• yes

Votes: 75 65.8%
  • monday

Votes: 39 34.2%

Well I'm not against him continuing beyond 2025, but I don't want the club to extend him until the season is finished.

I want to see either a flag, or a grand final appearance where we give it our all, but lose to a superior opponent, have injuries that impede us etc. I don't really count 2016 in the same way as the others, we had some questionable umpiring and copped several injuries before and during the game. We at least battled on. But we need to see him get the team going in a grand final again, and unfortunately he's only got 1 year left to do it imo.

If we start well next year and the club extends him, to me, that's short term thinking. Well, it's short term if our goal is premierships rather than stability for the sake of it i.e. the modern Port Adelaide way.
I doubt the club will extend Horse early. There is no reason to other than to tie up Horse so he does not go elsewhere. There is little risk of that. So I reckon they will not sign him early. Also, the Swans hierarchy would be very aware of Swans supporters views and the wider AFL community views. The Swans need to project strong management of their coaching plan. More than that they need to demonstrate they are conscience of and have in place a coaching plan for the future. Stability and projection of that stability will be paramount.

The Swans senior management is strong. Perceptions are important. If the public believes the Swans are in control of things then negative publicity is at a minimum. pressure from outside is at a minimum.
I expect the Swans are working on things in the coaching area. They will have their finger on the future and the current perceptions of that.

Swans don't parade their plans in public. Swans don't do dumb, rash decisions.

I reckon how we start the season, not just wins, but the manner of our play will determine a lot. A focus on winning inside ball, clearances etc would be a focus. We have shown we can win home and away with a style. Winning with a grand final winning style, I imagine, would be a big focus for many at the club to ensure we win at the pointy end.

The game plan, the way we play needs to change so that we are capable of beating whoever when it counts at the end of the season. This needs to be demonstrated in H&A. I am sure the Swans are well aware of this.

I doubt the club will extend Horse early. There is no reason to other than to tie up Horse so he does not go elsewhere. There is little risk of that. So I reckon they will not sign him early. Also, the Swans hierarchy would be very aware of Swans supporters views and the wider AFL community views. The Swans need to project strong management of their coaching plan. More than that they need to demonstrate they are conscience of and have in place a coaching plan for the future. Stability and projection of that stability will be paramount.

The Swans senior management is strong. Perceptions are important. If the public believes the Swans are in control of things then negative publicity is at a minimum. pressure from outside is at a minimum.
I expect the Swans are working on things in the coaching area. They will have their finger on the future and the current perceptions of that.

Swans don't parade their plans in public. Swans don't do dumb, rash decisions.

I reckon how we start the season, not just wins, but the manner of our play will determine a lot. A focus on winning inside ball, clearances etc would be a focus. We have shown we can win home and away with a style. Winning with a grand final winning style, I imagine, would be a big focus for many at the club to ensure we win at the pointy end.

The game plan, the way we play needs to change so that we are capable of beating whoever when it counts at the end of the season. This needs to be demonstrated in H&A. I am sure the Swans are well aware of this.
Management has said Horse has a job as long as he wants it. To me that suggests they'll extend if he says he wants to stay.

I'm not sure the club has its finger on the pulse, given the messaging so far.

You seem very confident that the club will respond appropriately given we have shown little to no evidence of this previously.

Management has said Horse has a job as long as he wants it. To me that suggests they'll extend if he says he wants to stay.

You seem very confident that the club will respond appropriately given we have shown little to no evidence of this previously.

“He has the job as long as he wants it”

Possibly the most stupid statement any exec could ever make.

Read this article and it reminded me of Horses comments "it's not me, it's the club"

Very similar mentality, as if to say making the final was enough.

Say they handed out the watches and said, we'll need you to bring the watches back next week so we can have them engraved champions. It struck me that Hugo Lloris intuitively knew it was a psychologically weak gesture.

So much more to say, that applies to both Tottenham and the swans, but I'll leave it at that.

