Game Day Round 8, 2023 - Carlton vs. Brisbane Lions

Bit surprised with the Sharp inclusion. Probably means Berry plays more inside. Although Sharp has played a bit of half back in the ressies so I wouldn’t be surprised if he lines up in the backline and we stay the same in the mids. I hope Answerth plays full time inside mid and not on a wing or half forward. Been dominating in the twos in that role and played well last week when he came on.

I believe Sharp falls in to the category of one role or bust.

He’s a winger. I haven’t seen any scope to play back, forward or inside.

Prior on the other hand can most definitely play wing, and he’s actually a better and more natural half back.
I would also back Prior to be better at tackling , pressuring , hard at the contest when it's near him and defensive skills period.
Not dissapointed Sharpie has been selected though, if he doesn't provide a contest or some sought of involvement with transition then it will be dissapointing.
Mind you I really think the guy that we need to step up to his upper levels is Kiddy.
We all know he's been strugling with his decision making and exicution which I think has him retreting within himself.
If I was Fages I'd tell him that he wants him to take his tackling role to the next level.
He makes a big tackle , he's back in the game imo.
A Circuit braker if you like.
Should be a cracker.

Yeah good signs to an extent. I still get a bit concerned about our potential over-reliance on clearances, because they are such a lottery. I mean those numbers actually sum it up: we are basically only +8 per game on average and that's a clear number 1.

We could easily lose clearances tonight given Carlton's big midfield bulls, and if we do, we'll need to be able to score heavily from turnovers. We've shown ability to do that in patches this season so far, but it's an aspect of our game I'd like to see us really nail down so it becomes a consistent source of goals for us.

Personally I also generally tend to find scoring from turnovers far more entertaining 🙂

Nice article from Fish re our midfield this year. I wasn't aware we were as dominant as what the stats are showing clearance wise. Good signs!

Quite like this one from the media team >

FvUdHuiaQAILqZw

Yeah good signs to an extent. I still get a bit concerned about our potential over-reliance on clearances, because they are such a lottery. I mean those numbers actually sum it up: we are basically only +8 per game on average and that's a clear number 1.

We could easily lose clearances tonight given Carlton's big midfield bulls, and if we do, we'll need to be able to score heavily from turnovers. We've shown ability to do that in patches this season so far, but it's an aspect of our game I'd like to see us really nail down so it becomes a consistent source of goals for us.

Personally I also generally tend to find scoring from turnovers far more entertaining 🙂
Yeah, when we've lost badly, it is not so much that we have been beaten at clearance, it is that the opposition has got out of the front of stoppages and/or has had an unencumbered exit from the contest with a quick release to a player running past. In those circumstances, it becomes almost impossible to win the footy back. Your team defence doesn't have time to set up and your back 6 is completely exposed.

If the opposition is getting first hands on the ball, you have to be right in their face causing a slow/high kick forward or, preferably, a chain of sloppy handballs. That then creates an environment where turnovers can occur. I think this part of the game will determine how we go tonight and, indeed, across the season. If our pressure game is good, we'll be hard to beat. But if Cripps and co are bursting out the front of the stoppage, we'll be in trouble.

Are points from the turnover the most common form of scoring?

I miss sausages. That infectious positivity was always made me confident.
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!
GO LIONS!!!

Does that help?

Just read over the last few pages of the preview thread.

Harry Sharp is obviously an endurance beast however I do agree with martinson in that straight line running on a track is a lot different to the stop start repeat efforts in footy, the physical aspect of the game makes it doubly hard.

From what I have seen Harry has yet to be able to transfer that elite endurance and use it to a decent level in footy, it would be fantastic if he could develop that and be our elite gut running winger like Ed Langdon.
This is pretty much my thoughts. Sharp has one of the top couple of running tanks in the entire competition, just needs to figure out how to use that on a footy field.
Langdon is a great example of someone who is just back and forward all day. He is just so regularly a spare man back and then part of the transition through the midfield and then is offering a lead in the forward line then going back the other way again. He doesnt stop moving to give an outlet or be cover. If Sharp can do that on the footy field it would be a huge asset for us. He wouldnt have been my first choice in but hopefully he has really improved and can cut out some of the few good runners Carlton have (who arent experienced either)

Maybe we are all overthinking the two player inclusions.
Answerth has pretty much played his 4 years of AFL games as a defender. So, he takes Rich spot.

