Autopsy Round 5, 2023: Collingwood v St.Kilda

Poor Caminiti. Just a kid and he’s suddenly in the hot seat of media speculation and painted as a bad guy. I don’t know why very few in the media don’t mention Murphy’s hit on Caminiti first.

Sadly the retaliator always gets nailed. The instigator never does. That should change.

Hope the club are looking after him. The pies fans are feral. Feel for the young guy. Sounds like Murphy is in the McCartin vulnerable category. Won’t help him sadly. This whole thing is a mess.
Murphy probably shouldn't be playing AFL

Media already hanging Hammer for at least four weeks. What a laugh.
Wonder if Murphy wasn’t so vulnerable and wasn’t concussed how that would have played out. Still hard to see where he got him and what with. Wasn’t a punch.

I read a lot more than I post on the forums & one of the things that I read a lot that p1sses me off is so much blame towards the umpires for our losses. I'm not sticking up for the umpires so much but I think they have some sh1thouse rules to deal with.

Every game I watch, Saints playing or not, the umpiring is generally atrocious. I think mostly the lower teams get the rawest deal. I don't know why that is but that is my observation over the years. And yes, that includes The Saints, they often get shafted but not often to the point where it cosst them the game. We lost against The Pies because they made fewer mistakes, it was a game of high pressure & riddled with errors. I screamed "FFS" so many times at the tele.

For most of the game we were equal to, if not better than The Pies. Out of all the non Saints games I've watched this year, The Pies look like the best team. So to be on an even footing with them at this stage of the season is very encouraging in my view, even though we lost. We were just one Himmelberg type mark away from a draw. A great effort in my view. Another day of being a proud St Kilda supporter.

If it's 4 weeks or more for that Caminiti hit we should appeal as that is just excessive.

If Murphy didn't go off concussed that incident may not have even been looked at, it's more about punishing for the outcome these days than the action.

Who was it a couple of years ago that kept whacking Max King behind play? I remember a massive hit to the guts when he wasn’t looking. Absolutely zero happened about that. So inconsistent.

Apparently nathan murphy is still sooking at Adelaide oval

Wonder if Murphy wasn’t so vulnerable and wasn’t concussed how that would have played out. Still hard to see where he got him and what with. Wasn’t a punch.
No concussion = 1-2 I would say if anything.

The ban is directly proportionate to the injury and media reaction.

If it's 4 weeks or more for that Caminiti hit we should appeal as that is just excessive.

If Murphy didn't go off concussed that incident may not have even been looked at, it's more about punishing for the outcome these days than the action.
Once again st Kilda are made an example out of.

This sadly is the case but it’s his own fault. Was a silly thing to do. I thought maybe three weeks at worst but four is probably a bit excessive.

Anyway it is what it is.

Ben is one of a handful that need to learn to adjust their game when the intensity lifts. Either a lack of awareness or taking to long to kick brought him undone. But I think he is good enough to learn from it.
Byrnes needs to adopt the Dmac approach and play to his disposal limitations, because the rest of his game is pretty good.

I’d rather Byrnes just keeps going flat out. The frenetic stuff goes either way. Either breaks lines or turns over the ball. Sides set up so well ahead of getting the ball in quick is gold. Hopefully some more composure starts to kick in once he's a bit more experienced.

All I'll respond to that is by saying look how we travelled when Gresham was out the last two seasons compared to when he was playing. Higgins has been our best small forward this year no doubt but it's a small sample. He was in AA contention early last year before falling away and many here, probably including you, were calling for him to be dropped.
i never called for him to be dropped, and gresh has definitely played some solid footy for us, but the original comment positioned him as our best small forward followed by daylight. Just not the case

You know we are a threat again when the flogs on the main board here and in the media are calling for excessive suspensions for any of our players.

I remember all the celebrating going on when Baker got that ridiculous 9 week suspension with people trying to justify it as being fair and reasonable.

It was flat out persecution based on who Baker was and the club he played for.

Surely they don’t hit him for more than four though right???

Suddenly really worried now. Much worse than I expected ☹️

I would accept 2 or 3 weeks but 4 or more is just excessive, Gaff got 8 weeks for his hit on Brayshaw but that was way worse than this incident.

Autopsy Round 5, 2023: Collingwood v St.Kilda