Preview Round 9, 2024: Hawthorn v St.Kilda - UTAS Stadium, Launceston - Saturday 11th May, 1.45pm AEST

Hey guys, apologies for the intrusion.

Just wanted to ask if you think Windhager will be available this week? And will he tag someone like Newcombe?

Also just to clear things up, Sicily is likely to be available with Breust back also.

Thanks!
I think the real question is - is Newcombe available? And if he is will he tag someone like Windhager?

I wonder if RTB will be true to his word and rest Marshall at any time. Campbell has played against Meek at VFL level and generally matches up reasonably well against him.

Campbell had played really well at VFL the last couple of weeks, so if he was ever going to get a game this week against Meek is his best matchup IMO.
You would think this is the right week for a spell if he needs it considering Fremantle and Melbourne are our next two.

Campbell is very much a backup ruck but he's a solid one who doesn't scare me to think about - apologies to Paul Hunter.

I think the club should strike a special medal for those of us who have bought sim sims from the van behind the animal enclosure at Moorabbin on a dull grey Sat afternoon in late ‘70s early ‘80s Moorabbin, after Richmond have kicked seven goals straight (in the first quarter)

Should be special war ribbons for trips to Victoria Park where St Kilda kick three - for the whole game.
I sat right behind the Collingwood cheer squad at Vic Park in the 80s when we lost by 120-ish. Was not as bad as you'd think, because they were all pretty happy.

Not to mention that toilet block at the South Road end in the Members Stand forward pocket - on a warm day,
just walking past it was bad enough but actually needing to go in there for a slash was an eye watering experience of the senses.
That's were I gained my full grasp of the Aussie male vernacular and learnt such worldly ideas like how some umpires mothers wore hessian underwear. The best finishing school a kid could attend back then I tell ya.

Now if you even hinted at an AFL game your awareness of what type of underwear an umpires mother wore then texts would be rapidly fired off to the ground security number and you'd be hauled into an interrogation room for questioning by WOKE police and be charged under some diversity, equity and inclusion law.

For the record my mother thought hessian underwear were the responsible choice for the fiscally aware lady of the day.

Remember out the back of the goals at the South Road end where the toilers were, knee high in cans, mud N gravel, possibly urine filled puddles, it was like a scene out of SlumDog Millionaire with kids fighting N scrapping for cans, we probably tussled for the same cans.

It was a sad day when the tinnies were replaced with aluminium though, at least with the tinnies you could use to stand on to see the game, aluminium cans not so much.

Made me laugh, I remember the sand trick too.

I saw people urinating in the actual steel can whilst standing in the crowd in the outer. Shielded by a newspaper or record for camouflage. Those cans would be filled with cigarette butts, dirt and occasionally accidentally drank from or deliberately given to mates as if it was a fresh can just to enjoy seeing them attempt drinking for it for giggles.

When I was 14 or 15 a mate and I scored jobs cleaning up the terraces at Moorabbin on Sundays after Saturdays games.
Mid 70's. Can confirm contents of some cans were as you say. We used to find a fair bit of cash - coins and notes - sometimes more than whatever we were paid which was **** all from memory.

Surely Sicily won't play. Would be nuts.
If his shoulder is stable he will. Not uncommon if they can put it back in straight away. Worst case scenario he might need a jab before the game. He’s too important to them not to play. He’s just lucky Mal Michael and Chris Scott aren’t playing.

My take of Phillipou is the kid is burnt out - it must be remembered the kid is 19 and after 2 yrs in the system they are trying to turn the kid into a elite running machine and the preseason has most probably sucked the best out of him

I reckon it's more like jack billings syndrome.

Perfectionist type who gets in his own head too much trying to be the GOAT from day one.

I reckon he needs a shrink to tell him that if he wants to be the GOAT... he's gotta stop piling pressure on himself and enjoy the ride.

Appreciate it, thought he did a good job last time he did, and Newcombe copped a tag from Macrae against the Dogs.

Lol bevo double tapping the pipe:
A. playing macrae as a tagger; and
B. playing a tagger on a guy like newcombe

Happy Pothead GIF

And then you still can't call yourself a true sainter if you didn't stay until the bitter end and bonus points if it was a thrashing at a ground like Princess Park in August and its freezing cold and pouring rain where Carlton or Hawthorn were sharpening their teeth for finals...that's real supporter right there. None of this dry stuff under the roof with a light N music show between goals....pffft!

Damn it the club should strike a special members medallion for us war veterans and provide us with social welfare to ease the burden we carry.

And the kids have a hide to come on here and tell me to take it easy on Max King so we don't hurt feelings....pass me a marshmallow
I have never left a St Kilda game early ever.

