Coach Sam Mitchell's direction for the club

Why should we be compensated for doing something stupid?

Clarko was contracted to be head coach next year. They should have kept that, and told Sam that they would only talk to him during 2022.

The soft cap was brought in to equalise the competition and penalise stupid decisions. If we have to pay a massive penalty then that is on the board and the executive for screwing up.

Mate don't try to rewrite what happened. Clarko was still going to be coach in 2022, he was contracted and they committed to keeping him on - Hawthorn didn't go back on that. He's not entitled to be given everything he wants for the entire time he's signed, and based on performance over the past few years we did what we needed to do in order to keep a promising future coach.

Clarko is definitely not faultless and it can't be called a stupid decision on the clubs behalf until it either works out or doesn't.

Mate don't try to rewrite what happened. Clarko was still going to be coach in 2022, he was contracted and they committed to keeping him on - Hawthorn didn't go back on that. He's not entitled to be given everything he wants for the entire time he's signed, and based on performance over the past few years we did what we needed to do in order to keep a promising future coach.

Clarko is definitely not faultless and it can't be called a stupid decision on the clubs behalf until it either works out or doesn't.

Im not re-writing anything. Mitchell kept saying he wanted to do more and more next year and clearly Clarko had enough and decided he didnt want to be a figurehead coach.

Do you honestly think any of this would have happened if the club had made no plans for 2023 in the middle of 2021? It was always a risky decision by the board and it lasted less than a month, and less than a week of actually having anything in place.

Im not re-writing anything. Mitchell kept saying he wanted to do more and more next year and clearly Clarko had enough and decided he didnt want to be a figurehead coach.

Do you honestly think any of this would have happened if the club had made no plans for 2023 in the middle of 2021? It was always a risky decision by the board and it lasted less than a month, and less than a week of actually having anything in place.
HairyO, the club needed a change, and the supporters needed a change. We have been average now for 3 years. We have the worst list and the worst prospects than any club in the league. Clarko is responsible, his management and list strategy is to blame.

Mitchell has a new strategy and is the future – Get onboard mate.

HairyO, the club needed a change, and the supporters needed a change. We have been average now for 3 years. We have the worst list and the worst prospects than any club in the league. Clarko is responsible, his management and list strategy is to blame.

Mitchell has a new strategy and is the future – Get onboard mate.

Average for 3 years? Oh the horror !!!

There are 16 clubs which would give anything to have had our success over the last 10 or 12 years. The idea that 2 bad years (we came 4th in 2018) is enough to hastily make plans for the new coach then there is something seriously wrong with the club.

Particularly when 2 of those seasons have been affected by COVID meaning development of young players has been massively impacted.

Average for 3 years? Oh the horror !!!

There are 16 clubs which would give anything to have had our success over the last 10 or 12 years. The idea that 2 bad years (we came 4th in 2018) is enough to hastily make plans for the new coach then there is something seriously wrong with the club.

Particularly when 2 of those seasons have been affected by COVID meaning development of young players has been massively impacted.
Past success means nothing in the decision about the future, if it's good enough to force retire and trade our flag heroes Clarkson should have no special treatment.

He's not performing and doesn't agree the draft is the right answer which is against the majority of the club, why would the club want him to stay on?

A few suggestions for who captain should be. I put forward Dylan Moore.
He isn't our best player, but he is the hard worker we need to set the standards for a few years.
Richie Vandenberg was the same. Nowhere near our best, but made sure everyone knew to work hard and be a team player

You do bring a different perspective MM. 😁

Surely West Coast would want to spend $20 million trying to improve? Why would you only allow improvement from a bad decision rather than allow continued improvement from continued good decisions?

If anything, reward good management. Dont reward bad management.
The decision has been made. Hawthorn now needs to do the best for Hawthorn.

Past success means nothing in the decision about the future, if it's good enough to force retire and trade our flag heroes Clarkson should have no special treatment.

He's not performing and doesn't agree the draft is the right answer which is against the majority of the club, why would the club want him to stay on?

We have used our 1st round the last 2 years, were always using it this year, and have also got picks in the low 20s. The only way we would get more top picks is if players wish to leave. There are some who seem to think this to be brilliant, but I would be very worried if a number of players quit - or even worse, were told to look elsewhere. If anything, loyalty to your players is great. GWS are a team of mercenaries. On paper they are off the charts more talented than our list. Yet they are a middle of the road team.

In the last 2 years where has Clarko said the draft was not the option? Why is he suddenly the ageing old fool and Mitchell the guy with all the fresh ideas?

In the last 2 or 3 years what mistakes were made? We got Hartigan for nothing. Frost for little. Scrimshaw for nothing. Impey for a fair price. Wingard who really knows - his best would surely be better than what we maybe could have got from a pick 14 or 15, or maybe we could have struck gold. Or maybe we could have got a lemon.

For all the "he's not performing" ... just how much better is Mitchell going to be? Do you think Mitchell is going to have a very different view to Clarko? How does Mitchell get the top draft picks that Clarko wouldnt have got?

To set the conditions which see our greatest ever coach leaving a year early surely there has to be a very high level of confidence that Mitchell will be considerably better than Clarko. Otherwise why go through all this fuss?

How many clubs are not currently thinking about making an offer to Clarko? How many were going to make an offer to Mitchell for 2022?

We went with the coach maybe no-one wanted as a matter of urgency, at the expense of booting someone half the clubs would probably dream of having as their coach.

