Preview Round 3, 2025: Hawthorn v GWS Giants, 29 March 2025, 7.35pm @ UTAS Stadium

7 inclusions. Wow.

Says 7 returning will be available for selection. I doubt they make more than 3-4 changes.

Would love to see Hogan in to see what we’ve come up with to combat the tactics they deployed last year to free him up.

I think GWS will win. Their form has been closer to their best than ours has been.

I don't mind really - if we lose we stay under the radar even if we win the next 3 or 4 after that. Not really a bad thing.

But the fact that Carlton rested Curnow to name him against us, and GWS have obviously timed the return of a few players to line up with our game shows we're in the respected/feared category now of teams.

I think GWS will win. Their form has been closer to their best than ours has been.

I don't mind really - if we lose we stay under the radar even if we win the next 3 or 4 after that. Not really a bad thing.

But the fact that Carlton rested Curnow to name him against us, and GWS have obviously timed the return of a few players to line up with our game shows we're in the respected/feared category now of teams.
I’m not so sure, going to be wet. We love and know the ground intimately. Thinking we get up for this, we’ve had a rest and Sam will have a few tricks up his sleeve. Plus the new inclusions won’t be match fit. Bruest to come on and kick a lazy 3-4 in the last.

I’m not so sure, going to be wet. We love and know the ground intimately. Thinking we get up for this, we’ve had a rest and Sam will have a few tricks up his sleeve.
They've had more of a rest and are getting a bunch of players back.

I think you're hoping Sam has a few tricks up his sleeve. But if the other coach also has a few tricks then they might be better tricks?

Back the boys in. I know we will drop games this year but we should be up for this game against a contender. A few returning from injury not a 100% down in tassie. Cmon mate you have to back us in

Of our first 6 this is the one I'm most okay with dropping

Easter Monday and gather round are the ones I really really want

Although, let's not write off 22-0 just yet :)

Don't get me wrong - I WANT us to win, but that's different to thinking we will.

nope they just got over the line to melbourne and wasnt our pressure averaged at 210 against blues im backing us in with a 9 day break;)

Nahh....I think you're remembering the back half of his career when he played full forward.
Had plenty of quickness as a running Rover the first 4-5 years or so.
Was quick and agile for the first 14 seasons. Only went to FF halfway through 1983. Moncrieff was dropped despite 41 goals after his first nine games of the season. Two goalless games in Rnd 12 & 13 and he was gone. He did have some injuries, but Lethal went to FF and Moncrieff only played one more game in his career.

Permanent full forward, sure. But I was watching him and the Hawks from 75' and he was already spending a good portion per game forward by then. He also started to really bulk his body quite young and while twitchy quick, agile, etc, he didn't move like the young rover he started as.
Anyways, memories can differ I guess.
My point was he was definitely not a slow mid coming to Hawthorn, and would not have ever been described thus in his time dominating the game. He saw play unfold faster than you could reckon with, got to where he needed to, was unbelievably sure handed, broke tackles like they were nothing, loved a blind turn and baulk, took ridiculous one grab marks even when clearly undersized against an opponent, was a deadly kick especially while twisting and around the corner, and just seemed to make everything count.
He'd just ruin a game for the other team.
It was Wayne Carey like in the sense that stopping him was just so damn difficult, because he'd just find a way.
God it was amazing having him on your side.