Autopsy Round 7 vs Saints rant thread

Rant thread...yes please.
With a couple of exceptions, leave the players alone.
Too often when we are beaten (or challenged by a lesser team) we have a forward line and indeed midfield congested to extreme. Fed up with seeing less talented teams actually structure up, each player having a role, and doing it. We are one of the most talented sides in the competition, but we are so bloody haphazard.
I am amazed Ratten keeps escaping real scrutiny. I am fed up with hearing the great job he has done bringing us up the ladder. It is called talent, we have the players, the players to at least contest a flag. Too often Juddy or Murph, throw in Simmo are tagged out. We do not work as a unit, spread the load, others need to step up. But in this era where one on one is a rarity, players are given firm instructions to do vague jobs. We have no confidence or even understanding of our core roles. Therefore the ability a Geelong, Collingwood, Hawthorn, St.Kilda or West Coast to absorb pressure an step up for each other is not there.
The era of the most talented side winning 9/10 times is gone. Structures, drills, confidence that your mate will do his job, and potentially yours if you are required to step in to a hole is not there. There is uncertainty, we either have too many, or too few at so many contests, how often tonight were three up in the back half and none down?
Finally i will say, I watched the Suns with Ablett running amok in the first quarter. Half of the team stood back and watched. They played better last week when he was not there. One man band does not work. Moral of the story, Juddy hits too many contests, drags pressure and numbers to the ball. He is still a great player, but has lost a yard, has more trouble now breaking a tag, and as a "near" mortal now makes some handling areas trying to be too clean. While I understand McLean is limited, I have stated before, and am adamant that he would be more effective at alternate contests to Juddy. Both read the play and get to the "hotspot" so get in each others way. Naturally Juddy is the senior so McLean cops the flack, and the confidence hit in the aftermath. Ratten and midfield coach could use McLean to our advantage, but are not foresighted enough to set structures as opposed to relying on individual efforts.
We have the players to be at or near a flag. We have to get smarter and more confident with each other to actually do it. It is not simply being harder at the ball, although tonight it would have been a start.

FF: Betts - Hampson - Walker
HF: Garlett - Waite - Gibbs
C: Simpson - Robinson - Scotland
HB: Tuohy - Henderson - Yarran
FB: Thornton - Jamison - Duigan
RU: Kreuzer - Judd - Murphy
IC: Ellard - Armfield - Lucas
SU: Russell

IN: Yarran - Thornton - Lucas
OUT: Joseph - Curnow - Bower

army and ellard say
yeah we did
Agree. Only ones amongst the supposed fringe players that stood up tonight.

People talk about our best players not standing up but they can't do it alone. It's dominos people, the lesserlights stand up, the guns get more time and space to do their jobs. It shouldn't be Judd and Murphy doing all the grunt work, and all the running so that the fringe players can get freed up in space only to butcher the ball, it should be the other way around with a different finish.

Watched the game instead of doing my paperwork, now I am way behind, frustrated and all hashtagged out from tweeting my ass off. #nowheretohideforaweek

The same pattern as last year...lose the games we are supposed to win... remember the Bulldogs game last year? Same thing here. A strong team wins these type of games against mid-tier teams. These are the type of games
(against mid tier teams such as St Kilda) that define a season and sort the wheat from the chaff.

I have seen a few Adelaide games this year- they go in hard and tough and get the ball...we have no chance against them. We only just beat them last year at Ethihad and we were lucky in that. This year they have improved a hell of a lot.

Two losses in a row. puts us back in the pack - a "top 4 team" yeah, right...in their dreams.

Brett Ratten.... To take the next step as an AFL coach he absolutely must be able to think on his feet. He needs to be able to come up with dynamic secondary plans if the primary plan is not working which was clearly the case tonight. He almost more than any other coach in he AFL preaches to the media the importance of having versatile players and he's spot on. However, he is unwilling to switch it up. Two key forwards were not working for us tonight so he sticks with that the entire game. How about switching Judd into the forward line with Betts and Garlett on the half forward line, switching Waite down back filling the space.

By far the best thing I've read tonight. I'm totally a Ratten man, he has it in him, but he needs to lift as much as the team.

What a spineless and patheic effort Carlton put up tonight. Every time someone says to them we are not going to let you run free and easy (alah Essendon and St Kilda) the players pack it up and go home. They look great when they win the ball out of the centre and the can all run forward free and easy. But, look what happens when you actually have to get down and dirty and win a hard ball - they all go missing.