And so many on here seem to be cheering for this. I honestly dont get it.

If there is no quick improvement, yes.

Good teams dont spend years at the bottom. We have had 2. Picked up some great players. Also seen huge improvements in a number of (formerly) lesser players. And will have 3 good draft picks this year.

There is no reason Mitchell cant rapidly improve the team, as I am positive that Clarko would have had us up around 10th to 12th next year - on the assumption that our 5 LTI players are able to get proper pre-seasons and are available from Round 1.

Clarko had those same injured players last year, and we finished bottom four.

No issue with Worps either. My problem with BB is that you can see he is struggling at times, and I'm not sure he will play every game and by playing him (cause he is captain) do we stifle the progress of the building team?
I think BB has enough credits to spend more time at FF without stressing on who is next in line.
lewis needs to prove to be the second ruck/fwd.
Jekka and Callow could easily do with another 12 months development.
TO may yet get another gig.
Personally, I don’t feel that the captaincy is a “one and done” Gig.

We have used our 1st round the last 2 years, were always using it this year, and have also got picks in the low 20s. The only way we would get more top picks is if players wish to leave. There are some who seem to think this to be brilliant, but I would be very worried if a number of players quit - or even worse, were told to look elsewhere. If anything, loyalty to your players is great. GWS are a team of mercenaries. On paper they are off the charts more talented than our list. Yet they are a middle of the road team.

In the last 2 years where has Clarko said the draft was not the option? Why is he suddenly the ageing old fool and Mitchell the guy with all the fresh ideas?

In the last 2 or 3 years what mistakes were made? We got Hartigan for nothing. Frost for little. Scrimshaw for nothing. Impey for a fair price. Wingard who really knows - his best would surely be better than what we maybe could have got from a pick 14 or 15, or maybe we could have struck gold. Or maybe we could have got a lemon.

For all the "he's not performing" ... just how much better is Mitchell going to be? Do you think Mitchell is going to have a very different view to Clarko? How does Mitchell get the top draft picks that Clarko wouldnt have got?

To set the conditions which see our greatest ever coach leaving a year early surely there has to be a very high level of confidence that Mitchell will be considerably better than Clarko. Otherwise why go through all this fuss?

How many clubs are not currently thinking about making an offer to Clarko? How many were going to make an offer to Mitchell for 2022?

We went with the coach maybe no-one wanted as a matter of urgency, at the expense of booting someone half the clubs would probably dream of having as their coach.

And so many on here seem to be cheering for this. I honestly dont get it.
I agree with plenty of what you’re saying, and so does a lot of the wider football public; but what’s done is done. Time to get behind Sammy.

That just rewards those who made this decision. Kennett needs to go and he can take Reeves with him. Then we do a proper review of who the best coach is for us.

Mitchell was going to be the choice after 2 years at Box Hill. Instead we get him a year earlier when he may not be ready.

That just rewards those who made this decision. Kennett needs to go and he can take Reeves with him. Then we do a proper review of who the best coach is for us.

Mitchell was going to be the choice after 2 years at Box Hill. Instead we get him a year earlier when he may not be ready.
Reckon Jeff will be goneski by next year. Sam’s ready.

The plan was for him to have 2 years at Box Hill, Clarko reneged on that. No one else. The sun doesn't shine out of Alastair Clarkson's every orifice and some on this board need to realise that.

This just isn't true mate. Say what you want about Clarko, the club didn't want him there next year, and did all they could to ensure it wouldn't happen.

[TD valign="top"][/TD]

This just isn't true mate. Say what you want about Clarko, the club didn't want him there next year, and did all they could to ensure it wouldn't happen.

[TD valign="top"][/TD]

Besides you know, sacking him. They had every right to move him on and pay him out but they didn't.

Sam Mitchell being head hunted sped up the plans but they were committed to Clarko for 2022, clearly he didn't want to do that and from reports he leaked information to get the payout he was after instead of sticking with the transition.

Again, Clarko isn't blameless in this. Let's just move on and stop with the fantasy that he is and always will be the right coach for us.

Besides you know, sacking him. They had every right to move him on and pay him out but they didn't.

Sam Mitchell being head hunted sped up the plans but they were committed to Clarko for 2022, clearly he didn't want to do that and from reports he leaked information to get the payout he was after instead of sticking with the transition.

Again, Clarko isn't blameless in this. Let's just move on and stop with the fantasy that he is and always will be the right coach for us.
As has been reported, basically everywhere, the club didn’t want to pay him out, and didn’t want him next year, so didn’t sack him just played it out in the press. Supposedly Clarko did too.

Not saying he’s the right coach moving forward, but I think he’s been treated appallingly.

Sammy was the supreme user of the footy. If he coaches with that in mind, no one in our midfield is safe. Be nice to see us focus on skill again.
A hallmark of our premiership teams was also how consistent everyone was. Wasn’t many guys who’d go missing regularly (compared to say chad, JOM where its unclear which version you’ll get each week). Put that lens on our list and a few other players are at risk.

Even though Mitchell was a slow short bloke hope he also prioritises speed and size (where relevant).

The decision has been made. It was the right decision but obviously not handled well. Best thing people can do is support Mitchell and the players.

I think that at the end of the day everyone will come together to support Mitchell, regardless of whether they believe it was the right/wrong decision to move on from Clarko.