Review Saints V Tigers 8 July

My daughter asked why I wasnt saying anything in the 2nd. I was a bit bewildered and wondered who were in the Saints jumpers.

Anywho. Disappointed to not beat the imposters by more. Without the 6 day break we beat those jokes by 20 goals.

Martin. Do not want. Front runner, only plays when it is going his way.

Kelly please.

Sinclair a great rookie. Brown, Steele and Koby great additions to team structure. Great recruiting by Ameet.

And to think according to David King we could have taken Gresh with 5 instead of Carlisle and Gresh. What a fool.

Development of the kids have been great.

The coach is going fine. The selections for the game was great.

The rubbish I have read on here ib the past three weeks, the negativity and ignorance, is the reason this forum is going downhill.

First time since we have won four straight since 2011 and there is still complaints about things most of us know NOTHING about.

Oh and happy to be wrong about Billy Longer, was terrific against Freo ( despite the commentators creaming over Darcy) and murdered Nankervis last night.

The goal was superb.

Never write off Roo you muppets.

Back to radio silence

Stevens is the big one for me. He provides a mature body, is an upgrade on Lucky and has cemented his spot.

There were doubts if he was worth taking in terms of list space, but proof is that he is getting a game ahead of some highly touted kids. And a capable replacement for an injured Armo.

The dogs could do with him right now, just as the pies could do with Brown.

If Koby is relegated to bottom 6, we will be a very strong team.

5fa6c9e74cf24cfbfc695b9b847e0ed2.jpg

16.5km is one of the highest I've seen since this data started coming out. Usually players are doing 14.5 to 15km. 16.5 is really high

1ba1740a9c21affb2c56f9954e1c8210.jpg

8 intercepts for a winger shows his real value. He's a midfield intercept king!
35 really does suit him. Reminds me more and more of Harvs every game. That ability to run and run and run, and still hit up somebody in the forward 50 lace out.

BIFF AND QUIFF FALL OFF A CLIFF

Just got through the replay. Having not watched Richmond for a few years, it was interesting putting them into a context that made sense. I mean, you know without listening to their music that One Direction is shit, but so many people rave about them that you sort of have to just be sure, and likewise to my mind, the Tigers will always be one of those pathetic not quite teams, but they've been getting some good results and positive media, you'd almost think it was worth reconsidering... But no.

From their demasculating skintight yellow singlet to their ludicrous fake toughguy (ex?) "captain" with the boot-shaped quiff, they resembled not so much a football team as a Olympic cycling team.

Together with Cotchin - the Tigers version of other candidate for lamest AFL captain Marc Murphy - there was a fellow with a moustache in no 33 who's name I'm not bothered to look up and Biff, their no 5 who just tried to act tough but just look at that silly haircut and his podgy Mark Mitchell face, he looks like he'll end up as a drag queen running a bar after retirement. Then of course is their only out and out star, Dusty who looks like a young gluesniffer who watched the movie Chopper too many times as a child and ended up copying that crazy eyed straight neck stance of Eric Bana. I won't go through their whole list, but by and large, Richmond look like a collective of failed henchmen and this might account for their poor football, trying to leave the leading to someone else, and just chipping in now and then with a sly punch to an opponent's breadbasket or a "hur hur hur, right boss!" type exclamation.

Lots of people seemed to be worried pre-game about this supposed Superdefender they've got, Rance. I don't know what he's normally like but when I saw him - albeit opposed to one of the champions of the game on a personal crusade - he looked and played like a Mr Clean type guy who's just woken up in a bin after his bucks night with stubble rash, a weird taste in his mouth and no memory.

Watching the Yellowbreasts run around near the ball one word kept coming into my head: frantic, like that Harrison Ford film. Watching Dimma in the box, he looked like a bloke who's just tried to get out of debt by selling his car and putting the lot on various horse races, and is just watching his life get flushed away. Richo on the other hand looked like some nerd genius trying to answer a really tough question to get the jackpot prize on a quiz show, but that's kind of his thing.

