SALADA/VladFL: Slap on the wrist. - STRICTLY ESSENDON SUPPORTERS ONLY

An interesting new "tear" if you want is Gerard Whateley becoming a new target the AFL and its minions in Barrett and Wilson. If I wasn't a fan of Essendon I'd be fascinated academically as to how this will play out. His reputation has been attacked and he's been labeled as an Essendon "sympathiser" so to speak, despite taking a highly critical (but non vitriolic) view of the EFC prior to the revelations about ASADA's rampant incompetence in regards to AOD 9064

I think this was the most interesting thing for me out of the show, and I'm curious how this will play out. I really rate GW and think he's the most eloquent* of the sports journos. Really interested to see how GW replies to this... does he go all in, or does he brush it off and not buy into the personal attacks.

*Poor old Robbo's heart might be in the right place, but sitting next to GW really emphasises Robbo's stop/start way getting his points across.

whilst the concept of Hird taking leave for a time isn't without merit, he's battled through it for 6 months, I'll back him to concentrate for another month, then resolve this through the summer

Don't forget, the AFL accredit journo's. they can't go to hard, or risk losing their own meal ticket.

They really are judge, juror & prosecutor. They have the power to manipulate what goes to press and air, and what doesn't.

We need to take the journo's off the doorstep of the club. Our boys have got to want to go to the club.

Whilst Hirdy is standing on the steps fighting his own battle, it makes it harder for the boys to go about their business.

Demetriou and his merry flogs have ****** Hird over by making charges personal.

Hird is in a no win situation. Fight, and have perception it's all about jim, or quit, leaving our club without a pretty handy coach and you would assume they all walk with him.

Amidst the bullshit, the truth will lie. Hird has to decide whether he throws his role of coach along (affecting the group, and no doubt it has and continue to) or he steps aside, lets the boys breath and continues the fight away from windy hill.

Whether he quits or stands down until the investigation is over, I now think its the right thing to do for the group. Either way a courtroom will decide his innocence or not.

Well yeah, that's exactly it. The only way to correct mistruths is through the court system.

noun - one who literally foams at the mouth and is know to utter phrases such as "dey r drug cheetz!! Hird is going to prison, etc"

cheers guys, im pretty sure i get it - the least for me people in society, not in a million years would ya get around them, not for me, not for anyone. would not even skull piss with their mates

And I forgot to mention the thing that upset me the most: Why the hell was Cometti wearing a belt outside his suit?

LN

Good post.

Is the AFL targetting Whatley or is he collateral damage, because he works on 360 with Robbo. It's well known that Robbo has fallen out with the AFL.

And if we read between the lines of Caro's latest article - She named the Head of Fox Footy as a good friend of James Hird. It must be sheer coincidence that this guy is mentioned shortly after the Garnham interview.

The difference between Caro and Fat Prick is

- Fat Prick is more consistent with his views and doesn't flip flop around. From Day 1 he called for Hird/Robson/Evans to stand down. Caro had Thompson in the gun until around the time of Hird'a ASADA interview, and then made Hird her target.

- Caro will attack anyone with alternative views as an Essendon sympathiser, as though only her opinion counts, whilst Fat Prick relentlessly continues his argument and usually ignores people with alternative opinions.

The AFL will try to get to Whateley in some way shape or form... I'll watch his attitude swing from here on in with great interest, especially if it is without obvious cause. He has exposed one of the most shady acts perpetrated by the AFL during this ordeal - it is quite notable that Barrett tonight did not address the AOD 9064 issue, nor have other commentators for the most part. There seems to be a prevailing theory that because the Mexican drug and Thymosin have come into the discussion with interest that AOD is no longer relevant.

Which is a ****ing joke to say the least when it formed the basis for the pillorying of Jobe Watson and has been the key drug that has been hammered all along the way, the one that players know was administered to them. Little has called them out on it, Whateley has called them out on it, but all we get are Yes, Minister answers and deflections. For my money, the AFL and ASADA have massive case to answer for here and if they win this PR battle and let that fall unnoticed amongst the greater sturm und drang of this mess it will be nothing short of criminal. Hence the importance of Whateley moving forward.

