Round 8 Trades

Have settled on:
Butters —> Answerth
Gibbons —> Westhoff

Would've preferred a double downgrade and another week to see whether Westhoff's actually turned a corner, but the lack of decent rookie options and the possibility of Westhoff making quite a bit of money this week has led me to one-down, one-up. Leaves me with 21 trades left and $382k in the bank.

Have settled on:
Butters —> Answerth
Gibbons —> Westhoff

Would've preferred a double downgrade and another week to see whether Westhoff's actually turned a corner, but the lack of decent rookie options and the possibility of Westhoff making quite a bit of money this week has led me to one-down, one-up. Leaves me with 21 trades left and $382k in the bank.
What can you see Westhoff scoring this week?

If I'm playing the cash game then I'm getting him in this week then a mid like Treloar/Cripps next week, but Treloars record without Adams is significant, so getting him this week would get the full benefit of him playing without Adams

Treloar has been tagged over the years by Curnow I think though, hhmmm...

Working this out

If I go Westhoff and Danger is out then maybe punt on Constable being his replacement?

So chuck Danger into the mids so I don't get a Parker/Setterfield lucky dip up forward

Will still have Answerth as back up if Constable doesn't play, could even throw Duursma into the mids and emergency Hayes instead if Scrimshaw is named, also can throw Kelly into the mids if Setterfield scores well and loop through Danger forward :think:

I don't mind it actually, much better rookie options here this week doing this instead of bringing Treloar in plus I probably save 20-30k getting Westhoff now compared to next week

Will give me 486k for upgrades next week

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.10.16 pm.png

My team post trades.

Scrimshaw -> Answerth
Gibbons - > Treloar. Considering either Duncan or Fyfe here, and pocketing an additional $20,000 - $25,000. Treloar the incumbent though.

$330K in the bank.

With Clarkson dumping Roughy, is that him finally signalling he's ready to invest in youth? Moore just became quite relevant IMO

Moore is a small, just 176cm

It's Lewis who's benefitting here from no Roughy, probably Tim O'Brien also

You think Moore is just keeping the seat warm for Wingard?

Potentially

I think he's a half forward/outside mid though, but HolyRioli amos is that his sort of position?

When he played us round 2 he got a bit of ball around the wing IIRC, only time I noticed him but

Potentially

I think he's a half forward/outside mid though, but HolyRioli amos is that his sort of position?

When he played us round 2 he got a bit of ball around the wing IIRC, only time I noticed him but

Plays like a poor mans Toby Greene for best comparison. Small-forward - outside mid, very strong runner, deceptively good overhead. Had a ripping VFL finals series last year

Only moderate ball-winning capabilities (for now), and while the Hawks board is very bullish on him (myself included), I don't trust his job security enough, and don't this his scoring capacity is worth the risk.

That said ... there's so few rookie forwards coming through, and our best prospect (Rankine) has just had an injury setback.

Liberatore -> Answerth
Schultz -> Menegola (couldn't afford Smith,D)

with Daniher OUT and Danger unlikely, i had to fix my forwardline
Reckon Menegola will be a top forward?

Some weeks he's just not finding enough of the footy

Very frustrating draft pick for me this year

How much cash have you got to play with?

Potentially

The only rookie I trust with Clarko at this point, is Scrimshaw. I think he's a goer and will stay pretty much all season. Moore wouldn't be the worst downgrade, as he'll probably rotate between deep forward and mid; however, I'd not sure about his JS, and might play a bit before a Box Hill run comes. I'd expect Morrisson, Cousins and Howe all getting their lick of the ice cream first, and I'm surprised we haven't seen more of Miles this season as well. Would I grab him, yes if my F8 was Parker or Petrecelle so had cover anyway, no, if I didn't have Answerth and could go down in either mids or backs first.

Yep agree on Scrimshaw, seems to be a role for him while Birchall and a few others are out

He reads the game well, would imagine he'll be a future premium some day, will see where he's priced once that 77 rolls out, maybe we get him til his bye
Plays like a poor mans Toby Greene for best comparison. Small-forward - outside mid, very strong runner, deceptively good overhead. Had a ripping VFL finals series last year

Only moderate ball-winning capabilities (for now), and while the Hawks board is very bullish on him (myself included), I don't trust his job security enough, and don't this his scoring capacity is worth the risk.

That said ... there's so few rookie forwards coming through, and our best prospect (Rankine) has just had an injury setback.
Fair enough

Yeah I'm hoping this Ham kid looks good tonight, but yeah, slim pickings up forward

Maybe Stocker comes good tomorrow and we get another mid downgrade instead, so will wait and see

Have settled on:
Butters —> Answerth
Gibbons —> Westhoff

The amount of $ Westhoff makes isn't very relevant to your decision. If he plays well this week and then stinks it up for 2-3 then he won't have moved much in price.

You should base it on whether you think he will end up being a top 8 fwd for the rest of the season and if his low price is worth the risk

Liberatore -> Answerth
Schultz -> Menegola (couldn't afford Smith,D)

with Daniher OUT and Danger unlikely, i had to fix my forwardline
I've been eyeing Menegola off for a few weeks now. My main concern is that the new guys are cutting into his midfield time. And the Cats are playing well so that's unlikely to change.

That's my thinking on him too

Heaps of ball being shared around

Kelly and Stewart have the best roles currently down there while Danger is Danger
The amount of $ Westhoff makes isn't very relevant to your decision. If he plays well this week and then stinks it up for 2-3 then he won't have moved much in price.

You should base it on whether you think he will end up being a top 8 fwd for the rest of the season and if his low price is worth the risk
In his current roaming role he will push top forward status

Much rather pay 550k for an improving Westhoff rather than 550k starting with a Lycett

Westhoff has DPP too, so will be useful later in the season if Gawn/Grundy miss

Worst case he'll be F7/R3, but he'll be F6 for me until I get these mid and defender premos in

In his current roaming role he will push top forward status

Much rather pay 550k for an improving Westhoff rather than 550k starting with a Lycett

Westhoff has DPP too, so will be useful later in the season if Gawn/Grundy miss

Worst case he'll be F7/R3, but he'll be F6 for me until I get these mid and defender premos in
I traded him out round 4, so this is a tough call for me.

I dont want to get Heeney'd ;)

I traded him out round 4, so this is a tough call for me.

I dont want to get Heeney'd ;)
This was Zorko for me last year I'm hoping. Poor start, then turns it around. Yet I started Zorko and didn't trade him out through his dry spell, he would've been a far better upgrade target though and potentially same with Westhoff here.

Apparently Dixon is back to main training, so hopefully he returns after the byes maybe?

I have confidence Heeney will score again once Buddy returns, there's speculation he was held back so he'll play his 300th against Hawthorn or something if he comes back next week.

This was Zorko for me last year I'm hoping. Poor start, then turns it around. Yet I started Zorko and didn't trade him out through his dry spell, he would've been a far better upgrade target though and potentially same with Westhoff here.

Apparently Dixon is back to main training, so hopefully he returns after the byes maybe?

I have confidence Heeney will score again once Buddy returns, there's speculation he was held back so he'll play his 300th against Hawthorn or something if he comes back next week.

I'd query Franklin coming back and staying back