Teams SC 2016 - My Team (Post NAB)

I feel a bit nervous posting this, as I feel a lot may copy it as it's the best team they will have seen.

But seriously... Any thoughts?
View attachment 226703
Yoink! Copied, if you're lucky you'll trade better than me.
But seriously. Midfield is great. Backline is ridiculously risky, Lids is in doubt for round and Mumford is a trade waiting to happen.

I've said the same thing for a while now mate - but be careful, the moment you doubt Shaw around here you'll quickly get told if you want to finish top 50K you absolutely must start with Shaw as he's the biggest lock in SC history. Anyone who chooses to start without him is a shit SCer and may as well not create a team at all. You'll also hear something about how not picking him means you don't care about trades as everyone who picks Shaw is saving trades (crap argument that actually makes no sense).

No ifs about him dropping in price, he definitely will. I'd be very surprised if he's not available at 100K cheaper than his starting price within the first 10 rounds. A majority of teams will put significant time into shutting him down - he's crucial in setting up play from defense. He'll still score well (I'm predicting 95min-105max) and finish top 6, but the amount of people claiming he's a lock after he scored well in some NAB games with absolutely no defensive effort put into him is incredible.

I do hope people continue to persevere with him in their teams to be honest - not having Shaw is a POD i'm very happy with.
Laird is the same. Every second team has Laird and Shaw. But neither of them are proven at their current starting price.

Ok im finally very very happy with my team, obviously ill change a few rookies around depending on who's playing but my starting 22 are pretty much locked barring a late injury to someone.

Shaw--Laird--KK----M adams
Weitering--Dea--Hartley----Ruggles

Dangerfield--Ablett----Gresham
Shiel--Rockliff--Wines--Hewett
Libeatore--Mills--Kerridge----Davis

Goldstein--Gawn----Grimley

Wingard--Barlow--Hall----Petracca
Wells--Kennedy--Milera----M brown

Thoughts?

Aside from rookies pending round 1 selections, this is the team I'll go into round 1 with.

Really confident in my keepers, and have limited the amount of mid pricers (a month ago it was chock full of them)

Hopefully it's balanced.

DEFENCE:
Tossing up between Weitering at D4/5, but decided D5. Not confident in rookie JS at all this year, so I only need 1 from 3 to play. Shaw and Laird obvious. Bartel on his potential to be the number 1 scoring defender and I've gone with Rich over Johanissen/Sheridan/Smith/Lonergan for no reason other than my gut. I reckon he'll push 90.

MIDFIELD:
Area I'm most nervous about. Not confident in any of the rookies on the bench - thank Christ my forwards can be shifted there to stop a donut.
Titch as my POD, I love the kid and reckon he can go 5 better with all home games at the SCG. Hope like hell Kennedy carries on with his NAB form. I have enough money to upgrade to Oliver or Parish if I have to.

RUCKS:
Not going with Goldy. Locking in a loss from the get go. I'm sure he'll finish number one ruck, but no way he'll hold his price. With rookies being so scarce this year, I've decided to spend the 100k across the side.
Martin and Nic Nat to me are the only ones that will push him on a weekly basis.

FORWARD:
Not worried about Dustys situation at all. Always had to ride the down weeks with him, and will happily do it again this year. Wingard has an easy draw and if he averages the same as last year, I'll be stoked.
Barlow and Wells are obvious. Hopefully Menadue and McArthy get a gig. Have enough money to swap either out for Milera pending round 1 selections.

Any thoughts? Cheers.

LOL @ midprice comment. I got rid of a heap of mid pricers now, now Lonergan is my only mid price risk, and I even hat him being there? Weitering will play a lot, they will put games into the kid. He will be a star, he will have a few rests at the start of the year for sure and will miss the odd game. Backline, I noticed you don't have Howe (Hawks) for40k extra it may be worth it, he has been in and out of my side, I'm just iffy on his JS but he will score well. WHat are your thoughts?
Dea, has been in and out. Dea doesn't appear in any of the best 22 teams Ive seen on here for some reason.
Regarding Dusty, I'm not starting with him. If his old man is deported that boy could end up in the thug jug I reckon. He is a lose cannon ATM and that could tip him over the edge, hes a wait and see for me.

Having no Goldstein in the team makes baby jesus cry.

I've said the same thing for a while now mate - but be careful, the moment you doubt Shaw around here you'll quickly get told if you want to finish top 50K you absolutely must start with Shaw as he's the biggest lock in SC history. Anyone who chooses to start without him is a shit SCer and may as well not create a team at all. You'll also hear something about how not picking him means you don't care about trades as everyone who picks Shaw is saving trades (crap argument that actually makes no sense).