So the Saints were great, even in a red-less top. Acres, Dunstan, Weller and Webster would be spewing they missed that, and hopefully they will be showing how desperate they are to play in this team again later today. The boys were frantic too, not in a sketchy desperate way like their canary-coloured counterparts, but in a determined controlled unstoppable way. Wave after wave of Purple White and Black attacks washed up on the Richmond beach, pounding the dirty sand and washing all the dirty needles and used johnnies into the cleansing tide. This was the St Kilda we deserve but rarely see and you have to wonder at what was said in the rooms pre-game to produce that response.

Give Richmond credit, they didn't fold immediately, just couldn't kick a goal, save for Captain Quiff making amends for his sad attempt at exerting authority. But the Saints were unselfish and organised, lightning quick and had too much experience.

Roo was just pure Roo, didn't get all the goals but played like a 23 year old version of himself with more intenisty.

Joey was more in his pomp than I've ever seen him, loved his goal celebrations! If he does bow out this year, this game will be one of the ones we watch to remind us of him.

Bruce kicked more or less the same score as the entire team of opponents in the first half, not that that was anything to be happy about, but he never stopped trying and was everywhere.

Blinky Billy Longer finally had a game that gave us a glimpse of what the hype was about, and he can be our number one ruck for the rest of his career if he develops along those lines.

Lonie's backwards kick to Billings was a treat as was Surgeon Sinclair's rapier-like delivery into the forward line, and Tim "The Law" Membrey finally kicked the bag we've been expecting him to. (I call him the law because of his long arms, yuk yuk).

Skipper Geary and his brave crew of backmen were imperious in the air and great going forward, Gilbo and Ross just keep on having their career best years, Stuv came to the party, and it was just beautiful, the whole thing.

Even Mackenzie - who had some poor moments - rolled up his sleeves and put his nuts on the line for his team. Will be sad to lose The Law and I did read that Billy had a hamstring injury, if so that's really poor timing for him and us. Paddy and Hick should be coming in to help Jake the Snake pour some ice cold reality down the throats of his old black and crimson buddies.

I loved watching this game and I'm loving the roller coaster ride at St Kilda this season. I hope we keep climbing and build some real momentum now. I wrote earlier this week that I did the AFL ladder predictor and according to that, we needed to win 5 out of our final 8 games to make finals. On this evidence, absolutely possible. I can't see us dropping the next one, Sydney might be tough but Port in Adelaide is definitely winnable, and I reckon we're playing them at the right time. Then it's revenge time for the Eagles and Demons, followed by Kangaroos and Tigers for dessert.

I love footy! Go Saints!

Just read through 9 pages and I find it *pleasing* that Jack Billings has only been mentioned as the recipient of Lonie's lovely check side pass from the boundary line. JB didn't one of his best games last night but it certainly wasn't his worst either. I see this as a good sign. Different people are stepping up each week and last night was a true team effort.

Like Richo said, DMac made a few mistakes but to his credit didn't go into his shell and kept playing to the gameplan and was very good defensively. If that is the worst performance we will do better than OK.

Long & Lonie were manic in the forward line. Lonie had at least two direct assists that I can remember plus the two 50s his niggle drew in the first 5 minutes. Long's tackling and speed to get to the contest was a feature. Easy to see why we snatched him from the clutches of the Doggies when we did.

I mentioned during the week that I treasure every minute I can watch Rooey play and last night was a joy. Destroyed one of the best rebounding defenders in the league. Manage his expectations (i.e. less game time when he plays and more regular rests) and hopefully we'll get another year out of him.

Yeah I just think with the way Richo has been at the selection table this year IF Membrey misses the whole 'like for like' comes into play and the closest to Membrey I think would be Acres.

Marshall is definitely an interesting option whether they bite the bullet and actually upgrade him is another question.

Yeah if I was Richo I"d be booking Acres into the tat shop first thing tomorrow morning just in case.

His marking set up I think 2 goals during our roll in the second. One where he was free around the 50 but the pass wasn't too good. My mate was like 'terrible kick' and I responded 'nah it's all good it's Timmy'. He didn't let me down, our marked two Tigers players and kicked to the goal square for an easy goal.

Very strong dukes.

Bruce showed a bit of it last night, he had super glue hands back in 2015 but they've gone wandering a little since.

But Jake Clunkisle has to be our best pack mark. He's not grabbing all of them but you just know it's a matter of time till he takes a match saving mark in defence (or a match winning mark up forward).