St Kilda and Esendon have just given every other team in the League a blueprint on how to play Carlton. Go in hard and Carlton will fumble, make mistakes and generally turn it up. Premiership favourite don't make me laugh. We probably won't make top 4 and could even miss the 8. Carlton haven't looked like winning the contested possession since Carattzo went down. What's wrong with someone like Robinson or Gibbs stepping into that roll.

I hope the players and the Coaches all have steady hands when they put them out to collect their pay tonight, because they certainly didn't earn it!:mad::mad::thumbsdown:

Armfield, Joseph are VFL players at best....do not understand the love for them. They should never be in the same Carlton team again.
Duigan wouldn't get a game back at his original club Norwood the way he's going.
Time to stop 'carrying' Hampson....at 201cm's he misses the ball in air sometimes by over a metre!!
Ellard should of been playing the whole year, let alone the whole game.

Outplayed, out coached. F***ing furious.

I find it funny how many will be quick to bag bower, Joseph, Russell, armfield ect but how about Murphy, Judd, Gibbs, waite, Eddie ect. Absolutely pathetic. Teams have found us out very quickly (Essendon now Stkilda) if you play aggressively and play a contested game of footy ( shut down our run) we will be found wanting. Apart from Robinson, Judd, Simpson and maybe Ellard we have no others that have a thirst for the contest. If we do not rectify this soon we may as well forget about season 2012. We looked dis interested tonight for a team gunning for top spot.

I said last week we were missing a tall forward with Waite out. Yet everyone seemed to be okay with us dropping Thornton, our main scorer. :confused:

Yep, with hindsight it looks like it was a bad call.

Who would you have dropped to fit him in though? Again, with hindsight I would think Joseph.

They would have been two hard calls to make though.

i am quite happy if ellard never ever plays another game as he is not up to being a premiership player.Not even close. never has been and never will be
but today and like most days he makes hollywood players look like crap
he is what we as a club pride ourselves on
he is meat and potatoes and has balls
and I hope he is rewarded one day as a premiership player because he has walked thru the valley of the shadows and he is OUR GOD

Poorly coached - not just tonight, but on all evidence, during the week as well.

'Strategy' played into their hands, and once again, no Plan B. All this talk of versatility, and our abundance of players who can cover multiple positions, and yet no sign of that here. Where was the recognition that things weren't working, and the attempts to reverse that?

As with the Essendon game, the opposition match committee did their homework to a higher standard than the Carlton blokes, and again, too many of our players appeared to not be sufficiently mentally prepared for the match, or their roles.

Arrogantly coached? I reckon we've seen a bit of that this year.

Top four probably still beckons at this stage, but I'm hoping the coaching panel are having their performances measured and scrutinised internally as closely as those of our players - was not of a September standard that effort from the box tonight.

5/10, on and off field, and with both, there's too large a gulf between our best and worst. On to next week, another big challenge, and another game that 'a top four contender has to win'.

They stick a loose player back in our 50 and every time we go forward we either pick him out or kick it to a Jarrad Waite 1 on 3! Turnover all night and we refuse to go man on man. Then they rush forward and there's plenty of space in their forward line. Surely the coaching staff could have picked up on it and changed the gameplan?

Armfield, Joseph are VFL players at best....do not understand the love for them. They should never be in the same Carlton team again.
Duigan wouldn't get a game back at his original club Norwood the way he's going.
Time to stop 'carrying' Hampson....at 201cm's he misses the ball in air sometimes by over a metre!!
Ellard should of been playing the whole year, let alone the whole game.

Outplayed, out coached. F***ing furious.
army huh? vfl? u understand the game at all?

As a Bombers supporter I thought it was hilarious to watch you guys pump yourself up so early in the season. Surely it was too early to tell. You know what though, it goes both ways. It's too early in the year to write off your team as well. If they are good enough, they'll adapt and improve. Premierships aren't handed out in round 7.

While on a rant....

Why do we not have any composure going forward? We get it forward of centre, stream forward, panic and stuff it up. Again we lose with more inside 50's just like the Essendon game!

They stick a loose player back in our 50 and every time we go forward we either pick him out or kick it to a Jarrad Waite 1 on 3! Turnover all night and we refuse to go man on man. Then they rush forward and there's plenty of space in their forward line. Surely the coaching staff could have picked up on it and changed the gameplan?

Its been like this for three weeks. They've figured out that the key to stopping our forward line is to clog it up. We never do anything about it, and our loose man in defence tends to be about as effective as having a cardboard cutout of david kernahan down there would be.

Autopsy Round 7 vs Saints rant thread