No ifs about him dropping in price, he definitely will. I'd be very surprised if he's not available at 100K cheaper than his starting price within the first 10 rounds. A majority of teams will put significant time into shutting him down - he's crucial in setting up play from defense. He'll still score well (I'm predicting 95min-105max) and finish top 6, but the amount of people claiming he's a lock after he scored well in some NAB games with absolutely no defensive effort put into him is incredible.

I do hope people continue to persevere with him in their teams to be honest - not having Shaw is a POD i'm very happy with.
I like your analysis and thoughts Souup, but **** me, there would be a lot of very good SCers out there with him. I wish people would keep their guns in their holsters sometimes... :rolleyes: (I'm NOT a good SCer to clarify!)

It's just a matter of weighing up how many points you are prepared to miss out on by not having the highest scoring def in the comp to get him in a bit cheaper at the cost of a trade. If you find a way of making up the points elsewhere then that's good. There's really no right or wrong answer. I personally don't like chasing after the top players in each line for a cash saving due to the points lost as even if they drop they still probably score better than most others, also just when they bottom out they go pull out a monster score and I miss out cos I began thinking they may be not worth having anymore so hesitated. Often too it can be hard to get them in as there's other options needing your trades at that time. So some prefer to set and forget the top players on each line. But if you can time it right and make money that's the game so good job.
Absolutely, sometimes trades and having money don't coincide with being able to get the gun your after. I'm nervous as hell not starting GAJ and Fyfe ATM.

Also the biggest myth in SC history - "If player X isn't going to finish in the top 6/8 in their position, you shouldn't pick them".
If you say so! :rolleyes:

Jesus people.
It may be a myth, but give it some credit, it is certainly the cliche I think helps more than any other advice I can think of.
Its better than chosing players that you DON'T think will end up top 6/8 in their position :drunk:

:)

I like your analysis and thoughts Souup, but **** me, there would be a lot of very good SCers out there with him. I wish people would keep their guns in their holsters sometimes... :rolleyes: (I'm NOT a good SCer to clarify!)
I have no issues with people selecting Shaw - my issue is the lock status that apparently comes with Shaw, and the fact that people are claiming there's no option but to start with him if you don't want to fall behind. Doubt him as a selection and you'll be shunned like a leper.

Much prefer when there is good robust discussion on the pros and cons of certain selections instead of 'oh you don't have Shaw? Lol he's a lock - enjoy finishing 50K'

Is it worth getting rid of one of Rich or Smith in defence and upgrading to a higher priced mid? So Gresham or Oliver up to someone else and having 3 rookies in defence?

c13a4633cf1b3a24b8d1be77054c5f15.png

Is it worth getting rid of one of Rich or Smith in defence and upgrading to a higher priced mid? So Gresham or Oliver up to someone else and having 3 rookies in defence?

c13a4633cf1b3a24b8d1be77054c5f15.png

Your team looks really well balanced as is. Great premos, barely any mid priced spuds and plenty of cash generation.

To be honest, Shaw and Laird are the only "locks" and I still don't think they are locks.

Considering mid price madness for my backline. Players like Yeo, Seedsman, Lonergan, Johannisen, Mckenzie have to be considered...
Problem with that is if they plateau, they neither gain cash, they just clog up your backline with shit scores. Its a risk that can pay off. This risk is lessened with one or two 'primos' who yes, will often lose some value, but probably are a very safe bet for top 4 scoring anyway.
No right or wrong answer IMO. :footy:

I always forget but do we have unlimited trades for all players that have yet to play? So for eg. I have Ablett in my team and he's suddenly a late withdrawal Saturday, I can then trade him out for Dangerfield and still have 30 trades left?

Looks like a solid team, nothing stands out as being missing.
People are getting cold feet on Dusty it seems...

Also Freo are pretty good odds against the doggies - 1.78 is alright.

Yep i don't usually bet but i might put 50 bucks on freo winning under 40 points which is paying 2.40.

Ross hammers his teams (saints and now freo) about the importance of banking wins at the start of the year.

Dogs don't have a shot

Go ahead.... Pick it to pieces guys.
Thanks

View attachment 226737 View attachment 226738
I'm not sold on sam gray.. but that's just me. Also think your a bit to loaded up fwd, would drop steele back to a cheaper player and use money elsewhere :)

Guys this is my current team. Help with the johan/sheridan backline as Not sold. And What you think about m.Crouch instead of brad haha?

upload_2016-3-21_11-12-15.png

Go ahead.... Pick it to pieces guys.
Thanks

View attachment 226737 View attachment 226738
Defence....Rich don't mind the pick he may do better second year back but never seems to go overly high.
Bartel bit over it, it seems
Mid. I'd drop Wines for B or even M crouch to free up cash
Ruck ok but will need to up grade later. Gawn will get injured IMO.
Fwd. like the Sam Gray pick could be a good pod. There is better options than steel eg put Kerridge there and bring in mills to mids. But try to somehow keep dpp structure.