And that includes the slaughter at Waverley by the Pies.

I did miss the first half a game once though as a mate was getting married. Luckily at the nearby to Waverley Police Academy Chapel so that I could attend the second half before heading to the reception. ;)

The thing with King for me is he's just not naturally an alpha. When he tries to play that role, it seems forced.

He needs to play to his natural strengths.

In my opinion his body language DOES need to improve.

Regardless, our delivery inside 50 is often woeful. It's certainly not helping him.

I think the coaches need to shoulder some blame.

I thought his best footy was playing aggressive. When he gets rough he seems lot more on his game. He looks angry and engaged.

And then you still can't call yourself a true sainter if you didn't stay until the bitter end and bonus points if it was a thrashing at a ground like Princess Park in August and its freezing cold and pouring rain where Carlton or Hawthorn were sharpening their teeth for finals...that's real supporter right there. None of this dry stuff under the roof with a light N music show between goals....pffft!

Damn it the club should strike a special members medallion for us war veterans and provide us with social welfare to ease the burden we carry.

And the kids have a hide to come on here and tell me to take it easy on Max King so we don't hurt feelings....pass me a marshmallow
they built the DF centre for u

I have never left a St Kilda game early ever.

And that includes the slaughter at Waverley by the Pies.

I did miss the first half a game once though as a mate was getting married. Luckily at the nearby to Waverley Police Academy Chapel so that I could attend the second half before heading to the reception. ;)
Respect!!

It comes off as an act to me. I'm not buying it.

Anyway... get structurally functional forward line and better delivery inside 50 and Max will be ok.
It's no act he is one of the best contested markers in the AFL and you can't be soft fighting for a contested ball.
● Ranked 7th in Total Contested Marks in 2020
● Ranked 6th in Total Contested Marks in 2021
● Ranked 3rd in Total Contested Marks in 2022

2023 played 11 games and half of them playing through injury

2024 has only played 5 games - just came back after sitting out 2 weeks - no touch and it showed , will be back to his best with in a few games

It's no act he is one of the best contested markers in the AFL and you can't be soft fighting for a contested ball.
● Ranked 7th in Total Contested Marks in 2020
● Ranked 6th in Total Contested Marks in 2021
● Ranked 3rd in Total Contested Marks in 2022

2023 played 11 games and half of them playing through injury

2024 has only played 5 games - just came back after sitting out 2 weeks - no touch and it showed , will be back to his best with in a few games

It's not what I meant.

I think the club should strike a special medal for those of us who have bought sim sims from the van behind the animal enclosure at Moorabbin on a dull grey Sat afternoon in late ‘70s early ‘80s Moorabbin, after Richmond have kicked seven goals straight (in the first quarter)

Should be special war ribbons for trips to Victoria Park where St Kilda kick three - for the whole game.
You know that was a period where I went to Moorabbin a lot along with quite a few away games and my group never had any trouble at all. There was always quite a bit of good natured humour at st Kilda games back then.

It comes off as an act to me. I'm not buying it.

Anyway... get a structurally functional forward line and better delivery inside 50 and Max will be ok.
I get what you're saying.
I think Max made a concious decision to be more aggressive directly with opponents.
Maybe it's an act in that it doesn't come naturally to him.
But you can fake it 'til you make it.

Good luck with that, his shoulder will be out again in no time and he’ll be in for surgery early. What’s the point given both clubs are well and truly out of finals contention ?.
Not every shoulder dislocation actually fully tears the tendon. His wouldn’t have given he has come back on and has full range of motion. He’ll strap it to make sure it is 100% as it recovers, but it happens, a lot of players play with strapping because of these issues.

He came into Kade Simpsons office Monday (the day after it happened) (his defensive coach) and put his hands above his head and said “I’m good to go”.

Again, he’ll play. Injuries are complex but once you’re cleared of serious injury and it comes back clean you play.

Not every shoulder dislocation actually fully tears the tendon. His wouldn’t have given he has come back on and has full range of motion. He’ll strap it to make sure it is 100% as it recovers, but it happens, a lot of players play with strapping because of these issues.

He came into Kade Simpsons office Monday (the day after it happened) (his defensive coach) and put his hands above his head and said “I’m good to go”.

Again, he’ll play. Injuries are complex but once you’re cleared of serious injury and it comes back clean you play.
Rozee did similar last week. Just because a player thinks they are physically fine, doesn't mean they are.

All that’s probably true, however we’re just saying that from a player welfare point of view we on here would be comfortable with him taking the week off.

He’s got a long life ahead of him and the extra seven days now may benefit him in 50 years time when he’s swinging the wrenches on the front 9 at the Dingley Retirement Village.

We care 🥰