Trades Round 7 Trades

Liberatore > Hayes and Parker > Laird tempting.

I had something similar (Lib -> Answerth, Wilkie -> Laird) but for some reason it just feels like moving deck chairs around.

Is it actually improving the side? I think its questionable.

I'm relatively settled on keeping Libba 1 more week for that reason.

Okay now begins the slow climb upwards after a dreadful start.

Steele (flop) > Boak finally
Parker > Larkey

hopefully things start to take a positive turn from now

I dunno if I'd call Steele a flop, tbh.

Scores for his first 6 rounds:

Averaging about 5 more PPG than he was priced at. Could definitely be worse

Trying to do a little forward planning. Things have been pretty straight forward up until this point but sorting priorities after this week starts getting a little murky. Assuming no forced trades this will be my team post round 7:

Lloyd, Laird, Jones, Smith, Williams, Hore (Stack, Answerth)
Macrae, Cogs, Rocky, Bray, B Crouch, Walsh, Constable, Ross, (Drew, Hayes)
Grundy, Mummy (Fort, Flynn)
Danger, Boak, Kelly, Billings, Worpel, Baker (Atkins, Balta)

Hore, Constable, Ross, Mummy, Baker are the 5 definite upgrades. Walsh, Smith, Williams are probable late upgrades. Issue is the former 5 will all still be making decent $ past this week at the point where I’m ready to start upgrading them. I can either go ahead and aggressively upgrade or go on a downgrade spree for ~2 weeks which may or may not be better in the long run. Not sold on which way to proceed yet. What do y’all think?

Trying to do a little forward planning. Things have been pretty straight forward up until this point but sorting priorities after this week starts getting a little murky. Assuming no forced trades this will be my team post round 7:

Lloyd, Laird, Jones, Smith, Williams, Hore (Stack, Answerth)
Macrae, Cogs, Rocky, Bray, B Crouch, Walsh, Constable, Ross, (Drew, Hayes)
Grundy, Mummy (Fort, Flynn)
Danger, Boak, Kelly, Billings, Worpel, Baker (Atkins, Balta)

Hore, Constable, Ross, Mummy, Baker are the 5 definite upgrades. Walsh, Smith, Williams are probable late upgrades. Issue is the former 5 will all still be making decent $ past this week at the point where I’m ready to start upgrading them. I can either go ahead and aggressively upgrade or go on a downgrade spree for ~2 weeks which may or may not be better in the long run. Not sold on which way to proceed yet.

So going by that, does that mean this will be your team after this round (Round 8 Trades)?

I dunno if I'd call Steele a flop, tbh.

Scores for his first 6 rounds:

Averaging about 5 more PPG than he was priced at. Could definitely be worse
After his first 3 weeks I was pretty happy with the selection. Based on his last 3 though I would consider it a flop. He hasn’t made any coin overall and there were far better selections around his price. It’s not his fault. I think he’s a gun player and could be a fantasy gun if he wasn’t made to tag every week. He’s a tackling machine and he will be averaging 110 soon enough. Just not this year.

Fiorini Sloane Rockliff Bont JOM were all guys that I considered and Steele was the most expensive of those, so it’s a bit disappointing. Maybe flop is a little harsh, but I’m certainly glad to be rid of him

Yep, post round 7 aka after this round.

Haha yeah I know what you mean, just trying to ascertain whether you mean that it's once this round has been completed but not before you've made your next round of trades (you'll be fielding this team in Round 8, then trading the others afterwards)

With that said, I reckon you'd prioritize it in this order:

Round 9 Trades: Baker out
Round 10 Trades: Hore out
Round 11 Trades: Ross out (if Cotch is back by then, otherwise wait til round 14 when he has his bye, if he keeps his spot)
Round 12 Trades: Double downgrade bench
Round 13 Trades: Constable out (Bye round)
Round 14 Trades: Mumford out (Bye round)
Post Bye trades: Williams, Smith and Walsh, in that order

I say this, because I'm pretty much in the exact same position with the exact same moves, haha. Except, Libba is still in the middle and Duursma/Scrimshaw is in my backline with Hore and forward line is sorted. This will pretty much be my plan

Haha yeah I know what you mean, just trying to ascertain whether you mean that it's once this round has been completed but not before you've made your next round of trades (you'll be fielding this team in Round 8, then trading the others afterwards)
Yeah mate. It’s a bit of forward planning for in 10 days time but will most likely effect this weeks decisions depending which way I decide on. Wish I took this much care in planning my actual life

Tell me about it, haha

Indeed.. i was trying to skimp on downgrade players and ditch Butters instead of Drew.. might have to be Drew though.

After his first 3 weeks I was pretty happy with the selection. Based on his last 3 though I would consider it a flop. He hasn’t made any coin overall and there were far better selections around his price. It’s not his fault. I think he’s a gun player and could be a fantasy gun if he wasn’t made to tag every week. He’s a tackling machine and he will be averaging 110 soon enough. Just not this year.

Fiorini Sloane Rockliff Bont JOM were all guys that I considered and Steele was the most expensive of those, so it’s a bit disappointing. Maybe flop is a little harsh, but I’m certainly glad to be rid of him

I'm far from 100% sure on this as I had quite a few frothies during the game, but it looked like he might've been playing a bit sore on the weekend. It seemed like one of his socks was pulled up higher than the other and was covering a shin guard or some sort of ankle brace, could be the reason he wasn't quite covering the ground as well as he should have. Saints seem to be fairly willing to play blokes that are hurt as Bruce also seemed far from his best.

I had something similar (Lib -> Answerth, Wilkie -> Laird) but for some reason it just feels like moving deck chairs around.

Is it actually improving the side? I think its questionable.

I'm relatively settled on keeping Libba 1 more week for that reason.
Yeah it is improving the side since Laird is a keeper, just in a different area of the field (more valueable imo). Libba was always a stepping stone and will average 90 max. Laird 100~

I'm not having Whitfield on my bench, so will trade him out for Boak. And get him back next week for 60k cheaper. This way gives me a chance to move my none playing D8 McInerney and leaves me with only my R4 as a non player!

Whitfield --> Boak (via Stack)
McInerney --> Answerth

I'm not having Whitfield on my bench, so will trade him out for Boak. And get him back next week for 60k cheaper. This way gives me a chance to move my none playing D8 McInerney and leaves me with only my R4 as a non player!

Whitfield --> Boak (via Stack)
McInerney --> Answerth

The flaw in that logic is that he has to play to drop in value, in which case he’s unlikely to be your lowest defender score and not on your bench....

Jack Steven out for extended period - mental health. Probably automatically means any tag goes straight to Ross first. Not sure who else they would tag, may be billings.
Could be beneficial for those with Steele as well. He will have more responsibility now and will probably be required to play more attacking footy than be overly lock down. That’s how the season started at least when Steven was out early on and Steele scores well. Just a thought for those few with him who have discussed trading him this week

Trades Round 7 Trades