Autopsy Round 8 vs Melbourne @ The Bank - 06/05/23 - 4:35pm

Seriously, you got to be Josh.

BTW, often in the past Josh sat next to Dew in the coaching box. Let's see how Josh goes against Casey tomorrow. We will probably have to play 4 academy kids but still it should be a strong VFL line-up.

You do realize, that one of the issues of Suns is attracting quality personnel on and off the field. Most assistant coaches live in Vic, we have limited soft cap, limited 3rd party deals opportunities.
Are you talking 'in the past' when Josh was defence coach and not the coach of the VFL side?

correct me if I’m wrong but wouldn’t the VFL and AFL team be playing from the same playbook / game plan.

I think we are winning in the BFL because we have a host of mature players that are fringe AFL level.

The extended list benefits really allow us to play almost entirely AFL listed players. Virtually no other VFL teams would have as many mature players that are borderline afl standard.

correct me if I’m wrong but wouldn’t the VFL and AFL team be playing from the same playbook / game plan.

I think we are winning in the BFL because we have a host of mature players that are fringe AFL level.

The extended list benefits really allow us to play almost entirely AFL listed players. Virtually no other VFL teams would have as many mature players that are borderline afl standard.
Lions are probably in the same situation with basically only a couple of injuries. They also signed I believe around 10 players for VFL only.

Yes they would have the same plan just a lot easier to execute under zero pressure. The standard of opposition has been pretty poor so far hence why burgess looks like Wayne carey and Tsitas dusty martin.

The team that Ross Lyons put together is Robert Harvey, Corey Enright and Lenny Hayes covering forward, centre and back.

Now compare the Suns team. .. Brad Miller (forward), Tate Kaesler (defence) , Jackson Kornberg (Development Coach?) Steven King Senior Assistant.

Further begs the question .. Why was Josh Drummond sitting beside Dew on the bench?

Is it too much to hope that there is going to be a smooth transition of power shortly.
Settle down, Drummo. I get that you would like to be named caretaker while finals are still alive but Dewy has found a way to put together some wins when the heat was really applied after the Fremantle game. You won't like this either but a loss to Melbourne tomorrow isn't going to result in him getting sacked.

I'll be interested to see what you have to say if we find a way to beat Melbourne tomorrow. I'm tipping you'll be very quiet.

Looks like Dew has picked lots of mids to replace those who are injured. Could be a classic stoppage and pressure heavy game on the Gold Coast. Just have to hope they can keep the score low. Would this be our best win ever if they can do it?

Yes. Daylight second

The win against Sydney at the SCG when they were at the peak of their powers always rates highly for me.
Our first ever win, Footy Park v Port Adelaide, come from behind win, Jared Brennan kicked a 45m checkside that bent along the boundary and Justin Westhoff missed the opportunity to win the match. Seen it live with a bunch of port supporters, good times

So Sexton will be sub next week? 5 snags so far today.

But hope the “Cheat Code” goes better in his second match!
Might be unpopular, but I would like to see Sexton play a string of games in the AFL to try and string a bit of form together. He’s clearly too good for the VFL.

This in, out, in, out with him, Bailey, Jeffrey, Rosas is helping no one, and it’s not like anyone is performing in that role. Small forward for us is a dead spot.

Might be unpopular, but I would like to see Sexton play a string of games in the AFL to try and string a bit of form together. He’s clearly too good for the VFL.

This in, out, in, out with him, Bailey, Jeffrey, Rosas is helping no one, and it’s not like anyone is performing in that role. Small forward for us is a dead spot.
I agree. Our small forward role is a gaping hole. I’d give him a few matches and see. Reckon he could slot in fine.

Not a fan of in and out, but at least they know if they go down to the 2's they will get rewarded with a crack in the AFL side.

Especially without rankine, sexton is the only small with a history of kicking goals and he barely gets a look in. I don't get it, yes he's not great at applying pressure but I think u sacrifice that for the potential to kick a bag

Sexton was bad last week.
Our entries forward were bad last week, and most of our forwards were below average.

Personally, I’d just give him more than a game to see if he has it. When he has come on as sub he scores though, so certainly could impact a game. He kicked 5 this week in the VFL again, so he may come under selection next week. We’ll see.

Our entries forward were bad last week, and most of our forwards were below average.

Personally, I’d just give him more than a game to see if he has it. When he has come on as sub he scores though, so certainly could impact a game. He kicked 5 this week in the VFL again, so he may come under selection next week. We’ll see.
Got Ben and Holman coming back

Autopsy Round 8 vs Melbourne @ The Bank - 06/05/23 - 4:35pm