I see Zorko's game minutes of forward/midfield/wing being shared around with Bailey, McCluggage, Ashcroft, Rayner & Sharp.

Sharp is bench relief for forwards and will cover some wing relief to our usual wingers Berry and Wilmot.
This year Fagan has opted for a mixture of midfielders been used as wing relief. This is a change from previous years.

I still don't see Berry going inside mid unless our clearances numbers are falling off.
This way we retain our usual wing line and avoid multiple positional changes.

With the changes, I reckon we see Sharp on the wing alongside McCluggage who plays more outside/wing to facilitate Berry moving onto the ball to play on Cripps. I assume the plan for Sharp will be to play the defensive winger role that Wilmot has been playing. It's not a high possession role so he won't get huge numbers (Wilmot is only averaging 11 disposals/game), but it'll be an important role against the Carton wingers.

Wilmot moves back into defense to fill Rich's spot in the defensive 7. McKenna, Coleman and Wilmot gives us some decent run off half back.

Answerth to assume the Zorko role at HFF and pinch hit in the middle. The way our forward line is set up, we rely on Zorko and McCarthy for our defensive pressure, so Answerth should hopefully slot into that role defensively (understanding he's not anywhere near the attacking option Zorko is).
If this is the plan i am quite comfortable with the inclusions. Sharp can definitely play that role well. As others have mentioned Hollands has been quite good an important to them.

Two caveats though.

It doesn't give us much in terms of kicking prowess out of defence. Just Coleman really. So maybe as you say we run it out. I don't mind that idea but it's going to be a bit of a change.

The other question mark would be Answerth as an onballer. I don't like him on the wing at all so i am not advocating for that. But it seems he is skipping the queue a bit as an onballer. I know he has been playing a few weeks in the 2s that's not a lot of experience. As long as though pinch hits are kept to a minimum i think it could work. Zorko's CBAs should be filled more by Berry and McCluggage I think. I would love to see Answerth focus on locking down on Saad. We get enough attack out of Cameron / Link/ Bailey, one lockdown defender won't affect our scoring power i don't think

Lester stays in. I think he could very handy as a second defender in marking contests to help Payne on Curnow. Just another strong experienced body there and froggy is such a team orientated player.

We need Kiddy to offer more run off half back tonight. Hasn't had a great season to date but need him to be back to his creative best against the Blues. Sharp selection I think is based on the venue. Hard fast track and you need good runners on the wings. I would have preferred Dev or Prior but hope young Sharp plays a good game and takes his chance.

Also tonight Cam Rayner needs to kick 3 and crash packs and be the player we know he can be.

Also Answerth selection might be a case of defensive forward. Stop the run out of defence from Saad - Docherty - Newman?

Interesting that the media are basically saying it's a must win if we are to prove we are contenders. Carlton are clear favorite with the bookies. I know people say I don't care about the bookies, but it's a reflection of what the market thinks will happen.

We aren't even at half way. It is not a must win. Would be great to win it and it's the type of game we probably should win if we want top 2 and home final week 1.

Bez to the middle to shut down Cripps, Payendrew combo to keep their towers to less than five goals between them and Saad rendered ineffective as the Lions clear it out of the middle all night. Gut feel is big nights for Clugg and Rayner. Hurry up, 7:50.

Feeling particularly anxious about tonight. I think it's the dreaded HOPE.

Felt very worried round 1 and sadly was right.

I refused to have any hope in the season after that game - Dees were depleted, and i just KNEW the pies would flog us. Beating them slowly started the hope vine growing again. It's about to flower tonight or be hit with a storm. Massive fork in the road game i think.

I think it's fair for there to be pressure on us to win and expectations, we have made finals 3-4 years in a row and this group needs to start playing as the dominant group they are.

It's probably a bit of revisionist history but last time we played Carlton we had a 10 goal lead through the 3rd Q. It was a domination. I'm not expecting us to go as well considering Marvel, looking back through our history there since 2020 and it's:

April 2021 v Pies (W) - 71-72
April 2021 v Carl (W) - 85-103
Mar 2022 v Ess (W) - 75-97
Aug 2022 v Saint (W) - 66-81
Mar 2023 v Dogs (L) - 67-53

Those are pretty consistently low scoring games, and I think our fast paced kicking style doesn't work as well there because the ground is smaller and easier to cover.