Rusling - bringing Rocca's career to an end

The emergence of Sean Rusling, mainly tonight, has nearly put the final nail in Anthony Rocca's career. Rusling presented beautifully, illustrated by 5 marks inside 50 in the first quarter, but while the Rus was dominating (and missing!), Rocca was nowhere to be seen, and it wasnt until Rusling went off the ground that Pebs took a mark and goaled

Our forward line has found its replacement!

Rocca was nowhere to be seen because both he and Cloke were dragging their opponents out of the 50, to give Rusling space... which is also why Rusling got so much early on. Rocca didn't play too badly... well, compared to some other shockers he's had :p

Was happy with Rus' game tonight. Especially when he started kicking straight.

I wouldn't call him a replacement for Rocca as he is more of a leading forward than a one-on-one contested mark sort of player.

If anything it should help rocca by taking some of the focus off him. It now gives us three tall options when going forward. Forward line is looking good going forward especially with some of the other young players coming through.

no way, Rocca is under valued by pies fans. I guarentee if you asked any opposition official for any side, Rocca would be a top priority for stopping. What people don't realise is that Rocca is a team player. I highly doubt he would have been bothered by 9 possies and 3 goals wen the Rus kicked 4. With his potential to tear a game apart he is the number 1 worry for opposition sides which brings otha players into the game. Will be important player in the side for 2 to 3 years to come.

Rusling was good, but is a completely different kind of player to Rocca. Rocca kicked a goal by contesting a mark against 3 players, and then beating them on the deck. Who do you think gets the benefits of 3 vs. 1 contests against Rocca?

Dead right mate,the day Rusling outcontests 3 defenders in the goal square and walzes in for a goal is the day Roccas career is over! Know what? That wasn't this evening.

Rusling was fantastic tonight. His contested marking was so much better than what we've seen in the past, and he suddenly looks a whole lot more dangerous because of it. Thoroughly pleased with him.

The thing that I liked about Rusling was that he finally has the confidence to crash a few packs. He bustled through a few blokes last night who were trying to block his space. He just ran straight through them and grabbed the mark anyway.

He compliments Rocca, he does NOT replace him. Rocca has being playing out of the square all year, now with the Rus back, Pebs can roam the arc and cause serious headaches with two large marking targets across half forward with Dids, Davis and Thomas crumbing at their feet.

What is it with the fools that just bag Pebs all the time. Doesnt anyone realise that a player can get 4 or 5 touches and be one of the best on ground. He locks up 2 or 3 players and drags them out of the game and yes, suprise suprise Rus and whoever else is free to take marks and leon and rovers feed off his contested ball gets. Sometimes his job is simply to contest the ball, take a few players out and get the ball to ground. He doesnt have to kick 10 goals every week. And the goal from the boundary last night was very clever. Now what about the report is he gone or not, i dont think he will have a problem and should be in next week which will be a dissapointment to all you Rocca haters.

Rocca was nowhere to be seen because both he and Cloke were dragging their opponents out of the 50, to give Rusling space... which is also why Rusling got so much early on. Rocca didn't play too badly... well, compared to some other shockers he's had :p

Ding Ding Ding spot on.

You get rid of Rocca then Rusling gets better defenders put on him. If Rocca stays and a coach desides to target Rusling or Cloke insteed of Rocca they are in trouble. Plus he did kick 2 goals last night :D

if he gets a week for that, we've lost all hope.

The MRP will throw it out.

Buchanan on the other hand should get 4-6, not only was it high, he jumped for the impact which is a big 'no no'.

The one thing that will save him is that Marty Clarke is made of steel and shrugged it off to return to the field later. Stupidly, the injury to the player plays a big part in the grading/suspension.

Was great to see Rusling tonight really show waht he can bring to this side. His leading off the mark is sensational, and he has a maginificent pair of dukes. If he had kicked a little straighter, could of had 6 agianst his name. Would love to know where Rusling's standing would be in the our side, if he hadn't had all the injuries, and he played about 40-50 games of AFL footy. l suspect he would be known as one of the best young forwards in the competition. Hopefully he can stay injury free and really start to show the ability he has.
I wouldn't say he is bring Pebbles career to an end, as Rusling will be used more as the explosive leading forward, where as Rocca will be the more power forward. With Cloke, Davis, Medhurst, Didak and co. also lurking up forward, it is exciting.

rusling can never replace rocca because you could not get 2 more different type of forwards. If a player was to replace rocca it would be a big bustling player like dawes who would be a couple of years of yet I would reckon.

rocca is not my favorite but he is still very important to the structure and we do not have anyone who is ready to replace him. He is bloody stupid though. You reckon by now he would have learnt to be a little more careful when throwing his body around.

Gee 2 weeks ago everyone said i was just a bitter collingwood supporter when I said it was time we got rid of Rocca and now people are started threads like this.

Rusling does everything that we need Rocca to do he even chases!!!

Finally we have a forward line that operated effectively and you guys want to change it.

Thank god none of you people are on the selection committee!

Hopefully this ends the let's trade Rusling rumors for a second rate Ruckman. The club would be crazy to give away such a huge talent. Our biggest worry is the Adelaide clubs trying to get him back home.

The one thing that will save him is that Marty Clarke is made of steel and shrugged it off to return to the field later. Stupidly, the injury to the player plays a big part in the grading/suspension.
Yep, which is why the Melbourne boys did Johnno no favours, they went and kicked Bell in the back in the process, which probably made any bruising/pain a helluva lot worse.

If his brother wins the starting gig with Philly maybe he'd be tempted to follow suit?
There's no question he'll go, but it will be after his AFL career ends. He won't be walking out on the club early, because those in the know recognise how important he is.

Hopefully this ends the let's trade Rusling rumors for a second rate Ruckman. The club would be crazy to give away such a huge talent. Our biggest worry is the Adelaide clubs trying to get him back home.
To be fair, I don't think there were ever rumours, only suggestions from frustrated fans who are disgusted with our ruck divisions.

As it stands, it's got to be increasingly likely that all three (Rusling/Richards/Bryan) will stay! :eek:

T H A N K Y O U!!! Someone with a brain!!!!! EXACTLY how i saw it last night!! For Rusling to play FF the man needs space because he is very quick off the mark. If we play a crowded forward line he is useless!!!! So rocca and Cloke would have been told to play out wide and only come in to cover the space when sydney where flooding!!!

Rocca's career to an end....jesus christ!!!

Rusling - bringing Rocca's career to an end