I suspect that Whateley being a conduit for this supposedly shameless EFC "propaganda" is his association with News Limited and M. Robinson, and some might draw the long bow that he's worried about it turning back towards Geelong. Whatever, says I - his argument demands a response from the powers that be that at this point they are too cowardly to attack head-on, instead launching their punitive assault by providing the public with Dillon's Document minutes after giving it to the concerned parties. If Essendon's behaviour has been unpleasant and combative, then the AFL's has been a potent concoction of infantile and Machiavellian, and has forever soured me to them as a governing body for a sport that I love.

The rounding on Fox Footy/360 is quite fascinating. Perhaps for the trivial point that 360's logo incorporates the AFL's logo. Moreso for the fact that both Whateley and Robinson have now argued on both sides of the story. Both have decried Essendon for its gross negligence in '11/'12 and both have now decried ASADA and the AFL. That makes them, by comparison, the most balanced commentators in the game at the minute.

As you say, the only point at which Wilson has twisted is from Thompson to Hird/Corcoran/Reid/Reynolds/W.S. Crichton as the culpable parties. Funny that Hamilton escapes all but the most passing mention, despite the Reid letter supposedly falling into his hands and being CO-ADDRESSED TO HIM.

Not funny ha-ha, either.

whilst the concept of Hird taking leave for a time isn't without merit, he's battled through it for 6 months, I'll back him to concentrate for another month, then resolve this through the summer
I'm not worried so much for Hird.

It's the playing group that is more vulnerable in my opinion. They are predominately young guys, with so much doubt over their heads. As a 19-27 year olds, it's too much.

And Hird deserting them would do what exactly?

How would that help them one iota?

respectfully i reckon the triple M caller sounded a bit worse for wear, not to say she wasnt legit (her issues with the club are really real and valid) or not a players mum but she sounded like she was very full, i normally have no issue with it and i still dont really (Drinking that is), its just a thought, and that may have been how she delt with the issues at hand, i reckon if they traced that call it might ahve come from the tram stop at crown casino. my mate reckon he could smell the gin on her breath through his car radio:thumbsu: (i say this with all due respecT)

I'd would have thought removing hird would make it worse to be honest.

Players want to play for hird, they all love him regardless of whatever bullshit is being peddled in the media, it's just that they're physically and mentally exhausted from it, a change of coach for now wouldn't help IMO considering the amount of input assistants already have on them and the time of year

But we can't really know if Hird leaving would have a positive or negative effect on the playing group. If he left there would be a heap on negative press from the media as they would feel vindicated, and then they would move to the next target at the EFC, like Reid or Thompson. They'll keep going at us while the stories are getting sales and page clicks, Hird leaving won't change that.

If you believe Hird stepping aside to concentrate on the court case will tie this up quicker, the AFL want him to accept guilt and a lengthy suspension. If Hird and the EFC aren't willing to accept that punishment then they'll still be at an impasse with the AFL whether Hird is there or not.

The NRL have 'circled the wagons' up there.. much better.

AFL decided to 'make an example' and this is where we end up.

I'm willing to now state that I am 100% convinced from information provided to me that 'Sarah' is not a mother of a current player at EFC.

I would expect this matter will be brought to a head in due course. The damage has already been done, but IF the EFC legal team can track down and identify the mystery woman.. then this could help in the public perception war.

FANTASTIC news about the re-signing.. I really hope that more follow and we lock in most of our list. I haven't heard any supportive arguments there is about to be a widespread walk out as Flog Purple suggests. As in ALL clubs, I expect there will be a few that will seek any way to get out of the club, either for more money, opportunity or just want a change. This happens at all clubs and I would be surprised if we lose too many. I would be confident in suggesting that this 'saga' will not result in us losing more than 4 players at a maximum.

All the boys need to do now is somehow find a way to win on Saturday night. I know it is near impossible with the events of this week, but if we could stay strong on the field... this all gets easier to deal with I think.

