Round 5 - Richmond v West Coast

You have got to be kidding me. Just because you guys arent up 23-1 in the free kick count at half time doesn't mean the umpires were against you.

Umps paid one horrible decision to Richmond (Riewoldt sling tackle). Eagles also had a shitload of typical ducking frees and have nothing to complain about at all.

Hows Jack Watts turning out for you?

Did you see the masterclass that Naitanui put on in the ruck? Could almost give him a Brownlow vote I reckon.

I can't believe the amount of complaining about the umpires going on. Both teams got soft free kicks. I don't think any team was particularly favoured. The free kick count was pretty even.

Also not sure why everyone is complaining about the ducking. The umpires didn't even pay most of them which is exactly what everyone wanted. Hopefully the umpires remain consistent on that every week and in every game.

I'm going to roll my eyes if I hear Hardwick say "An honourable loss isn't good enough".

Richmond should even be thinking about winning and losing. They should be thinking improvement and getting all ducks in a row. Last week Geelong were a bit flat but today they Eagles were playing their A game.

Surely Richmond must be thinking they're on the right path to being a contender. That's all that matters.

So West Coast fans are claiming Richmond got the luck of the green, and Richmond fans are claiming the opposite? Just about sums this up - has degenerated into a boring, umpire-bashing thread :rolleyes:

Beat me to it, Gibbsy...

[youtube]dx0Shn5Hvpc[/youtube]

Soon enough one of these Eagles players are going to get seriously injured from all this ducking and they won't have anyone to blame but themselves.

Im sick of teams just holding our forwards and getting away with it and so many times the eagles were caught and dropped the ball with no disposal that sir is holding the ball another note eagles are soft cawks.

Maybe you missed the part where Darling smashed your player in the face landed heavily and got back up. Or where kerr got smashed mid air, got up in the same play and went on to win the ball back twice.

Even gaff was bouncing off tackles and he's a midget. Calling just about any team a bunch of soft ***** is a pretty stupid move.

Another game where the umps try to get the Victorian side over the line.

Love how the AFL is trying their best to stop the interstate dominance once again.

Most likely going to be carded for this, but surely mods can have a bit of leniency when it's the truth.

You're a flog mate. The umpires weren't completely terrible. Couple of dodgy frees that weren't there but it went against both sides, not just us.

And saying the umps have Vic bias? Skypra pls.

I thought the umpiring was descent all the calls for free were there, a lot of inconsistancy throughout though, Eagles were lucky they got through and tigers unlucky to captalise on the Eagles Injuries/Badform. People complaining players ducking though obviously don't understand the game and are the monkey see monkey do type of people, and should consider watching there local U12's team to understand the basics of the game.

Great game and unlucky tigers!

Way to go our boys give north hell next week!

It's a strange fixture that's for sure. Don't quite know how they came up with that.

It does get easier for Richmond later on, but you're always playing catchup at that point.

I don't think I'd say that. You've now matched it with some of the best and have got a few of the hardest games you will have out of the way. There's still a pretty tough month or so coming up, but you've got a relatively cruisey run home.

Look there's probably an argument to say that you would "rather" get the top teams out of the way before they hit top form.

But in saying that i have no issue in playing the top teams say, in the first 8 rounds or so as long as its not so consecutive or at least with a non top 4 team in between, being 2-3 odd leaves us still in the mix.

If you look at out next 5 - Port (A), Syd (H), Ess (A), Haw (H), St K (A). You could probably make a case for 2 possibly 3 wins out of that lot, but in saying so (using 2 as an example) that leaves us 3-7 nearing the half way point while teams like Essendon and North are still playing majority of bottom 8 teams.

It is just to steep to catch up and the deflation would have already taken its toll - regardless of the "easier" run we have in the back end. Other teams have the wins on the board so they can afford to drop 1 or 2, we will have to win something ludicrous like 11 of our last 16 or so.

Still think its fairly farcical.

So West Coast fans are claiming Richmond got the luck of the green, and Richmond fans are claiming the opposite? Just about sums this up - has degenerated into a boring, umpire-bashing thread :rolleyes:

Umpiring was crap in that they tried too hard to be involved in the game and paid unnecessary frees. Didn't favour either side IMO but tarnished what was otherwise a ripper game.

Umpires weren't bad, just seemed to have a lack of consistency through the match. Would make that sort of game 10x better if they put the whistle away.

Would really like to thank the tiges for bringing such a great game!

Soon enough one of these Eagles players are going to get seriously injured from all this ducking and they won't have anyone to blame but themselves.
Disgraceful thing to hope for.

Maybe it will be one of the many many other players who goes in low?

Someone like Murphy who dives, stages and drops the knees? Hope not.

Shattered. Absolute shattered.

Horror draw to start the year. Carlton, Collingwood, Geelong, West Coast and we have Hawthorn and Sydney coming up too. Jesus christ.

1-4 and finals are nearly already gone given the golden draws given to other top 8 competitors in North and Adelaide. Another year and another bottom 8 finish looking likely.

We've improved and we've been in every single game against those top teams and really should've won at least 2 or 3 of them. We had Geelong on the ropes and this game was in our hands. Just lacking that little bit of composure in the last 10 mins of games.

It's not all bad. You have proved you can match it with teams that everyone expects to make the top 6. You should chalk up quite a few wins this year if the effort we saw today can be your standard for the rest of the year. At least it was an honourable loss.

Disgraceful thing to hope for.

Maybe it will be one of the many many other players who goes in low?

Someone like Murphy who dives, stages and drops the knees? Hope not.
Please direct me to where I hoped this would happen?

Quite the opposite, I simply think it's a ridiculously daft thing to do and is going to end very badly for one of these players. I have never seen Murphy do anything like what I've seen Eagles players doing these past few weeks. It's not going in low, it's leading with the most important part of your body to gain an advantage in a game.

Well, everybody who isn't an Eagles fan seems to be saying so.

Picture related.

Sheep_walking_down_road.jpg

Can't believe people are saying the Schofield free kick for the tackle was soft. You CANNOT lift a player off of the ground and spin him into the ground on his head.

That being said, I would not be surprised if most of the Eagles players wind up with serious neck problems in their later careers. It is absolutely disgraceful how they can get away with what they do. No they aren't the only ones who do it, but most other teams only have 1-2 players who do it. Eagles have their whole midfield, and most of their flankers. It is blatant!

Round 5 - Richmond v West Coast