And I could agree with every word you have written because it has been written with facts, due diligence, planning and other considerations. All of the things I have been saying.

I am all for any solution that is thought through and is not rash.

I just don't get the sack Horse now camp that does not provide an educated, thought through alternative that stacks up. I would retain Horse if it is our best alternative. I would also move Horse on if it is our best alternative. I would surround either coach we have with better people. I would explore every option to give us the best possible chance of winning a grand final. I expect the Swans are doing this stuff right now.

I react to flippant sack Horse posts that do not do the due diligence of thinking about the positives and negatives of any decisions on Horse's tenure. Lots of sack Horse crap permeated this thread. I just wanted posters to provide more constructive solutions to us winning grand finals other than sack Horse.

I get that those posters that don't want to think and just react can post sack Horse like graffiti all over this thread. And it is maybe remedial and helpful for them getting over another embarrassing grand final loss. But that time is up now. Time to move on.

That is what I think. But I will probably battle on with those that choose not to move on.
There has been plenty of deep and constructive criticism in this thread, you’ve chosen to overlook or ignore it, then gaslight everybody by using phrases such as reactive, educated etc, like you’re some how intellectually superior

You talk about your corporate experience so you should know that those in highly paid leadership positions are shown the door when they don’t deliver

There has been plenty of deep and constructive criticism in this thread, you’ve chosen to overlook or ignore it, then gaslight everybody by using phrases such as reactive, educated etc, like you’re some how intellectually superior

You talk about your corporate experience so you should know that those in highly paid leadership positions are shown the door when they don’t deliver
There was plenty of deep destructive criticism early in this thread. It seems to have waned recently. That is a good thing. We need to move on.

We just won the minor premiership and made a grand final.

So now you not only want to sack Horse, you want to move on Pridham and Harley etc now, while we are in a premiership window.

Wow.

There was plenty of deep destructive criticism early in this thread. It seems to have waned recently. That is a good thing. We need to move on.

We just won the minor premiership and made a grand final.

So now you not only want to sack Horse, you want to move on Pridham and Harley etc now, while we are in a premiership window.

Wow.
WTF?

Now you’re just straight out lying, you have no credibility in what you say whatsoever

Please show me one post where I have even mentioned Harley or Pridham?

Why dont you go over to the Horse Love thread and post in there by yourself?

WTF?

Now you’re just straight out lying, you have no credibility in what you say whatsoever

Please show me one post where I have even mentioned Harley or Pridham?

Why dont you go over to the Horse Love thread and post in there by yourself?
These are your words
"you should know that those in highly paid leadership positions are shown the door when they don’t deliver"

I just picked some people in our leadership. I thought that is what you meant.

Can you explain what you meant by that? Who are you referring to? Note that it was plural.

These are your words
"you should know that those in highly paid leadership positions are shown the door when they don’t deliver"

Can you explain what you meant by that? Who are you referring to? Note that it was plural.

Are you simple or deliberately being a 🍆?

Just in case it’s the former, read the thread title, then trot off over to the other Horse thread, it’s going gangbusters

I reckon you are quoting from something before the grand final when you say "Management has said Horse has a job as long as he wants it".

I am very confident that the Swans have changes in mind and will implement them.

I reckon you are quoting from something before the grand final when you say "Management has said Horse has a job as long as he wants it".

I am very confident that the Swans have changes in mind and will implement them.
I'm still hoping that we are able to track down and recruit a midfield specialist coach to replace (numerically) Macca, even if we have to pay over the odds.
It's easy to be critical of Cox but I doubt that midfield tactics was ever his strong suit.

These are your words

I actually have a problem with the leadership culture.
Harley and Horse have been indoctrinated and completely pilled into corporate culture and seemingly moved away from footy club culture. We have taken on air of haughtiness and superiority. Like we are a class above.

I don't actually think we are in a premiership window and I think winning the minor premiership was flattering and a false economy.