Was surprised by Savage doing this as well on the last line of defense, was almost certain he was going to bobble the mark, it was going to spill an the Tigers were going to run into open goal. So the boys seemed very strong in their marking attempts last night cross the board, with only really Stevens having a bit of a mare in that regard and Stuv being nutted a few times.

Can someone please explain how Reiwoldt beat rance. ?

Rance as a player is your standard lead up extended arm sort of defender (similar to Hudghton, only bigger body and kept his feet), as he's always there and there abouts at pace with a leading forward who generally bursts off most defenders in the first 20m for separation. What Rooey did and does however is also extends the arms to the highest point of the ball at hits highest point, which in the case where players are similar size with similar extension meant Rance kinda needed to be in front and Rooey to play goal side, which a leading forward does not do as a set up.

So how Rooey beat Rance is simply position based, he started in front and the kicking was mostly on point for him to extend and lead confidently.

Was surprised by Savage doing this as well on the last line of defense, was almost certain he was going to bobble the mark, it was going to spill an the Tigers were going to run into open goal. So the boys seemed very strong in their marking attempts last night cross the board, with only really Stevens having a bit of a mare in that regard and Stuv being nutted a few times.

Even Lones took a couple overhead grabs I wasn't sure he'd hold onto. Couple that with a stereotypical Dmac screamer followed by a potential concussion.

Looks like we worked on contested marking and goal kicking this week.

More of that please.

I love gresh... but only thing that frustrates me is I think naturally he is a great kick ... but tries to be too cute and fancy and gets himself in trouble .. reckon that's lonies problem too... hopefully they both iron it out

You shut your goddamn mouth you heathen sonofabitch.

He clearly had lost the plot last night. Have a look at his action at the end of the 2nd - think he was trying to elbow another player to show his displeasure. He may be a great bloke off the field but on it he has anger issues, no question.
In all fairness it was Membry who had 5 minutes ealier knocked out one of his team mates.

Lonie's look mental, Gresham just plays frenetic footy and I think it's something you don't want to coach out of him. Both play daring footy but Gresh is a showman and the mercurial stuff fires him up. All him to stop it and you might put out the spark.

Best game by the saints in years, it was a pleasure to watch us smash the Tigers.

If we can reproduce that effort this week we are on our way, must have made compelling viewing to players we are chasing.

Not one player who didn't contribute last night and how good were some of those marks by gears, I bet that was an eye opener for some people who don't rate us.

Well done to the selection committee.

Quite impressed with Long last night, didn't hit the scoreboard but think he will get more dangerous around goals the more comfortable he feels at the level.

Some great individual efforts...

Gilbert on Dusty... beast.

Robbo sliding in to make a contest... desperate.

Gresh is like those inflatable punching clowns... knock him over and he just bounces back up.

Roo WTF? Never write off a champ.

In the preview thread I question if last week was a turning point for this group... answered tonight.

Billy Longer is finding some fitness. I guess his importance showed when he went off with the blood rule. Seems to be finding his confidence.

Apart from Webster, is this our best 22? Would drop Long for him?
McKenzie for Webster then yeah it is.

Big Brown Dog looks in absolutely ripping shape. Stuck his chest out and sold some candy at one point.

Absolute bargain. 29 in December. Gives us at least another two years of quality KP service/security.

His game, experience and age has proved to be an amazing fit for our starting 22. Seems like a super cool dude, while being an absolute pro.

Get his mate Ben Reid over for a 4th rounder, and get him back to an AA level.

Big Brown Dog looks in absolutely ripping shape. Stuck his chest out and sold some candy at one point.

Absolute bargain. 29 in December. Gives us at least another two years of quality KP service/security.

His game, experience and age has proved to be an amazing fit for our starting 22. Seems like a super cool dude, while being an absolute pro.

Get his mate Ben Reid over for a 4th rounder, and get him back to an AA level.

Why is he never mentioned as a potential ruck relief???

You know how just about everyone calls Jack, Jack Stevens.
What if Worsfold tells one of his players to put a heavy tag on Stevens?????
He'll be like...duhhh????? I'm so confused bra.

Review Saints V Tigers 8 July