Whatever it was I hope we keep it up next year.

Crouch is comfortably going to be top 3 B&F along with Sinclair and probably Seb Ross this season. Steele and Wilkie rounding out the top 5.
Agree, id even go 2nd b&f. Sinclair, crouch, ross, wilkie and Steele in that order . When i think of overall consistancy for the year . Need another pure ball user to complement Sinclair as we saw on tge weekend with Hannerberry how we dont have one.

Autopsy Round 23, 2022: St.Kilda v Sydney