And Hird deserting them would do what exactly?

How would that help them one iota?

Would take the cameras waiting for Hird at training away from them.

Would take the face of the scandal away from them every day.

If you can't see even some benefit, you are too blinded by your own love.

But we can't really know if Hird leaving would have a positive or negative effect on the playing group. If he left there would be a heap on negative press from the media as they would feel vindicated, and then they would move to the next target at the EFC, like Reid or Thompson. They'll keep going at us while the stories are getting sales and page clicks, Hird leaving won't change that.

If you believe Hird stepping aside to concentrate on the court case will tie this up quicker, the AFL want him to accept guilt and a lengthy suspension. If Hird and the EFC aren't willing to accept that punishment then they'll still be at an impasse with the AFL whether Hird is there or not.

Spot on.. it is laughable to suggest that if Hird left now it would do anything but inflame the situation. It would just slap a huge "GUILTY" on his forehead.. and leave the club truly in crisis.

Oh and the media wouldn't stop.. it would just get worse or move on to the next person.

The big mistake everyone has made (and I include the AFL in this) has been to think that the media will 'slow down' at certain points.. and instead the media have just gone harder and longer and created more ridiculous theories etc etc to keep the whirlwind going. The media is now feeding itself and driving it's own agenda. The only ones who can stop it now are EFC and the AFL.. and they MUST get together and stop it before it tears both parties down.

But as mentioned above. It takes the constant reminder away. And the players have to have doubt, like most of us do, that will only grow the longer the saga goes on. This story has got worse for us, not better.

Christine Ahern is camped at the club 20 hours a day. Waiting for Her 2 second grab with Hird.

If Hird isn't there, she goes to toorak

I'm sorry.. but I think you are mistaken. There will still be cameras there.. trying to find out how the players are coping with Hird leaving.. capturing their 'joy' at being released from the cult.. there would still be ENDLESS debate about what this means for our appearance in the finals.. they would still be there looking to nab Reid, Corcoran or Thompson.

It would stop nothing.

With how much time I've spent on writing and refreshing this thread I feel as though I spend more time with some of you guys than I do my fiance.

My thought process is something like "Oh I better check on bigfooty again to see if Rines or Ben the Gooner or Matthew_Lloyd or LN or Jab or Mojo or any one of dozens of others have updated anything.. **refresh** Nup. Ok I'll check again in another 5 mins"

The NRL have 'circled the wagons' up there.. much better.

AFL decided to 'make an example' and this is where we end up.

I'm willing to now state that I am 100% convinced from information provided to me that 'Sarah' is not a mother of a current player at EFC.

I would expect this matter will be brought to a head in due course. The damage has already been done, but IF the EFC legal team can track down and identify the mystery woman.. then this could help in the public perception war.

FANTASTIC news about the re-signing.. I really hope that more follow and we lock in most of our list. I haven't heard any supportive arguments there is about to be a widespread walk out as Flog Purple suggests. As in ALL clubs, I expect there will be a few that will seek any way to get out of the club, either for more money, opportunity or just want a change. This happens at all clubs and I would be surprised if we lose too many. I would be confident in suggesting that this 'saga' will not result in us losing more than 4 players at a maximum.

All the boys need to do now is somehow find a way to win on Saturday night. I know it is near impossible with the events of this week, but if we could stay strong on the field... this all gets easier to deal with I think.

rines

You deserve some kind of medal. Reading your posts has kept me sane.

A massive, massive :thumbsu: to you.

Can we give this man some kind of POTY badge for his efforts in this thread? Doss LN Degenerate

It won't inflame anything. It's landed in the courts. Innocent or guilty will be decided there.

At the moment Hird is fighting too many battles to do his job at his best.

and in terms of the appearing guilty, only Essendon supporters think he is innocent, so it cannot be anymore inflamed.

Where would the vultures camped outside young Tommy's birthday party go? They'd go to the Fairfax Memorial Centre.