I just watched the replay the other day and thale big thing that stuck out was the players total inability to run backwards when we didn't have the ball.

Lachie Neale was left entirely alone all day. No body contact at all.. Sometimes he was in his own paddock just strolling along. Nobody even went near him at stoppages. He probably couldn't believe his luck.

We are the epitome of downhill skiers and I won't be surprised if the other clubs figure this out.

When Heeney got the week suspension it was a fair penalty yet we sooked and sooked and sooked about it.

Toby Greene mocked our sooking so we sooked about that as well..

And that was Harley and Horse leading the sooking.

Then at the GF after getting flogged Rampe somehow remembers to make a special reference to real-estate.com.au, a news ltd company.

I dont recall Brisbane players thanking any Individual sponsors.

But there is good old Swans culture circa 2024. Dane managed to find a place in his heart to give the Murdochs a shout out, like they need it.

It doesn't matter when it all comes down to it. The GF is the only one that counts. If you can't win them you have to get moved on. I made a prediction that has come true. We can't win another under Horse.

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Obviously didn't get the Swans HQ memo. GF's don't define us. tongue in cheek

It doesn't matter when it all comes down to it. The GF is the only one that counts. If you can't win them you have to get moved on. I made a prediction that has come true. We can't win another under Horse.

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app
The leaders can say the GF (plural) don't define us but the reality for the other 17 clubs, the media, and all the NSW casuals who only watch one game per year, GFs will define us. That's the cold hard reality.

I actually have a problem with the leadership culture.
Harley and Horse have been indoctrinated and completely pilled into corporate culture and seemingly moved away from footy club culture. We have taken on air of haughtiness and superiority. Like we are a class above.

I don't actually think we are in a premiership window and I think winning the minor premiership was flattering and a false economy.

I just watched the replay the other day and thale big thing that stuck out was the players total inability to run backwards when we didn't have the ball.

Lachie Neale was left entirely alone all day. No body contact at all.. Sometimes he was in his own paddock just strolling along. Nobody even went near him at stoppages. He probably couldn't believe his luck.

We are the epitome of downhill skiers and I won't be surprised if the other clubs figure this out.

When Heeney got the week suspension it was a fair penalty yet we sooked and sooked and sooked about it.

Toby Greene mocked our sooking so we sooked about that as well..

And that was Harley and Horse leading the sooking.

Then at the GF after getting flogged Rampe somehow remembers to make a special reference to real-estate.com.au, a news ltd company.

I dont recall Brisbane players thanking any Individual sponsors.

But there is good old Swans culture circa 2024. Dane managed to find a place in his heart to give the Murdochs a shout out, like they need it.
We have more silver tails within the club compared to the Roos and early Longmire years. Pridham and Harley off the field and not a lot of players like Hall, Kirk, Ablett, Shaw, Bevan, Mumford etc on the ground. More privileged types perhaps but maybe the whole league is more like this now. Private school kids dominate the numbers as well. food for thought.

I think there is a difference between a "professional sporting club environment" and a "professional corporate environment".
I'm concerned we have edged towards the latter a little too much.
It's still a footy club at heart

Agree but my hypothesis is the "push to be more professional" is being misinterpreted to meaning being "more like a bank".

It seems obvious Brisbane and Fagan still maintained a "local footy club" culture but with professional training standards.

There is a difference.

My concern is the corporate silvertail culture is being absorbed by the playing group.

They sure as shit dont like body contact and doing any dirty blue collar stuff

I think there is a difference between a "professional sporting club environment" and a "professional corporate environment".
I'm concerned we have edged towards the latter a little too much.
It's still a footy club at heart
And worrying about too many theme weeks

Maybe I'm just getting old and not in tune with modernity ...
Maybe we should corporatise absolutely everything ..Maybe we're "cultural leaders" and players all secretly want to work at Macquarie bank.
I dunno.
We shall see...

But it's telling that no star players are interested in joining the club in recent years.

We no longer even get linked to any star players.